How to Start a Fresh Coat Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Opening path

How long does it typically take to open a Fresh Coat franchise?

1–4 months
Typical signing-to-operation range

Fresh Coat’s 2026 disclosure states that franchisees typically begin operating one to four months after signing the Franchise Agreement. This is an official typical range, not a promised opening date. Training availability, financing, previous employment, hiring, licensing, insurance and the initial marketing campaign can change the result, while separate 90-day contractual deadlines govern training commencement and opening.

Legal franchisor: F.C. Franchising Systems, Inc.

Disclosure basis: 2026 FDD issued April 17, 2026

Offer mapped: U.S. territory-based painting franchise; Additional Territory Rider where applicable

Timeline mode: official total timeline, supported by milestone deadlines

Primary evidence: FDD Items 1, 5–12, 15–17 and Franchise Agreement Articles 1, 3, 6, 7 and 13

Checked: July 15, 2026; official brand and federal regulatory sources reviewed separately

14 days
Federal review period
Calendar days before a binding agreement or covered payment.
30 days
Optional territory hold
Reservation period after the signed Remittance Form and deposit.
90 days
Start training
Deadline measured from the Franchise Agreement effective date.
40 hours
Initial classroom program
Sum of the eight disclosed Cincinnati training modules.
90 days
Open after training
Contractual deadline after satisfactory training completion.

The official Fresh Coat website identifies the operating brand. The governing opening requirements, however, come from the 2026 FDD and attached agreements. The FTC franchise buyer guidance explains how to review disclosure materials, while the federal timing trigger appears in 16 CFR § 436.2.

Process sources: 2026 FDD, cover and Items 5, 11 and 12, pp. 4–5 and 14–21; Franchise Agreement §§ 1.2, 7.1, 7.6 and 13.1, pp. 1–2, 9–11 and 37–39.

Qualification

What must an applicant qualify for before Fresh Coat awards a franchise?

The 2026 FDD discloses no fixed applicant net-worth, liquid-capital, credit-score, education, painting-experience, residency or application-fee requirement. Fresh Coat retains approval discretion and may conduct credit or personal-history reviews. Obtain its current written criteria and identify every owner subject to review.

An entity franchisee must be newly organized, operate only Fresh Coat franchises, have no more than ten principals, deliver organizational records, and exclude “Fresh Coat,” “Fresh” and “Coat” from its legal name. Principals sign the Personal Guaranty and applicable restrictive documents. An individual signer must transfer the franchise to a qualifying limited-liability entity within 90 days.

Buyer verification

Confirm the approval stages, required records, background reviews, decision maker and approval validity. Qualification does not equal an award, signed territory exhibit or permission to open.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 1 and 15, pp. 1 and 23–24; Franchise Agreement §§ 7.10, 7.14 and 7.18, pp. 13–16 and 19–20; Personal Guaranty, Exhibit F, unnumbered p. 1.

Verified sequence

What are the actual steps from inquiry to opening?

1
Complete inquiry and qualification review

Action: Submit the information Fresh Coat currently requires and identify all proposed owners.

Actor: Applicant; approval remains with the franchisor.

Timing: No complete application-review duration is disclosed.

Blocker: Unresolved ownership, financial-capacity or background questions.

2
Identify the proposed postal-code territory

Action: Work with Fresh Coat on proposed boundaries, population and availability before final postal codes are attached to the contract.

Actor: Applicant proposes; franchisor approves or rejects boundaries.

Timing: No complete territory-review period is disclosed.

Blocker: Availability, mapping, population and additional-territory terms.

3
Receive and review the contract package

Action: Review the FDD, Franchise Agreement, Exhibit B, guaranty, restrictive covenant, EFT form, state addenda and any Additional Territory Rider.

Actor: Franchisor delivers; applicant and advisers review.

Timing: At least 14 calendar days before a binding agreement or covered payment.

Next dependency: The waiting period must run before a Remittance Form, reservation deposit or Franchise Agreement signing.

4
Reserve the territory or proceed to signing

Action: If additional time is needed, sign the Remittance Form and pay the $10,000 deposit to hold a specific territory; otherwise proceed to the Franchise Agreement.

Actor: Applicant elects; franchisor removes the territory from the market.

Timing: The optional reservation lasts up to 30 days.

Blocker: The deposit is fully earned, non-refundable and only credited toward the initial fee.

5
Sign, pay and finalize the franchisee entity

Action: Execute the Franchise Agreement and related documents, pay the signing-triggered initial franchise fee, and deliver entity and principal records.

Actor: Franchisee and every required principal or guarantor.

Timing: Entity transfer is due within 90 days if an individual signed.

Blocker: Missing guaranties, organizational documents or the final territory exhibit.

6
Work through the Base Coat Program

Action: Read the Operations Manual, prepare a business plan, research local media, establish banking and EFT, arrange financing if needed, obtain insurance and schedule training.

Actor: Franchisee, with instructions and telephone support from Fresh Coat.

Timing: Begins after signing and payment.

Blocker: Fresh Coat offers no financing and guarantees no loan, lease or obligation.

7
Secure a lawful office and compliance path

Action: Choose a lawful home office, rented office or warehouse; provide the address; obtain applicable registrations, permits, painting licenses and lead-safe credentials.

Actor: Franchisee, landlord if any, and government authorities.

Timing: Required items must be effective before opening.

Blocker: Zoning, licensing, insurer or state-authorized lead-program timing.

8
Complete management and technical training

Action: Send the approved day-to-day manager and, optionally, one additional trainee to the initial program; complete it to Fresh Coat’s satisfaction.

Actor: Up to two trainees; Fresh Coat supplies instructors and materials.

Timing: Begin within 90 days after signing; 40 disclosed classroom hours in Cincinnati.

Blocker: Failure to start or complete training satisfactorily can permit termination without refund.

9
Prove readiness and begin operations

Action: Install approved systems, phone and internet; hire and screen staff; obtain insurance certificates; complete pre-opening marketing; retain required receipts; and open.

Actor: Franchisee, suppliers, insurer, trainers and authorities.

Timing: Open within 90 days after initial training completion.

Blocker: Missing insurance, licenses, manager, systems, marketing evidence or current Manual requirements.

Roadmap sources: 2026 FDD, Items 5–12 and 15–17, pp. 4–26; Franchise Agreement Articles 1, 3, 4, 6, 7 and 13, pp. 1–5, 9–24 and 37–39; Additional Territory Rider, Exhibit E, §§ 1–3, unnumbered p. 1.

Timing evidence

Which disclosed periods can control or delay the opening?

Disclosed process periods measured in days

Bars are comparable lengths, but their triggers differ and the periods must not be added into one total.

Territory reservation
30 days
Training session interval
28–42 days
Supplier approval response
30 days
New-ad approval response
30 days
Begin initial training
90 days
Open after training
90 days
0306090 days

Interpretation: the two 90-day provisions are contract deadlines. The 30-day figures are a reservation window or typical response periods, not guaranteed completion dates and not sequential components of the official one-to-four-month range.

Source: 2026 FDD, Items 5, 8 and 11; Franchise Agreement §§ 7.1, 7.6 and 13.1. The 28–42-day range converts the disclosed four-to-six-week training interval into days.

Contractual deadline

Failure to begin the initial training program within 90 days after the Franchise Agreement is executed, failure to complete training to Fresh Coat’s satisfaction, or failure to open within 90 days after training can permit immediate termination without refund of amounts paid. The FDD does not disclose a general extension right for these opening deadlines.

Territory and premises

Does Fresh Coat require a retail site or buildout?

No retail storefront or standard construction program is disclosed. Fresh Coat recommends a home office when lawful, while rented office or warehouse space is also permitted. The franchisee finds and secures the premises; Fresh Coat does not select or approve the office site or provide site-selection assistance.

The office generally must be inside the territory. An outside-territory home office requires an approved in-territory business address, which must replace the home address in advertising. Provide the premises address before opening; later relocation needs Fresh Coat approval.

Territory status

The 30-day reservation is not a Franchise Agreement, opening approval or active exclusivity. Protected operation begins only after training and full operation; National Accounts and Shared Referral Sources follow separate rules.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 5, 11 and 12, pp. 4–5 and 18–21; Franchise Agreement §§ 1.2–1.5 and Article 3, pp. 1–5.

Training

Who must attend training, and what must be completed before opening?

Fresh Coat trains up to two people for the first franchise. One must be the approved day-to-day operating lead, complete the program satisfactorily and supervise the business full time. The owner may use an approved, trained manager instead of personally supervising.

Training component Who attends Disclosed duration Opening relationship
Base Coat Program Franchisee and designated operating lead No total duration disclosed Entity, plan, banking, insurance, media research and scheduling are prepared at home.
Initial classroom program Approved manager plus up to one additional trainee 40 classroom hours Must begin within 90 days after signing and be completed satisfactorily.
Lead-safe compliance training Owner and affected employees Owner: 8 hours; employees: 4–8 hours Required by the FDD before opening where the disclosed work may encounter lead-based coatings.
Regional on-site training At least the required trained person 2 days Due within 90 days after the initial program; the FDD does not say it always precedes opening.

EPA says paid firms disturbing paint in covered pre-1978 housing and child-occupied facilities generally need certification and trained personnel. Verify whether the EPA RRP Program or an authorized local program governs, then follow the applicable firm-certification instructions.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 11, pp. 18–20; Franchise Agreement §§ 7.1, 7.6 and 7.14, pp. 9–11 and 16; EPA RRP program pages checked July 15, 2026.

Readiness

What must be installed, obtained and verified before operations begin?

Before opening, install the required Communication and Information System, approved estimating and accounting tools, high-speed internet and a dedicated business line answered during required hours. Branded materials must meet System Standards; new advertising ordinarily has a 30-day review period after complete submission.

Insurance is an express opening gate: property, commercial general liability, automobile, workers’ compensation, employers’ liability, employment-practices, fidelity or employee-dishonesty, and umbrella coverage. Policies must meet the contract’s limits, deductible, carrier and additional-insured conditions, with certificates delivered before operations.

Before hiring, conduct required criminal and motor-vehicle reviews and update them at least every two years. The franchisee controls hiring and employee training. Complete the directed Grand Opening Promotion before opening and during the first 60 days, using approved suppliers and retaining receipts.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 7, 8 and 11, pp. 9–20; Franchise Agreement §§ 7.9, 7.13, 7.15 and 11.7, pp. 12–19 and 30–32.

Responsibility map

Who controls each critical opening dependency?

Applicant or franchisee

Provides qualification and ownership records; proposes territory; signs and funds the transaction; forms the entity; secures premises, financing, licenses and insurance; hires staff; installs systems; completes marketing and training; and meets both 90-day deadlines.

F.C. Franchising Systems

Decides territory boundaries and the designated operating individual; supplies specifications, approved-source information, templates, Manual access and initial training; reviews submitted suppliers and advertising; and may provide limited operational assistance.

Third parties

Lenders decide financing; insurers issue policies; landlords control lease terms; authorities control zoning and licenses; EPA or authorized programs govern lead certification; and trainers, technology vendors and suppliers affect readiness.

Third-party dependency

Fresh Coat’s assistance does not guarantee financing, premises, licenses, insurance, staff, supplier delivery or an opening date. The franchisee remains responsible for coordinating those dependencies inside the contractual training and opening windows.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 8, 10 and 11, pp. 11–20; Franchise Agreement §§ 6.1, 7.7, 7.11, 7.19 and 7.24, pp. 9–10, 11–12, 15 and 19–23.

Agreement paths

Is there a separate multi-unit or area-development opening process?

The 2026 offer discloses no Development Agreement, Area Development Agreement or development schedule. Its core instrument is one Franchise Agreement with postal codes in Exhibit B. An Additional Territory Rider can add postal codes concurrently and states the added population and signing-triggered fee.

Each additional business needs its own full-time manager or marketing employee. Verify whether multiple territories use separate Franchise Agreements, a rider or both. A first-unit award creates no option or right of first refusal for another franchise.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 5, 12 and 15, pp. 4–5, 20–21 and 23–24; Franchise Agreement § 7.6, pp. 10–11; Additional Territory Rider, Exhibit E, §§ 1–3, unnumbered p. 1.

Buyer checklist

What should be confirmed before signing and again before opening?

Current applicant standards, records, reviews and approval validity.
Exact Exhibit B postal codes, population method, availability and any Additional Territory Rider.
Whether the exact boundaries were previously owned, using the FDD’s certified-mail request process.
Every signer, principal, guarantor, restrictive covenant and entity document required at closing.
The 14-calendar-day disclosure trigger before any binding agreement or covered payment.
Entity formation or transfer plan, including the 90-day deadline for an individual signer.
Approved manager, two-trainee limit, Cincinnati dates and the 90-day training-start deadline.
Lawful office address, zoning, business registrations, painting licenses and lead-safe program.
Insurance limits, endorsements, carrier approval, certificates and workers’ compensation proof.
Approved systems, banking/EFT, phone, internet and answering coverage.
Employee background-review process, employment documents and franchisee-controlled training.
Grand Opening Promotion plan, approved suppliers, receipts and timing through the first 60 days.
Calendar date produced by the 90-day post-training opening deadline and consequences of delay.
Fresh Coat’s current pre-opening checklist, required evidence and any written sign-off not stated in the FDD.
Final synthesis

What is the practical Fresh Coat opening decision?

The verified path is qualification, territory definition, FDD review, contracting, Base Coat setup, office and regulatory preparation, management training, systems and insurance readiness, pre-opening marketing and commencement.

The official typical range is one to four months. The critical applicant dependency is completing entity, licensing, insurance, staffing, systems and marketing work; the key external dependencies are training availability and government, insurer and supplier timing.

The controlling deadlines are 90 days to begin training after execution and 90 days to open after satisfactory completion. No separate universal inspection or written opening authorization is disclosed; verify the current Operations Manual and onboarding checklist before fixing a launch date.