How Much Does an AtWork Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Estimated annual owner-operator benefit
$14,000-$141,000

For an AtWork Personnel office, the base analytical scenario is about $44,000 per year before financing, depreciation, capital expenditures, and personal income taxes. A manager-run version of the same three scenarios produces approximately -$89,000 to $38,000 of residual business profit. The owner-operator figure is not passive profit: it includes compensation for the owner's full-time operating work.

Mode C: FDD-anchored scenario Confidence: Limited Format: AtWork Personnel Operating period: 2025
Official $1,842,996 Median Gross Revenue

2025 median for 63 standard franchised Personnel offices. Revenue is not owner earnings.

Official $381,900 Median Gross Profits

Gross Revenue less payroll expenses and payroll taxes under the Item 19 definition.

Official 20.48% Median Gross Margin

Gross Profits divided by Gross Revenue; it is not an operating-profit margin.

Official + derived 63 of 83 Year-end offices included

75.9% of the 83 year-end Personnel offices; 22 offices that closed during 2025 were also excluded.

Official fee rates 7.5% Modeled recurring percentage fees

7% Personnel royalty plus 0.5% Marketing Fund Contribution on modeled temporary-staffing Gross Revenue.

Benchmark $102,950 Manager wage proxy

May 2024 BLS median wage for general and operations managers, used only for the role comparison.

Item 19 evidence

What does AtWork's 2026 Item 19 actually disclose?

Officially, Item 19 discloses Gross Revenue, Hours Billed, Gross Profits, and Gross Margin for 63 standard AtWork Personnel offices during calendar year 2025. It does not disclose Operating Profit, EBITDA, Net Income, owner salary, distributions, or cash available to an owner.

The franchisor defines Gross Profits as an office's Gross Revenue less payroll expenses and payroll taxes. Item 19 does not expressly say whether that payroll line includes internal office staff. This analysis treats it as assigned-worker payroll, consistent with the staffing Gross Margin context and Item 6's statement that AtWork does not process internal staff payroll, then deducts sales and recruiter wages separately. If reported Gross Profits already include those internal wages, the scenarios would understate owner benefit.

Official statistic Gross Revenue Gross Profits Gross Margin
Average $3,658,091 $640,398 20.87%
Median $1,842,996 $381,900 20.48%
High $47,159,739 $5,982,340 53.39%
Low $228,830 $35,885 10.57%
Offices exceeding average 18 (28.57%) 22 (34.92%) 27 (42.86%)

Source: 2026 AtWork Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 19, pp. 49-51. The $47.2 million high and the fact that only 28.57% of offices exceeded average Gross Revenue show why the median is the more decision-useful central anchor.

Scenario method

How was the annual owner-earnings range modeled?

The estimate starts with official 2025 AtWork Personnel medians, subtracts current recurring FDD fees, adds role-specific wage assumptions, and leaves financing and personal taxes outside the operating model. The result is estimated pre-tax owner benefit, not an Item 19 result.

Estimated owner-operator benefit = Item 19 Gross Profits - Personnel royalty - Marketing Fund Contribution - Local Advertising Expenditure - Technology Bundle Fee - sales and recruiter wages - other operating-cost reserve
Owner-operator benefit
Cash remaining before personal income taxes and financing, with no manager wage deducted. It includes both residual business profit and the value of the full-time work performed by the owner.
Manager-run residual
Owner-operator benefit less the BLS manager wage proxy. It represents modeled business profit after paying a full-time manager, but before financing and personal taxes.
Interest and debt principal
Excluded because the FDD does not establish one common financed amount, rate, or term. Both would reduce cash available to a financed buyer.
Depreciation and capital expenditures
Excluded from the annual operating scenarios. Replacement equipment, remodels, and other capital needs can reduce cash flow.
Personal income taxes
Not calculated. Tax outcomes depend on entity structure, jurisdiction, deductions, and the owner's circumstances.

Which assumptions are official, benchmarked, or editorial?

The fee rates are official FDD facts; the wage inputs are U.S. labor-market benchmarks; the 3% operating-cost reserve and three-user count are explicit analytical assumptions. They apply to a standard Personnel office, not the remote Professional format.

  • Official FDD: 7% royalty on Personnel Gross Revenue and 0.5% Marketing Fund Contribution. Full-time placements carry a 10% royalty, so the model can understate fees when permanent-placement revenue is material. The franchisor may also adjust the royalty and may increase the Marketing Fund Contribution to 1.0%.
  • FDD interpretation: The model treats Item 19 Gross Profits as revenue after assigned-worker payroll and payroll taxes, not after internal office staff. Note 3 does not state this expressly, making the treatment a material uncertainty.
  • Official FDD: $10,000 per year of Local Advertising Expenditure and a Technology Bundle Fee of $149 per month per user. The model assumes three users: owner or manager, sales professional, and recruiter.
  • Official operating structure: AtWork's franchise FAQ describes a preferred Personnel model with a sales professional and recruiter in addition to the owner or branch manager.
  • Benchmark wages: $69,990 for a service sales representative from O*NET's 2025 service-sales wage data and $58,650 for a human resources specialist in employment services from the BLS May 2024 wage table.
  • Editorial scenario assumption: 3% of Gross Revenue for employer payroll burden, rent, utilities, insurance, office administration, professional services, travel, and other operating costs not quantified in Item 19. Actual office-level costs may be materially higher or lower.
  • Cash-flow treatment: The FDD's 1% Risk Management Reserve withholding is not treated as an expense because the reserve remains subject to return after settlement, but it can reduce near-term cash until the required reserve balance is funded.

FDD sources: 2026 AtWork Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 6, pp. 6-12; Item 15, p. 43; Item 19, pp. 49-51.

Three-scenario model

What do the Conservative, Base, and Upside scenarios show?

The modeled owner-operator benefit ranges from approximately $13,600 to $141,400, with a base result of about $44,400. These are independent annual scenarios for AtWork Personnel using 2025 FDD medians; they are not probabilities, forecasts, or franchisor-reported owner earnings.

Scenario anchor Gross Revenue Gross Profits Owner-operator benefit Manager-run residual
Conservative
1-3-year cohort medians
$1,449,656 $309,855 $13,637 -$89,313
Base
All 63 offices' medians
$1,842,996 $381,900 $44,381 -$58,569
Upside
5+ year cohort medians
$2,497,286 $547,625 $141,406 $38,456

The FDD reports median Gross Revenue and median Gross Profits separately. They may not belong to the same office, so each row is a cohort-based analytical combination rather than a reconstructed franchisee income statement. Calculations use full precision and are rounded to the nearest dollar only for display.

Estimated owner-operator benefit by scenario

Annual pre-tax benefit before financing, depreciation, capital expenditures, and personal taxes

AtWork Personnel owner-operator benefit scenarios A column chart showing approximately 14 thousand dollars for Conservative, 44 thousand dollars for Base, and 141 thousand dollars for Upside. $120k $60k $0 $13,637 $44,381 $141,406 Conservative 1-3-year medians Base All-office medians Upside 5+ year medians

Interpretation: The mature-cohort scenario has more room to absorb percentage-based franchise fees and fixed internal staffing, while the younger-cohort scenario leaves little residual cash after modeled office costs.

Sources and method: 2026 AtWork FDD, Item 19, pp. 49-51; Item 6, pp. 6-12; BLS and O*NET wage benchmarks linked above; the internal-payroll treatment, 3% other operating-cost reserve, and three technology users are scenario assumptions.

Owner role

How does owner involvement change the result?

Owner involvement changes the modeled economics by roughly the cost of a full-time manager: $102,950 per year in this analysis. This is a benchmarked role adjustment for AtWork Personnel, not an official AtWork earnings figure.

Item 15 states that if the Operating Partner does not supervise the Staffing Business full time, the franchisee must appoint a trained full-time Manager. The official AtWork Personnel ownership page describes an active role involving team leadership, sales or recruiting, daily operations, and relationship management. The BLS general and operations manager wage table reports a May 2024 median of $102,950.

The manager-run model deducts only the national median wage. Actual cost may include payroll taxes, benefits, incentives, recruiting expense, and local wage premiums, so the manager-run residual may be lower. Conversely, an experienced owner who personally performs part of the sales or recruiting function could reduce internal payroll, but that would add more owner labor and is not assumed here.

Base-case bridge

Where does the base-case Gross Profit go?

In the base scenario, $381,900 of official median Gross Profits falls to approximately $44,381 of estimated owner-operator benefit after the modeled fee, staffing, technology, advertising, and overhead deductions. This bridge is derived from separate Item 19 medians and should not be read as an actual office profit-and-loss statement.

Base scenario: Gross Profits to owner-operator benefit

All values are annual; deductions reconcile to the displayed $44,381 result

AtWork Personnel base scenario waterfall The waterfall starts at 381,900 dollars of Gross Profits, subtracts 129,010 dollars royalty, 9,215 dollars marketing fund, 10,000 dollars local advertising, 5,364 dollars technology, 128,640 dollars sales and recruiter wages, and 55,290 dollars other operating costs, ending at 44,381 dollars. $0 $200k $400k $381.9k -$129.0k -$9.2k -$10.0k -$5.4k -$128.6k -$55.3k $44.4k Gross Profits Royalty Marketing fund Local advertising Technology Sales + recruiter Other operating Owner benefit

Interpretation: Percentage-based franchise fees consume about $138,225 of the base revenue anchor before internal staffing and office overhead. Gross Profits therefore cannot be used as a substitute for owner earnings.

Reconciliation: $381,900 - $129,010 - $9,215 - $10,000 - $5,364 - $128,640 - $55,290 = $44,381, with displayed components rounded after full-precision calculation.

Uncertainty

Why is the evidence confidence Limited?

Confidence is Limited because the current FDD provides strong same-brand revenue and Gross Profits evidence but no office-level operating expenses or owner compensation. The estimate also excludes offices that closed during 2025 and combines separate median measures.

Item 19 included 63 standard offices that operated for the full year, but excluded 14 offices opened during 2025, six satellite offices, and 22 franchised offices that permanently closed during the year. Item 20 identifies the 2025 reductions as 14 terminations, one reacquisition, and seven offices that ceased operations for other reasons. Excluding closures can make the surviving full-year population look stronger than the full set of economic outcomes.

Source: 2026 AtWork Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 19, pp. 49-51, and Item 20, pp. 52-58.

How sensitive is the base scenario to unreported operating costs?

At the official all-office medians, each additional one percentage point of Gross Revenue assigned to unreported costs reduces annual owner benefit by about $18,430. The table is an estimated sensitivity, not a probability distribution.

Other operating-cost reserve Owner-operator benefit Manager-run residual
2% of Gross Revenue $62,811 -$40,139
3% base assumption $44,381 -$58,569
4% of Gross Revenue $25,951 -$76,999
5% of Gross Revenue $7,522 -$95,429

The reserve is a modeling device for internal payroll burden, occupancy, insurance, utilities, administration, professional services, travel, and similar costs not quantified by Item 19. It is unrelated to the FDD's Risk Management Reserve.

Format boundary

Can AtWork Professional owner earnings be estimated from this FDD?

No defensible same-brand owner-earnings range can be produced for AtWork Professional from the 2026 FDD. The FDD states that no franchisees operated Professional Businesses as of December 31, 2025, so Item 19 contains no Professional revenue, Gross Profits, or owner-economics population.

AtWork Professional is a remote, specialized staffing format with a different royalty rate, staffing structure, insurance treatment, territory model, and cost base. Importing Personnel results into the Professional format would mix incompatible operating models. The official AtWork U.S. franchise site describes both formats, but it does not provide current Professional owner-profit evidence that can replace Item 19.

Buyer verification

What should a buyer verify before relying on this range?

A buyer should verify the unreported expense lines and owner workload against Item 19 substantiation, current and former franchisees, and a location-specific operating budget. The following checks directly address the model's main uncertainties.

  • Request the written substantiation supporting the 2025 Item 19 tables and ask whether Gross Revenue, Gross Profits, and Gross Margin can be reviewed at the same-office level.
  • Ask comparable 1-3-year and 5+ year Personnel franchisees for internal payroll, commissions, occupancy, insurance, technology, local advertising, chargebacks, professional fees, and owner compensation.
  • Confirm whether the owner works full time, performs sales or recruiting, or employs a full-time Manager, and record the actual weekly hours involved.
  • Interview franchisees whose offices closed, terminated, were reacquired, or ceased operations during 2025 to understand outcomes missing from the Item 19 population.
  • Confirm the exact royalty applicable to temporary staffing and full-time placements, any royalty adjustments or low-margin discounts, and whether the Marketing Fund Contribution has changed.
  • Model the timing of the 1% Risk Management Reserve withholding, customer disputes, aged-receivable chargebacks, and any High-Risk Surcharge separately from operating profit.
  • Obtain the latest FDD, amendments, and state-specific addenda before signing, then reconcile them to the proposed territory, office lease, staffing plan, and financing structure.
Decision synthesis

What is the strongest defensible earnings takeaway?

The strongest defensible range is approximately $14,000 to $141,000 of annual pre-tax owner-operator benefit for an AtWork Personnel office, with a base scenario near $44,000. It is scenario-based, not official owner earnings, and confidence is Limited. Under the same assumptions, manager-run residual profit ranges from approximately -$89,000 to $38,000.

The most important driver is the amount of Gross Profits left after percentage-based franchise fees and the internal staffing structure. The largest unresolved uncertainty is the actual office-level cost stack beneath Gross Profits, compounded by the exclusion of 22 offices that closed during 2025. A buyer should verify Item 19 substantiation, obtain matched office-level expense data, and compare active and former franchisee experiences before treating any scenario as applicable to a specific territory.