How to Start a Chick-fil-A Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Opening path

How does the Chick-fil-A License Program opening process work?

3–9 months Typical signing-to-opening estimate Chick-fil-A, Inc. states that a Licensed Unit typically opens approximately three to nine months after the License Agreement is signed. This is an experience-based estimate, not a promise. The separate contractual control is a 360-calendar-day opening deadline measured from Chick-fil-A’s site approval, while construction, occupancy rights, permits, equipment, staffing and training can extend the practical schedule.

Legal franchisor: Chick-fil-A, Inc.

Disclosure basis: License Program FDD issued March 31, 2026

Applicable paths: Self-Operator and Food Service Provider Licensed Units

Timeline mode: Official total estimate plus separate contractual deadlines

Core evidence: Items 5–12, 15–17 and 20; License Agreements B-1 and B-2

Date checked: July 15, 2026

Format difference This roadmap covers the Chick-fil-A License Program for units at sites such as universities, hospitals, workplaces, airports and similar facilities. It does not apply the candidate minimums on Chick-fil-A’s Restaurant Franchisee opportunity page, which describes the separate hands-on Operator route for conventional Chick-fil-A restaurants.
14 days Federal disclosure period Calendar days before binding signature or covered payment.
360 days Opening deadline Calendar days measured from Chick-fil-A site approval.
7 days Full leader program Two in-person days plus five virtual training days.
20 days Drawing review window Business days for Chick-fil-A to notify disapproval.
10 days Additional-site decision Business days after a completed Site Description Form.

Sources: 2026 Chick-fil-A License Program FDD, Items 11–12, pages 26–33; Self-Operator and Food Service Provider License Agreements, Sections 3, 5 and 6.7; 16 CFR § 436.2.

Qualification

What must a License Program applicant qualify for before signing?

The 2026 License Program FDD does not publish a universal application form, net-worth minimum, credit-score threshold, education requirement or fixed experience minimum. The governing License Agreements state that Chick-fil-A relies on the Licensee’s character, skill, experience, business ability and financial qualifications, but they do not convert those factors into guaranteed approval criteria.

The practical first gate is format and site fit. A prospective Licensee must have access to a proposed Licensed Site and remain responsible for selecting both the facility and the unit’s location within it. The applicant should be ready to document its legal entity, site-access or occupancy rights, operating structure, financial capacity, management team and facility conditions requested by Chick-fil-A. Meeting any stated factor does not create a right to a license.

Buyer verification Ask Chick-fil-A for the current License Program intake channel, qualification package, decision sequence and approval authority. The FDD does not disclose how long initial screening takes or whether a formal “award” occurs before the site-specific License Agreement is prepared.

Chick-fil-A and its affiliates do not offer or guarantee financing for Licensed Units. Any lender decision depends on the applicant, collateral, creditworthiness and lender policy. The applicant also must verify that its entity and site-host arrangements can survive through the planned License Term, because losing the lease, license, facility-use right or occupancy arrangement can terminate the right to operate.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 10–12 and 17, pages 26–33 and 43–46; License Agreements, Sections 3, 9.2 and 10.8.

Verified sequence

What happens from inquiry through the first day of operation?

The sequence below separates disclosed contractual steps from unresolved intake details. Initial screening duration and the exact coordination of first-site approval with agreement execution are not disclosed, so they should not be converted into a promised calendar.

1

Confirm the correct Chick-fil-A route

Action: Identify a Self-Operator or Food Service Provider License Program opportunity tied to a qualifying facility.

Actor: Applicant.

Timing: Not disclosed.

Blocker: Using the conventional Operator application for a licensed-site project.

2

Present the applicant, site and operating structure

Action: Supply requested entity, financial, management, site-access and facility information.

Actor: Applicant and site host.

Timing: Screening period not disclosed.

Blocker: Inadequate site control or an operating arrangement Chick-fil-A will not approve.

3

Receive and review the current FDD

Action: Review the FDD, applicable License Agreement, Site Description Form, addenda and state amendments.

Actor: Chick-fil-A furnishes; applicant reviews.

Timing: At least 14 calendar days before a binding agreement or covered payment.

Next: Resolve material revisions and state-specific terms before signature.

4

Approve the site-specific grant and sign

Action: Complete the site-specific License Agreement and Site Description Form covering location, retail area, menu, days and hours.

Actor: Chick-fil-A and Licensee.

Timing: Initial-site approval response is not disclosed.

Blocker: Site, lease, use, occupancy or ownership terms that do not meet Chick-fil-A requirements.

5

Submit plans and lock the buildout basis

Action: Obtain working drawings, submit them before use and build only to supplied or approved plans.

Actor: Licensee, architect, contractor and Chick-fil-A reviewer.

Timing: Drawings are deemed approved unless disapproved within 20 business days after verified receipt.

Next: Construction, conversion and equipment installation.

6

Build, equip and connect the unit

Action: Complete space conversion, signage, equipment, smallwares, POS systems, internet and approved-source purchasing.

Actor: Licensee, contractors and approved suppliers.

Timing: Project-specific.

Blocker: Construction, landlord, utility, equipment or supplier delays.

7

Secure legal and insurance readiness

Action: Obtain applicable permits, licenses, consents and registrations; procure required liability insurance and name Chick-fil-A as additional insured.

Actor: Licensee, insurer and government authorities.

Timing: Certificates within 30 calendar days after procurement and always before opening.

Blocker: Local approvals vary by jurisdiction and facility.

8

Train leaders and bind operating personnel

Action: Complete required cultural and operational training; obtain confidentiality agreements from managers, supervisors and any approved Third Party Operator personnel.

Actor: Licensee, trainees and Chick-fil-A trainers.

Timing: Two in-person days plus five virtual days for fully trained dedicated leaders.

Blocker: Unsatisfactory completion or too few trained leaders.

9

Complete opening readiness and start operations

Action: Staff the unit, stock approved opening inventory, activate systems, confirm approved menu and operating schedule, and verify all pre-opening conditions.

Actor: Licensee, site host, suppliers and Chick-fil-A.

Timing: Typical 3–9 months after signing; no later than 360 days after site approval.

Uncertainty: The FDD does not identify a separate opening-authorization form or its review time.

Federal timing source: FTC Franchise Rule disclosure timing. Plain-language compliance context: FTC Franchise Rule Compliance Guide. Contractual sequence: 2026 FDD, Items 9–12 and License Agreements B-1/B-2.

Training

Who must complete Chick-fil-A Licensee training before opening?

Before a Licensed Unit begins operating, at least two management-level people from the site whose duties include management or supervision must complete all required training to Chick-fil-A’s satisfaction. Chick-fil-A may also require two other senior management leaders—or one, at its sole election—to complete the in-person cultural component.

Disclosed training workload for fully trained unit leaders

Compatible hours reported in the 2026 FDD training schedule

In-person cultural classroom
15 hours
Virtual classroom
15 hours
In-restaurant application
≈10 hours

Interpretation: A dedicated Chick-fil-A leader and an additional unit leader complete about 40 disclosed training hours across the two-day in-person and five-day virtual components. Highest-level or multi-concept leaders may be required only for the cultural component.

Source: 2026 Chick-fil-A License Program FDD, Item 11, pages 28–30. The 10-hour application component is expressly approximate.

The first two employees from a new Licensed Site may attend the full class without tuition, but the Licensee remains responsible for travel, lodging, living expenses, wages and workers’ compensation. Additional employees may attend if space is available; disclosed tuition must be paid at least 10 days before training. Each required leader’s certification lasts five years, and the Licensee must maintain at least two properly trained management-level people at each site throughout the term.

Responsibility map

Who controls each critical opening dependency?

Chick-fil-A approval does not transfer the applicant’s real-estate, construction, staffing or regulatory duties to the franchisor. The opening schedule therefore depends on three separate control groups.

Applicant or Licensee

  • Select and secure access to the Licensed Site.
  • Supply drawings and pay architects, contractors and vendors.
  • Obtain permits, insurance, staff, inventory and technology.
  • Maintain trained managers and approved operating standards.

Chick-fil-A, Inc.

  • Approve the site and applicable licensed format.
  • Approve or disapprove submitted drawings.
  • Provide required training and electronic manuals.
  • Set approved suppliers, products, systems and brand standards.

Third parties

  • Site host or landlord grants occupancy and construction access.
  • Lender independently decides whether to finance the project.
  • Contractors and suppliers deliver the buildout and equipment.
  • Government authorities issue location-specific approvals.
Third-party dependency The 3–9 month estimate can widen because Chick-fil-A does not guarantee a lease, lender approval, permits, construction completion, equipment delivery or staffing. Site approval also is not a representation that the location will be profitable or safe.
Documents and approvals

What must be signed, obtained and verified before the unit opens?

Deliverable Responsible party Opening significance
License Agreement and Site Description Form Chick-fil-A and Licensee Defines the specific site, retail area, menu, days, hours and license grant.
Approved working drawings Licensee and Chick-fil-A Construction, conversion or remodeling must follow supplied or approved plans.
Site-host, lease, use or occupancy rights Licensee and site owner The Licensee must retain the legal ability to operate at the site.
Permits, licenses and registrations Licensee and authorities Requirements vary by facility and jurisdiction; the FDD does not provide one universal list.
Insurance endorsements and certificates Licensee and insurer Required coverage must be active and evidence delivered before opening.
Training completion and confidentiality agreements Licensee, trainees and Chick-fil-A Required leaders must finish training satisfactorily; covered personnel must protect confidential information.
Approved equipment, suppliers, POS and inventory Licensee and approved vendors The unit must use compliant systems, products, ingredients, signage and operating assets.

For the Food Service Provider form, a Third Party Operator cannot receive rights involving Chick-fil-A products until Chick-fil-A approves the arrangement in writing and the Third Party Operator and covered personnel sign the required confidentiality agreements. The Food Service Provider remains accountable for their compliance.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 8–12 and 15–16; Self-Operator License Agreement, Sections 2–6; Food Service Provider License Agreement, Sections 2.6 and 3–6.

Deadline risk

What can delay or prevent a Chick-fil-A Licensed Unit from opening?

The controlling contractual deadline is 360 calendar days after Chick-fil-A approves the site. The FDD does not disclose an automatic extension right, extension fee, cure period for missing this opening deadline or a guaranteed refund mechanism. A buyer should obtain the project-specific deadline, any written extension terms and the consequence of delay before committing to construction or occupancy obligations.

Common disclosed blockers are incomplete site rights, rejected drawings, construction or remodeling delay, unavailable approved equipment, missing permits, inadequate insurance evidence, insufficient trained management, an unapproved Third Party Operator, or failure to meet product and supplier standards. The License Program also grants no protected territory; approval applies to the designated site, not a surrounding market.

Site approval is not territory protection A Licensee receives a limited right to operate at the designated Licensed Site. Chick-fil-A may establish other restaurants or Licensed Units nearby and use other sales channels, although it will not place another Chick-fil-A unit at the exact same site or retail area during the term as described in the agreement.
Readiness checklist

What should a buyer verify before signing and before opening?

Confirm that the opportunity is the License Program, not the conventional Restaurant Franchisee route.
Identify whether the Self-Operator or Food Service Provider agreement governs the project.
Obtain the current FDD, all state addenda and the complete site-specific agreement package.
Record the FDD delivery date and preserve the 14-calendar-day federal review period.
Verify who controls the site, lease, use, occupancy, construction access and term of possession.
Confirm the exact Chick-fil-A site-approval date that starts the 360-day deadline.
Obtain written drawing status, approved supplier requirements and current technology specifications.
Map local permits, inspections and insurance deliverables with qualified local professionals.
Name required trainees, reserve training sessions and maintain at least two trained leaders per site.
Ask whether a separate opening sign-off exists and who issues it, because the FDD does not specify a form or review period.
For a Food Service Provider, obtain written approval of every Third Party Operator arrangement.
Contact current and former Licensees listed in Item 20 exhibits to verify real project sequencing and delay points.
Synthesis

What is the practical opening decision?

The verified path is site-led: confirm the License Program format, pass Chick-fil-A’s undisclosed intake review, receive the 2026 FDD, observe federal disclosure timing, execute the site-specific License Agreement, secure site and drawing approvals, complete buildout and approved sourcing, obtain permits and insurance, train required leaders, and open a compliant unit.

The total timeline is an official typical estimate of three to nine months after signing, not a guarantee. The most important applicant-controlled dependency is enforceable access to a buildable Licensed Site. The most important franchisor or third-party dependency is coordinated site, drawing, construction and regulatory approval. The key unresolved issue is whether Chick-fil-A requires a separate final opening sign-off; the key disclosed deadline is opening within 360 days after site approval.