A U.S. Home Instead owner may reasonably model about $140,000 to $380,000 in annual pre-tax owner earnings for a manager-run franchised business. An owner who personally fills the full-time management role may capture approximately $240,000 to $480,000 of total owner-operator benefit, but roughly $100,000 of that difference represents compensation for the owner's labor rather than passive business profit.
This range is an independent analytical scenario, not an Item 19 financial performance representation by Home Instead, Inc. It combines official 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document facts with a broad Internal Revenue Service margin benchmark and explicit analytical assumptions. Actual results can differ materially because of client hours, billing rates, caregiver wages, payroll burden, local demand, office expense, required systems, financing, owner involvement, and execution.
Legal franchisor: Home Instead, Inc., a Nebraska corporation. Parent: Honor Technology, Inc. Disclosure: 2026 FDD issued April 29, 2026; Item 19 covers calendar-year 2025 Gross Sales for 611 U.S. Franchised Businesses. Benchmarks: IRS Statistics of Income partnership data for the Health Care and Social Assistance sector, tax year 2023, and U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics May 2023 wages for General and Operations Managers in NAICS 624120. Date checked: July 20, 2026.
How much may a Home Instead owner earn each year?
The defensible manager-run scenario is approximately $140,000 to $380,000 per year before personal income taxes and before financing principal payments. This is estimated, not official. It applies to one established U.S. franchised business modeled around the 2025 Item 19 median Gross Sales figure, not to a start-up ramp period, a transfer price, or a multi-territory portfolio.
The 2026 FDD does not disclose Operating Profit, EBITDA, Net Income, Owner Compensation, cash flow, or distributions. Its strongest same-brand financial evidence is Gross Sales. Therefore, the analysis uses the Item 19 median as the revenue anchor and applies a separately sourced operating-margin proxy rather than relabeling revenue as owner earnings.
Median 2025 Gross Sales
Per reporting U.S. Franchised Business; revenue, not profit.
Reporting businesses
The Item 19 population operated for the full 2025 calendar year.
At or above average sales
242 businesses met or exceeded the $2.75 million average.
Percentage-based recurring fees
5% Royalty Fee plus 2% Marketing Fund contribution.
Broad-sector margin proxy
IRS 2023 partnership total net income divided by total receipts.
Manager labor value
BLS May 2023 annual mean wage for the closest industry-specific occupation.
What definition of owner earnings is used?
Estimated pre-tax owner earnings means cash economically available after normal operating expenses and recurring franchise fees, but before personal income taxes and before debt principal payments. This is a scenario definition. It is not the source-defined equivalent of EBITDA, Net Income, Owner Compensation, a salary, a draw, or a distribution.
- Manager-run owner earnings
- Residual business earnings after a normal full-time manager cost is assumed within the operating-margin benchmark.
- Owner-operator benefit
- Manager-run owner earnings plus the estimated market value of the full-time management labor performed by the owner.
- Interest and depreciation
- The IRS proxy is based on tax-return total income minus total deductions, not EBITDA. Interest, depreciation, and partner guaranteed payments may be reflected in the aggregate benchmark.
- Capital expenditures
- Not modeled as a uniform annual cash deduction because replacement timing and asset purchases vary by business.
- Debt service and taxes
- Financing principal and personal income taxes are excluded. After-tax take-home pay cannot be estimated responsibly without buyer-specific facts.
How is the $140,000–$380,000 range calculated?
The model applies three transparent revenue-and-margin combinations to one U.S. franchised business. The figures are independent estimates for an established operation. Conservative, Base, and Upside are sensitivity cases, not probabilities and not franchisor forecasts.
- Revenue anchor: the official Item 19 median Gross Sales of $2,352,450.95 for calendar year 2025.
- Revenue spread: 80%, 100%, and 120% of the median, because Item 19 provides a distribution by sales band but not exact quartile sales values. The spread is editorial.
- Base margin: 10.35%, calculated from 2023 IRS partnership total net income of $51.576 billion divided by $498.364 billion of total receipts for the broad Health Care and Social Assistance sector.
- Margin sensitivity: the Base margin minus 3 percentage points, the Base margin, and the Base margin plus 3 percentage points. The band is editorial and does not imply a normal distribution.
- Fee treatment: the IRS ratio is used as an all-in margin proxy, so the 5% Royalty Fee, 2% Marketing Fund contribution, Technology Fee, and other normal business costs are not subtracted a second time.
- Manager-cost assumption: the manager-run cases assume a normal full-time management cost is already reflected in the all-in margin. The IRS population mixes ownership and management structures, so this treatment cannot be verified from the government table and lowers confidence.
| Scenario | Revenue input | Margin input | Manager-run owner earnings |
|---|---|---|---|
| Conservative | $1,881,961 | 7.35% | $138,000 |
| Base | $2,352,451 | 10.35% | $243,000 |
| Upside | $2,822,941 | 13.35% | $377,000 |
Formula: scenario revenue × scenario margin. Calculations use full-precision inputs and are rounded to the nearest $1,000 for publication. The Base margin is 10.3489926% before display rounding.
Annual pre-tax owner earnings before debt principal; one established U.S. franchised business.
Interpretation: the earnings range is driven by both sales scale and the residual operating margin. A small margin change has a large dollar effect at more than $2 million of annual Gross Sales.
Sources: Home Instead, Inc. 2026 FDD, Item 19, pages 55–58; IRS partnership statistics by sector or industry, tax year 2023. Revenue and margin spreads are independent assumptions.
The range is best used as a screening bracket rather than a forecast. A buyer can begin with locally supportable service rates and scheduled care volume, then test direct care payroll, payroll taxes, overtime, recruiting, workers' compensation, office staffing, rent, insurance, software, and bad-debt assumptions. The resulting residual should be compared with the three cases above. A result outside the bracket is not automatically wrong, but it should be traceable to specific local facts rather than optimism.
The model is also deliberately asymmetric in interpretation. The Conservative case is not a loss floor, because a new or weak operation can earn less or lose money. The Upside case is not a ceiling, because the official sales distribution includes substantially larger businesses. Both endpoints simply show what happens when a lower or higher revenue input is paired with a three-percentage-point margin sensitivity. The Base case is a reference point, not the most likely outcome.
The official median of $2.35 million is Gross Sales. It must fund caregiver payroll, payroll taxes, recruiting, workers' compensation, office staff, general management, local marketing, rent, insurance, technology, required systems, royalty, and other operating costs before the owner receives residual profit.
What does the 2026 FDD actually report?
Item 19 officially reports 2025 Gross Sales and client hours, not owner earnings. The population is 611 U.S. Franchised Businesses that operated for the full calendar year. Affiliate-operated businesses, 15 businesses opened after January 1, 2025, businesses that closed during 2025, and four terminated locations were excluded.
The average Gross Sales figure was $2,750,875.94, while the median was $2,352,450.95. Only 242 businesses, or 39%, met or exceeded the average. That gap is decision-relevant: a small number of high-revenue businesses can lift the average, so the median is the more defensible central revenue anchor for a buyer's scenario.
| 2025 Gross Sales band | Businesses | Share of 611 |
|---|---|---|
| $7,500,000 or more | 15 | 3% |
| $4,500,000–$7,499,999 | 65 | 11% |
| $3,000,000–$4,499,999 | 118 | 19% |
| $2,000,000–$2,999,999 | 187 | 31% |
| $1,500,000–$1,999,999 | 99 | 16% |
| $1,000,000–$1,499,999 | 76 | 12% |
| $500,000–$999,999 | 39 | 6% |
| $0–$499,999 | 12 | 2% |
Official source: Home Instead, Inc. 2026 FDD, Item 19, pages 55–58. Item 19 states that the figures were prepared from franchisee royalty records, were not independently audited, and contain no cost-of-sales or operating-expense information needed to calculate Net Income or profit. The Federal Trade Commission's franchise buyer guide likewise warns that Gross Sales do not reveal actual costs or profits and recommends requesting written substantiation.
How broad is the reported sales range?
Official 2025 Gross Sales ranged from $38,465.40 to $13,070,342.40, which signals exceptionally wide variation. The lowest and highest observations are not earnings floors or ceilings. They show why no single average or scenario midpoint should be treated as the expected result for a specific territory.
Item 19 also reports median client hours of 69,017 and average client hours of 79,658. Client hours are a direct operating driver because they connect demand, billing, caregiver scheduling, and payroll. However, Item 19 does not disclose the realized hourly spread between client billing and caregiver labor cost, which is one of the largest unresolved earnings variables.
How does full-time owner involvement change the result?
An active owner may capture about $100,000 more economic benefit than a manager-run owner, but that amount compensates the owner for doing a full-time job. This is an estimated labor-value adjustment. Item 15 requires full-time supervision by either the owner personally or an approved, trained manager; the model therefore does not treat Home Instead ownership as passive.
The labor adjustment uses the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics May 2023 annual mean wage of $100,050 for General and Operations Managers in NAICS 624120, Services for the Elderly and Persons with Disabilities. The BLS figure is an industry-specific wage benchmark, not a Home Instead salary and not a guarantee that a local manager can be hired for that amount.
The $100,050 difference is the estimated value of full-time management labor, not additional passive profit.
Interpretation: an owner-operator may receive more total economic benefit, but the labor component disappears if the owner hires a full-time approved manager. The remaining amount is the more relevant measure for a less hands-on owner.
Sources: Home Instead, Inc. 2026 FDD, Item 15, pages 46–47; BLS May 2023 NAICS 624120 wage estimates. Owner-operator benefit is a derived scenario.
Owner salary, owner draw, distributions, retained earnings, and business profit are not interchangeable. An active owner may choose how cash is paid, but the economic distinction remains: part of the owner's total benefit compensates labor, while the residual return compensates capital and business risk.
Which FDD costs materially affect annual earnings?
The largest clearly disclosed recurring franchisor charges are the 5% Royalty Fee and 2% Marketing Fund contribution, together equal to 7% of Gross Sales. This is official FDD evidence. A $500 monthly Technology Fee and Required Systems charges also reduce cash available to the owner, but caregiver payroll and local operating expenses are likely to be much larger and are not quantified in Item 19.
| Obligation | 2026 FDD amount | Earnings treatment |
|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | 5% of Gross Sales | Recurring variable operating expense. |
| Marketing Fund | 2% of monthly Gross Sales | Recurring variable operating expense. |
| Technology Fee | $500 per month currently | $6,000 annualized at the disclosed current rate. |
| Required Systems | $177–$1,861 per month for recurring monthly systems; up to $3,457 in a month containing annual billings | Variable by business size, users, vendor, and billing timing. |
| Full-time supervision | Owner personally or approved trained manager | Creates a labor cost or an owner labor commitment; not passive ownership. |
Official sources: Home Instead, Inc. 2026 FDD, Item 6, pages 13–18, and Item 15, pages 46–47. The official U.S. franchise owner qualifications page also describes a full-time commitment. The official owner training and support page describes operational support and financial benchmarking tools.
Why is the initial investment not deducted from one year of earnings?
The $92,640–$350,550 initial investment is a start-up capital requirement, not a recurring annual operating expense. The 2026 FDD Item 7 range includes the $54,000 Initial Franchise Fee and three months of Additional Funds. Subtracting the entire initial investment from one year of Gross Sales would confuse capital deployment with annual business performance.
How much confidence should a buyer place in this range?
Evidence confidence is LIMITED because Home Instead discloses revenue but not a same-brand profit measure. The official 2025 sales population is broad, but the operating margin comes from 2023 IRS partnership data covering the entire Health Care and Social Assistance sector rather than only Home Instead businesses, only NAICS 624120, or only franchised home-care agencies.
The IRS ratio is useful as a transparent external reference, but it blends business models, locations, sizes, payer mixes, ownership structures, and accounting choices. It also reflects partnerships only. The scenario therefore should be treated as an underwriting range to test against actual Home Instead profit-and-loss statements, not as an earnings forecast.
What does Item 20 add to the risk picture?
Item 20 shows a large and relatively stable U.S. network, but it does not validate the modeled margin. Franchised outlets increased from 619 at the start of 2025 to 626 at year-end. During 2025, 17 outlets opened, four were terminated, two were reacquired, four ceased operations for other reasons, and 46 transferred to new owners. Those counts describe system movement, not the profitability of the 611 Item 19 reporting businesses.
Excluding businesses that closed or were terminated can make the Item 19 population less representative of a new buyer's downside experience. Conversely, the revenue table includes very old territories: 411 of the 611 reporting businesses had 21 or more years of tenure. A greenfield operation should not assume it will immediately reproduce the sales of a mature territory.
The missing same-brand operating margin is more important than the precision of the Item 19 sales average. Caregiver wage rates, billable-hour utilization, overtime, workers' compensation, recruiting expense, client concentration, and office staffing can move a home-care agency's residual margin by several percentage points.
What should a buyer verify before relying on the estimate?
A buyer should replace the external margin proxy with same-brand operating evidence before making a capital decision. The following checks focus on the variables that determine whether the manager-run range or owner-operator benefit is realistic for a specific territory.
- Request the written substantiation for the 2026 FDD Item 19 Gross Sales and client-hours tables, including the exact treatment of transfers, closures, partial-year locations, and multi-territory operators.
- Ask several current franchisees for normalized profit-and-loss statements showing caregiver payroll, payroll taxes, workers' compensation, recruiting, office staff, manager compensation, royalty, Marketing Fund, Technology Fee, Required Systems, rent, insurance, and bad debt.
- Separate owner salary, guaranteed payments, draws, distributions, retained earnings, and debt-funded cash so that owner compensation is not counted twice.
- Compare owner-operated and manager-run businesses with similar territory tenure, licensing rules, client mix, bill rates, caregiver wage rates, and annual client hours.
- Ask transferred and former franchisees how long it took to reach stable client hours, what caused margin compression, and whether their reported earnings included the value of owner labor.
- Model financing separately using the buyer's actual loan amount, interest rate, amortization, fees, and required working capital. Do not subtract debt principal from operating profit and call the remainder business margin.
- Confirm whether the business must employ a Business Development Advisor, Client Care Advisor, separate full-time manager, or additional licensed personnel in the intended state and territory.
What is the decision-ready earnings view?
The strongest defensible range is approximately $140,000 to $380,000 in annual manager-run pre-tax owner earnings per established U.S. franchised business. It is scenario-based, not an official Home Instead earnings claim. An owner-operator may realize roughly $240,000 to $480,000 of total benefit, but about $100,000 represents full-time management labor.
The most important earnings driver is the spread between client revenue and the fully burdened cost of delivering billable care, especially caregiver wages and utilization. The largest unresolved uncertainty is the absence of a same-brand operating-profit or owner-compensation disclosure. Before relying on the range, a buyer should verify Item 19 substantiation, comparable franchisee profit-and-loss statements, owner-role treatment, and territory-specific staffing and financing assumptions.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to the Home Instead Senior Care Franchise?
- How Does the Home Instead Senior Care Franchise Work?
- How to Start a Home Instead Senior Care Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist
- How Does the Home Instead Senior Care Franchise Work?
- What are the Pros and Cons of Owning a Home Instead Senior Care Franchise?