How Much Does a Cost Cutters Family Hair Salon Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Verified capital range

How much does a Cost Cutters Family Hair Salon franchise cost?

A new single Cost Cutters salon requires an estimated initial investment of $180,990 to $342,340. The same 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document gives a separate range of $210,990 to $372,340 for the first salon opened under a three-salon Development Agreement. Those ranges apply to a new salon in an approved Walmart or non-Walmart location; they do not establish the purchase price of an existing salon or the total capital needed to build all three salons in a development commitment.

Data basis: The legal franchisor is The Barbers, Hairstyling for Men & Women, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Regis Corporation. Figures are from the Cost Cutters 2025 FDD, issued October 17, 2025 and amended February 1, 2026, principally Items 5, 6 and 7, checked July 14, 2026. The document covers U.S. Cost Cutters salons at approved Walmart and non-Walmart sites, single-salon rights, Fast Start multi-salon development, and certain acquisition or conversion transactions. See the official Regis franchise opportunities page and the official Cost Cutters website for current brand information.

New single salon
$180,990-$342,340

This is the official Item 7 total for one new Cost Cutters salon. It includes the $39,500 Initial Franchise Fee, premises and equipment costs, opening inventory, required technology, training travel, grand-opening advertising and $15,000-$45,000 of Additional Funds. Source: 2025 FDD, Item 7, pp. 21-27.

Capital snapshot

Initial Franchise Fee $39,500 Single new salon; due when the Franchise Agreement is signed.
Three-salon Development Fee $69,500 Due at Development Agreement signing; covers development and franchise rights.
Leasehold Improvements $60,000-$120,000 Largest disclosed new-salon range; paid before opening as incurred.
Additional Funds $15,000-$45,000 Included in Item 7; Note 10 describes the first three operating months.
Continuing Fee 4% then 6% / $100 4% of Gross Revenues for weeks 1-52; then the greater of 6% or $100 weekly.

Sources: 2025 FDD, Item 5, pp. 14-17; Item 6, pp. 17-21; Item 7, pp. 21-27. Total Initial Investment, Initial Franchise Fee and Additional Funds are separate concepts; Additional Funds are already included in the Item 7 total.

Item 7 investment

What does the initial investment include?

For a new single salon, the 2025 FDD divides the $180,990-$342,340 total into premises, build-out, equipment, technology, inventory, training travel, opening promotion, professional costs and initial working capital. The franchisor's official real-estate criteria describe concept-dependent salon footprints and site review factors, but the FDD range remains the controlling disclosure for this cost analysis.

Premises and build-out expenditure Amount When paid Payee
Leasehold Improvements $60,000-$120,000 Before start / as incurred Landlord, suppliers and contractors
Furniture, Equipment and Supplies $25,000-$50,000 Before start / as arranged Suppliers or approved suppliers
Construction Management Services Fee $5,500-$7,500 At services-agreement signing Independent approved supplier
Construction and Design Plan Review $500-$1,000 Before construction Cost Cutters or affiliate
Post Build Review $1,500-$3,000 Before opening Cost Cutters or affiliate
First and Last Month's Rent and Security Deposit $7,500-$28,800 Before start Landlord or Regis affiliate
Signs $6,000-$12,000 Before start Supplier
Systems, opening and working-capital expenditure Amount Timing or basis FDD reference
Initial Franchise Fee $39,500 At Franchise Agreement signing Item 7, p. 21
Computer Software (Point of Sale System) $2,040 $170 monthly, before and after opening Item 7, pp. 21-22
Computer Hardware, Installation and Onsite Training $400-$2,000 Before opening Item 7, p. 22
Opening Inventory $5,000-$10,000 As arranged with designated suppliers Item 7, p. 22
Travel and Living Expenses During Orientation Training $2,050-$4,500 As incurred Item 7, p. 22
Grand Opening Advertising $5,000 minimum Within 60 days after opening Item 7, p. 22
Professional Fees $6,000-$12,000 Within five days after invoice Item 7, p. 22
Additional Funds $15,000-$45,000 As incurred during the initial operating period Item 7, pp. 22 and 27
Official single-salon total $180,990-$342,340 New salon at an approved Walmart or non-Walmart location
FDD caveat

The official Item 7 total includes all three construction-service line items. Item 5 and the Item 7 footnotes describe the $5,500-$7,500 approved-vendor service as one path and the $500-$1,000 plan review plus $1,500-$3,000 post-build review as the path used when that vendor is not selected. Because the FDD's stated total nevertheless adds every line, this article preserves the official total rather than creating a lower substitute budget. A buyer should obtain written confirmation of which path and payments apply to the proposed salon.

Largest variable Item 7 ranges for one new salon

Floating bars show the disclosed low-to-high range on a common $0-$120,000 scale.

Leasehold Improvements$60,000-$120,000
Furniture, Equipment and Supplies$25,000-$50,000
Additional Funds$15,000-$45,000
Rent and Security Deposit$7,500-$28,800
Signs$6,000-$12,000
Professional Fees$6,000-$12,000
$0$30,000$60,000$90,000$120,000

Interpretation: Leasehold Improvements create the largest disclosed dollar spread, while Additional Funds have the next-largest spread among the categories shown. Source: 2025 FDD, Item 7, pp. 21-22. Values are official ranges, not averages or expected costs.

What does Additional Funds cover?

The $15,000-$45,000 Additional Funds amount is included in the Item 7 total. Note 10 says it covers initial operating expenses during the first three months, including supplies, training fees, payroll, utility deposits, prepaid insurance, legal and accounting fees, license fees, uniforms, rent and taxes. It expressly excludes any owner draw or salary. The table label says “3-6 Months,” so the table and footnote do not use the same period; the footnote's detailed description identifies three months. Source: 2025 FDD, Item 7, pp. 22 and 27.

Fast Start development

How does a multi-salon commitment change the required capital?

The first outlet under a three-salon Development Agreement has an official estimated initial investment of $210,990-$372,340. This is exactly $30,000 above the single-salon range because the $69,500 three-salon Development Fee replaces the $39,500 Initial Franchise Fee; the remaining Item 7 categories and bounds are the same. The $30,000 difference is a derived calculation from compatible official FDD figures, not a separate franchisor estimate.

Development path Upfront franchise/development fee Item 7 investment range What the range covers
Single new salon $39,500 $180,990-$342,340 One new salon
Three-salon Development Agreement $69,500 $210,990-$372,340 The first outlet only, not all three salons

Fast Start franchise and development fees by salon commitment

Bars compare fixed fees on a common $0-$120,000 scale. Seven- and eight-salon values are the examples stated in Item 5.

1 salon
$39,500
3 salons
$69,500
6 salons
$99,500
7 salons
$109,500
8 salons
$119,500

Interpretation: The fee rises by $30,000 from one salon to three, by another $30,000 from three to six, and by $10,000 for each salon beyond six. Source: 2025 FDD, Item 5, pp. 14-15. These bars compare development-right fees only; they do not represent the build-out cost of every committed salon.

Development commitment

The Fast Start Program allocates $39,500 to the first salon, $20,000 to the second and $10,000 to each additional salon. A developer signs the Development Agreement and first Franchise Agreement together, then signs a separate Franchise Agreement for each later salon. The Development Fee is generally nonrefundable even if acceptable sites are not secured or opening obligations are not met. Source: 2025 FDD, Item 5, pp. 14-15.

Payment timing

When is the franchise money paid?

The cash requirement is staged, but a material nonrefundable payment occurs at contract signing. The FDD says Cost Cutters salons generally open within 60-90 days after the Franchise Agreement or Development Agreement is signed, although site approval, financing, permitting, construction, training, equipment, inventory and Walmart approval can extend that period. The official Regis franchise support description provides supplemental context on site, construction and operating support.

Contract signingPay the $39,500 Initial Franchise Fee for a single salon or the applicable Development Fee, including $69,500 for three salons and $99,500 for six. The approved construction-management fee is also due when its separate services agreement is signed.
Site control and build-outPay deposits and rent before start, then fund Leasehold Improvements, Furniture, Equipment and Supplies, signs, design review and professional services as incurred or invoiced.
Before openingPay for Zenoti hardware and installation, opening inventory, training travel, the Post Build Review and other approved-supplier purchases. The franchisee also pays employee wages and benefits during training.
Opening windowSpend at least $5,000 on Grand Opening Advertising within 60 days after the salon opens. The FDD states this is a minimum and market conditions may require more.
Initial operating periodUse the $15,000-$45,000 Additional Funds allowance for the expenses described in Item 7 Note 10. It is part of the official total and does not include owner compensation.
After openingPay Continuing Fees and Advertising Fees weekly, maintain the local-advertising spend, pay the $170 monthly POS software charge and satisfy rent, supplier and event-triggered obligations as they arise.

Sources: 2025 FDD, Item 5, pp. 14-17; Item 6, pp. 17-21; Item 7, pp. 21-27; Item 11, pp. 34-42.

Ongoing fees

Which fees continue after the salon opens?

The largest continuing contractual charges are the Continuing Fee, Advertising Fee and local-advertising obligation.A new salon pays a lower Continuing Fee during its first 52 operating weeks, but a purchased company-owned salon or affiliated branded salon converted to Cost Cutters starts at the higher formula immediately.

Ongoing obligation Amount or basis Timing Key condition
Continuing Fee, weeks 1-52 4% of Gross Revenues Wednesday for the preceding week Applies to a new salon's first year
Continuing Fee, week 53 onward Greater of 6% or $100 weekly Wednesday for the preceding week $100 minimum applies regardless of sales level
Advertising Fee 4%; currently 1% collected Weekly Item 11 states the fund basis excludes retail-merchandise sales
Local Advertising Expenditure At least 1% of Gross Revenues Measured quarterly Deficiency billing is currently not collected
Zenoti POS software $170 monthly Before and after opening Required approved system
Gift-card settlement service $10 monthly per bank account Sixth day of each month or next business day Paid through the program's third-party vendor
Electronic Communications Fee Up to $500 annually Within five days after invoice Only if obtained through Cost Cutters
Annual convention Up to $1,000 per attendee At registration; travel as incurred Registration fee may be required even without attendance

What does “Gross Revenues” mean for the Continuing Fee?

Item 6 defines Gross Revenues broadly as income from merchandise, products and services connected to the salon, including gift-card redemptions and employee sales, with a limited exclusion for separately stated sales, use or gross-receipts taxes that are collected and paid to the taxing authority. The percentage should therefore be read against the contract definition rather than against accounting net income. Source: 2025 FDD, Item 6, pp. 19-20.

Conversion difference

A franchisee acquiring an existing company-owned Cost Cutters salon or an affiliated branded salon for conversion pays the greater of 6% of Gross Revenues or $100 per week for the entire Franchise Agreement term. The 4% first-year Continuing Fee does not apply to that transaction. Source: 2025 FDD, Item 6, p. 17.

Conditional obligations

Which fees arise only after a trigger or special event?

Item 6 contains several costs that are not ordinary weekly charges but can become material after a late payment, audit, transfer, lease event, supplier request or required modernization. These amounts should not be added to the opening range unless the relevant trigger applies.

Transfer Fee$2,500 for one salon; $4,500 for two; $6,000 for three; $7,000 for four; $7,500 for five; and $500 for each salon after five. It is due before the transfer becomes effective, and a new transferee may also need initial training.
Modernization$50,000, adjusted for inflation, every 10 years. Cost Cutters may require 25% to be spent before the end of year seven or earlier when Walmart requires work. Item 6 also describes an affiliate construction-management charge up to $5,000 for a remodel, subject to a grandfathered exception.
Late payment and reportingInterest of 1.5% per month or the maximum lawful commercial-contract rate, whichever is less, plus a $100 administrative fee. A separate $100 late fee may apply when the weekly Gross Revenues report is not submitted with the Continuing Fee payment.
Audit reimbursementUnpaid amounts, administrative charges, interest and examination costs become payable if required records are not furnished or an audit finds an understatement exceeding 2% of the amount reported.
Lease Guaranty FeeIf Cost Cutters agrees to guarantee lease obligations, it may charge each month the amount by which 16% of monthly Gross Revenues exceeds the monthly lease payment for as long as the guaranty remains in effect.
Lease Renewal Fee$1,500 when Cost Cutters is engaged to negotiate a lease renewal, due when the renewal is executed. The FDD identifies this as an optional service that may be offered.
Alternate Supplier ReviewActual review expenses, on demand, when a franchisee asks Cost Cutters to evaluate a supplier that has not been approved. Approval is not guaranteed.
Tax reimbursementTaxes Cost Cutters must pay because of the franchisee's operations or fees are reimbursed when billed, excluding the franchisor's income taxes on Continuing Fees and Advertising Fees.

Source: 2025 FDD, Item 6, pp. 18-21; modernization and transfer conditions also appear in Item 17, pp. 50-54.

Format and transaction differences

Do Walmart, non-Walmart, acquisition and conversion costs use the same range?

No. The new-salon Item 7 range applies to approved Walmart and non-Walmart locations, but the lease structure, pass-through charges and remodel timing can differ. An acquisition or conversion follows a different cost contract because the purchase price is negotiated and some new-build categories are replaced by asset and upgrade costs.

New Walmart salon

The $180,990-$342,340 single-salon range can apply, but the franchisee must sublease a Walmart site. Walmart may pass through tenant taxes or surcharges and may require a remodel when its store is remodeled or as a condition of lease renewal.

New non-Walmart salon

The same Item 7 range applies. The premises may be leased directly or subleased, and actual rent, landlord contributions, site condition, geography and construction materials drive the disclosed spread.

Existing or converted salon

The purchase price is negotiated. A company-owned Cost Cutters acquisition may require up to $50,000 for Cost Cutters-standard upgrades, plus any landlord-required remodel; an affiliated branded salon conversion may cost about $40,000-$100,000 before considering the negotiated asset price and other applicable obligations.

What is excluded from a new-build comparison?

Negotiated asset priceThe FDD does not disclose a fixed purchase-price range for a company-owned Cost Cutters salon or affiliated branded salon. Age, location, condition and other transaction factors affect the negotiated amount.
All salons in a development scheduleThe $210,990-$372,340 Development Agreement table covers the first outlet under a three-unit commitment. It is not the aggregate cost of opening all three salons.
Landlord-required work beyond the stated upgrade capThe $50,000 Cost Cutters-standard upgrade cap for an acquired company-owned salon does not cap separate remodel work required under the master lease.
Future Brand Standards changesItem 8 permits required changes to Operating Assets, suppliers, technology and design standards that can require additional capital during the franchise term, without a stated aggregate limit.

The official Regis franchise overview confirms Cost Cutters as a Regis franchise brand, while the FDD controls the transaction-specific cost distinctions above. Source: 2025 FDD, Items 1, 5, 7, 8 and 10.

Qualifications and funding

Does Cost Cutters disclose a liquid-capital or net-worth minimum?

The 2025 FDD does not state a numeric Liquid Capital, Net Worth or Non-Borrowed Funds threshold for a new buyer. Item 17 refers to the franchisor's then-current net-worth requirements in the transfer context, but it does not give the amount. The official Regis franchise FAQ asks candidates to demonstrate capital and financial stability and says qualified prospects may be referred to financing companies, without publishing a dollar qualification.

Total Initial InvestmentThe FDD's estimated cost to establish and begin operating the specified salon format. It is not a liquidity qualification.
Liquid CapitalNo numeric Cost Cutters minimum was located in the verified FDD or official financial-qualification language reviewed.
Net WorthThe FDD recognizes that a requirement exists for certain transfer approvals but does not disclose its amount.
Personal GuaranteeWhen the developer is a legal entity, each owner must personally guarantee the Development Agreement's monetary and nonmonetary obligations. Owners also guarantee applicable sublease performance.

Does the franchisor finance the opening cost?

Item 10 says Cost Cutters and its agents and affiliates do not offer direct or indirect financing or guarantee a note, lease or obligation except for the disclosed lease and sublease arrangements. Any financing referral is not approval, a commitment or a statement that the full Item 7 amount can be borrowed. The U.S. Small Business Administration loan-program overview explains general federal loan programs, but eligibility and lender underwriting remain separate from the franchise disclosure.

Renewal and transfer

What later capital obligations can affect the ownership term?

The Franchise Agreement term is 15 years from opening. Renewal does not require another Initial Franchise Fee under the disclosed terms, but the franchisee must give 180 days' notice, pay all amounts due, modernize the location, be able to occupy it for at least three more years and sign the then-current Franchise Agreement. That replacement agreement may carry materially different Continuing Fees, Advertising Fees and other charges.

A transfer can also produce modernization costs. Item 17 permits Cost Cutters to require a transferee to modernize within six months when the salon is more than seven years old and has not been remodeled within the prior five years. The transfer fee, training requirements and any lease or location costs are separate. Source: 2025 FDD, Item 17, pp. 50-54.

Buyer verification

Which cost questions should be resolved before signing?

The disclosed ranges identify the official cost contract, but several location- and transaction-specific points must be resolved in writing before a buyer can determine the actual cash schedule.

Confirm the current state packageVerify the cover date, February 1, 2026 amendment and any state-specific addendum that applies to the proposed transaction.
Identify the construction-fee pathDetermine whether Build Point Solutions will coordinate the project or whether the Cost Cutters plan-review and post-build fees apply, and reconcile that answer to the official Item 7 total.
Resolve the Additional Funds periodAsk why the table says 3-6 months while Note 10 describes the first three months, and prepare a cash plan that does not include an owner salary unless separately funded.
Document the lease structureConfirm direct lease versus sublease, deposit requirements, percentage rent, the $300 Walmart-related upcharge where applicable, pass-through charges and any Lease Guaranty Fee.
Separate acquisition price from conversion costFor a Vendition Salon, obtain the negotiated asset price, the exact landlord work, the Cost Cutters-standard upgrade scope and the categories that replace new-build expenditures.
Verify current percentage collectionsConfirm the then-current Advertising Fee collection, local-advertising accounting and the Continuing Fee formula that applies to a new salon versus a conversion.
Budget for modernization triggersReview the 10-year $50,000 inflation-adjusted modernization obligation, earlier spending authority and any Walmart or transfer-related remodeling condition.

The FTC Franchise Rule compliance guide explains the federal disclosure framework and timing rules. The official Regis Corporation profile identifies the parent company behind the franchisor.

Cost synthesis

What is the clearest capital takeaway?

A prospective U.S. franchisee should distinguish four amounts. The official cost to establish one new salon is $180,990-$342,340. The upfront Initial Franchise Fee inside that total is $39,500. The first salon under a three-salon Development Agreement is $210,990-$372,340, reflecting a $69,500 Development Fee rather than the single-salon fee. After opening, Continuing Fees, Advertising Fees, local advertising, technology, rent and event-triggered obligations continue under separate bases and schedules.

The largest opening-range driver is Leasehold Improvements, followed by Furniture, Equipment and Supplies and Additional Funds. The most important unresolved buyer-specific questions are the actual premises contract, which construction-review path applies, whether the transaction is a new build or conversion, and how much cash is needed beyond the three-month Additional Funds description without relying on owner compensation.