How Much Does a Wingstop Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 COST ANSWER

How much does a Wingstop franchise cost?

A new U.S. WING-STOP® Restaurant requires an estimated initial investment of $310,400 to $1,048,500 under the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document. That range applies to the standard Restaurant format described in Item 7 and excludes real estate purchase and lease costs.

$310,400–$1,048,500

2026 Item 7 estimated initial investment for one Restaurant. It includes the $25,000 Development Fee, the $25,000 Franchise Fee, opening assets, and $25,000 to $40,000 of Additional Funds for the first three months. It does not price the purchase of real estate or the lease itself. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 14–18.

Data basis. Legal franchisor: Wingstop Franchising LLC. Document: 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, issued April 21, 2026. Cost sections reviewed: Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 17. Applicable format: one standard Wingstop Restaurant, typically 1,200 to 2,000 square feet of leased retail space. Information checked July 21, 2026. The 2026 registration is corroborated by the Wisconsin franchise registration record. Current offer status is also stated on Wingstop Inc.’s investor FAQ.

Development Fee $25,000 Due in full when the Development Agreement is signed.
Franchise Fee $25,000 Due for each Restaurant when its Franchise Agreement is signed.
Additional Funds $25,000–$40,000 Included in Item 7 for the first three months of operation.
Royalty Fee 6% Of Gross Sales, debited weekly.
Ad Fund 5.5% Current contribution rate on Gross Sales, paid weekly.
SOURCE CONFLICT

The official Wingstop franchise page still displays a lower investment range than the April 21, 2026 FDD. This article uses the current FDD figures because Item 7 is the governing disclosure for the franchise cost range.

ITEM 7 INVESTMENT

What makes the Wingstop investment range so wide?

Leasehold Improvements are the main disclosed range driver. The 2026 Item 7 estimate runs from $103,000 to $581,000 for that category alone. Equipment, smallwares, and audio/visual systems create the next-largest spread at $59,400 to $179,300. Wingstop states that demolition needs, existing restaurant infrastructure, regional labor and material costs, landlord allowances, and higher-cost markets can materially change build-out spending.

Contract, premises, and professional costs

The first group combines fixed payments to Wingstop Franchising LLC with location-dependent premises costs. The Item 7 total does not include rent or the purchase price of real estate.

Item 7 expenditure 2026 amount When paid Payee
Development Fee $25,000 At Development Agreement signing Wingstop Franchising LLC
Franchise Fee $25,000 At Franchise Agreement signing Wingstop Franchising LLC
Security Deposits $0–$10,000 Per lease, utility, or insurer terms Landlord, utilities, insurers
Architectural/Engineering Fees $7,300–$30,000 Per professional-services agreement Approved architectural professional
Professional Fees $2,500–$7,500 As incurred Attorney, accountant, other advisers
Leasehold Improvements $103,000–$581,000 Per construction contract Approved general contractor
Business and Operating Permits $4,500–$8,500 As incurred Licensing authorities

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 14–18. Wingstop notes that permit costs vary by jurisdiction and that beer/wine licensing assumptions may not fit every market.

Restaurant assets and opening inventory

Approved or designated suppliers control many of the largest pre-opening purchases. Item 8 says required equipment, signage, furniture, fixtures, technology, branded materials, and operating supplies must meet Wingstop specifications and generally come from approved sources.

Item 7 expenditure 2026 amount Payment basis Cost point
Décor, Furniture, and Fixtures Package $11,300–$39,400 Lump sum Prepaid at least 30 days before construction starts
Audio/Visual System, Equipment, and Smallwares $59,400–$179,300 Vendor terms 30% deposit or pre-shipment total at contract; balance prepaid before construction
Point-of-Sale, Back-of-House, and Back-Office Systems $28,000–$40,000 Vendor terms Prepaid at least 30 days before construction starts
Signs $4,400–$31,800 Vendor terms Prepaid at least 30 days before construction starts
Opening Inventory $10,000–$16,000 Vendor terms Before opening, under supplier and distributor terms

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 15–18; Item 8, pp. 18–22.

Opening promotion and three-month working capital

Item 7 includes both the required opening marketing spend and an Additional Funds allowance. These amounts are already inside the $310,400 to $1,048,500 total and must not be added a second time.

Item 7 expenditure 2026 amount Covered period Key condition
Opening Publicity and Promotions $5,000–$15,000 Within three months after opening $5,000 in core markets, $10,000 in emerging markets, and $15,000 outside both groups
Additional Funds $25,000–$40,000 First three months Used as needed for specified pre-opening and initial operating expenses

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 16–18. The market classifications for opening promotion are defined in the FDD and may change.

FDD CAVEAT

The Additional Funds estimate covers rent, utilities, wages, manager salaries, inventory replenishment, insurance premiums, debt service, professional expenses, Internet/intranet costs, and travel for two required trainees during the first three months. The FDD says more working capital may be needed for a longer period. It does not identify owner compensation as an included use.

UPFRONT AGREEMENTS

How much is paid directly to Wingstop before opening?

For one Restaurant, the two disclosed initial payments to the franchisor total $50,000. The $25,000 Development Fee and $25,000 Franchise Fee are separate, non-refundable payments; the Development Fee is not credited against the Franchise Fee. A Development Agreement is required even for a one-Restaurant development.

One Development Agreement

Wingstop uses the Development Agreement to control site approval, development timing, and the right to obtain each Restaurant franchise.

Each committed Restaurant

The Development Fee equals $25,000 multiplied by the number of Restaurants committed under the Development Agreement.

Each opened Restaurant

A separate $25,000 Franchise Fee and a separate Item 7 investment apply when the Franchise Agreement for that Restaurant is signed.

For an existing Restaurant purchase, the buyer does not pay an Initial Franchise Fee. Instead, Item 5 says Wingstop receives the transfer fee specified in the seller’s agreement, currently either $10,000 or $15,000; the current Item 6 fee for a transfer under the disclosed form is $15,000.

PAYMENT TIMING

When does a Wingstop franchisee pay the money?

The cash is staged across agreement signing, site development, construction, training, opening, and the first three operating months. Wingstop’s official development process places financial-document review and FDD delivery before execution of the Development Agreement.

Sign the Development Agreement

Pay the non-refundable $25,000 Development Fee for the first Restaurant, plus $25,000 for each additional committed Restaurant. The ordinary site option period is usually 180 days.

Secure an approved site and sign the lease

Pay deposits under landlord, utility, and insurer terms. After the site and lease are accepted, sign the Restaurant’s Franchise Agreement and pay the non-refundable $25,000 Franchise Fee.

Fund design, construction, equipment, and technology

Professional and permit costs are paid as incurred. The kitchen-equipment order requires a 30% deposit or the pre-shipment total, whichever is greater. Décor, equipment, POS systems, and signs must generally be prepaid at least 30 days before construction starts.

Pay training travel and pre-opening costs

Initial tuition is not charged for required attendees, but the franchisee pays travel, lodging, incidental expenses, manager salaries, and other covered pre-opening costs. The FDD separately states that the required sanitation certification typically costs $65 to $150 per attendee. Wingstop’s official support page describes the current training and development support framework.

Open and complete the initial operating period

Spend the required $5,000, $10,000, or $15,000 on opening promotion within three months after opening, depending on market classification. Use the included $25,000 to $40,000 Additional Funds allowance during the first three months as needed.

ONGOING AND CONDITIONAL FEES

Which Wingstop fees continue after opening?

The principal continuing payments are the 6% Royalty Fee and the current 5.5% Ad Fund contribution, both based on Gross Sales and collected weekly. Gross Sales has the specific exclusions and gift-card treatment stated in Item 6; it is not the same as profit or cash remaining after expenses.

Continuing obligation Amount or basis Timing 2026 disclosure point
Royalty Fee 6% of Gross Sales Weekly automatic debit Tuesday for the prior week ended Saturday
Ad Fund Currently 5.5% of Gross Sales Weekly with royalty May be set annually from 5% to 5.5%; a franchisee vote can authorize more
Local Advertising Currently 0% If imposed Absent a franchisee vote, combined Ad Fund and required local spend generally may not exceed 5.5%
Area Advertising Cooperative Rate set by the cooperative If formed in the market Membership may be mandatory; an elected cooperative contribution does not reduce the Ad Fund contribution
Website Maintenance $25 setup; up to $50/month Setup and monthly auto-debit Item 6; Item 11 also states website and intranet assessments may total up to $100/month
Intranet Maintenance andDevelopment Up to $50/month Monthly auto-debit Required hosting and maintenance access
POS hardware/software support after year one About $5,000–$6,000/year Annual renewal Hardware maintenance, software maintenance, support, and hosted software
Managed network solution About $3,700–$6,000/year Ongoing vendor terms Network hardware, licensing, and maintenance; phone and wireless bills are additional
Required Insurance Not quantified Before opening and each renewal Coverage types and carrier standards are specified; premiums depend on the policy and market

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 7–14; Item 11, pp. 35–37.

What events can trigger additional charges?

Item 6 also creates fixed, variable, and open-ended obligations that arise only in defined circumstances.

  • Reporting failureA $250 Non-Reporting Fee is debited weekly if weekly Gross Sales are not reported.
  • Late payment or auditPast-due obligations more than five days late bear the highest commercial contract interest rate permitted by law. Audit costs are reimbursed if records are inadequate or annual Gross Sales are understated by 1% or more.
  • TransferThe current Transfer Fee is $15,000 before the effective date, plus a $5,000 Transfer Marketing Expenditure within three months. The buyer must also update the Information System to current standards within six months.
  • RenewalThe Renewal Fee is $25,000 for a 10-year renewal term, and the franchisee must remodel to then-current Wingstop specifications. The remodel amount is not fixed.
  • RelocationA $5,000 Relocation Fee is due five days after request, in addition to then-current development charges and the cost of building and de-identifying premises.
  • Supplemental supportOn-site Supplemental Training or Assistance may cost up to $1,000 per trainer plus out-of-pocket costs.
  • Gift-card administrationThe third-party retailer program retains approximately 5% when gift cards are issued or sold. On redemption, the affiliate pays the Restaurant 90% of the transaction value, while Royalty Fee and Ad Fund calculations use the full redemption value.
  • Post-term or default conductLiquidated-damages provisions can apply to continued trademark use, early unilateral termination followed by a competing business, or an asset sale without a continuing Wingstop Franchise Agreement.

Which obligations have no fixed dollar amount?

Supplier and vendor purchases
Food, packaging, equipment, technology, promotional materials, and services vary under approved-source and vendor terms.
Vendor pass-through payments
Wingstop may collect pro rata amounts to reimburse third-party vendors under single-payer arrangements; the FDD says those amounts are not upcharged.
Customized advertising
A reasonable Ad Customization Fee may be charged when customized materials are supplied; it is not currently charged.
Underdeveloped-market incentives
The franchisor may waive or abate part of the Development Fee, Franchise Fee, or Royalty Fee in selected markets. The FDD does not promise an incentive or state a uniform reduction.
Meetings and replacement materials
Guest registration, travel, lodging, meals, shipping, and replacement manuals or training materials vary by event or item.
Enforcement-related costs
Indemnification, attorneys’ fees, taxes, and other reimbursement obligations depend on the claim, non-compliance, or taxing authority.
CAPITAL QUALIFICATIONS

How much liquid capital or net worth does Wingstop require?

The 2026 FDD does not state a minimum Liquid Capital or Net Worth threshold. Those qualifications appear on Wingstop’s public franchise pages, but the current official pages are inconsistent. As checked July 21, 2026, the main franchise page stated a $5 million minimum Net Worth with $2.1 million liquid, while the Get Started page stated $1.2 million Net Worth, $600,000 in Total Liquid Assets, and a minimum three-Restaurant development commitment.

BUYER VERIFICATION

Do not treat either website threshold as settled until Wingstop confirms the current requirement in writing for the proposed market, ownership group, and development commitment. Net Worth is not cash, Liquid Capital is not the Item 7 total, and neither figure changes the separate obligation to fund each Restaurant.

Item 10 discloses no franchisor financing. Wingstop Franchising LLC does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease, or obligation. Third-party financing availability depends on creditworthiness, collateral, lender policy, and market conditions. A financing relationship or loan application would not reduce the disclosed contract fees or guarantee approval. If the franchisee is a business entity, the Guaranty and Acknowledgment binds general partners or owners holding at least 5% of voting equity.

FORMAT AND EXCLUSIONS

What does the 2026 Wingstop cost range not resolve?

The range is for the standard Restaurant model, not every possible Wingstop venue. Item 7 uses one investment table for a Restaurant typically occupying 1,200 to 2,000 square feet of leased retail space, usually in a shopping or strip center. The FDD says free-standing sites are generally discouraged because lease costs are higher.

Standard Restaurant

One disclosed Item 7 range: $310,400 to $1,048,500, excluding real estate purchase and lease costs.

Non-Traditional Venue

Airports, casinos, campuses, ghost kitchens, arenas, and similar venues are recognized in the FDD, but no separate Item 7 cost range is provided.

Resale or renewal

A resale substitutes transfer obligations for the Initial Franchise Fee. A renewal usually avoids most opening costs but may require a current-specification remodel.

  • Real estate economicsConfirm base rent, percentage rent, common-area charges, deposits, tenant-improvement allowances, and any purchase price because they are outside the Item 7 total.
  • Build-out scopePrice demolition, grease trap, ventilation, HVAC, fire suppression, code work, and local labor before assuming the low end of Leasehold Improvements.
  • Vendor quotes and payment datesObtain current written quotes for equipment, décor, POS systems, signs, network services, phone service, inventory, freight, deposits, and required prepayments. Item 11 estimates the preferred phone system at $1,725 to $2,000, but the FDD does not explicitly reconcile that amount to the Item 7 technology range.
  • Opening market classificationVerify whether the Restaurant is in a core, emerging, or other market because that sets the $5,000, $10,000, or $15,000 opening-promotion minimum.
  • Working-capital coverageTest whether $25,000 to $40,000 covers the first three months of actual obligations, including debt service and payroll, without double-counting amounts already listed elsewhere.
  • Current FDD and agreementsUse the most recent FDD and completed agreements for the specific transaction. The FTC franchise buying guide explains the 14-calendar-day disclosure period before signing or paying the franchisor or an affiliate.
DECISION SUMMARY

What capital picture should a prospective franchisee use?

Use $310,400 to $1,048,500 per standard Restaurant as the verified 2026 Item 7 investment range, then model real estate purchase and lease costs separately. Within that range, $50,000 consists of the Development Fee and Franchise Fee, while Leasehold Improvements and equipment create most of the disclosed variability. After opening, budget for percentage-based Royalty and Ad Fund obligations, recurring technology and network costs, and event-triggered charges for transfer, renewal, relocation, default, or supplemental support. The most important unresolved capital question is the current financial qualification threshold because Wingstop’s official pages conflict and the 2026 FDD does not supply a controlling minimum.