How Much Does a Chick-fil-A Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

LICENSE PROGRAM

How much does a Chick-fil-A Licensed Unit cost?

The March 31, 2026 disclosure estimates a total initial investment of $585,500 to $3,437,000 for a location operated by either a Self-Operator or a Food Service Provider. The range applies to both licensee types and covers a branded counter, custom facade, or other retail facility inside an approved venue such as a school, workplace, university, airport, hospital, or similar setting.

$585,500–$3,437,000

Estimated Initial Investment for the U.S. License Program. The range includes six disclosed categories and a three-month operating allowance, but it does not estimate security deposits, insurance, or lease and sublease payments.

Source: Chick-fil-A, Inc. 2026 License Program FDD, issued March 31, 2026, Item 7, pp. 19–20.
DATA BASIS

Legal franchisor: Chick-fil-A, Inc., a Georgia corporation. Disclosure: 2026 License Program FDD, issued March 31, 2026. Formats covered: Self-Operator and Food Service Provider Licensed Units at approved Licensed Sites. Cost sections reviewed: Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 17. Information checked: July 16, 2026.

No matching current License Program FDD was located on a franchise-controlled public website, so FDD citations below are plain-text Item and page references rather than clickable document links. The official Chick-fil-A U.S. franchise page describes the separate Restaurant Franchisee or Operator opportunity, not the licensed-site cost range analyzed here.

Initial license fee $0 No initial license payment or fee is charged under this program.
Build-out $300,000–$1,886,000 The widest construction-related range in the investment table.
Additional Funds $149,000–$951,000 Included in the total and intended for the first three months of operation.
Monthly License Fee 10% Of the defined sales base; 7% for qualifying new transportation locations.
Opening inventory $11,500–$65,000 Investment-table estimate across applicable sources.
ITEM 7 INVESTMENT

What is included in the $585,500 to $3,437,000 range?

The official total is the sum of six disclosed categories. Construction and the three-month operating allowance create most of the dollar spread; the remaining categories cover the physical setup and initial supply needs.

Disclosed category Disclosed range When paid Primary payee
Opening Inventory/Paper Supplies $11,500–$65,000 As incurred Chick-fil-A, CFA Supply where applicable, and other suppliers
Utensils and Other Smallwares $10,000–$35,000 As incurred Chick-fil-A, CFA Supply where applicable, and other suppliers
Equipment/Signage $100,000–$400,000 As incurred Chick-fil-A and third parties
Build-out $300,000–$1,886,000 As incurred Third parties
Architectural, Mechanical, and Other Drawings $15,000–$100,000 As incurred Third parties
Additional Funds $149,000–$951,000 During first three months Chick-fil-A, CFA Supply, employees, utilities, suppliers, and other third parties
Total Estimated Initial Investment $585,500–$3,437,000 Official total; low and high endpoints reconcile to the six categories above.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 19–20.

The endpoints should not be converted into a midpoint or described as a typical budget. They are the lowest and highest amounts disclosed for each category, and the actual result depends on the approved premises, construction scope, vendor quotations, and operating structure. A defensible capital plan should preserve the official range until project-specific bids replace the estimates.

The three-month allowance is already part of the total. Adding it again would double-count working capital. The disclosure says it includes operating expenses, repairs, maintenance, and utilities, but it does not expressly identify owner compensation as included or excluded. That point remains an explicit item for written clarification.

The range also should not be treated as a single cash requirement on the signing date. Some amounts become contractual commitments before they become payable, some are invoiced in stages, and some are consumed only after trading begins. For capital planning, those distinctions matter because available funds must cover both the amount of the obligation and the date on which cash leaves the business.

A useful reconciliation begins with the signed site documents and vendor proposals, then assigns each obligation to one of four buckets: committed before construction, payable during the build, payable at or shortly after opening, and reserved for early operations. This does not change the official total. It converts the disclosure into a timing model that can be checked against actual contract terms without inventing a midpoint or assuming that all bills arrive together.

EXCLUDED FROM ITEM 7

The official total does not estimate security deposits, insurance, or lease and sublease payments. The FDD states that these costs can vary greatly because the operations are established inside existing facilities to which the Licensee already has access. A buyer therefore cannot treat $3,437,000 as a universal all-in ceiling.

OFFER DISTINCTION

Why is this range different from the widely cited $10,000 Chick-fil-A figure?

The $10,000 figure belongs to the separate Restaurant Franchisee or Operator opportunity. This article analyzes the institutional and venue-based agreement, under which the licensee funds the disclosed premises work, setup purchases, supplies, and early operating cash.

TWO DIFFERENT COST CONTRACTS

Do not combine the two published cost structures

License Program

$585,500–$3,437,000 total initial investment, no initial license fee, and a 10% License Fee on Gross Receipts, reduced to 7% for new units in transportation venues.

Applies to the two disclosed licensee types at approved institutional and similar venues.

Restaurant Franchisee or Operator

The current official Restaurant Franchisee requirements state a $10,000 initial franchise fee funded with non-gifted, non-borrowed funds.

That public requirement does not replace the disclosed investment range or establish a liquidity threshold for this agreement.

Search results and directory summaries often place the two figures beside each other without explaining the contract difference. The agreement name controls the economics: one structure describes an individual restaurant operator, while the other assigns the venue-based licensee responsibility for premises preparation, required purchases, supplies, and early operating cash. The figures should never be blended into one startup estimate.

BUYER VERIFICATION

Confirm which agreement the franchisor is offering for the specific venue. A licensed-site proposal, a transportation-venue proposal, and the standard Operator opportunity have materially different fee structures and capital responsibilities.

PAYMENT TIMING

When is the money paid?

Most setup costs are paid as incurred before opening, while the operating allowance is spent during the first three months and the percentage charge is paid monthly after opening. One important exception concerns goods purchased from CFA Supply: they are obtained before opening, but the related invoice is not due until after operations begin.

License Agreement and site approval The franchisor charges no initial license payment or fee. Both the venue and the counter or retail position inside it require prior approval.
Design, build-out, equipment, signage, and smallwares Design documents, construction work, installed assets, display elements, utensils, and other small items are paid as incurred. Opening must occur within 360 days after site approval.
Training and opening inventory Tuition is waived for the first two employees. Additional employee tuition of $250 or $400 is due at least 10 days before the first training day. Initial goods are obtained before opening; the applicable affiliate invoices described in Item 5 are due afterward.
First three months of operation The disclosed $149,000 to $951,000 allowance covers the first three months and includes operating expenses plus repairs, maintenance, and utilities.
Monthly after opening The percentage charge is due by the 25th day of each month for the preceding month's defined sales base.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 17; Item 6, p. 18; Item 7, pp. 19–20; Item 11, pp. 27–30.

“As incurred” is a payment method, not a single due date. In practice, a project may involve design retainers, construction draws, deposits, vendor invoices, and final balances at different points before opening. The disclosure does not publish an installment schedule, so the applicant should map each signed quotation and contract to a month-by-month cash schedule rather than assuming every amount is payable on opening day.

The cash schedule should distinguish four dates that are often confused: approval, contractual commitment, invoice date, and payment due date. A buyer may become legally committed well before an invoice is payable, while a post-opening due date may still relate to goods needed in advance. Recording all four dates exposes periods in which several obligations overlap and prevents a later invoice from being mistaken for additional, undisclosed investment.

The venue agreement can also change the timing picture. A landlord, university, employer, hospital, airport authority, or food-service contractor may require deposits, access payments, construction approvals, insurance evidence, or completion milestones that do not appear in the franchisor’s table. Those documents should be reviewed alongside the disclosure because the most demanding cash date may be created by the site contract rather than the licensing agreement.

INVENTORY INVOICE DISTINCTION

The initial-fee section and the investment table use different scopes. The table estimates $11,500 to $65,000 for Opening Inventory/Paper Supplies from all applicable sources. The earlier section separately estimates approximately $15,000 to $65,000 for goods bought from CFA Supply, where applicable, and states that those affiliate payments are not due until after opening.

ONGOING AND CONDITIONAL FEES

Which fees continue after opening?

The principal recurring payment is the monthly License Fee: 10% of Gross Receipts, or 7% for qualifying new transportation locations. No advertising fee or required contribution to a local or regional fund is imposed, although the licensee must promote the brand at its own cost using approved materials.

Gross Receipts includes cash and charge sales of every kind made at, from, or in connection with the operation, excluding customer refunds and meals provided to employees incident to employment. Because the charge is percentage-based, the disclosure supports stating the rate and basis only; it does not support converting that rate into an annual dollar amount.

Fee or obligation Amount or basis Timing Trigger or qualification
License Fee 10% of Gross Receipts; 7% for qualifying new transportation locations Monthly, by the 25th Applies to the preceding month's defined sales base
Additional Training $250–$400 per employee At least 10 days before training No tuition for the first two employees; travel, room, living costs, wages, and workers' compensation are separate
Handling Fee 8% of equipment/signage purchase price As incurred Only when equipment or signage is purchased through Chick-fil-A
Audit Underpayment plus 12% annual interest Within 30 days of notice If understatement is 5% or more, the licensee also pays the franchisor's audit costs
Late Payment Charge 12% annual interest As incurred Applies to amounts 30 days overdue
Indemnification Varies As incurred Reimbursement if the franchisor is held liable for claims arising from the operation
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, p. 18; training detail in Item 11, pp. 29–30.
Approved-supplier pricing can change. Proprietary seasoning, seasoned coater, lemon juice, food products, ingredients, freight, fuel, and distribution charges may be embedded in supplier pricing rather than listed as separate fixed fees.
Technology remains an open variable. The operator must obtain a point-of-sale system and management computer. No current amount is disclosed, and specified systems or data-reporting tools may be required later.
Marketing is not fee-free in practice. There is no required advertising-fund contribution, but the licensee must use diligent efforts to promote the brand at its own cost and use approved or supplied materials.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 8, pp. 20–25; Item 11, pp. 27–28.
CAPITAL QUALIFICATIONS AND FINANCING

Does Chick-fil-A disclose a liquid-capital or net-worth requirement?

No specific Liquid Capital or Net Worth threshold appears in the March 31, 2026 disclosure. Item 10 states that the franchisor and its affiliates do not offer or arrange financing, receive placement payments, or guarantee the applicant's obligations to third parties.

Liquid Capital
Not stated as a numeric minimum in this disclosure.
Net Worth
Not stated as a numeric minimum in this disclosure.
Non-Borrowed Funds
The separate Operator program's $10,000 personal-funds condition does not apply to this agreement.
Franchisor Financing
None offered under Item 10; outside financing depends on creditworthiness, collateral, lender policy, and commercial credit availability.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 10, p. 26. The Federal Trade Commission's Franchise Rule overview explains the role of the 23-item disclosure document, its Franchise Rule Compliance Guide explains the disclosure framework, and the current regulatory text appears in 16 CFR Part 436.

The absence of a published minimum and the absence of company financing are separate facts. A bank may still require equity, collateral, reserves, guarantees, or a borrowing base that exceeds the franchisor’s disclosures. The amount paid as an initial fee for another program also says nothing about the cash required to construct and operate this venue-based business.

For funding analysis, the applicant should prepare a sources-and-uses schedule that matches each committed use of cash with documented equity, available credit, or another lawful source. The schedule should keep borrowed proceeds separate from unrestricted cash and should reserve enough availability for amounts that remain uncertain. This is not a substitute for a lender’s underwriting; it is a way to test whether the financing structure and the payment calendar can coexist.

Any financing proposal should be compared with the underlying site term and the agreement term. Debt that amortizes beyond the applicant’s right to occupy the premises can leave obligations continuing after the operating right ends. Because the disclosure does not guarantee renewal or continued access to the venue, maturity, collateral, prepayment, and guarantee provisions require separate review before borrowed money is treated as dependable opening capital.

FDD CAVEAT

A missing liquidity threshold is not evidence that an applicant can fund only the official low end. The applicant remains responsible for the full site-specific investment, excluded premises costs, first-three-month funding, and any lender requirements.

TERM AND FUTURE CAPITAL

Which later costs can arise from renewal, remodeling, transfer, or termination?

The agreement provides no contractual right to renew or extend. The franchisor may decide to offer a new agreement, but that form may contain different terms, conditions, and fees and may require work to meet then-current standards. No fixed renewal, transfer, relocation, or remodel fee is stated.

These later obligations sit outside the opening budget unless a current proposal already includes them. A new agreement is discretionary rather than automatic, and the cost of bringing the premises to future standards is not quantified. The applicant should therefore treat continuation capital as an unresolved contractual exposure, not as a known renewal fee.

New-agreement terms: identify any new fees or capital standards before relying on continued operation after the existing term.
Premises update: obtain a current scope and third-party budget because Item 17 permits future standards without stating a fixed amount.
Transfer: prior written approval is required, and no standard transfer fee is disclosed.
End-of-term site conversion: after termination or non-renewal, the operator must change the premises to a different use, pay all sums due, stop using intellectual property, and satisfy other post-term obligations.
State addenda: review the applicable state-specific amendments because they may affect renewal, termination, dispute, or other agreement provisions.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 17, pp. 43–46.
FINAL COST CHECK

What should a buyer verify before treating the range as a capital plan?

The verified starting point is $585,500 to $3,437,000, but the most important unresolved variables are premises scope, excluded occupancy obligations, supplier pricing, technology requirements, and first-three-month working capital.

Confirm that the proposed agreement is the 2026 U.S. License Program and identify whether the applicant will be a Self-Operator or Food Service Provider.
Document whether the site qualifies for the reduced transportation-location percentage.
Price security deposits, insurance, lease or sublease payments, and any omitted site-access obligations.
Obtain approved plans and third-party bids for premises work, design services, installed assets, display elements, point-of-sale hardware, software, connectivity, and data reporting.
Separate goods obtained before opening from invoices actually due before opening, especially when the affiliated distributor is involved.
Verify whether the three-month allowance includes every site-level expense the applicant will bear and whether the venue allocates shared costs across other food-service concepts.

A practical review can sort every obligation into three columns: amounts already quantified, required costs that remain unquantified, and charges that arise only after a stated event. That structure prevents a low entry fee from obscuring construction and working-capital needs, and it prevents conditional charges from being mistaken for routine monthly expenses.

Each unquantified obligation should have an owner, a verification document, and a deadline. For example, the applicant may need a lease exhibit, insurance quotation, construction scope, vendor proposal, technology specification, or written clarification of shared venue expenses. A blank amount without a responsible party and due date is not a contingency plan; it is simply an unresolved assumption.

Before signing, the final budget should reconcile in both directions. Every amount in the disclosure should appear once in the project schedule, and every line in the project schedule should be traceable either to the disclosure, a site contract, a vendor document, or a clearly labeled contingency. This two-way check is the most direct safeguard against double-counting one allowance while overlooking a separate obligation that sits outside the published range.

The capital decision therefore has three separate layers: the official opening table, excluded site-specific obligations, and continuing or event-triggered charges. The entry payment is $0 for this program, but that does not make the agreement a zero-capital or $10,000 opportunity.