How do you open an AtWork franchise?
After AtWork Franchise, Inc. and the franchisee sign, the 2026 Franchise Agreement requires full-time operation by the first Monday after all required Training Programs are completed to AtWork’s satisfaction, and no later than 90 days after the Effective Date. The FDD also calls 90 days the typical signing-to-opening period, but insurance, staffing, site work, training, and regulatory approvals can still control the actual date.
Calendar days before signing or paying the franchisor or affiliate.
Reasonable-efforts period after AtWork receives a complete site report.
Thirty-two classroom hours at the Knoxville corporate office.
Grand-opening plan due before the intended opening date.
Data basis: AtWork Franchise, Inc., 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document issued March 31, 2026; Personnel Business and Professional Business formats; official-total-timeline mode. Primary evidence: Items 1, 5–12, 15–17 and 20; Franchise Agreement Sections 1–3, 8–9 and 16; Personnel Business Addendum, Professional Business Addendum, Additional Territory Addendum and Guaranty. Official web information was checked July 14, 2026. The FDD is cited by year, Item, agreement section and page because no verified franchise-controlled public copy was located.
What must an AtWork applicant qualify for?
AtWork’s current website describes financial and experience screening, while the Franchise Agreement controls the ownership structure after award. The applicant should expect the initial interview and confidential questionnaire to cover timing, work experience, available capital, market interest and goals. Meeting a published threshold does not require AtWork to approve or award a franchise.
The official pages are not internally consistent on financial screening: the general Investment & Qualifications page says at least $250,000 net worth, the Personnel page says $250,000 cash required, and the Professional page says $100,000 cash required. Ask AtWork to identify the current minimum for the selected format, whether it applies to one owner or the ownership group, and what proof is required.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 1 pp. 1–2; Item 15 p. 43; Franchise Agreement Section 1.D; Guaranty. Official supplemental candidate information: AtWork format and qualification pages.
What happens from inquiry through opening?
The public AtWork ownership process describes the pre-award sequence; the FDD and agreements govern the post-signing requirements. The roadmap below keeps application, disclosure, award, signing, site approval, training and opening authorization separate.
Actor: Applicant and Franchise Development Representative.
Timing: No contractual duration disclosed.
Blocker: Format, market, experience, capital or timing may not fit AtWork’s screening criteria.
Actor: Applicant.
Timing: Before AtWork completes its qualification review.
Next dependency: AtWork must decide whether to continue due diligence; an application is not an award.
Actor: AtWork delivers; applicant reviews and validates.
Timing: At least 14 calendar days before a binding agreement or payment to AtWork or an affiliate; counting starts the day after delivery.
Next dependency: Validation calls, leadership call and Discovery Day may follow.
Actor: AtWork awards; franchisee entity and owners sign.
Timing: The 90-day opening clock begins on the Effective Date, when AtWork signs.
Blocker: Wrong entity, unresolved ownership, guaranty, format addendum or territory terms.
Actor: Franchisee finds the site; AtWork approves it.
Timing: Personnel territory is set before signing; AtWork uses reasonable efforts to respond to a complete site report within 30 days.
Blocker: Incomplete site report, lease risk, zoning, buildout, occupancy or AtWork rejection.
Actor: Franchisee, landlord, contractors, suppliers, insurers and authorities.
Timing: Before commencement; no universal local duration is disclosed.
Blocker: Insurance certificate, Risk Management Reserve, computer system, approved vendors, staff or regulatory requirements.
Actor: Operating Partner, Manager and initially hired employees; AtWork evaluates completion.
Timing: Marketing plan at least 60 days before opening; all required trainees complete before commencement.
Blocker: Unsatisfactory completion may require additional training or lead to termination.
Actor: Franchisee proves readiness; AtWork determines training satisfaction and contractual compliance.
Timing: First Monday after satisfactory completion of all Training Programs, never later than 90 days after the Effective Date.
Consequence: Missing the Commencement Date Deadline gives AtWork a termination right.
The FTC Franchise Rule Compliance Guide explains that the 14-day period uses calendar days, begins the day after delivery, and permits signing or payment on the fifteenth day. It is a pre-sale review period, not an estimate of how long AtWork’s full application or opening process will take.
How do Personnel, Professional and additional-territory paths differ?
The format decision changes territory rights, real estate and staffing dependencies. The current FDD does not disclose a separate area-development agreement for a new applicant; the Additional Territory Addendum is an expansion path for an eligible existing Personnel franchisee.
| Path | Territory and office | Opening-specific condition | Deadline basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Personnel Business | Protected Territory, generally about 200,000 people; approved physical Office in the territory. | Occupancy rights, completed buildout and furnishings, plus at least two full-time internal staff. | First Monday after training; no later than 90 days after Effective Date. |
| Professional Business | No protected territory; may operate from the owner’s or Operating Partner’s residence. | A non-residential Office requires a complete site report and AtWork’s discretionary approval. | Same contractual 90-day outside deadline. |
| Additional Territory | Eligible existing Personnel franchisee adds a territory and a separate Additional Office. | Additional Territory Addendum, the then-current nonrefundable Additional Territory Fee, an additional reserve and all Section 2.D commencement conditions for the new Office. | Full-time operation within 90 days after the Addendum Effective Date. |
Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 1, 11 and 12; Personnel Business Addendum Sections 5 and 9–12; Professional Business Addendum Section 6; Additional Territory Addendum Sections 1–5.
What must be verified before committing to an office?
For a Personnel Business, the franchisee identifies the site and bears responsibility for the lease or purchase, development, code compliance and permits. AtWork does not promise to negotiate the real-estate transaction. A complete site report includes the location description and a letter of intent or other evidence that favorable lease or purchase terms are reasonably available.
AtWork evaluates demographics, traffic, parking, neighborhood character, nearby competition, size, appearance and physical characteristics. The Personnel Office is expected to be approximately 1,000–1,250 square feet unless AtWork approves otherwise. Site approval does not equal lease approval, protected-territory expansion, construction completion, regulatory clearance or authorization to open.
A Professional Business may use a residence. Choosing another physical location triggers a report and discretionary site approval, and AtWork may require a further office addendum. Before signing a lease or construction contract, the buyer should confirm the lease contingency, permitted use, accessibility obligations, utilities, signage, insurance and local approval path with qualified professionals and the relevant authorities.
The FDD identifies insurance and hiring as factors affecting signing-to-opening time. For a Personnel Office, landlord delivery, buildout, occupancy and the two-person internal staff minimum can also delay commencement even if AtWork has approved the proposed site.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 11 pp. 23–25; Item 12 pp. 35–38; Franchise Agreement Section 2; Personnel Business Addendum Sections 9–12; Professional Business Addendum Section 6.
Who must complete AtWork training before opening?
The Operating Partner, Manager if applicable, and initially hired employees must complete the assigned Training Programs to AtWork’s satisfaction before the Staffing Business begins operating. Current components include assigned eLearning, virtual Launch phases and Foundation Learning. AtWork may vary delivery, location and content, require certifications, add training after an unsuccessful attempt, or provide portions virtually. If AtWork terminates because a required trainee cannot complete the Training Programs satisfactorily, the FDD provides only a conditional 50% refund of the initial franchise fee, less AtWork’s out-of-pocket expenses, and only after the franchisee and owners sign releases.
For the owner curriculum, the disclosed components imply approximately 80 hours 15 minutes to 81 hours 15 minutes for Personnel and 78 hours 35 minutes to 79 hours 35 minutes for Professional. Those are derived totals from the component tables, not official elapsed opening durations; monthly scheduling, calls, self-paced work and other setup tasks can overlap.
Both Personnel and Professional tables show 32 classroom hours in Knoxville.
Interpretation: the middle three days carry three-quarters of the disclosed classroom hours; travel and living expenses remain the franchisee’s responsibility.
Source: AtWork Franchise, Inc. 2026 FDD, Item 11, Training Program tables, pp. 32–34. Values are classroom hours, not calendar-day opening estimates.
The official AtWork support page also describes Launch Camp, Foundation Learning and a Field Implementation Week. The FDD’s contractual training language controls. Verify whether field implementation applies to the selected format and whether it occurs before or after commencement.
What must be complete before AtWork permits commencement?
Franchise Agreement Section 2.D creates a cumulative gate: every listed condition must be satisfied. Training completion alone does not authorize opening, and opening assistance described in marketing material does not replace the franchisee’s contractual duties.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 5, 8 and 11; Franchise Agreement Sections 2.D, 3.A, 8 and 9.A; Personnel Business Addendum Sections 4 and 12; Professional Business Addendum Section 4.
Who controls the critical opening dependencies?
AtWork controls franchise award, agreement acceptance, site approval and whether required training has been completed satisfactorily. The franchisee controls entity formation, financing arrangements, site pursuit, equipment, insurance, hiring and timely submission of deliverables. Landlords, contractors, suppliers, insurers and government authorities control separate approvals or performance that AtWork does not guarantee.
| Checkpoint | Applicant or franchisee | AtWork | Third party |
|---|---|---|---|
| Qualification and award | Disclose experience, funds, ownership and market goals accurately. | Screen, continue due diligence and decide whether to award. | Lender may determine financing eligibility; AtWork provides no direct or indirect financing. |
| Site and buildout | Find site, submit complete report, negotiate, build, furnish and obtain occupancy. | Accept or reject proposed site; approval is not a success warranty. | Landlord, contractor and authorities control lease delivery, work and permits. |
| Training and staffing | Attend, pay travel costs, hire staff and ensure employee completion. | Set curriculum, schedule delivery and determine satisfactory completion. | Travel, lodging and any required certification providers affect readiness. |
| Commencement | Deliver certificates, reserve, systems, staff, approvals and marketing plan. | Confirm contractual conditions and enforce the 90-day deadline. | Insurer, vendors and authorities must deliver their own approvals or services. |
Which AtWork opening deadlines need written confirmation?
The buyer should record each trigger rather than turning a relative period into an assumed calendar date. The 90-day deadline starts with the agreement’s Effective Date, the 60-day marketing deadline is measured backward from the planned opening date, and the 30-day site period begins only after AtWork receives a complete report.
| Trigger | Period | Requirement or consequence | What to verify |
|---|---|---|---|
| FDD delivered | 14 calendar days | No binding agreement or payment to AtWork or an affiliate before the review period ends. | Receipt date and whether any later franchisor-initiated material changes trigger additional review time. |
| Complete site report received | 30 days | AtWork promises reasonable efforts to accept or reject; this is not automatic approval. | Written completeness confirmation and exact site decision. |
| Planned opening date | 60 days before | Grand-opening advertising plan must be submitted for approval. | Approved media, materials and expenditures that count toward the minimum spend. |
| Agreement Effective Date | No later than 90 days | Full-time operation must commence; failure is an express termination ground. | Whether AtWork will grant any extension, on what written basis, and whether any payment or waiver applies; no extension right is disclosed. |
The agreement does not disclose an automatic extension right for the initial 90-day Commencement Date Deadline. A buyer facing a landlord, permit, insurance or training delay should obtain any approved change in writing before relying on it. AtWork’s discretion or informal assistance should not be treated as a contractual extension.
What should a buyer verify before signing and scheduling opening?
Use Item 20 and Exhibit G to speak with current and former franchisees about actual elapsed time from Effective Date to commencement. Ask separately about insurance placement, internal hiring, site-report completeness, lease contingencies, Foundation Learning scheduling, AtWork’s training sign-off and whether the grand-opening plan was approved 60 days ahead.
Ask AtWork to confirm in writing the selected Program Addendum, Operating Partner, Manager requirement, current financial qualification, territory description, proposed Office path, required suppliers, current Computer System specifications, insurance checklist, training attendees and the evidence needed for commencement approval. For a Personnel format, confirm the two full-time internal staff condition; for a Professional format, confirm the residential-office rules and whether any non-residential office addendum will be required.
Review the Franchise Agreement, applicable Program Addendum, Guaranty, state addenda and any site or software documents with qualified advisers. Verify licensing, employment, zoning, construction, occupancy, tax and insurance requirements with the authorities and professionals responsible for the selected state and locality; the FDD does not create one universal local permit list.
What is the practical AtWork opening decision?
The verified path is inquiry, interview and questionnaire; FDD review and validation; leadership review and Discovery Day; award and execution by a qualifying entity; format-specific territory or Office work; insurance, reserve, systems, staffing, marketing and regulatory readiness; satisfactory training; then full-time operation on the first Monday after training.
The 90-day signing-to-opening period is both the FDD’s disclosed typical duration and the agreement’s outside commencement deadline, not a guarantee. The most important applicant-controlled dependency is assembling every commencement deliverable early enough to preserve the 60-day marketing-plan lead time. The most important franchisor or third-party dependency is timely site, training, insurance, landlord and regulatory completion. The unresolved issue to verify is whether AtWork would approve any written extension if a dependency threatens the 90-day deadline.