How to Start a Holiday Stationstores Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

OPENING PROCESS

How do you open a Holiday Stationstore franchise?

Milestone-only roadmap No typical total opening time is disclosed

The 2025 Holiday Stationstores FDD says there is no typical period from signing to opening. The attached Franchise Agreement instead imposes an outside opening deadline unless Holiday Diversified Services, LLC, or HDS, grants a written extension. The practical path is therefore qualification and site work, FDD review and signing, approved design/buildout or conversion, training, licensing and insurance, then HDS written opening approval.

Data basis. Legal franchisor: Holiday Diversified Services, LLC. FDD issuance date: July 9, 2025. Development paths reviewed: new construction, conversion of an existing convenience store/fuel station, and transfer or acquisition of an existing franchised store. Timeline mode: milestone-only. Primary contractual sources: 2025 FDD Items 1, 5–12, 15–17, 20 and 22, plus Franchise Agreement Articles 5–17. Checked July 18, 2026. The official Holiday franchise page still invites U.S. franchise inquiries, but the 2025 FDD also discloses a planned transition of Holiday franchised stores to the Circle K brand.
1 yearContractual opening deadlineFrom Franchise Agreement date unless HDS gives a written extension.
1–3 monthsHDS site reviewMeasured after the proposed site is presented to HDS.
5 daysInsurance certificate lead timeCertificates must reach HDS before the Opening Date.
3–48 monthsDisclosed Circle K conversion windowHDS may set the market conversion deadline within this post-agreement range.
APPLICATION

What must a prospective Holiday Stationstores franchisee qualify for first?

The official Holiday franchise page directs a prospect to begin by sending a name, city, state, phone number and email address to the franchise team. The FDD does not publish a numeric net-worth, liquidity, credit-score, education or industry-experience minimum. It does state that HDS requires franchisees to meet net-worth and liquidity requirements established by HDS from time to time, so a buyer must obtain the current thresholds directly from HDS rather than relying on an old marketing figure.

Personal day-to-day supervision by the owner is not mandatory, but the store must be directly supervised on-premises by a manager who has successfully completed HDS training. If the franchisee is an entity, each owner and each individual owner's spouse or legal domestic partner must sign the disclosed Personal Guaranty. Meeting a financial threshold or identifying a manager does not itself constitute approval or an award.

Buyer verificationThe FDD does not disclose the full application scorecard or a fixed sequence between financial qualification and early site discussions. Ask HDS for the current qualification criteria, approval steps and required financial documents before committing nonrefundable third-party site or design costs.
ROADMAP

What is the verified sequence from inquiry to opening?

The sequence below separates candidate actions, HDS decisions and third-party dependencies. Early qualification and site work may overlap; the FDD does not disclose a universal application calendar.

1

Make the initial inquiry

Action: Contact the Holiday franchise team with the identifying and location information requested on the official franchise page.

Actor: Applicant.

Next dependency: HDS decides whether to continue evaluating the candidate and proposed market.

2

Complete qualification and choose the development path

Action: Satisfy HDS's then-current financial qualifications and identify whether the project is new construction, an existing-store conversion or an acquisition/transfer.

Actor: Applicant and HDS.

Blocker: The FDD gives no public numeric qualification threshold and no guarantee of approval.

3

Identify the location and complete HDS site review

Action: The applicant is responsible for selecting and acquiring or leasing the site; HDS reviews the proposed site for accessibility, visibility, traffic flow and demographics.

Timing: Use the disclosed HDS site-review range shown in the opening metrics.

Blocker: HDS may require a feasibility/demographics study; the franchise is location-specific and carries no exclusive territory.

4

Receive and review the current FDD

Action: Review the disclosure document, attached Franchise Agreement and applicable state addenda before signing or paying.

Timing: Observe the federal pre-signing disclosure period before a binding agreement or payment to the franchisor or affiliate.

Next dependency: Obtain any requested current updates before execution.

5

Execute the location-specific agreement package

Action: Sign the Franchise Agreement and applicable disclosed documents; the initial franchise fee is triggered at signing.

Actor: Franchisee and HDS.

Blocker: Entity owners may need the Personal Guaranty; sign rental, funding, SBA or supply documentation applies only when relevant.

6

Design, permit, build or convert the store

Action: Use HDS standard plans, retain a licensed architect for working drawings, obtain HDS written approval of final plans, and complete construction or renovation.

Actor: Franchisee, architect, contractor, landlord and government authorities.

Blocker: Permits, environmental issues, equipment availability, plan approvals and construction delays can postpone opening.

7

Install systems, stock the store and complete training

Action: Install approved signs, POS and back-office systems, required equipment and inventory; arrange fuel supply and required training.

Actor: Franchisee, HDS/HSI/FSE and designated suppliers.

Blocker: The FDD summary and attached Franchise Agreement state materially different training-hour requirements; verify the controlling schedule before planning staffing.

8

Satisfy opening conditions and obtain written authorization

Action: Complete the approved site/buildout, secure required government approvals, finish required training, remain out of default, provide insurance evidence and obtain HDS written approval to open.

Timing: Open within the contractual deadline shown in the opening metrics unless HDS gives a written extension.

Blocker: Training completion or construction completion alone does not authorize opening.

Sources: 2025 Holiday Stationstores FDD, Items 5, 9, 11, 12 and 15; Franchise Agreement Articles 6, 10, 14 and 17. Federal disclosure timing is described in the FTC Franchise Rule and 16 CFR 436.2.

AGREEMENTS

Which documents can govern the opening path?

The core contract is the location-specific Holiday Stationstore Franchise Agreement. Item 22 also discloses a Confidentiality Agreement, Sign Rental Agreement, Personal Guaranty, Memorandum of Option to Purchase and Right of First Refusal, Acknowledgement Addendum, state addenda, and three funding forms: Conversion Agreement, Capital Improvement Agreement and Construction Agreement. HDS says no other agreements are contemplated, although affiliates may require supply documentation and an SBA Addendum may apply.

No separate Development Agreement or Area Development Agreement is listed. Franchise Agreement Article 6.2 states that the agreement grants a franchise only for the identified location; future additional locations require prior discussion and HDS approval, with no guarantee that another franchise will be awarded.

SITE APPROVAL

What must happen with the site before construction and opening?

The franchisee selects the location and handles purchase or lease negotiations. HDS reviews the proposed site but disclaims any guarantee that its review predicts economic success. HDS provides Standard Building Site Plans and Fixture Plans; the franchisee's licensed architect must prepare the final working drawings, and HDS must approve the final plans and specifications in writing before construction or renovation begins.

The Franchise Agreement then separates plan approval from opening approval. Before opening, HDS must have approved the proposed site plan, construction plans and specifications, decor and interior layout; the site, improvements and equipment must be completed to the approved plans. The franchisee also must obtain the required licenses, permits, variances and other government approvals.

Site approval is not territory protectionItem 12 provides no exclusive area or protected territory. The agreement authorizes operation only at the identified location, while HDS and affiliates may operate or franchise competing convenience-store brands nearby. A buyer should evaluate the specific site and competitive map separately from HDS's internal site review.
Three verified day-based pre-opening lead times
Different triggers; these periods are not cumulative and should not be added into a total opening timeline.
FDD before signing/payment
14 days
Testing of proposed alternative supplier/products
30 days
Written supplier-approval notification
45 days

Interpretation: the 14-day federal disclosure period is a pre-signing protection, while the 30- and 45-day periods apply only if the franchisee proposes an unapproved supplier or product. Using designated or already approved sources avoids creating this particular approval dependency. Sources: 16 CFR 436.2; 2025 FDD Item 8, pp. 13–16; Franchise Agreement Article 11.3.

TRAINING

Who must complete training before the store can open?

The owner is not required to personally supervise the store, but an on-premises manager must have successfully completed HDS training. The attached Franchise Agreement goes further: Article 14.1 says the franchisee and the store manager must successfully complete the Initial Training Program as a condition to working at the store. Article 10 also makes completion of the Initial Training Program to HDS's satisfaction a condition of opening.

Training requirementThe reviewed FDD contains an internal conflict. Item 11 describes at least two weeks of store-operations training, 100 hours of on-the-job training and optional 40 hours of field training. Attached Franchise Agreement Article 14.1 instead states a minimum of 50 hours of classroom, computer and on-the-job training plus 300 hours of in-store field training. Because the contract governs the franchise relationship, verify the exact training language, attendees, location and scheduling in the agreement HDS asks you to sign.

All employees also must complete computer-based training made available by HDS under Item 11. The franchisee, not HDS, is responsible for selecting and hiring employees. Training should therefore be scheduled as a dependency alongside construction, staffing and system installation rather than treated as automatic opening authorization.

READINESS

What must be complete before HDS can authorize opening?

Franchise Agreement Article 10 creates a six-part opening gate: written HDS approvals for the site plan, construction plans/specifications and interior layout; completed site, buildings, improvements and equipment; required licenses, permits, variances and government approvals; no default under the agreement or another HDS Holiday franchise agreement; satisfactory completion of initial training; and HDS's written approval to open.

Article 17 adds an insurance timing requirement: certificates evidencing the required insurance must be delivered to HDS within the pre-opening lead time shown in the opening metrics. The FDD and agreement also require approved technology, signs, required inventory and fuel arrangements. For petroleum systems, federal, state and local compliance can create separate third-party dependencies; the EPA underground storage tank rules overview is a useful federal starting point, while the applicable state and local agencies control site-specific requirements.

The franchise system also requires payment-card security compliance. HDS references PCI requirements in the FDD and agreement; the current baseline is maintained by the PCI Security Standards Council.

RESPONSIBILITIES

Who controls the dependencies that can delay opening?

HDS controls brand-system approvals, but the franchisee controls much of the critical execution. Government agencies, lenders, landlords, architects, contractors, insurers and suppliers can also delay a store without being under HDS's control.

Applicant / franchisee

Financial qualification; site selection and acquisition/lease; architect and contractor engagement; permits and licenses; construction or renovation; equipment installation; staffing; insurance; inventory; fuel arrangements; training participation; compliance with the one-year opening deadline.

HDS and affiliates

Candidate evaluation; site review; standard building and sign plans; written approval of final plans and signs; Operations Manual access; training; designated supply and technology requirements; limited setup assistance; final written opening approval.

Third parties

Landlord or seller; lender; architect and engineers; general contractor and subcontractors; equipment and approved suppliers; insurer; local building, zoning, food, alcohol and other licensing authorities; environmental and underground-storage-tank regulators.

FORMAT DIFFERENCES

How do new construction, conversion and acquisition paths differ?

Path Opening-process difference What to verify
New construction Uses HDS standard plans, franchisee-retained architect, HDS-approved final plans and a full construction/permit workstream. HDS financing, if offered and accepted, can use the Construction Agreement. Site-review timing, financing, environmental conditions, utility capacity, permit path and the contractual opening deadline.
Existing-store conversion Uses renovation/conversion plans and the same HDS opening conditions. A Conversion Agreement may apply if HDS financing is used. The separate 2025 Conversion Incentive Program had a July 26, 2025 agreement deadline unless HDS extended it; do not assume that incentive remains available in 2026.
Transfer / acquisition HDS consent is required. The transferee may need to meet current qualifications, assume obligations or sign HDS's then-current agreement, complete training and obtain required permits. Transfer approval conditions, current agreement form, existing defaults, permits, training and store-specific operating records.
BRAND TRANSITION

Could a newly signed Holiday franchise be required to convert to Circle K?

Yes, under the 2025 FDD. Item 1 states that HDS and its affiliates intend to convert all franchised Holiday Stationstores to Circle K and that a franchise granted under that FDD can be assigned a market conversion deadline within the post-agreement window shown in the opening metrics. The existing Franchise Agreement and related agreements remain in force after the signage conversion.

The FDD says HDS will arrange and pay for removal of Holiday signage and the purchase and installation of Circle K signage, while the franchisee must cooperate with the conversion. Because the official Holiday franchise page continues to invite inquiries in 2026, a buyer should get written confirmation of the brand under which the store is expected to open, the expected conversion market schedule and whether any Circle K-specific pre-opening work will be required.

CHECKLIST

What should a buyer verify before signing and before opening?

✓
Obtain HDS's current financial qualification thresholds and confirm whether they apply to the individual applicant, ownership group or franchisee entity.
✓
Confirm the exact proposed location, HDS site-review status, non-exclusive territory terms and any real-estate contingency before making commitments.
✓
Request the most current FDD and any updates, observe the federal 14-calendar-day review period, and review any materially revised franchisor-drafted agreement before signing.
✓
Identify every document that will actually be signed: Franchise Agreement, guaranty, confidentiality, sign rental, funding, SBA or affiliate supply documentation as applicable.
✓
Resolve the Item 11 versus Franchise Agreement Article 14 training discrepancy and schedule the required franchisee, manager and employee training around construction and staffing.
✓
Track HDS plan approvals separately from permits, construction completion, training completion, insurance evidence and final written opening approval.
✓
Ask HDS to state in writing whether the store is expected to open as Holiday or Circle K and the market-specific timetable for any required post-signing brand conversion.
✓
Use Item 20 contacts to ask current and former franchisees how site review, training, supplier setup and opening approval worked in practice; the FTC's franchise buyer guide explains why those conversations matter.
Verified opening path. A Holiday Stationstores buyer moves from inquiry and HDS qualification into a location-specific site review, FDD review and Franchise Agreement stage, then approved design/construction or conversion, required systems and supply setup, training, licensing, insurance and HDS written opening authorization. The total timeline is officially undisclosed, but the contract sets an outside opening deadline unless HDS grants a written extension. The largest applicant-controlled dependency is site/buildout execution; the largest outside dependencies are HDS approvals and government/contractor timing. The key unresolved issue to verify in 2026 is the exact training obligation and the store's Holiday-to-Circle K conversion schedule.