How to Start a Chester's Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Opening process

How does the Chester's franchise opening process work?

2-4 / 1-3 months Official format-specific readiness estimates

The 2026 FDD estimates 2-4 months for a Chester's Store-in-Store/Non-Trad Restaurant and 1-3 months for a Chester's Supermarket or Express Restaurant, measured after the Agreement is signed and the training fee is paid. These are estimates, not guarantees; every format must open within 180 days after the Agreement's Effective Date.

Data basis: Chester's International, LLC; U.S. FDD issued April 6, 2026; Store-in-Store/Non-Trad, Supermarket, and Express formats; Timeline Mode A because the FDD gives format-specific estimates from signing and payment to readiness. Primary evidence: FDD Items 1, 5-12, 15-17, and 20; Franchise Agreement Sections 4-9, 17, 29; Supermarket/Express Addendum. Checked July 14, 2026. No franchise-controlled public copy of the FDD was verified, so FDD references below are unlinked.

14

Calendar-day federal review period

Before signing or paying Chester's or an affiliate.

180

Days to open after Effective Date

Failure can permit termination. FDD Item 12, p. 29.

3

Official franchise formats

Each uses one location-specific, non-exclusive license.

4 / 2

Maximum initial training days

Store-in-Store/Non-Trad versus Supermarket/Express.

The practical path is inquiry and format selection, candidate and location review, site acceptance, FDD review, Agreement execution, approved development and purchasing, restaurant-readiness review, on-site training, and written opening approval. The official Chester's franchise page summarizes the commercial offer, while the 2026 FDD and attached Agreement control the contractual sequence.

Qualification

What must an applicant qualify for before Chester's approves a location?

The public Franchise Interest Form asks for the business name, contact and address details, retail-location type, and whether an existing location is available. The 2026 FDD does not disclose a universal minimum net worth, liquid-capital threshold, credit score, education level, citizenship rule, application fee, or background-check standard. Meeting any unstated internal preference would not guarantee approval.

The standard Agreement contains signature-stage representations rather than a simple public qualification table. Outside California and New York, the form asks the applicant to initial two statements only if both apply: specified applicant personnel have more than two years of same-type business experience, and Chester's-related sales are reasonably expected not to exceed 20% of total dollar sales. California and New York use five narrower existing-business representations, including 24 months in a similar business, the same existing location, similar products or services, no more than 20% of annual location sales, and no control by Chester's. The form directs the applicant to consult Chester's when the listed statements do not apply. Agreement Section 29.

Buyer verification

Ask Chester's to state in writing which Section 29 representations apply to the proposed format, owner entity, and state. They should not be converted into a general experience minimum or treated as automatic approval criteria.

Principal owners are not required to operate the Restaurant day to day. When they do not, the franchisee must employ a manager who devotes the necessary time and effort to supervision. The manager and designated on-site employees must complete initial brand-standard training to Chester's satisfaction and agree in writing to preserve confidential information. Chester's does not require owners to sign a performance guaranty, although Ascentium Capital may require personal guarantees if the applicant separately seeks equipment financing. FDD Items 10 and 15, pp. 22 and 36.

Format choice

Which Chester's agreement and opening path applies?

Chester's does not disclose an Area Development Agreement, Development Agreement, protected territory, mobile format, or home-based path in the 2026 FDD. The offer is a single, accepted location under the standard Agreement; Supermarket and Express operators also sign the format Addendum.

Store-in-Store/Non-Trad

Agreement: Standard Franchise Agreement.

Opening estimate: 2-4 months after signing and payment.

Training: Up to 4 days at the Restaurant.

Typical setting: Existing retail business, strip mall, food court, arena, or stadium.

Supermarket

Agreement: Standard Agreement plus Addendum.

Opening estimate: 1-3 months after signing and payment.

Training: Up to 2 days at the Restaurant.

Typical setting: Existing supermarket or experienced foodservice operation.

Express

Agreement: Standard Agreement plus Addendum.

Opening estimate: 1-3 months after signing and payment.

Training: Up to 2 days at the Restaurant.

Operating model: Fully cooked, packaged products are heated and sold.

The official Chester's Franchise Guide depicts flexible layouts and a simplified five-stage marketing path. For contract decisions, preserve the FDD's distinctions among site acceptance, Agreement signing, plan approval, readiness review, training completion, and opening approval.

Verified roadmap

What must happen from inquiry to opening?

Submit the inquiry and identify the format

Action: Provide business, contact, state, retail-type, and existing-location information.

Actor: Applicant.

Blocker: The FDD discloses no fixed application decision time or public financial minimums.

Match the applicant, state, and operating site

Action: Confirm the proposed format, ownership entity, Section 29 representations, and state offering status.

Actor: Applicant and Chester's.

Next dependency: A location must be found before the Agreement is signed.

Obtain site acceptance before committing to the premises

Action: Submit location information against Chester's visibility, access, demographics, rental-market, nearby-business, improvement-cost, and proximity criteria.

Actor: Applicant finds the site; Chester's accepts or rejects it.

Blocker: Chester's has no fixed site-response deadline and does not select the site.

Receive and review the current FDD and agreements

Action: Reconcile the Agreement, format Addendum, state rider, receipts, and any financing documents.

Timing: At least 14 calendar days before signing or paying Chester's or an affiliate; the count starts the day after delivery.

Source: FTC Franchise Rule Compliance Guide.

Sign the correct Agreement and pay the training fee

Action: Execute the location-specific Agreement and, for Supermarket or Express, the Addendum; pay the non-refundable training fee.

Actor: Franchisee and Chester's.

Blocker: Insurance certificates are required before the Effective Date, so confirm the practical submission sequence before signing.

Approve plans and complete development

Action: Submit plans and specifications before construction; obtain landlord, contractor, utility, code, permit, and inspection clearances applicable to the location.

Actor: Franchisee and third parties; Chester's reviews plans.

Blocker: Site acceptance does not equal plan, lease, permit, or construction approval.

Order approved equipment, signage, and inventory

Action: Buy the format-specific core package and proprietary goods from designated or approved sources.

Actor: Franchisee orders; Chester's coordinates delivery but is not required to install.

Blocker: Late schedule changes can trigger cancellation, restocking, or storage charges.

Pass readiness, complete training, and obtain opening approval

Action: Satisfy construction requirements, pass the restaurant-readiness review, complete training, stock inventory, and receive prior written opening approval.

Timing: Training should finish about one week before opening; the Restaurant must open within 180 days after the Effective Date.

Blocker: Failed readiness or inspection can require reassessment or additional training.

Training

When does training occur, and who must complete it?

Training follows satisfactory completion of the restaurant-readiness process. The manager and the employees Chester's designates must complete the program to Chester's satisfaction at the Restaurant. Store-in-Store/Non-Trad training lasts up to four days; Supermarket and Express training lasts up to two days. Chester's says scheduling should allow trainees to graduate about one week before opening. FDD Item 11, pp. 26-28; Agreement Sections 4 and 7.

Pre-opening training timing

Comparable disclosed day counts; the seven-day figure is an approximate lead-time target, not additional training.

Store-in-Store/Non-Trad training maximum 4 days
Supermarket/Express training maximum 2 days
Target lead time from graduation to opening ~7 days
02467 days

Interpretation: readiness must precede training, and training completion does not itself authorize opening. Source: 2026 FDD Item 11, pp. 26-28; Agreement Section 7.

FDD controls

The current official franchise webpage describes a 4.5-day opening-week training experience. The 2026 FDD is more specific and contract-relevant: up to four days for Store-in-Store/Non-Trad and up to two days for Supermarket/Express. Verify whether the extra half-day is optional onboarding, opening assistance, or a current operating practice outside the contractual training maximum.

Site and responsibility

Who controls the site, lease, buildout, and opening decision?

The applicant bears the location's business and financial risk. Chester's must accept the site before the applicant signs a lease, sublease, or other site document and before Chester's signs the Agreement, but Chester's does not select the site and does not promise a decision within a specified time. The license is location-specific and provides no exclusive or non-exclusive territory. FDD Items 11 and 12, pp. 25 and 29-30.

Site acceptanceChester's evaluates the proposed location; no response deadline is disclosed.
Lease commitmentOnly after site acceptance; landlord terms and site suitability remain the franchisee's risk.
Plans approvalPlans and specifications must be approved before development begins.
Construction and permitsFranchisee coordinates contractors and applicable authorities; local timing varies.
Readiness reviewChester's assesses completion; repeat reviews may be charged.
Written opening approvalRequired after readiness and training; it is distinct from training completion.

Applicant / franchisee

Find the location and submit site information.

Secure lease, plans, contractors, permits, utilities, insurance, staff, and inventory.

Use approved suppliers and meet the 180-day opening deadline.

Chester's International

Accept or reject the site and review plans.

Provide layouts, manuals, training, and readiness assessment.

Coordinate specified deliveries and grant or withhold written opening approval.

Third parties

Landlord controls lease consent and premises obligations.

Contractors, suppliers, insurer, lender, and utilities control their own performance.

Government authorities control applicable permits, code review, and inspections.

Site approval is not territory protection

Acceptance authorizes one location for the Agreement. It does not create a protected area, guarantee the lease, confirm zoning or permits, approve plans, or promise that the Restaurant will succeed.

Opening readiness

What should be verified before the Restaurant is allowed to open?

The format, location, ownership entity, and applicable Section 29 representations are confirmed in writing.
The April 6, 2026 FDD, current state rider, Agreement, Addendum, and receipt are complete and match the offer.
The federal 14-calendar-day review period has run before signing or payment; any unilateral material agreement change is separately reviewed under the FTC Franchise Rule.
Chester's has accepted the site before any lease, sublease, or site document is signed.
Required insurance certificates name Chester's as additional insured and meet the Agreement's limits before the Effective Date.
Plans, specifications, equipment, signage, approved suppliers, proprietary inventory, and applicable permits are documented.
The manager and designated employees are available for on-site training after readiness, with confidentiality commitments completed.
The readiness review is passed, construction requirements are satisfied, written opening approval is issued, and the 180-day deadline remains achievable.

The FDD's state-effective-date page listed several registration states as pending on April 6, 2026. Because that status can change, verify current authority to offer and sell in the proposed state before paying or signing. The FDD also reports 59 Store-in-Store/Non-Trad agreements signed but not open as of December 31, 2025, and identifies opening delays as a special risk; use Item 20 contacts to ask current and former franchisees how site review, deliveries, readiness, training, and opening approval worked in practice.

Final synthesis

What is the decisive path to a Chester's opening?

The verified path is a format-specific, single-location process: inquiry, candidate and location fit, site acceptance, FDD review, correct Agreement and Addendum, approved plans and sourcing, readiness review, on-site training, and written opening approval. The total readiness timeline is officially estimated at 2-4 months for Store-in-Store/Non-Trad and 1-3 months for Supermarket/Express from signing and fee payment. The key applicant-controlled dependency is securing and developing an acceptable site without committing too early; the key franchisor and third-party dependencies are site/plan/opening approvals, supplier delivery, construction, permits, and inspections. The non-negotiable contractual issue to track is opening within 180 days after the Effective Date, including whether any extension is available because none is disclosed as a contractual right.