How Much Does a Chester's Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Owner earnings answer
About $3,000–$15,000 a year

That is an estimated owner-operator benefit for the established Chester’s Store-in-Store/Non-Trad format, not an official Chester’s earnings claim. At the same benchmark-scale sales, a manager-run unit could fall below break-even if the unit absorbs a meaningful share of manager compensation. The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document does not report sales, profit, owner compensation, or any other financial performance result.

Evidence mode: Structural FDD-anchored estimate Confidence: Limited Format: Store-in-Store/Non-Trad Period: Annual, pre-tax
Independent estimate. The $3,000–$15,000 range is an analytical scenario, not an Item 19 financial performance representation by Chesters International, LLC. It combines 2026 FDD facts with a 2023 IRS restaurant benchmark and explicit revenue and margin sensitivities. Actual results can differ materially because of location, format, food sales, waste, labor allocation, occupancy, financing, owner involvement, and operating execution.
Data basis. Legal franchisor: Chesters International, LLC. Document reviewed: Chester’s 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, issued April 6, 2026. Item 19 status: no financial performance representation, page 40. Historical outlet population: franchised Store-in-Store/Non-Trad Restaurants; the Supermarket and Express formats were newly offered in 2026 and have no historical franchise performance disclosure. External benchmarks: IRS Statistics of Income for 2023 nonfarm sole proprietorships and BLS food-service-manager wages for May 2024. Evidence checked July 14, 2026.
None
Official Item 19 earnings data

OFFICIAL FDD FACT — the franchisor provides no sales or profit representation.

$118,182
IRS average business receipts

BENCHMARK — per Schedule C return for restaurants and drinking places, not Chester’s revenue.

10.4%
IRS net-income ratio

DERIVED BENCHMARK — net income less deficit divided by business receipts.

$3.8K–$4.7K
Known annual fixed fees

OFFICIAL FDD FACT — marketing support plus the stated POS technology range.

$63,040
Food-service manager wage

BLS BENCHMARK — May 2024 median for food services and drinking places.

918
Franchised outlets at 2025 year-end

OFFICIAL FDD FACT — Store-in-Store/Non-Trad outlets in Item 20.

Item 19 evidence

What does Chester’s officially disclose about owner earnings?

Chester’s officially discloses no owner-earnings figure. Item 19 of the 2026 FDD states that the franchisor does not make representations about future franchisee performance or the past performance of franchised or company-owned outlets. The statement applies to the current U.S. offer and appears on FDD page 40.

This means there is no official Average Unit Volume, Gross Sales average, median sales, operating profit, EBITDA, net income, cash flow, owner compensation, or percentage-achieving result to use. Chester’s also reports that it has never operated a Chester’s Restaurant, so there is no company-operated economics proxy.

Revenue is not earnings

The IRS receipt figure used below is an external revenue benchmark. It is not Chester’s sales and cannot be read as owner income. The model converts revenue into an owner-operator benefit only after applying a benchmark net-income ratio and subtracting identified recurring Chester’s fees.

The FTC Franchise Rule Compliance Guide explains the regulatory framework for financial performance representations. Prospective buyers should treat oral earnings claims that differ from Item 19 cautiously and request written substantiation.

Scenario model

How is the $3,000–$15,000 owner-operator range calculated?

The range is estimated by applying three transparent sales-and-margin scenarios to the established Store-in-Store/Non-Trad format. The model uses the 2023 IRS average for sole-proprietor restaurants as its central revenue benchmark, applies an 80%–120% analytical spread, varies the benchmark net-income ratio by three percentage points, and subtracts a midpoint of known annual Chester’s fixed fees.

Which external benchmark anchors the model?

The IRS nonfarm sole-proprietorship statistics report 653,372 Schedule C returns, $77.217 billion of business receipts, and $8.013 billion of net income less deficit for “Restaurants (full & limited service) and drinking places” in tax year 2023. Those totals imply average receipts of $118,182 per return, average net income less deficit of $12,264, and a 10.4% aggregate net-income ratio. The underlying figures are in the 2023 IRS Table 1 workbook.

The benchmark is useful because Schedule C net income generally does not deduct a salary for the proprietor; it therefore resembles an owner-operator benefit more than passive business profit. It is still a broad proxy: it combines full-service restaurants, limited-service restaurants, and drinking places; covers nonfranchised and franchised businesses; and is reported per tax return rather than per Chester’s unit.

  • Revenue: $94,545, $118,182, and $141,818, equal to 80%, 100%, and 120% of the IRS average receipts benchmark. This spread is editorial, not FDD-reported.
  • Net-income ratio: 7.4%, 10.4%, and 13.4%, equal to the IRS aggregate ratio minus three percentage points, the benchmark ratio, and the benchmark plus three percentage points.
  • Recurring Chester’s fees: $4,250 in each scenario, the midpoint of $3,800–$4,700 from the $800 annual marketing support fee plus $250–$325 monthly POS technology fee.
  • Definition: estimated owner-operator benefit before personal income taxes and financing principal. It includes the economic value of the owner’s labor; it is not passive profit.
Scenario Revenue assumption Net-income ratio Net proxy before Chester’s fees Estimated owner-operator benefit
Conservative $94,545 7.4% $6,975 $2,725
Base $118,182 10.4% $12,264 $8,014
Upside $141,818 13.4% $18,972 $14,722
Estimated annual owner-operator benefit

Independent scenarios for a Store-in-Store/Non-Trad unit; values include owner labor and are before personal tax and debt principal.

Conservative, base, and upside owner-operator benefit scenarios Three columns show 2,725 dollars for the conservative scenario, 8,014 dollars for the base scenario, and 14,722 dollars for the upside scenario. $0 $5K $10K $15K $2,725 $8,014 $14,722 Conservative Base Upside

Interpretation: even the upside scenario is modest because the benchmark is for small owner-operated restaurant businesses and the model subtracts Chester’s known fixed recurring fees. Source: 2026 FDD Items 6 and 19; IRS Statistics of Income, tax year 2023; derived calculations rounded to the nearest dollar.

Important definition

The scenario is not an after-tax take-home estimate. Personal taxes depend on entity choice, jurisdiction, deductions, other income, and the owner’s circumstances. The IRS benchmark may include interest and depreciation reported on Schedule C; financing principal and new capital expenditures are not deducted in this model.

Owner role

How does active ownership change Chester’s earnings?

Active ownership can preserve the modest benefit in this model because the owner supplies management labor that a manager-run operation must purchase. Chester’s 2026 FDD Item 15, page 36, says principal owners need not participate in day-to-day operations, but a nonparticipating owner must employ a manager who devotes the necessary time and effort to the restaurant.

The BLS Food Service Managers profile reports a May 2024 median wage of $63,040 in food services and drinking places. That amount is not a Chester’s staffing requirement and may overstate the incremental cost for a counter located inside an existing convenience store, travel center, supermarket, or other host business. The host may already employ a manager whose time is shared.

What happens in the base scenario when management cost is allocated?

The base owner-operator benefit of $8,014 turns negative once the Chester’s unit bears more than about 13% of the BLS manager wage. This is an estimated sensitivity, not an official result. It shows why “manager-run” cannot be treated as synonymous with passive income.

Share of BLS manager wage charged to unit Incremental manager cost Base residual owner earnings
0% — no incremental allocation $0 $8,014
10% — limited shared allocation $6,304 $1,710
25% — material shared allocation $15,760 −$7,746
50% — half-time economic allocation $31,520 −$23,506
100% — dedicated manager benchmark $63,040 −$55,026
Base earnings sensitivity to manager cost

Residual pre-tax owner earnings after allocating portions of the BLS food-service-manager wage.

Base residual owner earnings under five manager cost allocations Residual earnings range from positive 8,014 dollars with no manager allocation to negative 55,026 dollars with the full manager wage. $0 break-even 0% allocation 10% allocation 25% allocation 50% allocation 100% allocation $8,014 $1,710 −$7,746 −$23,506 −$55,026 Lower residual Higher residual

Interpretation: the central revenue and margin assumptions do not support a dedicated manager. Positive manager-run economics require materially higher sales, a stronger margin, or a small incremental management allocation shared with the host business. Source: BLS May 2024 wage benchmark; 2026 FDD Item 15; independent calculations.

Owner-operator effect

The $3,000–$15,000 range includes compensation for work performed by the owner. It should be labeled owner-operator benefit, not pure business profit. A buyer should estimate the owner’s weekly hours and compare the benefit with the market value of those hours before deciding whether the economics are acceptable.

Recurring obligations

Which Chester’s fees materially affect annual earnings?

The known standard recurring fees are fixed rather than percentage-based. Item 6 reports a $200 quarterly Marketing Support Fee and a $250–$325 monthly POS Technology Fee for Store-in-Store/Non-Trad Restaurants when the recommended POS is purchased; the franchisor reserves the right to require that POS and can increase the monthly fee up to $350 after notice.

Marketing Support Fee
$800 per year at the current $200 quarterly rate. Item 6 permits an increase to $325 per quarter, or $1,300 annually.
POS Technology Fee
$3,000–$3,900 per year at $250–$325 per month. The disclosed maximum is $4,200 annually at $350 per month.
Royalty Fee
No percentage royalty is listed in Item 6. That does not eliminate food, labor, occupancy, payment-processing, insurance, waste, maintenance, and host-business overhead.
Special promotions
Up to $200 per special offering or promotion when billed. The scenario excludes this contingent amount because frequency is not disclosed.
Required products
Item 8 requires designated or approved ingredients and other products. The FDD says costs vary by distribution distance, delivery frequency, transportation, and format, but does not disclose a food-cost percentage.

At the scenario revenues, the $4,250 midpoint represents about 4.5% of conservative revenue, 3.6% of base revenue, and 3.0% of upside revenue. Fixed fees therefore weigh more heavily on a low-sales counter than on a higher-volume operation.

Format boundary

Does the estimate apply to every Chester’s format?

No. The estimate applies only to the established Store-in-Store/Non-Trad format and should not be transferred to the Supermarket or Express offers. The 2026 FDD describes three materially different models, but Item 20 historical tables cover only Store-in-Store/Non-Trad Restaurants.

Format Operating structure Historical FDD population Earnings use in this article
Store-in-Store/Non-Trad Counter inside an existing retail business or a nontraditional location; approximately 500 square feet for store-in-store and 1,200 square feet for an in-line/food-court assumption. 918 franchised outlets at December 31, 2025; no company-owned units. Primary structural anchor for the scenario model.
Supermarket Limited-service operation inside an existing supermarket using some host products and equipment; up to 500 square feet. New franchise offer restarted in April 2026; no historical franchise table. Excluded from the earnings range.
Express Small self-service grab-and-go kiosk using fully cooked packaged products; less than 500 square feet. Launched in April 2026; no historical franchise table. Excluded from the earnings range.

The official Chester’s franchise page describes flexible in-store layouts and support for convenience stores, travel centers, colleges, universities, and other operators. Those location types can have very different traffic, hours, labor-sharing arrangements, and occupancy allocations, which is why one earnings figure cannot cover every format.

System context

What does Item 20 reveal about uncertainty?

Item 20 does not measure earnings, but it shows material outlet turnover that increases the need for franchisee-level verification. Table 3 reports 120 openings during 2025, alongside 11 terminations, 33 non-renewals, and 151 outlets that ceased operations for other reasons. The year ended with 918 franchised Store-in-Store/Non-Trad outlets and no company-owned outlets.

There is also a one-unit inconsistency in the 2025 starting population: Item 20 Table 1 shows 994 franchised outlets at the start of 2025, while Table 3 shows 993. Both tables report 918 at year-end. The difference does not change this earnings model, but it is a reason to request current outlet counts and written explanations for closures, non-renewals, and transfers.

Sample limitation

Because Item 19 supplies no sales or earnings sample, the model cannot distinguish mature from new outlets, convenience-store counters from nontraditional venues, high-volume from low-volume sites, owner-run from manager-run units, or continuing outlets from outlets that closed.

Buyer verification

What should a buyer verify before relying on this range?

A buyer should replace every external assumption with location-specific evidence before making an investment decision. The highest-value evidence is a separate Chester’s profit-and-loss statement from comparable franchisees or actual records for an existing outlet under consideration.

  • Ask for the current 2026 FDD, all amendments, and any written Item 19 substantiation or supplemental financial performance information permitted by the FTC Franchise Rule.
  • Interview franchisees with the same format, host-business type, region, operating hours, and unit age. Ask for annual Chester’s POS sales rather than total convenience-store or supermarket revenue.
  • Separate food cost, hourly labor, manager allocation, waste, merchant fees, utilities, repairs, insurance, and any rent or percentage-rent allocation attributable to the Chester’s operation.
  • Confirm whether the unit needs a dedicated manager, shares an existing host manager, or is directly supervised by an owner; document the incremental annual labor cost.
  • Verify the current POS fee, marketing support fee, special-promotion frequency, required product pricing, delivery charges, and any technology or equipment updates.
  • For an existing unit, obtain at least 24 months of monthly sales, payroll, food purchases, waste, manager hours, and closure history; reconcile the records to tax returns and bank deposits.
  • Ask current and former franchisees why outlets ceased operations or did not renew and whether poor unit economics, host-store changes, staffing, conversion, or other factors were involved.
Decision synthesis

The strongest defensible range is approximately $3,000–$15,000 per year of estimated owner-operator benefit for the established Store-in-Store/Non-Trad format. It is scenario-based, not official, and includes the value of the owner’s labor. A manager-run unit may produce little or negative residual profit at the modeled sales level unless management is shared with the host business at a low incremental cost.

The most important earnings driver is unit-level food sales relative to labor and management allocation. The largest unresolved uncertainty is that Chester’s Item 19 discloses neither sales nor expense data for any outlet cohort. Before proceeding, a buyer should verify comparable-unit POS sales, written financial substantiation, manager cost, food and waste ratios, host overhead, and closure explanations through Item 19 materials, actual records, and interviews with current and former franchisees.

FDD references: Chester’s 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, Items 6, 7, 8, 15, 19, and 20, pages 8–17 and 36–50. No public official copy matching the reviewed 2026 document was verified; the FDD references are therefore presented without a hyperlink.