$235,000–$490,000
Estimated annual pre-tax, pre-financing owner earnings per mature traditional U.S. franchised restaurant. The base analytical scenario is about $351,000. These figures are not disclosed owner income; they are modeled from official 2025 sales and same-brand company-operated cost data.
This range is an independent analytical scenario, not an Item 19 financial performance representation by Wingstop Franchising LLC. It combines identified FDD facts with Wingstop Inc. company-operated expense data and explicit scenario assumptions. Actual results can differ materially because of location, format, sales volume, chicken and packaging costs, labor, occupancy, delivery mix, financing, owner involvement, and execution. A restaurant can earn less than the conservative scenario or lose money.
Data basis
- Legal entities
- Wingstop Franchising LLC is the franchisor; Wingstop Inc. is the ultimate parent; Wingstop Restaurants Inc. is the affiliate and predecessor that operates company-owned restaurants.
- FDD reviewed
- Wingstop 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, issued April 21, 2026. Item 19, pp. 58–60; Item 20, pp. 60–73; Item 6, pp. 7–14; Item 7, pp. 14–18; Item 15, p. 45.
- Item 19 status
- Official average, median, high, and low annual Net Sales for U.S. restaurants open for the full 52-week period from December 29, 2024 through December 27, 2025. It does not disclose franchised-unit profit, EBITDA, net income, cash flow, or owner compensation.
- Operating benchmark
- Wingstop Inc. fiscal 2025 company-owned restaurant cost of sales from the official 2025 Annual Report.
- Offer context
- The official U.S. franchise opportunity page describes current qualification and operating expectations. FDD terms control where public marketing differs.
- Date checked
- July 21, 2026.
What does the 2026 Wingstop FDD actually report?
Officially, Item 19 reports Net Sales—not owner earnings. For 2,116 U.S. franchised Wingstop Restaurants open throughout the 2025 measured period, average annual Net Sales were $2,007,626 and median annual Net Sales were $1,890,866. The highest result was $5,042,476 and the lowest was $584,584.
The average exceeded the median, and only 914 restaurants, or 43%, exceeded the franchised average. That pattern is consistent with higher-volume outlets pulling the average upward; the median is therefore the cleaner central revenue anchor for this article. Item 19 says the reporting restaurants are substantially similar to the Restaurant franchises currently offered.
$1.891M
Median Net Sales
OFFICIAL — 2,116 full-year U.S. franchised restaurants in the 2025 measured period.
$2.008M
Average Net Sales
OFFICIAL — 43% of the franchised cohort exceeded this average.
2,116
Franchised cohort
OFFICIAL — restaurants open for the entire 52-week measured period.
11.5%
Royalty plus Ad Fund
OFFICIAL — 6% royalty and current 5.5% Ad Fund contribution, each based on FDD-defined Gross Sales.
18.6%
Base modeled margin
DERIVED — company-operated cash margin less the 6% franchise royalty, before fixed technology fees.
$63,040
Manager labor value
BENCHMARK — May 2024 median wage for food service managers in food services and drinking places.
Item 19 excludes 384 franchised restaurants opened during the measured period, 10 that were temporarily closed for remodeling or repairs for multiple consecutive days, and four that permanently closed. Item 20 separately shows that domestic franchised outlet count rose from 2,154 at the start of 2025 to 2,529 at year-end. The Item 19 cohort therefore represents established full-year operations, not a new-store ramp-up cohort or every outlet that existed at any point during the year.
Wingstop also publishes an AUV definition for investor reporting, but AUV should not be silently substituted for the FDD median. The official investor FAQ defines domestic AUV as an average for restaurants open at least 52 weeks; Item 19 provides a separate FDD population, period, and median.
How is the owner-earnings estimate calculated?
The estimate starts with the official $1,890,866 franchised median Net Sales and applies a same-brand operating-cost proxy. This is a derived and scenario-based calculation for a mature traditional U.S. restaurant during a 52-week year; it is not reported by the franchisor as franchisee profit.
Wingstop Inc. reported $127.452 million of fiscal 2025 company-owned restaurant sales and $96.058 million of cost of sales. The cost line includes all company-owned restaurant operating expenses, including advertising, and excludes depreciation and amortization. That produces a 75.368% operating-cost ratio and a 24.632% company-operated cash margin before depreciation and financing.
The franchise model then subtracts the 6% royalty because company-owned restaurants do not bear a franchise royalty. It does not subtract the 5.5% Ad Fund contribution again, because advertising expense is already included in company-owned cost of sales. It separately subtracts the maximum disclosed website and intranet maintenance fees of $1,200 a year. Using full-precision inputs gives a base estimated margin of 18.632% before the fixed fees.
| Base-scenario bridge | Evidence treatment | Annual amount |
|---|---|---|
| Franchised median Net Sales | Official 2026 FDD Item 19 figure for the 2025 measured period | $1,890,866 |
| Company-operated cost proxy | 75.368% of sales; includes restaurant labor and advertising, excludes depreciation | −$1,425,108 |
| Franchise royalty proxy | 6% applied to Item 19 Net Sales as a practical proxy for FDD-defined Gross Sales | −$113,452 |
| Website and intranet fees | Maximum $50 per month for each disclosed fee | −$1,200 |
| Estimated pre-tax owner earnings | Before interest, financing principal, depreciation, capital expenditures, and personal income taxes | $351,106 |
- Revenue assumption: Conservative, Base, and Upside revenue equal 80%, 100%, and 120% of the official franchised median. The spread is editorial, not an FDD quartile or probability.
- Margin assumption: The base adjusted margin is the fiscal 2025 company-operated cash margin less the 6% royalty. Conservative and Upside use minus or plus three percentage points.
- Manager-run treatment: Restaurant labor and normal management expense are assumed to be embedded in the company-operated cost proxy.
- Rounding: Calculations use full-precision inputs; displayed scenario earnings are rounded to the nearest $1,000.
What do the Conservative, Base, and Upside cases produce?
The three estimated manager-run results are approximately $235,000, $351,000, and $490,000 per restaurant per year. These are analytical scenarios for a mature traditional U.S. franchised restaurant, not a forecast, probability distribution, or representation that any owner will achieve the midpoint.
Estimated annual manager-run owner earnings
Pre-tax, before debt service, depreciation, capital expenditures, and personal income taxes
Interpretation: Sales and margin move together in this model, so the range is deliberately wide. It does not define a downside floor; actual performance can be below $235,000 or negative.
Source and method: Wingstop 2026 FDD Item 19, pp. 58–60; Item 6, pp. 7–14; Wingstop Inc. fiscal 2025 company-owned cost data in the official annual-report archive. Scenario revenue is 80%/100%/120% of the FDD median; adjusted margins are 15.632%/18.632%/21.632%, less $1,200 fixed fees.
How does active owner involvement change the result?
Active involvement does not automatically add a manager salary to business profit. Officially, Item 15 strongly recommends—but does not require—personal management. If the owner is not involved full time, the FDD requires a General Manager and an Assistant Manager. Even when the owner personally manages, the owner and the General Manager must complete training, so the FDD does not establish that a full manager position disappears.
The primary $235,000–$490,000 range therefore keeps normal management labor inside restaurant operating costs. A separate owner-operator benefit can be shown only as a conditional labor-value case. The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics reports a May 2024 median annual wage of $63,040 for food service managers in food services and drinking places. If—and only if—the owner truly replaces one paid manager without weakening staffing or violating operating requirements, that labor value can be added to residual profit.
Manager-run earnings versus conditional owner-operator benefit
The teal span is the $63,040 market value of one replaced food service manager role
Interpretation: The additional $63,040 is compensation for work performed, not passive return. It should be included only when the owner actually replaces a paid management role.
Source and method: Wingstop 2026 FDD Item 15, p. 45; U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Food Service Managers, May 2024 wage data. Owner-operator values equal manager-run scenario earnings plus $63,040.
Which variables can move annual owner earnings the most?
The largest unresolved uncertainty is the actual franchised restaurant expense structure. Item 19 supplies a strong sales cohort but no franchisee P&L, while the company-operated proxy may differ in rent, purchasing terms, manager structure, delivery mix, insurance, repair expense, local taxes, and overhead allocation.
At median sales, each one-percentage-point change in operating margin changes annual earnings by about this amount.
A 10% sales move changes the base model by roughly this amount if the 18.6% adjusted margin holds.
Interest and principal payments reduce owner cash available dollar for dollar; debt service is excluded from the primary range.
Maintenance capital expenditures, remodel reserves, equipment replacement, and personal taxes are not included.
Food, beverage, and packaging costs represented 36.8% of company-owned sales in fiscal 2025; labor was 23.2%; other restaurant operating expenses were 17.9%; vendor rebates reduced costs by 2.5%. Wingstop identifies chicken as its largest product cost, so commodity movement can materially affect unit economics even when sales are unchanged.
The 2025 sales period is historical, not a forecast. In its official fiscal first-quarter 2026 results, Wingstop reported domestic AUV of $1.956 million and an 8.7% decline in domestic same-store sales. That later system metric is not interchangeable with the Item 19 median, but it shows why a buyer should not project the 2025 FDD sales level forward without current local evidence.
The FDD’s $584,584 low and $5,042,476 high are observed extremes, not probability bounds. They are not used as Conservative and Upside anchors because a single lowest or highest outlet may reflect location-specific circumstances that do not transfer to a new site.
What should a buyer verify before relying on this range?
A buyer should verify the model against current franchisee P&Ls and Item 19 substantiation. The estimate is useful for framing questions, but only actual unit records can establish whether the sales, staffing, occupancy, and operating-cost assumptions fit a specific market and ownership plan.
- Request written Item 19 substantiation: confirm the full 2025 sales distribution, cohort definitions, ownership changes, and treatment of closed or remodeled restaurants.
- Interview several current and former franchisees: compare food and packaging, labor, rent, delivery commissions, merchant fees, utilities, repairs, insurance, and local advertising as percentages of sales.
- Separate manager-run and owner-operated staffing: document General Manager and Assistant Manager compensation, benefits, bonuses, overtime exposure, and whether the owner can genuinely replace a role.
- Reconcile the royalty base: quantify differences between Item 19 Net Sales and Item 6 Gross Sales, including discounts, delivery fees, gift-card activity, and promotions.
- Build a site-specific occupancy case: use the signed lease economics, common-area charges, taxes, insurance, and required repairs rather than a national assumption.
- Subtract financing and capital needs separately: model actual interest, principal, equipment replacement, remodel reserves, and working-capital requirements before estimating owner distributions.
The Federal Trade Commission’s Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise advises buyers to distinguish gross sales from profit, review the source and limitations of Item 19 claims, request substantiation, and speak with current and former franchisees.
What is the strongest defensible Wingstop owner-earnings range?
The strongest defensible range from the available evidence is approximately $235,000 to $490,000 per mature traditional U.S. franchised restaurant annually, with a $351,000 base scenario. It is a Mode C FDD-anchored independent estimate, not an official owner-income disclosure. The most important driver is the combination of Net Sales and unit-level operating margin; at the FDD median, one margin point is worth about $18,909 a year.
The largest unresolved uncertainty is whether a specific franchisee’s food, labor, occupancy, delivery, and management costs resemble Wingstop’s company-operated cost structure. A buyer should verify Item 19 substantiation, obtain franchisee P&Ls, test the exact manager structure, and subtract actual debt service and capital spending before treating any modeled amount as distributable owner cash.