How to Start a Comfort Keepers Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

OPENING PATH

How long does it take to open a Comfort Keepers franchise?

No single total
Milestone-only roadmap. The 2025 disclosure document does not state one complete period from initial inquiry to opening. It provides separate applicant, signing, training, licensing, staffing, and Start Date milestones. A Start-up Agreement usually reaches operations within a disclosed post-signing range, but state licensure and hiring can extend the process.
Data basis: CK Franchising, Inc., an Ohio corporation; Comfort Keepers Franchise Disclosure Document issued December 19, 2025; Start-up, Expansion, transfer, and independent-business conversion paths; milestone-only timeline mode. Contractual evidence comes from Items 5-12, 15-17 and 20, the Franchise Deposit Agreement, the Franchise Agreement, and relevant addenda. Official web information was checked July 17, 2026 through the Comfort Keepers path to ownership, current investment and screening page, and training overview. No franchise-controlled public copy of the 2025 FDD was verified, so FDD citations below are unlinked.
60-90 daysNormal signing-to-operations rangeStart-up timing; licensure may make it longer.
240-270 daysDeposit-to-operations rangeApplies to the disclosed first-Expansion deposit path.
14 daysFederal disclosure floorCalendar days before binding contract or payment.
60 daysStart-up training deadlineOr the next scheduled program after signing.
2 full-timeOpening staffing minimumOne may be the owner; equivalents are allowed.

Sources: 2025 FDD, Item 11, pp. 41-42; Item 15, p. 63; Franchise Agreement §§3.79, 7.2.1 and 7.2.2. Federal timing: FTC Consumer's Guide to Buying a Franchise.

QUALIFICATION

What must an applicant qualify for before Comfort Keepers approval?

The official franchise site currently describes a 680-or-higher credit score, $100,000 in liquid capital, and $300,000 in net worth as funding requirements. Its application also asks for goals, qualifications, and financial information. The 2025 FDD does not convert those website figures into contractual minimums or state whether they apply to each applicant, the ownership group, or the proposed franchise entity.

OFFICIAL SCREEN, NOT AUTOMATIC APPROVALMeeting the published financial screen does not require CK Franchising to award a territory. The official process also evaluates the applicant's sales orientation, ability to follow the Comfort Keepers System, time management, and fit during calls, validation, and Meet the Team Day. No FDD minimum for a degree, home-care experience, or prior business ownership was disclosed.
Credit and liquidityDocument the current 680+, $100,000 liquid-capital screen.
Net worthPrepare support for the website's $300,000 figure.
Application and bioDisclose ownership, goals, qualifications, and finances accurately.
Operating commitmentShow willingness to sell, recruit, manage, and follow standards.
Ownership structureIdentify every owner who will hold at least 10%.
Scope confirmationAsk whether financial thresholds apply individually or collectively.

Sources: Comfort Keepers financial requirements; official applicant profile and award process; 2025 FDD, Item 15, p. 63.

VERIFIED SEQUENCE

What happens from inquiry through opening?

The official sales process and the 2025 FDD create the following dependency-based sequence. The first four stages concern evaluation and award; signing begins the contractual pre-opening period.

1

Initial and opportunity calls

Action: Discuss the senior-care sector, the Comfort Keepers model, and applicant goals.
Actor: Applicant and franchise development team.
Next dependency: Mutual interest sufficient to request formal information.
2

Application and financial review

Action: Submit the application, bio, ownership details, and financial information.
Actor: Applicant; CK Franchising evaluates suitability.
Blocker: Incomplete or inaccurate information can stop the process and can terminate a later deposit reservation.
3

FDD delivery and review

Action: Receive the FDD, attend overview and review calls, and examine every agreement and state addendum.
Timing: At least 14 calendar days before a binding agreement or payment.
Blocker: Signing or payment cannot lawfully be accelerated past the federal waiting period.
4

Validation and final award review

Action: Complete calls with at least three franchise owners, then Meet the Team Day.
Actor: Applicant, current franchisees, and CK Franchising.
Next dependency: The official site states approval follows completion of the final award stage.
5

Agreement, territory, and payment

Action: Sign the applicable Franchise Agreement, its guaranties and attachments, and pay the initial franchise fee.
Actor: Franchisee and CK Franchising.
Blocker: Confirm the exact zip-code Territory and correct agreement path before execution.
6

Training and licensing workstreams

Action: Complete eLearning, webinars, Irvine training, and follow-up sessions while filing required state applications.
Actor: Owner or required manager; approved licensure professional; licensing authority.
Blocker: Training failure, late filings, or agency processing can delay readiness.
7

Office, systems, insurance, and staff

Action: Establish the compliant Office, install required technology, bind insurance, hire staff, run background checks, and train caregivers.
Actor: Franchisee, landlord, vendors, insurer, and employees.
Blocker: Shared office space, missing certificates, unapproved suppliers, or fewer than two full-time equivalents.
8

Meet opening conditions and reach the Start Date

Action: Provide licenses and insurance evidence, confirm training and staffing, and begin required services by the contractual Start Date.
Actor: Franchisee satisfies conditions; CK Franchising gives written notice when conditions are met.
Next dependency: Limited territorial protections begin on the third business day after that notice.

Sources: official Comfort Keepers award sequence; 2025 FDD, Items 5, 8, 11, 12 and 15; Franchise Deposit Agreement §3; Franchise Agreement §§3.79, 5.1, 6.1, 7.2 and Attachment 4.

DURATION EVIDENCE

Which disclosed periods control the critical path?

These periods use different triggers and must not be added as though they form one promised schedule. Range bars show the FDD's normal operating windows; fixed bars show contractual or regulatory periods.

Opening-related periods disclosed in days
Scale maximum: 270 days; each row states its own trigger.
090180270
FDD before signing/payment
14
Start-up training after signing
60
Normal signing to operations
60-90
Personal care after Start Date
90+
First-Expansion territory deposit
180
Normal deposit to operations
240-270
Interpretation: The applicant-controlled variables are prompt agreement review, training attendance, staffing, and timely license filings. The principal external uncertainty is the licensing authority. “90+” means personal care starts on the later of 90 days after the Start Date or receipt of required licensure.

Sources: 2025 FDD, Item 5, pp. 9-10; Item 11, pp. 36-37 and 41-42; Franchise Deposit Agreement §§1-2; Franchise Agreement §§3.79 and 7.2.2; FTC disclosure timing guidance.

FORMAT DIFFERENCES

Which agreement path applies to the proposed franchise?

Comfort Keepers does not disclose an area-development agreement. Additional territories are generally governed by separate Franchise Agreements classified as Expansion Agreements. Private Duty Nursing is an optional service addendum for qualified franchisees, not a separate franchise format.

Path Governing document Start Date basis Opening distinction
First business Start-up Agreement Last day of the month after required training completion month, or required completion month, whichever is earlier Owner completes initial training; normal signing-to-operations range applies.
Additional business Expansion Agreement 60 days after effective date First Expansion may use the nonrefundable 180-day territory deposit; contiguous offices may satisfy the Office rule.
Existing franchise transfer Current Franchise Agreement and transfer documents Effective date Transferee must qualify and complete required training as a transfer condition.
Independent-business conversion Franchise Agreement plus applicable acquisition incentive amendment Effective date Conversion and licensure readiness must be coordinated without a separate pre-opening grace period.

Sources: 2025 FDD, Items 5, 7 and 11; Franchise Agreement §§3.36, 3.79 and 3.80; Franchise Acquisition Incentive Amendment for Independent Business.

SITE, LICENSE, AND OPENING AUTHORITY

Who controls the office, territory, licenses, and opening readiness?

The Territory is fixed by specified ZIP Codes in an attachment to the Franchise Agreement, but it is not exclusive. The franchisee selects the Office; CK Franchising states that it neither finds nor approves the site. The Office must be commercial or retail space inside the Territory, shared office space is prohibited, and the premises must not damage the goodwill of the Comfort Keepers Marks.

Licensing remains a franchisee and government-authority workstream. The franchisee must use a professional state licensure consultant or attorney; the designated provider is the sole approved source unless CK Franchising approves another professional in writing. CK Franchising does not promise permit, license, landlord, construction, or hiring outcomes.

Phase
Applicant / franchisee
CK Franchising
Third party
Award
Submit complete application; review FDD; conduct validation.
Runs calls, evaluation, Meet the Team Day, and approval decision.
Current franchisees provide validation; federal and state rules govern disclosure.
Territory and contract
Verify ZIP Codes, entity, guarantors, state addenda, and funding.
Defines the Territory and executes the applicable agreement.
Counsel, lender, and state regulator may affect closing readiness.
Office and licensing
Select premises, negotiate lease, file applications, and satisfy local rules.
Sets Office standards but does not approve the site or secure permits.
Landlord, consultant, insurer, and licensing agency control external dependencies.
Training and staffing
Attend training; hire two full-time equivalents; screen and onboard caregivers.
Provides initial training, Manual access, and specified start-up subscriptions.
Training vendors and background-screening providers supply required services.
Opening
Deliver insurance and license evidence and begin required services by the Start Date.
Confirms conditions are met; written consent is required to extend the Start Date.
Licensing timing, staffing availability, and insurer documentation can delay readiness.
SITE APPROVAL IS NOT TERRITORY PROTECTIONThe franchisee may choose and relocate an Office within the Territory without site approval, subject to standards and notice requirements. Limited territorial protections begin only on the third business day after CK Franchising gives written notice that all opening conditions have been met.

Sources: 2025 FDD, Item 8, pp. 23-26; Item 11, pp. 40-42; Item 12, pp. 52-57; Franchise Agreement §§4.2, 7.2.2, 7.2.3, 7.2.6 and 7.6. Territory availability should be checked on the official Comfort Keepers territories page.

OPENING READINESS

What must be complete before operations begin?

A Start-up franchise may not begin operations until required training is complete, at least two full-time employees or equivalents are in place, required insurance is bound and evidenced, and any license required for homemaker/companionship services has been obtained and delivered to CK Franchising. The Office, systems, approved vendors, caregiver screening, and onboarding must also comply with the Manual.

Correct agreement packageFranchise Agreement, Territory attachment, state addenda, EFT, guaranties.
Owner and manager trainingRequired attendees complete every session to CK Franchising's satisfaction.
Commercial OfficeInside the Territory, not shared, ready by the Start Date.
Licensure fileApplications filed timely through an approved professional; licenses delivered.
Insurance evidenceRequired policies in force; certificates supplied to CK Franchising.
Technology and privacySpecified hardware, software, security, and required vendor contracts active.
Staffing minimumTwo full-time employees or equivalents, including a trained supervisor.
Caregiver controlsBackground checks and Orientation and Onboarding Training completed.
Authorized service scopeHomemaker/companionship and technology services ready at opening.
Written deadline statusAny Start Date extension documented in CK Franchising's written consent.
SPLIT SERVICE LAUNCHOpening does not necessarily mean every service begins on the same day. Homemaker/companionship and Personal Technology Services are due by the Start Date. Personal care begins on the later of 90 days after the Start Date or receipt of required licensure, assuming applications were filed timely. Private Duty Nursing requires separate approval, qualified nursing supervision, licensure, insurance, standards compliance, and the PDN addendum.

Sources: 2025 FDD, Items 1, 8, 11, 15 and 16; Franchise Agreement §§5.1, 7.2, 7.4 and 7.6; Private Duty Nursing Services Addendum §3.

BUYER VERIFICATION

Which unresolved points should be verified before signing?

Ask CK Franchising to identify the precise agreement classification, the ZIP Codes in the Territory attachment, the contractual Start Date formula, the next available training cohort, and every state-specific license needed for the intended service mix. Verify whether the published financial thresholds apply per owner or across the ownership group and whether any financing condition must be completed before execution.

Use Item 20 contacts and the official validation stage to ask current and former franchisees how long licensing, hiring, Office setup, and training actually took in comparable states. Confirm in writing which vendors are mandatory, which subscriptions CK Franchising pays during the first year, what evidence triggers opening confirmation, and whether any requested Start Date extension is a contractual right or discretionary consent.

CONTRACTUAL DEADLINEThe Start Date is not merely a planning estimate. The Franchise Agreement defines when required services must begin and says it may be extended only with CK Franchising's written consent. Missing insurance or licensing can also create short cure periods under Item 17, so unresolved agency timing should be raised before signing.
SYNTHESIS

What is the verified Comfort Keepers opening path?

The verified path is inquiry and application, FDD review, validation and award, execution of the correct Franchise Agreement, then parallel training, licensing, Office, systems, insurance, staffing, and caregiver-readiness work. The total inquiry-to-opening duration is undisclosed; only milestone and post-signing ranges are official. The key applicant-controlled dependency is completing training and staffing promptly. The main external dependency is state licensure. Before signing, verify the Territory attachment, agreement classification, Start Date, and whether a written extension would be available if a licensing authority runs late.