OPENING PROCESS
How does the Certified Restoration Drycleaning Network opening process work?
The 2026 CRDN FDD states that a typical Franchised Business begins operations 60 to 135 days after the Franchise Agreement is signed. This is an official typical range, not a guaranteed opening date. The path runs through candidate vetting, federal disclosure review, signing, territory and facility readiness, Initial Training, all Pre-Activation Requirements, and CRDN's final activation.
Data basis: legal franchisor Certified Restoration Drycleaning Network, LLC, a Michigan limited liability company doing business as CRDN; no parent company is disclosed. FDD issuance date: April 30, 2026. Main path: a U.S. CRDN Franchise Agreement for a designated Franchise Territory, with conditional branches for an existing restoration/drycleaning business, a new entrant needing a CRDN Processing Plant, a resale, and optional service programs.
Timeline mode: Mode A - official typical total timeline, measured from Franchise Agreement signing to Commencement of Operations. Core evidence: 2026 FDD Items 1, 5-12, 15-17 and 20; Franchise Agreement Articles 2, 3, 5, 7 and 11; Exhibit A, Note 4; and related guaranty, software, EFT and territory exhibits. Checked July 19, 2026. No matching public FDD was located on a franchise-controlled domain, so FDD references below are unlinked.
Public context: CRDN's official U.S. franchise opportunities page and the FTC's consumer guide to buying a franchise.
QUALIFICATION
What must a CRDN candidate qualify for before an offer is made?
CRDN describes a vetting process rather than fixed public financial minimums. Franchise development representatives or senior leadership review the candidate's operational history, other businesses, business acumen and current facilities. The prospect packet may include a Confidential Questionnaire Information form requesting contact details, sales history, references, bank statements, financial statements and other documentation used to evaluate working-capital availability.
CRDN also says it performs credit-history and full criminal-background checks and circulates results to company leadership. A Meet the Team Day at CRDN headquarters may be scheduled. The 2026 FDD does not state a universal minimum net worth, liquid-capital threshold or numeric credit score for standard candidates, and meeting the described criteria does not guarantee an offer. Existing drycleaning, textile-restoration or contents-restoration operators are typical candidates, but CRDN says it may franchise to other qualified candidates who establish a processing plant and satisfy added requirements.
Source: 2026 CRDN FDD, Item 1, pp. 8-10; Exhibit A, Notes to Financial Statements, Note 4, p. 9; official CRDN franchise opportunities page.
Ask CRDN which financial documents it currently requires, what findings in the credit or criminal review can block approval, and whether your existing facility and experience are sufficient to avoid the separate processing-plant and drycleaning-training branches. The FDD gives CRDN substantial discretion but does not publish a numeric pass/fail scorecard.
VERIFIED ROADMAP
What are the actual stages from inquiry to CRDN activation?
The evidence supports a nine-stage path. Some activities can overlap, but the federal FDD review period, signing, Initial Training, Pre-Activation Requirements and CRDN activation are distinct events.
Sources: 2026 CRDN FDD, Item 11, pp. 35-41; Item 12, pp. 42-46; Item 15, p. 51; Franchise Agreement Arts. 3.3-3.5, pp. 28-29; 5.1-5.3, pp. 32-33; 7.1-7.3, pp. 39-40; 11.1-11.3, pp. 47-50. Federal timing: FTC Franchise Rule and FTC FDD review guidance.
All bars use days for scale, but the triggers differ. They must not be added together as one opening forecast.
Interpretation: the 60-135 day figure is CRDN's disclosed typical total period. The 90-day plant rule and 42-day post-training deadline are contractual constraints inside or alongside that process, while the 14-day FTC period is a pre-signing legal review window.
Source: 2026 CRDN FDD, Item 11, pp. 39-41 and Item 7, Notes 3-4, pp. 25-26; Franchise Agreement Arts. 3.3, 5.1 and 7.1; FTC Franchise Rule FAQs.
RESPONSIBILITY
Who controls the critical opening dependencies?
The applicant controls document completion, entity and facility work, training attendance and Pre-Activation evidence. CRDN controls candidacy decisions, territory designation, facility approval, training satisfaction and final activation. Third parties control important dependencies CRDN does not guarantee, including leases, permits, insurance issuance, vendor installation and Program Partner acceptance.
Applicant / Franchisee
CRDN
Third parties
CRDN's approval of a processing plant does not replace landlord consent, zoning, environmental rules, drycleaning permits, business licenses, utility work or other local approvals. The FDD says applicable requirements vary and places compliance on the franchisee. Verify the actual local path with the relevant authorities and qualified professionals.
PATH DIFFERENCES
How do the existing-business, new-plant and resale paths differ?
The base agreement is the same CRDN Franchise Agreement, but facility and training dependencies change materially. CRDN does not disclose an Area Development Agreement or a multi-unit development schedule in Item 22.
| Path | Facility requirement | Training effect | Opening consequence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Existing qualified operator | May use an existing drycleaning/restoration operation if it meets CRDN requirements. | Separate drycleaning training may be unnecessary if CRDN determines experience is adequate. | Still must complete Initial Training, Pre-Activation Requirements and CRDN activation. |
| New entrant / no adequate plant | Must establish a CRDN-approved Processing Plant within 90 days if required. | CRDN may require approximately 15 days of drycleaning training in addition to Initial Training. | CRDN may extend the commencement deadline for plant/training needs, but only in its discretion and in writing. |
| Resale buyer | Transfer conditions and any required renovation/remodeling apply. | Initial Training is required unless the buyer already operates another CRDN Franchised Business and has completed it. | Transferee must qualify, sign CRDN's then-current agreement and complete then-current pre-commencement requirements. |
Additional territories are not disclosed as an area-development track. An existing CRDN franchisee seeking another territory must meet then-current new-franchisee requirements, be compliant under existing agreements, sign a cross-default amendment, and execute the then-current Franchise Agreement for all CRDN Franchised Businesses. Optional electronics, art and collectibles, and full-service contents programs require separate approval, credentialing, documentation and training; full-service contents also depends on art and electronics authorization. These optional tracks should be verified separately rather than assumed to be included in base activation.
Source: 2026 CRDN FDD, Items 11, 12, 16 and 17; Item 22, p. 77; Franchise Agreement Arts. 3, 5 and 7. The FDD identifies the Drycleaning & Laundry Institute's School of Drycleaning Technology as the currently approved third-party drycleaning training provider, subject to CRDN's election and future changes.
SIGNING AND PAYMENT
What must be signed or paid before the process can move forward?
If CRDN extends an offer, the candidate signs the Franchise Agreement and related documents. All owners of the Franchisee Entity must sign the performance guaranty unless CRDN agrees otherwise. If the Franchisee Entity has not yet been formed, the Principal Owner must form it within 30 days after the agreement effective date and cause it to ratify the agreement.
The Initial Franchise Fee is due at signing unless CRDN provides the disclosed financing. Under that financing, a qualified borrower pays one-third of the Initial Franchise Fee at signing and finances the remaining two-thirds under a one-year Note; the 2026 FDD lists the total Initial Franchise Fee at $45,600-$64,600. Once the franchisee or designated representative commences Initial Training, the Initial Franchise Fee is fully earned and non-refundable. A Pre-Activation EFT authorization is also required before opening.
Source: 2026 CRDN FDD, Items 5, 6 and 10, pp. 14-22 and 32-34; Franchise Agreement Arts. 2.1, 2.4, 5.2 and Exhibits F-G.
Commencement of Operations must occur within six calendar weeks after Initial Training is completed. If the deadline is missed, CRDN may terminate the Franchise Agreement. If CRDN does not terminate, the missed deadline can still become the date from which fees and other obligations begin accruing. Any extension for required plant or drycleaning-training delays is discretionary, not an automatic right.
OPENING READINESS
What should be verified before CRDN can activate the franchise?
CRDN defines Commencement of Operations as the date it receives satisfactory proof that all Pre-Activation Requirements are complete and activates the franchisee to operate within the Franchise System. Training completion alone is therefore not opening authorization.
DUE DILIGENCE
What should a buyer verify with CRDN and existing franchisees?
Use Item 20 contacts to test the disclosed process against recent experience. Ask current franchisees how long elapsed between signing, Initial Training, plant approval if applicable, completion of Pre-Activation Requirements and CRDN activation; which items caused delay; and whether the twice-yearly training schedule affected timing. The 2026 FDD reported four franchise agreements signed but not opened as of December 31, 2025, a historical snapshot worth discussing with CRDN rather than assuming those units' current status or reasons.
Also verify current territory availability because CRDN's official list is expressly subject to change, and confirm whether any desired Regional/National Program requires separate Program Partner application, credentialing or agreements. CRDN states it cannot guarantee Program Partner acceptance or job assignments. For FDD timing and updates, review the FTC buying-franchise guide and ask for the most recent FDD and any required updates before signing.
Source: 2026 CRDN FDD, Item 20, pp. 68-76; Item 12, pp. 42-46; CRDN franchise opportunities and current territory page.
Opening synthesis: the verified CRDN path is inquiry and vetting, disclosure review, offer and signing, territory and facility readiness, Initial Training, completion of every Pre-Activation Requirement, then CRDN activation. The official typical total is 60-135 days from signing to commencement, not a promise. The main applicant-controlled dependency is timely facility, training, insurance, systems and documentation; key outside dependencies include CRDN plant approval and activation plus landlord, vendor, government and any Program Partner timing. Verify the six-calendar-week post-training commencement deadline and whether CRDN will grant any needed written extension.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to the Certified Restoration Drycleaning Network Franchise?
- How Does the Certified Restoration Drycleaning Network Franchise Work?
- How Does the Certified Restoration Drycleaning Network Franchise Work?
- What are the Pros and Cons of Owning a Certified Restoration Drycleaning Network Franchise?
- How Much Does a Certified Restoration Drycleaning Network Franchise Owner Make?