How Much Does the Advanced Fresh Concepts Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Verified investment range

How much does an Advanced Fresh Concepts franchise cost?

The 2025 AFC Franchise Disclosure Document gives two separate new-franchisee investment paths: $45,004 to $151,404 for a full-time counter at a non-AFC-operated location, or $46,004 to $251,404 when purchasing an existing AFC-operated counter. The same Item 7 table can apply to an eligible part-time counter, but AFC permits part-time operation only after the franchisee already owns a full-time location. The two ranges are not interchangeable: the acquisition path includes a disclosed $1,000 to $100,000 payment for the existing Food Service Counter business, assets, equipment, and established market.

Data basis: Advanced Fresh Concepts Franchise Corp., 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document issued July 22, 2025 and amended most recently May 7, 2026; Items 5, 6, and 7, with cost-relevant references to Items 8, 10, 11, and 17. Formats reviewed: Zenshi Counter, AFC Food Service Counter, and Wild Blue Counter, operated as full-time, part-time, or eligible self-service Food Service Counters. Information checked July 18, 2026.

The franchisor does not publish a matching current FDD on a verified franchise-controlled public page, so FDD references below are unlinked by Item and page. The official Advanced Fresh Concepts franchise website confirms the U.S. franchise system.

$45,004–$151,404 2025 FDD — new full-time counter at a non-AFC-operated location

Existing AFC-operated counter acquisition: $46,004–$251,404 for the same new-franchisee full-time or part-time path.

Both 2025 Item 7 totals cover pre-opening spending and approximately the first three months of operations. They already include Additional Funds; that category should not be added a second time.

Source: 2025 AFC FDD, cover and Item 7, pp. 16–21.

Capital snapshot

Initial Franchise Fee $6,250

New franchisee obtaining a full-time location; paid when the agreement is signed.

Paid to AFC $42,244–$237,074

New-franchisee cover range across the non-AFC and existing AFC-operated acquisition paths.

Self-Service Total $4,025–$20,900

Available only to an existing full-time or part-time AFC franchisee.

Additional Funds $7,000–$30,400

Included in a full-time or part-time Item 7 total; covers about three months.

Monthly Sales Deductions 25%–27% + 8%–11%

Typical facility share plus AFC compensation, each based on Gross Sales.

Liquid Capital / Net Worth Not disclosed

The current FDD states no minimum threshold for either measure.

Official total investment ranges by acquisition path

The bars use one $0 to $251,404 scale. Each shaded segment begins at the disclosed low estimate and ends at the disclosed high estimate.

New-franchisee table — non-AFC location$45,004–$151,404
New-franchisee table — existing AFC location$46,004–$251,404
Existing franchisee add-on — non-AFC location$42,019–$130,324
Existing franchisee add-on — existing AFC location$43,019–$230,324
Existing franchisee — self-service$4,025–$20,900
$0$125,702$251,404

Interpretation: the largest disclosed range expansion comes from buying an existing AFC-operated counter; self-service is a different, restricted add-on format rather than a low-cost entry path for a new franchisee. Source: 2025 AFC FDD, cover and Item 7, pp. 16–23. The cover separately states that $40,769–$227,524 is paid to AFC for an existing-franchisee full-time or part-time add-on, and $4,025–$20,000 is paid to AFC for self-service. Chart geometry is derived only by scaling the official endpoints to the common maximum.

Item 7 components

What does the initial investment include?

For a new full-time or part-time Food Service Counter, Item 7 combines the Initial Franchise Fee, screening and training costs, travel, manuals, opening inventory, equipment and smallwares, insurance, licenses, technology, professional fees, and Additional Funds. The range changes materially according to training attendance, menu scope, required equipment, facility arrangements, and whether the buyer acquires an existing AFC-operated counter.

Major Item 7 category 2025 disclosed range Payment or cost timing Key basis
Initial Franchise Fee $6,250 At signing New full-time location; current part-time fee is $0 for an eligible existing franchisee.
Training, manager training, ServSafe, allergen training, and screening $1,485–$9,580 Application, start of training, or after testing Derived sum of compatible Item 7 subcategories; excludes travel and living expenses.
Training travel and living expenses $1,600–$11,500 As travel, hotel, and meals are incurred Varies by number of trainees and required programs.
Opening inventory $10,400–$31,200 Before opening Low assumes steam-table-only; high assumes sushi and steam-table food.
Equipment and smallwares $14,700–$46,000 Before opening May include rice, refrigeration, cooking, display, delivery, and related equipment.
Label machine, scanner, warranty, and initial data access $1,119–$2,424 Before opening and during first three months Derived sum of compatible Item 7 technology lines.
Insurance, licenses, permits, and computer/internet $1,150–$7,800 Before opening; internet continues afterward Derived sum; insurance is a one-year premium, computer/internet covers first three months.
Additional Funds — three months $7,000–$30,400 Opening through about month three Entity formation, operations, salaries including the owner, supplies, administration, ongoing inventory, and direct-deposit fees.
Existing AFC-operated counter acquisition $1,000–$100,000 Under the purchase or transfer agreement Applies only when AFC or its parent sells an existing counter.

Source: 2025 AFC FDD, Items 5 and 7, pp. 9–10 and 16–21. Derived grouped amounts add only compatible line items and do not replace the official total investment range.

Which smaller opening categories remain in the total?

Manuals
$300–$600 for the applicable Operating Manual, sanitation procedures, recipe guides, and Steam Table Manual.
Signage
$0–$1,000, depending on location and optional approved umbrellas, signs, or banners.
Opening Assistance
$0–$1,800; AFC includes up to three days after opening, then charges $450 per additional day.
Additional Uniforms
$0–$350 for four sets beyond the uniforms included with initial training.
Professional Advisors
$1,000–$2,000 for independent legal and accounting advice.
First Account Broker quarter
$0–$500, only when the location carries an Account Broker Fee.
Cost implication

Additional Funds are already inside Item 7. For a full-time or part-time counter, the $7,000–$30,400 allowance covers approximately three months and includes employee salaries, including the franchisee’s own compensation. Adding it again to the published total would double-count working capital.

What is different about self-service?

The self-service range of $4,025 to $20,900 is available only to an existing full-time or part-time franchisee. Food is prepared at the primary Food Service Counter and delivered to the self-service location at least daily. Item 7 identifies opening inventory of $1,625 to $6,500, coolers and ice packs of $0 to $900, insurance of $500 to $2,000, licenses and permits of $300 to $1,500, Additional Funds of $1,600 to $9,000, and a first-quarter Account Broker Fee of $0 to $500. The format does not require a separate label machine because the existing counter already has one.

Source: 2025 AFC FDD, Item 7, pp. 22–23.

Facility responsibility

At a grocery-store Food Service Counter, the host store will usually buy and own display cases, signage, refrigeration, an ice machine, preparation tables, storage racks, sinks, and similar fixtures. “Usually” is not a guarantee. The site-specific facility agreement should identify every fixture the store supplies before the buyer relies on the low end of Item 7.

Franchise-specific fee schedule

How does the franchise fee change for an additional full-time counter?

An existing AFC franchisee pays a declining Initial Franchise Fee for each additional full-time location based on the number of months remaining on the current Franchise Agreement. The fee is paid in a lump sum when the full-time location addendum is signed. The schedule does not apply to a new franchisee’s first full-time counter, which carries the standard $6,250 Initial Franchise Fee.

Initial Franchise Fee by remaining agreement term

Each column shows the fixed fee for one additional full-time location under the 2025 Item 5 schedule.

Interpretation: the additional-location fee falls in $1,250 increments as the remaining agreement term shortens. Source: 2025 AFC FDD, Item 5, p. 10. Column heights are derived as a percentage of the official $6,250 maximum.

There is currently no Initial Franchise Fee when an eligible existing franchisee adds a part-time or self-service location. If that location later becomes full-time, the franchisee must pay AFC’s then-current full-time Initial Franchise Fee. AFC does not refund or prorate the fee when a full-time location is later converted to part-time or self-service.

Payment timing

When is the required cash paid?

The investment is not one check paid on opening day. AFC’s disclosures place payments at the application, contract, training, pre-opening procurement, and early-operation stages. Exact timing can also change when AFC deducts a charge from commissions rather than requiring a separate payment.

Application screeningThe new applicant pays the $100 credit and background-check fee when submitting the application.
Franchise Agreement or location addendumThe $6,250 first full-time Initial Franchise Fee, or the applicable additional-location fee, is due in a lump sum at signing.
Training startTraining, ServSafe Food Protection Manager certification, and manual lease charges are paid when training begins. The franchisee pays travel, lodging, and meals as incurred. Official certification information is available from ServSafe Manager and ServSafe Allergens.
Pre-opening purchasesOpening inventory, equipment and smallwares, label technology, signage, insurance, licenses, permits, computer access, and other site-specific needs are funded before operations begin.
Opening and first three monthsAdditional Funds support operating expenses and ongoing inventory. Testing charges, extra opening assistance, and certain facility-related charges may be deducted from commissions after the service is provided.

Source: 2025 AFC FDD, Items 5 and 7, pp. 9–10 and 16–23. The FTC states that a prospective franchisee generally must receive the FDD at least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or paying the franchisor or an affiliate; see the FTC Franchise Rule.

Ongoing deductions

Which fees continue after opening?

AFC’s principal continuing charge is disclosed as Compensation to Franchisor, not as a single conventional royalty. Typically, the host store or facility keeps 25% to 27% of Gross Sales, and AFC keeps 8% to 11% of Gross Sales. The facility collects sales through its register, forwards the amount to AFC less the facility share, and AFC returns the franchisee’s balance after deducting AFC compensation and other charges shown on the monthly statement.

For this fee, Gross Sales excludes sales tax, credits, and refunds. The two percentage ranges have different payees and should not be collapsed into “an 11% royalty.”

Continuing charge Amount or basis Timing When it applies
Host store or facility share Typically 25%–27% of Gross Sales Monthly Under AFC or its parent’s agreement with the facility.
Compensation to Franchisor Typically 8%–11% of Gross Sales Monthly AFC states its share generally will not exceed 11%.
Web and Data Access Fee Up to $100 per month per location Monthly For required tablet data and web access.
Direct Deposit Fee $5 per month Monthly Manual checks can cost up to $25 by UPS; regular mail has no added fee.
Account Broker Fee $100–$500 per quarter per location Quarterly Only when AFC pays for the right to place the counter in that facility.
Third-Party Delivery Fee 0%–6.5% of Gross Sales of delivered food Monthly Only for applicable third-party delivery transactions.
Local Store Marketing Fee 0%–0.25% of Gross Sales Monthly Only if charged by the facility or store.
Extended Producer Responsibility Fee Up to $2,000 per month Monthly Only when required by a state regulatory agency.

Source: 2025 AFC FDD, Item 6, pp. 10–16.

Which operating charges depend on purchases or circumstances?

  • Required products and supplies: actual product cost plus freight and ancillary charges; a shipping administration fee can be up to 2.5% of the purchase price.
  • Advertising: cooperative fees vary if a cooperative is formed, while campaign contributions are the franchisee’s pro-rata share of actual costs.
  • Approved sourcing: AFC estimates required purchases from AFC, its affiliates, or approved suppliers represent at least 85% of startup purchases and nearly 95% of ongoing purchases. A proposed new supplier or product can require $500 plus investigation expenses.
  • Food-safety and compliance: lab testing can cost up to $500 per sample, while extra training, certification, testing, insurance, and regulatory charges depend on the event.

Source: 2025 AFC FDD, Items 6 and 8, pp. 10–16 and 23–25.

Other Item 6 charges to keep in the contract budget

Training and attendance
Additional Training up to $2,300 per person; on-site training up to $450 per day; failure to attend required training $250.
Certification and checks
ServSafe certification up to $275 per person; testing and criminal background checks up to $1,000 per person, typically around $100 when only a background check is required.
Manuals and uniforms
Manuals Lease Fee up to $600 per full-time or part-time counter; additional uniforms up to $350. The manual fee is refundable only if the manuals are returned as specified.
Customer and price changes
Customer Satisfaction Fee up to $1,000 per complaint; special pricing labels at actual cost, estimated at $500 per changed item.
Facility employment
Actual reimbursement of employee wages when a facility owner requires counter personnel to be employed directly by the facility.
Materials and warranty
Optional banners, logo items, and displays at actual cost; mailing and reproduction up to $100 per shipment; labeling-machine warranty service currently $99 for two years or $199 for three years.
Insurance and legal exposure
Insurance obtained by AFC varies; indemnification, breach expenses, and third-party audits, inspections, fines, or charges are payable at actual cost.
Levies and financed balances
Administrative Fee up to $100 per garnishment or levy request; Promissory Note payments are the actual scheduled amount, with a late fee after more than 10 days equal to the lower of 1% of the delinquent amount or the maximum legal rate.

Source: 2025 AFC FDD, Item 6, pp. 11–15.

Contract events

Which later charges are triggered by renewal, transfer, default, or exit?

The Franchise Agreement can create material costs after the opening period even when no charge occurs every month. Renewal is especially important because the renewal fee is AFC’s then-current Initial Franchise Fee, not a fixed $6,250 promise for the future.

  • Renewal: then-current Initial Franchise Fee for each location, plus the cost of bringing the Food Service Counter into full compliance with current standards.
  • Transfer: $1,500 per location; the first transfer request to a controlled entity is free, and each later request is $250.
  • Early termination: $1,500 per location.
  • Default: up to $1,000 per default, in addition to actual breach-related expenses when applicable.
  • Audit: audit costs plus interest of 1% per month, or 12% per year, if the audit finds a discrepancy or underreporting of at least 1%.
  • AFC management: up to $450 per day per person if AFC provides management under a disclosed trigger.
  • Relocation: AFC does not charge another Initial Franchise Fee when relocation is required by the facility owner, but the franchisee may lose the original site expenses and receives no refund.

Source: 2025 AFC FDD, Items 6, 11, and 17, pp. 10–16, 28–32, and 40–48.

FDD caveat

A transfer, renewal, or relocation budget cannot be reduced to the stated administrative fee. Current-standard upgrades, replacement equipment, de-identification, professional advice, facility requirements, and lost site-specific spending can be larger but are not assigned one universal amount in the FDD.

Funding requirements

Does AFC disclose liquid capital, net worth, or financing?

The current 2025 AFC FDD does not state a minimum Liquid Capital requirement, Net Worth requirement, or Non-Borrowed Funds threshold. That absence does not mean the buyer needs only the Initial Franchise Fee. The applicable Item 7 total, personal operating needs, and any lender or facility requirements remain separate questions. If the franchisee is an entity, each individual owner must sign a Personal Guaranty.

AFC discretionary financing
AFC may finance certain amounts owed to it and recover payments through commission deductions. Approval is discretionary.
Eligible startup categories
Opening and ongoing inventory, opening assistance, label equipment and warranty, and equipment and smallwares.
Typical disclosed terms
Generally three to six months, no interest, and no required down payment or security for the listed startup categories.
Existing-location purchase
AFC may finance up to $50,000 over zero to 12 months without interest; the down payment varies and is usually the first installment.

AFC states that it does not offer other financing, arrange third-party debt financing, or guarantee a franchisee’s obligations. Financing therefore cannot be treated as available cash until AFC approves the specific amount and promissory-note terms.

Source: 2025 AFC FDD, Items 5 and 10, pp. 9–10 and 27–28.

Buyer verification

What should a prospective franchisee verify before committing capital?

The decisive cost questions are format-specific and site-specific. A buyer should reconcile the current FDD with the exact Food Service Counter, facility agreement, equipment list, and payment schedule being offered.

Confirm the acquisition path.Identify whether the proposal is a new non-AFC-operated counter, an existing AFC-operated counter acquisition, an existing-franchisee add-on, or an eligible self-service counter.
Reconcile every host-facility obligation.List which party buys, owns, maintains, and replaces refrigeration, display cases, sinks, signage, preparation surfaces, storage, and internet access.
Obtain the exact monthly deduction schedule.Confirm the facility percentage, AFC Compensation to Franchisor, account broker charge, delivery fee, Local Store Marketing Fee, and every other deduction shown on commission statements.
Separate Item 7 from personal reserves.Additional Funds include three months of operating costs and owner salary, but the FDD does not state that the allowance will cover every buyer’s personal or business cash needs.
Verify current supplier and compliance pricing.Opening inventory, equipment, insurance, permits, testing, and approved-supplier charges can move within or beyond assumptions that depend on the location and regulator.
Review the latest amendment before payment.The FTC’s Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise explains how Items 5, 6, and 7 fit into FDD due diligence, and the FTC’s FDD review guidance emphasizes reading the full disclosure and attachments.

Official documents and tools

Official AFC brand informationBrand and corporate context from AFC’s U.S. website.
Wonderfield Group’s AFC brand pageParent-group context for the AFC brand.
FTC Franchise RuleFederal disclosure rule and compliance resources.
FTC franchise buyer guidePlain-language guidance on franchise costs and disclosure review.

Bottom line: the new-franchisee AFC counter table carries a verified official range of $45,004 to $151,404 at a non-AFC-operated location, or $46,004 to $251,404 when an existing AFC-operated counter is purchased. The acquisition payment, equipment and inventory needs, training travel, facility responsibilities, and three-month Additional Funds allowance drive the opening range. After opening, the host facility’s share, AFC Compensation to Franchisor, technology, delivery, marketing, supplier, and event-triggered charges remain separate continuing obligations.