How does the Cost Cutters opening process work?
The current disclosure says a Cost Cutters business generally opens 60 to 90 days after the Franchise Agreement or Development Agreement is signed. That is an estimate, not an opening promise. Site availability, financing, lease review, buildout, training, equipment and inventory delivery, local approvals, and—inside Walmart—Walmart’s sublease approval can extend the process.
Sources: 2025 Cost Cutters FDD, cover, Items 11, 12 and 17; Franchise Agreement §9.1(A); Development Agreement §4.3; FTC Franchise Rule Compliance Guide.
What must an applicant qualify for before signing?
Cost Cutters does not disclose a universal minimum net worth, liquid-capital figure, credit score, education level, citizenship rule, or salon-industry requirement in the current FDD. Its official opportunity profile identifies the target franchisee as a multi-unit operator and says multi-unit franchising experience is preferred. The official Regis FAQ says salon experience is not required, while business-management experience and people skills are preferred.
Those preferences are not approval guarantees. The applicant must provide complete and accurate financial, personal, ownership, and management information. The Franchise Agreement gives Cost Cutters a right to reject the franchisee if material information is false, misleading, incomplete, or inaccurate, or if the franchisee or District Manager does not successfully complete required training or is considered unable to do so.
The disclosure’s fee language is generally nonrefundable but contains limited rejection language that is difficult to reconcile where training is unsuccessful. A buyer should obtain the exact written refund treatment for the final transaction documents before paying.
Official context: Regis Cost Cutters franchise opportunity profile and Regis franchise FAQs. Contract basis: 2025 Cost Cutters FDD, Item 5; Franchise Agreement §§4.2–4.3; Development Agreement guaranty provisions.
What must be signed, and at which stage?
The federal disclosure period belongs before a binding franchise agreement or covered payment. The Cost Cutters FDD itself states that the prospect must receive the disclosure at least 14 calendar days—not business days—before signing or paying the franchisor or an affiliate in connection with the sale. State addenda may impose additional rules.
For a new salon, Cost Cutters says its current practice is to sign a Development Agreement even where only one salon is expected, together with the first Franchise Agreement. After a site is secured, the parties sign the applicable lease or sublease and the Location Identification Amendment. A later salon under Fast Start uses the then-current Franchise Agreement and any applicable sublease.
| Opening path | Documents at award or acquisition | Documents after site selection | Process distinction |
|---|---|---|---|
| New single salon | Development Agreement and first Franchise Agreement under current practice | Approved lease or required sublease; Location Identification Amendment | One salon still carries a development deadline. |
| Fast Start | Development Agreement plus first Franchise Agreement | Then-current Franchise Agreement for each later salon; site documents | Development schedule controls future awards. |
| Acquired or conversion salon | Asset Purchase Agreement, Development Agreement, Franchise Agreement, and applicable sublease | Conversion and location documentation | May include an additional new-salon commitment. |
| Walmart salon | Applicable franchise and development documents | Walmart-form sublease and location documents | Walmart approval and master-lease conditions are additional dependencies. |
Contract basis: 2025 Cost Cutters FDD, Items 1, 5, 8 and 11; Exhibits B–F and J. Federal rule reference: 16 CFR §436.2.
What are the actual steps from inquiry to opening?
The sequence below separates applicant action, Cost Cutters approval, and third-party dependencies. A site approval does not substitute for lease approval, plan approval, construction compliance, training completion, or written opening authorization.
Submit the franchise inquiry and profile
Receive and review the FDD
Obtain approval and execute the award documents
Identify a proposed site
Clear the lease or sublease
Complete plans, buildout, systems, and local compliance
Finish training, staffing, and pre-opening setup
Pass inspection and obtain written opening approval
Which disclosed periods affect the critical path?
The chart compares periods stated in calendar days or day ranges. The lease-term and actual-lease reviews are separate and do not overlap. The 60–90 day bar is a general opening estimate; the other bars are pre-signing or review periods, not promises that each task will consume the full period.
Interpretation: A site or lease package returned for missing information can restart practical work, while landlord, permit, construction, financing, delivery, and Walmart review durations remain undisclosed.
Source: 2025 Cost Cutters FDD, cover and Item 11, pp. 34–36. The chart does not add the periods into a single derived total because some stages can overlap and their starting events differ.
Who controls the site, lease, buildout, and opening decision?
The franchisee finds the location and bears the real-estate, construction, code, permit, staffing, and operating-readiness work. Cost Cutters supplies criteria and template plans, reviews the site and lease, pre-approves adapted plans, may approve the architect and contractor, and can inspect for Brand Standards. A landlord, contractor, supplier, licensing board, municipality, utility, insurer, lender, and Walmart can each control a separate dependency.
Sources: 2025 Cost Cutters FDD, Items 8, 11, 12, 15 and 16; Franchise Agreement Articles 7, 14, 17, 21 and 22. Local requirements vary by location; see the SBA overview of licenses and permits.
The single-unit Franchise Agreement grants a location, not a conventional exclusive territory. A Development Agreement identifies a nonexclusive development area and quotas, but each proposed site still requires separate written acceptance. Site acceptance also does not approve the lease’s economics, legal terms, construction workmanship, code compliance, or future profitability.
What must be completed before Cost Cutters authorizes opening?
Item 11 discloses a 10-hour initial program covering introduction, brand and culture, education, marketing, merchandising, financial tools and compensation, recruiting and retention, daily operations, and salon leadership. Training is currently delivered virtually or electronically, with location and timing controlled by Cost Cutters. The Managing Owner and additional managerial personnel identified by the franchisor must complete the applicable program to its satisfaction.
Opening requires more than training. Cost Cutters or its designee must inspect and approve the salon in writing as compliant with specifications; the District Manager must complete initial training where applicable; enough trained employees must be available; employees must hold appropriate professional licenses; legal, permit, insurance, and system requirements must be satisfied; and Walmart conditions must be completed for a Walmart salon.
Official supplemental pages: Regis franchise overview, Regis franchise business and support, and the official Cost Cutters U.S. website. The FDD and signed agreements control contractual obligations.
How do Fast Start, conversion, and Walmart openings differ?
Fast Start development
The current program grants three- or six-salon rights. The first salon generally must open within 12 months; later salons follow the Development Agreement schedule. Missing a quota can terminate remaining development rights, and the FDD states there is no automatic right to extend.
Acquisition and conversion
A company-owned Cost Cutters or affiliated-brand salon uses an Asset Purchase Agreement plus franchise, development, and applicable lease documents. An affiliated-brand salon must be converted to current Cost Cutters design standards within 90 days after acquisition.
Walmart location
The opening depends on Walmart’s approval and sublease terms in addition to ordinary site, lease, buildout, training, and opening conditions. The buyer should obtain the exact Walmart-specific contract package and confirm which franchise provisions are modified.
The standard Franchise Agreement’s site clause says a franchised location may not be inside a national or regional mass merchandiser such as Walmart, while the FDD expressly offers approved Walmart locations and includes Walmart sublease documents. A Walmart prospect should not assume the conflict is harmless; the final amendment, rider, or Walmart-specific agreement language must resolve it in writing.
Which deadlines can terminate or delay the opening path?
Item 17’s summary table references a 180-day opening default, but the attached Franchise Agreement §9.1(A) states 12 months. Because the agreement text governs the relationship, this article uses the 12-month clause while treating the discrepancy as unresolved. The prospect should require Cost Cutters to identify the controlling amended language in the final signing set.
The Development Agreement does not disclose an automatic extension right. It may allow Cost Cutters to delay later development if the franchisee is not operationally or managerially prepared, but that discretion should not be treated as a buyer-controlled extension. The same distinction applies to site visits, construction reviews, financing referrals, and other assistance described as optional or limited.
What should the buyer verify before committing to an opening date?
The verified path is inquiry and qualification, FDD review, approval and simultaneous development/franchise signing, site acceptance, separate lease approval, plan approval and buildout, training and staffing, systems and licensing readiness, inspection, and written opening authorization. The FDD provides an official 60–90 day general estimate, but not a guaranteed completion date.
The most important applicant-controlled dependency is submitting complete site and lease packages while coordinating plans, construction, licensed staff, insurance, technology, inventory, and local approvals. The most important franchisor or third-party dependency is the chain of written site, lease, plan, and opening approvals—plus landlord, authority, supplier, lender, and Walmart action where applicable.
Before signing, confirm the final location format, nonexclusive development area, exact opening-deadline trigger, Fast Start schedule, District Manager requirement, fee-refund treatment, and the two document conflicts involving the 180-day summary and Walmart location clause. Obtain the current agreement set and state addenda; do not rely on the marketing site or the disclosure summary where the attached contract differs.
Public official references
Primary contractual source cited in plain text: 2025 Cost Cutters Franchise Disclosure Document, issued October 17, 2025 and amended February 1, 2026, including the Franchise Agreement, Development Agreement, sublease exhibits, and Asset Purchase Agreement.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to Cost Cutters Family Hair Salon Franchise?
- How Does the Cost Cutters Family Hair Salon Franchise Work?
- How Does the Cost Cutters Family Hair Salon Franchise Work?
- What are the Pros and Cons of Owning a Cost Cutters Family Hair Salon Franchise?
- How Much Does a Cost Cutters Family Hair Salon Franchise Owner Make?