How Much Does a Fresh Coat Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Annual owner-earnings answer
Manager-run: −$95,000 to $81,000
Owner-operator benefit: $10,000 to $186,000

For one U.S. Fresh Coat territory, these are independent pre-tax scenarios for a year-four-or-later operation using the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document’s 2025 Gross Revenue and Gross Profit data. The franchisor does not report owner earnings, net income, Operating Profit, EBITDA, or owner compensation in Item 19.

Evidence mode: Mode C Confidence: Limited Format: One territory Period anchor: 2025
Independent estimate

This range is an independent analytical scenario, not an Item 19 financial performance representation by F.C. Franchising Systems, Inc. It combines identified Fresh Coat FDD facts with separately identified operating assumptions and a U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics manager-wage benchmark. Actual results can differ materially by territory, project mix, sales, direct labor, paint costs, local advertising, staffing, financing, owner involvement, and execution.

Data basis
Legal franchisor
F.C. Franchising Systems, Inc., an Ohio corporation with no parent disclosed in Item 1.
Current disclosure
2026 Fresh Coat Franchise Disclosure Document, issued April 17, 2026. No matching public FDD was verified on a franchise-controlled domain, so FDD references below are unlinked page citations.
Item 19 population
62 U.S. franchised territories that were open for the full 2025 year, operated full time, reported all 12 months, and submitted income statements by March 30, 2026.
Operating format
A territory-based residential and commercial painting business. The FDD recommends a home office, while the official Fresh Coat business-model page describes owners selling projects and hiring crews to perform the work.
Benchmark
The BLS Occupational Outlook Handbook reports a May 2024 median annual wage of $105,260 for general and operations managers in construction.
Date checked
July 15, 2026.
Direct earnings estimate

How much may a Fresh Coat owner earn in a year?

A manager-run Fresh Coat territory may produce roughly a $95,000 loss to $81,000 of pre-tax owner earnings in the modeled range, while an active owner replacing the manager may receive an estimated owner-operator benefit of about $10,000 to $186,000. These are scenario results for one year-four-or-later territory, not official owner-income figures. The central scenario produces approximately $1,000 for a manager-run owner and $106,000 of owner-operator benefit.

The owner-operator figure is not pure business profit. It combines residual operating profit with the modeled market value of management labor performed by the owner. The manager-run result treats a $105,260 manager wage as an operating expense. Neither result is after-tax take-home pay, and neither includes financing interest or principal payments.

Revenue is not earnings

Fresh Coat’s 2025 cumulative median Gross Revenue was $653,107, but Item 19 defines Gross Profit only as Gross Revenue minus direct labor and paint. Royalty, branding, local advertising, technology, insurance, office and vehicle costs, administration, manager compensation, debt service, and personal taxes still require separate treatment.

Official FDD fact
$653,107
Median Gross Revenue

Cumulative 2025 median for 62 eligible full-year U.S. franchised territories.

Official FDD fact
40.0%
Median Gross Profit percentage

Gross Revenue minus direct labor and paint; not a net-income margin.

Derived coverage
34.1%
System territories represented

62 reporting territories divided by 182 territories operating at December 31, 2025.

FDD-required burden
16%+
Royalty, branding and mature local advertising

6% royalty, 2% national branding and 8% local advertising, subject to stated minimums, before the $499 monthly technology fee.

What do the three scenarios show?

The scenarios show that owner role changes the modeled annual economic result by about $105,260, the BLS construction-industry manager-wage benchmark. Revenue and Gross Profit anchors come from separate statistics within the same 2025 Item 19 population; they are not a single observed territory’s paired results.

Scenario FDD revenue anchor Gross Profit anchor Manager-run earnings Owner-operator benefit
Conservative
Fourth-quartile medians
$273,564 36.9% −$95,000 $10,000
Base
Cumulative medians
$653,107 40.0% $1,000 $106,000
Upside
First-quartile medians
$1,297,437 36.0% $81,000 $186,000

Rounded to the nearest $1,000. “Conservative,” “Base,” and “Upside” are analytical labels, not probabilities. Source anchors: 2026 Fresh Coat FDD, Item 19, pp. 27–29. Operating assumptions are detailed below.

Owner role changes the result in every sales scenario

Estimated annual pre-tax result for one mature territory, $ thousands

Manager-run earnings compared with owner-operator benefit Conservative manager-run earnings are negative 95 thousand dollars and owner-operator benefit is 10 thousand dollars. Base results are 1 thousand and 106 thousand dollars. Upside results are 81 thousand and 186 thousand dollars. $0 −$100k $100k $200k Conservative −$95k $10k Base $1k $106k Upside $81k $186k
Manager-run pre-tax owner earnings Owner-operator benefit

Interpretation: At the base FDD anchors, paying a manager nearly absorbs the modeled operating surplus. Sources: 2026 Fresh Coat FDD, Items 6, 15 and 19; BLS May 2024 construction-industry median wage for general and operations managers. Values rounded.

Item 19 evidence

What does Fresh Coat Item 19 actually measure?

Item 19 officially reports Gross Revenue and Gross Profit percentages, not owner earnings. The 2025 table covers 62 full-time U.S. franchised territories that operated throughout the year and submitted complete monthly revenue and annual income-statement information. Fresh Coat had 182 territories in operation at year-end, owned by 132 franchisees, and no company-owned outlets.

The FDD defines Gross Revenue on an accrual basis as amounts billed, net of client refunds, discounts, and separately stated sales or excise taxes. It defines Gross Profit as Gross Revenue minus direct labor and paint. Item 19 explicitly says these figures do not include the other operating costs needed to determine net income or profit. That limitation is why the evidence mode is FDD-anchored scenario estimate rather than official earnings disclosure.

2025 Item 19 population Median Gross Revenue Average Gross Profit percentage Territories
First quartile $1,297,437 37.4% 15
Second quartile $693,805 41.0% 17
Third quartile $543,539 36.5% 15
Fourth quartile $273,564 34.7% 15
Cumulative $653,107 37.8% 62

Official values from the 2026 Fresh Coat FDD, Item 19, pp. 27–29. The cumulative median Gross Profit percentage is 40.0%; the table above uses the disclosed average percentage for a consistent quartile comparison.

Source-table limitation

The 2025 second-quartile table reports a median Gross Profit percentage of 61.3% while listing the highest percentage as 42.8%. Because those two values cannot both describe the same ordered population, the 61.3% cell is excluded from this model. A buyer should request the written Item 19 substantiation and clarification before relying on that row.

How representative is the Item 19 cohort?

The official cohort represents 62 of 182 year-end territories, or 34.1%, and therefore excludes most of the system. Excluded territories include those not open for the full year, not operated full time, missing one or more monthly Gross Revenue reports, or missing the required income statement. The sample is per territory, not per owner, so it does not disclose the earnings of multi-territory portfolios.

Item 20 reports that the franchised system moved from 187 territories at the start of 2025 to 182 at year-end. During 2025, 23 outlets opened, 13 were terminated, one was not renewed, seven were reacquired, and seven ceased operations for other reasons. These counts provide population context but do not establish why any particular territory opened, transferred, or closed. Source: 2026 Fresh Coat FDD, Item 20, pp. 30–36.

Scenario method

How was revenue converted into estimated owner earnings?

The model starts with Item 19 Gross Profit, then subtracts recurring franchise obligations, insurance, modeled overhead, and—only for the manager-run case—a manager wage. This is a bottom-up analytical bridge. It does not treat Item 7 startup investment as an annual expense.

Estimated manager-run pre-tax owner earnings = Gross Revenue × Gross Profit percentage − royalty − national branding − required local advertising − technology fee − insurance − other operating overhead − manager wage.
Estimated owner-operator benefit = manager-run pre-tax owner earnings + manager wage benchmark. The added amount represents labor value, not passive business profit.
Base scenario: $653,107 of revenue falls to about $1,000 after a manager wage

Reconciled revenue-to-owner-earnings bridge, $ thousands

Base scenario revenue-to-owner-earnings bridge Revenue of 653 thousand dollars minus 392 thousand of direct labor and paint equals 261 thousand of Gross Profit. Required franchise and advertising charges, technology and insurance, other overhead, and manager wage reduce the manager-run result to approximately one thousand dollars. $653k Revenue −$392k Direct labor and paint $261k Gross Profit −$104k Royalty, brand and local ads −$11k Technology and insurance −$39k Other overhead −$105k Manager wage $1k Manager-run earnings

Interpretation: The base Gross Profit pool is substantial, but required fees and advertising, modeled overhead, and manager labor consume nearly all of it. Sources: 2026 Fresh Coat FDD, Items 6, 7 and 19; BLS Occupational Outlook Handbook. Rounded components reconcile to the unrounded $911 result.

Which assumptions are official and which are editorial?

Gross Revenue, Gross Profit percentages, royalty, branding, local-advertising requirements, technology fees, insurance range, and owner-participation rules are official FDD facts; the unreported overhead ratios and scenario pairings are editorial assumptions. The following treatments apply to all three scenarios.

  • Revenue and Gross Profit: Conservative uses the fourth-quartile medians, Base uses cumulative medians, and Upside uses first-quartile medians. Each pairing is analytical because Item 19 does not identify a single territory with both values.
  • Royalty: The model uses 6% of Gross Revenue. Item 6 permits a 5% rate above $1 million and 4% above $2 million, subject to good standing, application, and timing rules. Keeping 6% avoids assuming that a reduction applies for the full modeled year.
  • National branding: 2% of Gross Revenue, with the $350 monthly minimum tested. The percentage exceeds the minimum in all three scenarios.
  • Local advertising: The mature model uses the greater of 8% of Gross Revenue or $3,000 per month. The Conservative scenario therefore uses the $36,000 annual minimum. During the first three years, the requirement is the greater of 10% or $3,000 per month.
  • Technology and insurance: Technology is $499 monthly. Insurance uses $8,000, $5,400, and $2,800 across the three scenarios, spanning the Item 7 annual range.
  • Other operating overhead: 7%, 6%, and 5% of revenue cover unitemized office, vehicle, answering, estimating, accounting, licensing, travel, administrative, and similar costs. These are editorial assumptions because Item 19 does not disclose them.
  • Manager wage: $105,260 is the BLS May 2024 construction-industry median wage for general and operations managers. It excludes employer payroll taxes and benefits, so a fully loaded manager cost could be higher.
  • Excluded items: Financing interest, loan principal, depreciation, capital expenditures, owner personal income taxes, and after-tax distributions are not modeled. Fresh Coat Item 10 states that the franchisor does not offer or guarantee financing.
First-three-years effect

At the 10% local-advertising requirement, the modeled owner-operator benefit is approximately $10,000, $93,000, and $160,000 across the three scenarios. The corresponding manager-run results are approximately −$95,000, −$12,000, and $55,000. This is an advertising-rate sensitivity, not a forecast of ramp-up sales.

Owner role

How does active owner involvement change Fresh Coat earnings?

Active involvement can turn the value of a manager position into owner-operator benefit, but it does not create passive profit. Item 15 does not require the owner personally to supervise the business, although Fresh Coat recommends personal supervision. Each franchised business must be directly supervised by an approved, trained manager, and each additional franchised business must have its own full-time manager or marketing employee.

In a manager-run structure, the modeled residual belongs to the owner before financing and personal taxes, but only after the manager wage. In an owner-operated structure, the owner performs that management labor and the model adds the $105,260 wage benchmark back to the residual. The resulting benefit compensates the owner for operating work that may include sales, scheduling, project oversight, staffing, budgeting, and general administration.

Is Fresh Coat a passive-income model?

The available evidence does not support calling Fresh Coat passive. The FDD allows a non-owner manager, but that manager has a material economic cost, and the base scenario leaves only about $1,000 after the wage benchmark. A manager-run owner may still perform oversight, capital allocation, hiring, and accountability functions, none of which is valued separately in the scenario.

The official U.S. Fresh Coat franchise website describes a home-based model, while the official investment page lists the current initial fee and investment range. Those pages help define the offer but do not replace Item 19 for financial performance evidence.

Uncertainty and verification

What uncertainty has the largest effect on a reasonable earnings range?

The largest unresolved uncertainty is the amount of operating expense below Gross Profit, especially manager compensation, sales and administrative labor, local advertising efficiency, and unreported overhead. Item 19 stops before net income. At the $653,107 base revenue, every one-percentage-point change in Gross Profit or recurring expense changes annual earnings by about $6,531.

The next uncertainty is cohort comparability. The 62-territory Item 19 sample excludes about two-thirds of year-end territories, and the FDD does not provide results by territory age, owner-operated versus manager-run status, residential versus commercial project mix, geography, debt load, or number of territories per owner. It also does not pair each revenue statistic with the corresponding Gross Profit percentage.

Evidence confidence: Limited

The current same-brand FDD supplies strong revenue and direct-cost evidence, but it does not disclose net income or owner compensation. The final earnings range therefore depends materially on editorial overhead assumptions and a national BLS wage proxy.

What should a buyer verify before relying on an earnings estimate?

A buyer should reconcile the scenario against Item 19 substantiation and real franchisee profit-and-loss statements before treating any number as decision-grade. The most useful checks are specific, role-aware, and territory-level.

  • Request the written substantiation for the 2025 Item 19 table and written clarification of the second-quartile Gross Profit inconsistency.
  • Ask for the number of eligible and excluded territories by age, sales quartile, owner-operated status, manager-run status, and number of territories per owner.
  • Interview current and former franchisees from Item 20 about actual owner salary, owner draw, distributions, retained earnings, manager payroll, payroll burden, and weekly owner hours.
  • Obtain full-year profit-and-loss statements that separately show direct labor, paint, royalty, national branding, local advertising, technology, insurance, office, vehicle, administrative labor, and professional fees.
  • Verify whether the local territory is subject to the $3,000 monthly advertising minimum and whether cooperative advertising could add another contribution.
  • Confirm the timing and eligibility rules for any royalty-rate reduction above $1 million of annual Gross Revenue.
  • Model financing interest and principal separately using the buyer’s actual loan terms; do not treat operating earnings as cash available after debt service.
  • Compare continuing, transferred, terminated, reacquired, and closed territories without assuming that Item 20 status alone proves profitability or failure.
Decision synthesis

What is the decision-useful takeaway?

The strongest defensible annual range is approximately −$95,000 to $81,000 for a manager-run territory and $10,000 to $186,000 for estimated owner-operator benefit. The range is scenario-based, not an official Fresh Coat earnings claim. Sales volume and the Gross Profit percentage determine the starting pool, but owner involvement is the largest modeled earnings driver because the manager-wage benchmark is $105,260.

The largest unresolved issue is the expense structure below Item 19 Gross Profit. A prospective buyer should verify the franchisor’s written Item 19 substantiation, reconcile the model to territory-level profit-and-loss statements, clarify the inconsistent Gross Profit cell, and interview both continuing and former franchisees about owner hours, manager cost, advertising efficiency, debt service, and actual cash distributions.

Primary FDD references: 2026 Fresh Coat Franchise Disclosure Document, issued April 17, 2026; Item 6, pp. 5–9; Item 7, pp. 9–11; Item 15, p. 23; Item 19, pp. 27–29; Item 20, pp. 30–36. Monetary scenarios use U.S. dollars and are rounded only after full-precision calculations.