How does an Advanced Fresh Concepts franchise opening work?
Advanced Fresh Concepts Franchise Corp. does not disclose one inquiry-to-opening duration. A buyer applies and passes screening, receives and reviews the FDD, agrees with AFC on a specific third-party facility location before signing, executes the Franchise Agreement and location addendum, completes required training and certifications, supplies permits and insurance evidence, installs approved systems and inventory, and starts by the date inserted in the addendum.
Who qualifies, and what does the application require?
AFC’s disclosed application is a screening document, not an award or promise. It requests identity and residence information, education, employment history, sushi and food-service experience, criminal-history disclosures, judgments or liens, real-estate holdings, references, and location preferences. The applicant authorizes investigation of work, education, references, and suitability and pays the disclosed $100 credit and background-check fee when submitting the completed application.
The application requires the applicant to be at least 18 and to provide proof of legal eligibility to work in the United States before signing a Franchise Agreement. A conviction does not automatically disqualify an applicant. The FDD does not state a universal minimum net worth, liquid-capital amount, credit score, degree, or minimum number of food-service years; AFC’s official prospective-franchise page asks whether the prospect has restaurant or food-service experience but does not publish a minimum.
- Truthful, complete applicationMaterial omissions or false statements can disqualify the applicant or support later termination.
- Work eligibilityProof must be delivered before the Franchise Agreement is signed.
- Screening consentAFC may investigate references, employment, education, credit, and background information.
- Testing readinessAFC or the facility owner may lawfully require criminal, drug, tuberculosis, or other testing.
- Owner involvementA manager does not replace the franchisee’s continuing personal and active supervision.
- Multi-location capacityAdditional locations depend on AFC’s judgment of financial, management, and staffing capability.
Sources: 2025 AFC FDD, Item 5 p. 9, Item 7 pp. 19–20, Item 12 p. 34, Item 15 pp. 39–40, and Exhibit B, Franchise Application pp. 1–4.
What sequence takes the applicant from inquiry to opening?
The sequence is controlled by dependencies rather than a fixed seven-step sales funnel. Location agreement precedes contract signing; contract signing precedes the contractual training and setup obligations; training, certification, permits, insurance, staffing, equipment, inventory, and facility readiness must converge before operations begin.
Action: Identify interest in sushi, hot foods, or both and provide experience details.
Actor: Applicant.
Timing: No response period is disclosed.
Next dependency: AFC must decide whether to move the prospect into its formal application process.
Action: Submit the signed Franchise Application, references, disclosures, screening authorization, and application fee.
Actor: Applicant and AFC.
Blocker: Incomplete, misleading, or unacceptable screening information can stop consideration.
Action: Review all 23 Items, state addenda, the Franchise Agreement, location addendums, guaranty, and acquisition forms if applicable.
Actor: AFC delivers; applicant reviews.
Timing: At least 14 calendar days before signing or paying AFC or an affiliate in the proposed sale.
Action: AFC identifies an available grocery store or venue and consults with the applicant on the assignment.
Actor: AFC, applicant, and facility owner.
Blocker: If AFC and the applicant cannot agree on a location, AFC will not enter the Franchise Agreement.
Action: Execute the five-year Franchise Agreement and the applicable location addendum; entity owners sign guaranties.
Actor: Franchisee and AFC.
Payment trigger: The full-time initial fee is due and nonrefundable on signing the Full-Time Location Addendum.
Action: Complete applicable sushi or steam-table training, ServSafe Manager certification, Allergen Awareness training, and requested lawful tests or checks.
Actor: Franchisee, principal owners, manager where applicable, AFC, ServSafe, and testing providers.
Blocker: Unsatisfactory completion or failed required testing may lead to cancellation without refund.
Action: Obtain permits, send copies to AFC, hire and train staff, secure insurance, install approved equipment and systems, and receive opening inventory.
Actor: Franchisee, AFC, facility owner, suppliers, insurer, and government authorities.
Blocker: Facility buildout, permits, equipment, staffing, or insurance evidence can delay operations.
Action: Begin operating the specified Food Service Counter after all applicable prerequisites are complete.
Timing: The FDD says operations typically start 3–10 days after training when the site is ready.
Blocker: Facility buildout or location delay can extend the period to 30–60 days or longer.
Sources: 2025 AFC FDD, cover; Item 11 pp. 28–32; Franchise Agreement §§1–3, 11.26–11.30 and 12; Full-Time Addendum §D, Part-Time Addendum §C, and Self-Service Addendum §C. Federal timing confirmed by the FTC Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise and the FTC Franchise Rule page.
All bars use calendar-day equivalents disclosed for separate stages; they must not be added into a total opening promise.
Interpretation: The 3–10 day post-training period is described as typical only when the location is built, equipped, and ready; a 30–60 day or longer delay can occur when location choice or facility buildout is unfinished.
Sources: 2025 AFC FDD cover and Item 11 pp. 28–31. The chart compares disclosed periods with different triggers and does not derive a total timeline.
How do location, territory, and facility buildout differ?
AFC does not grant a protected geographic territory. The franchise is tied to one or more specific grocery stores or other venues listed in location addendums. AFC or its parent must already have an agreement with the facility owner, AFC identifies available locations and works with the facility owner on buildout, and the applicant must agree to the selected location before signing.
The addendum identifies the permitted operating site, but the franchisee receives no minimum or exclusive territory. AFC, affiliates, and other franchisees may operate nearby or use other distribution channels. The facility owner’s consent, rules, and underlying agreement can also affect the counter, product mix, operating format, or continued right to remain.
The facility owner often purchases and owns display cases, refrigeration, sinks, preparation tables, signage, and similar fixtures, while the franchisee purchases items not supplied by the facility. The franchisee installs required equipment unless the facility owner handles installation. Local permits and buildout timing vary; AFC may assist with health permits on request and may elect to obtain permits under a power of attorney, but it has no obligation to do so.
The FDD allocates distinct actions; assistance does not transfer the franchisee’s obligations.
Applicant / franchisee
- Complete the application and screening consents.
- Agree to the specific available location.
- Sign contracts and guaranties.
- Complete training and certifications.
- Obtain permits, insurance, staff, systems, and inventory.
AFC
- Evaluate the applicant and decide whether to proceed.
- Identify available facility locations and consult on assignment.
- Provide initial training and applicable manuals.
- Supply specifications and deliver selected inventory or equipment.
- Provide up to three post-opening assistance days for the first location.
Facility and third parties
- Facility owner controls site consent and may control buildout.
- Government authorities issue applicable licenses and permits.
- Insurers issue required policies and endorsements.
- ServSafe administers certification and allergen training.
- Approved suppliers provide required products and equipment.
Sources: 2025 AFC FDD Items 8, 11 and 12; Franchise Agreement §§3, 11 and 12. See AFC’s official company overview for the supermarket and other venue model.
What training and certification must be completed?
Each individual who directly or indirectly owns 30% or more of a franchisee entity must attend initial training unless AFC grants a discretionary waiver or exemption. The program is selected by the counter’s menu: sushi training is 10 days, steam-table training is 9 days, and a combined operation may require both. Training can occur at AFC headquarters in Torrance, online, at a company-operated counter, or another location AFC selects.
Before operations start, the franchisee and manager must take and pass ServSafe Food Protection Manager certification and ServSafe Allergen Awareness training. AFC requires proof of allergen training and a passing result by the last day of orientation. Every Food Service Counter must have at least one ServSafe Manager-certified person onsite during all operating hours. The official ServSafe Manager program describes its food-safety curriculum, while local authorities can impose additional certification rules.
AFC may reduce or waive training only in its discretion. Failure by the franchisee or a required owner to complete training to AFC’s satisfaction, or failure of a required lawful test or background check, can result in cancellation of the Franchise Agreement with no refund of sums paid to AFC.
Sources: 2025 AFC FDD Item 11 pp. 28–30; Franchise Agreement §§11.26 and 11.30; ServSafe Allergens information.
What must be ready before the counter starts operating?
The franchisee must obtain applicable food and business licenses, provide copies to AFC, hire and train employees, purchase insurance, and establish the required computer, Internet access, email address, tablet, label printer, inventory scanner, and web/data access. Required equipment, signs, fixtures, opening inventory, and supplies must come from AFC or approved suppliers when the facility owner does not provide them.
Insurance certificates are due within 30 days after the Franchise Agreement date, followed by complete policy copies within 30 days after certificate delivery. Required coverages include commercial general liability, workers’ compensation where applicable, employer’s liability, unemployment, property, business income, state disability where required, and automobile liability for vehicles used in the business. AFC, its parent, and the facility owner must be named as additional insureds under the disclosed terms.
| Readiness item | Responsible actor | Evidence or dependency | Opening consequence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Licenses and permits | Franchisee; government authority | Copies delivered to AFC | Missing approvals can prevent lawful operation |
| Insurance | Franchisee; insurer | Certificates, declarations, endorsements, policies | AFC may obtain coverage but has no duty to do so |
| Staffing | Franchisee | Trained staff and certified manager coverage | Counter must be adequately staffed and stocked |
| Equipment and technology | Franchisee, AFC, facility owner, suppliers | Approved installation, tablet, labeling, Internet, inventory tracking | Unready systems can delay start |
| Opening inventory | AFC and franchisee | Approved products delivered and paid for | Products must be ready for the approved menu |
Sources: 2025 AFC FDD Items 7, 8 and 11; Franchise Agreement §§11.5–11.20 and 12.1–12.5.
How do full-time, part-time, self-service, and acquisition paths differ?
The brand names and operating structures are separate concepts. A Zenshi Counter, AFC Food Service Counter, or Wild Blue Counter can be assigned under the applicable location addendum, while full-time, part-time, and self-service define how the location operates. The FDD does not disclose an Area Development Agreement or protected multi-unit territory; each additional location requires AFC approval and a then-current location addendum.
Full-time location
Available to a new franchisee. The applicable initial fee is paid on signing. The counter operates each day the host facility is open and must be staffed during key trading hours.
Part-time location
Disclosed only for an existing franchisee that already owns a full-time location. Personnel are not required to be physically present more than four hours daily, but the counter must be stocked before trading.
Self-service location
Available only to an existing full-time or part-time franchisee. Food is prepared at the existing counter, transported to the self-service site, inspected, delivered, and restocked at least daily.
If the buyer purchases an existing AFC-operated location, the transaction may use the Asset Sale and Purchase Agreement when assets and equipment are included or the Food Service Counter Transfer Agreement when they are not. If AFC finances part of the purchase price, the buyer signs the disclosed Promissory Note. Acquisition does not eliminate application, agreement, training, certification, insurance, permit, or facility-consent issues unless the governing documents expressly do so.
Sources: 2025 AFC FDD Items 5, 7, 9, 10, 12 and 15; Exhibits D–F, I–K.
Which deadline and third-party risks must be verified before signing?
Every full-time, part-time, and self-service addendum contains a blank date by which operations must begin. The franchisee must start no later than that inserted date unless AFC consents in writing to an extension. The standard form does not disclose a universal number of days, an automatic extension right, or a standard extension fee.
Before signing, verify the exact opening date inserted in the location addendum, what AFC considers sufficient readiness, who documents any extension, and what happens if the facility owner, permit authority, supplier, trainer, or insurer causes the delay. A verbal accommodation is not the same as AFC’s written consent.
The principal third-party risk is the facility owner. AFC’s or its parent’s underlying facility agreement may be month-to-month, may end on short notice, and is not required to be shown to the franchisee. The facility owner may control buildout, require a code of conduct, object to the operator, modify permitted foods or format, or end the location relationship. AFC promises only to try to identify a relocation site after a qualifying location loss; relocation may be delayed, unavailable, non-comparable, and at the franchisee’s expense.
What should the buyer verify before the opening commitment becomes binding?
The buyer should reconcile the sales conversation with the 2025 FDD and the exact documents presented for signature. The most decision-useful questions are those that turn blank dates, discretionary approvals, facility-owner dependencies, and format-specific obligations into written, location-specific answers.
- Current disclosure packageConfirm the latest FDD, amendments, state addenda, and all proposed agreements were delivered.
- Exact legal partyConfirm Advanced Fresh Concepts Franchise Corp. is the contracting franchisor for the offered location.
- Specific counter and formatIdentify the brand, full-time/part-time/self-service structure, host facility, and permitted menu.
- Inserted opening dateConfirm the addendum date, prerequisites, written-extension process, and consequence of delay.
- Facility-owner statusAsk what buildout remains, who owns each fixture, and whether operating consent has conditions.
- Training rosterList every 30% owner, manager, required course, location, test, and proof deadline.
- Permit and insurance evidenceConfirm which authority, policy endorsement, certificate, and copy AFC requires for this site.
- Opening confirmationAsk whether AFC issues written readiness confirmation or relies only on completed prerequisites.
- Existing operatorsUse Item 20 contacts to ask how location assignment, training, buildout, and opening worked in practice.
- Acquisition documentsFor an existing counter, reconcile assets, transfer consent, facility consent, and any promissory note.
Verified synthesis: The opening path is application and screening, federal FDD review, agreement on a specific facility location, execution of the Franchise Agreement and applicable location addendum, training and certification, site and operational readiness, and start by the inserted addendum date. The total inquiry-to-opening timeline is undisclosed; only stage periods are provided.
The most important applicant-controlled dependency is completing training, certifications, permits, insurance evidence, staffing, technology, and approved purchasing on time. The most important franchisor or third-party dependency is a facility location that remains approved, built, equipped, and available. The key unresolved contractual issue is the actual opening date and written-extension treatment inserted into the location addendum.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to the Advanced Fresh Concepts Franchise?
- How Does the Advanced Fresh Concepts Franchise Work?
- How Does the Advanced Fresh Concepts Franchise Work?
- What are the Pros and Cons of Owning an Advanced Fresh Concepts Franchise?
- How Much Does an Advanced Fresh Concepts Franchise Owner Make?