How Much Does a Two Maids & A Mop Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Owner earnings estimate
$47,000–$125,000 per year

A mature, single-territory Two Maids owner who operates the business full time may have an estimated pre-tax owner-operator benefit of roughly $47,000 to $125,000 annually, with a base scenario near $82,000. This is not an official profit disclosure. It is a 2026 FDD-anchored scenario using the middle three 2025 revenue quintiles for franchised territories open at least two years.

Mode: C — FDD-anchored estimate Confidence: Limited FDD: Issued April 1, 2026 Format: U.S. residential cleaning territory
Independent estimate

This range is an independent analytical scenario, not an Item 19 financial performance representation by Two Maids Franchising, LLC. It combines identified 2026 FDD facts with separately identified benchmark and scenario assumptions. Actual results can differ materially by market, territory, sales, cleaner productivity, payroll burden, advertising efficiency, office and vehicle costs, financing, owner involvement, and execution.

Data basis
Legal franchisor
Two Maids Franchising, LLC; parent guarantor Home Franchise Concept, LLC.
Strongest same-brand evidence
2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 19, reporting unaudited 2025 Gross Revenue, Direct Labor, Cleaning Materials, Total Cost of Sales, and Gross Margin.
Applicable population
94 franchised territories open at least two years as of December 31, 2025. The system reported no company-owned outlets.
External reference points
IRS 2023 nonfarm sole-proprietorship data and BLS manager wage data; both are broad proxies, not Two Maids results.
Date checked
July 15, 2026.
OFFICIAL 94 Mature reporting territories

Franchised territories open at least two years in the 2025 Item 19 cohort.

OFFICIAL $457,030 Base revenue anchor

Average 2025 Gross Revenue for the third revenue quintile, not owner income.

OFFICIAL $236,312 Base Gross Margin

Revenue less Direct Labor and Cleaning Materials only; many expenses remain.

DERIVED $79,962 Base recurring obligation model

Royalty, national advertising, local advertising and management, technology, and convention allowance.

SCENARIO $82,265 Base owner-operator benefit

Pre-tax analytical result before financing, personal taxes, depreciation, and major capital expenditure.

Item 19 evidence

What does the 2026 FDD actually disclose?

The FDD discloses revenue and gross margin, but it does not disclose operating profit, EBITDA, net income, owner compensation, or cash distributions. Item 19 defines Gross Revenue broadly as billings for cleaning and related services, whether collected or not, with specified exclusions. It defines Gross Margin as Gross Revenue minus Direct Labor and Cleaning Materials.

That distinction is decisive. The official Two Maids franchise website highlights $1,085,621 of average Gross Revenue for the top 19 mature territories. The figure matches the first revenue quintile in the 2026 FDD, but it remains sales—not what an owner keeps.

2025 mature revenue cohort Average Gross Revenue Average Gross Margin Gross Margin %
Top quintile — 19 territories $1,085,621 $557,733 51%
Second quintile — 19 territories $594,532 $317,072 53%
Third quintile — 19 territories $457,030 $236,312 52%
Fourth quintile — 19 territories $333,154 $175,490 53%
Bottom quintile — 18 territories $229,897 $118,625 52%

Source: 2026 Two Maids Franchising, LLC Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 19, Charts 1–5, PDF pages 51–55. Values are unaudited and are cohort averages; the FDD also reports lows, medians, highs, and attainment counts.

Revenue is not earnings

The FDD Gross Margin still must cover payroll taxes not included in Direct Labor, recruiting, office payroll, occupancy, vehicles, insurance, merchant fees, royalty, advertising, technology, accounting, and management. A buyer cannot treat the 51%–53% cohort Gross Margin as an owner earnings margin.

How representative is the Item 19 population?

The mature cohort is substantial but selective. The 94 territories were open at least two years. Item 19 excluded 58 locations that had not been open for one year and two locations that did not report data. It separately reported 10 territories open from 12 to under 24 months, whose average Gross Revenue was $302,267.

Item 20 reported 184 franchised outlets at year-end 2025, up from 144 at the start of the year. It also reported 51 openings, three terminations, eight outlets that ceased operations for other reasons, and 13 transfers during 2025. Growth increases the share of young units, so a mature-unit scenario should not be applied to a first-year territory.

Scenario model

How is the $47,000–$125,000 range calculated?

The estimate starts with the second, third, and fourth revenue-quintile averages, subtracts disclosed recurring obligations, and then applies a transparent allowance for other operating overhead. The selected cohorts represent the middle 60% of mature territories by 2025 Gross Revenue. They are analytical anchors, not probabilities or forecasts.

Scenario FDD revenue anchor Estimated owner-operator benefit Manager-run residual*
Conservative Fourth-quintile average: $333,154 $46,642 -$28,358
Base Third-quintile average: $457,030 $82,265 $7,265
Upside Second-quintile average: $594,532 $124,852 $49,852

*Manager-run residual subtracts a $75,000 illustrative full-time manager wage from owner-operator benefit. It does not add employer payroll taxes, benefits, recruiting costs, or bonuses, so total manager cost may be higher.

Estimated owner-operator benefit by scenario

Annual pre-tax benefit for one mature territory; rounded to the nearest $1,000.

Conservative, base, and upside estimated owner-operator benefit Three columns show approximately 47 thousand dollars, 82 thousand dollars, and 125 thousand dollars. $0 $60k $120k $47k $82k $125k Conservative Base Upside

Interpretation: The scenario spread is driven primarily by FDD-reported revenue cohorts, while the modeled owner-benefit margin rises from 14% to 21% as scale and operating leverage improve.

Source: 2026 FDD Item 19 cohort averages; Item 6 recurring fees; independent overhead assumptions described below.

Which assumptions are official, derived, and editorial?

  • Official FDD facts: cohort Gross Revenue, Direct Labor, Cleaning Materials, Gross Margin, royalty schedule, advertising obligations, technology fee, and convention-fee ceiling.
  • Derived recurring obligations: at the three scenario revenue levels, 6% royalty, 2% National Advertising Fund payment, $30,000 annual local media spend, $3,600 minimum local-ad management fee, $7,800 technology fee, and a $2,000 convention allowance.
  • Editorial remaining-overhead allowance: approximately 16%–18% of revenue for payroll taxes, recruiting and administrative labor, occupancy, vehicles, insurance, merchant fees, accounting, repairs, and other operating costs not included in Item 19 Gross Margin.
  • Editorial owner-benefit margins: 14%, 18%, and 21%. The upper case is capped near the broad 21.2% ratio derived from IRS 2023 Administrative and Support Services sole-proprietor net income less deficit divided by receipts; that IRS category is much broader than residential cleaning.
  • Excluded from all scenarios: financing interest and principal, personal income taxes, depreciation, major capital expenditures, and extraordinary legal or remediation costs.
Where the base-case revenue goes

Reconciliation of $457,030 in third-quintile average Gross Revenue.

Base-case revenue bridge A stacked bar allocates revenue among total cost of sales, recurring franchise and marketing obligations, other operating overhead, and owner-operator benefit. $457,030 total revenue $220,718 48.3% $79,962 17.5% $74,084 16.2% $82,265 18.0% FDD Total Cost of Sales: Direct Labor plus Cleaning Materials Derived recurring franchise, advertising, technology, and convention obligations Editorial allowance for remaining normal operating overhead Estimated owner-operator benefit before financing and personal taxes

Interpretation: The official $236,312 Gross Margin is reduced by $79,962 of modeled recurring obligations and $74,084 of other-overhead allowance, leaving $82,265 of estimated owner-operator benefit.

Source: 2026 FDD Item 19, Chart 3, PDF page 53; Item 6, PDF pages 16–20; independent remaining-overhead assumption.

Owner role

How does owner involvement change annual earnings?

Owner involvement can determine whether the same operating business produces meaningful owner benefit or very little residual profit. Item 15 says the franchisor prefers owners who participate actively and does not want merely passive investors. An owner who does not operate the business must employ at least one full-time manager.

Owner-operator benefit
Residual operating cash plus the modeled value of management work performed by the owner. It is not pure passive business profit.
Manager-run residual
Owner-operator benefit minus an illustrative $75,000 manager wage. The model does not include payroll taxes or benefits on that wage, so actual employer cost can be higher.
Personal take-home pay
Not estimated. Entity structure, state and local taxes, deductions, distributions, retained cash, and the owner's other income change after-tax results.

The $75,000 wage is an editorial sensitivity, not a Two Maids disclosure. For context, the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics profile for General and Operations Managers reported a May 2024 national median of $102,950 and a lowest-decile threshold below $47,420. Local home-service manager pay may differ substantially, and the full employer cost normally exceeds cash wages.

Owner-operator effect

In the base scenario, $82,265 is owner-operator benefit. After a $75,000 manager-wage assumption, only about $7,265 remains before manager payroll burden, debt service, and personal taxes. This is why describing the franchise as “passive income” would be unsupported.

Recurring obligations

Which recurring FDD fees materially affect owner earnings?

The largest modeled recurring deductions are the royalty and combined advertising obligations. At the base revenue level, the recurring-obligation model totals $79,962 before ordinary office, vehicle, insurance, payroll-tax, and administrative expenses.

Base-case obligation FDD treatment Annual model
Royalty 6% at the modeled monthly revenue level; minimum rules also apply $27,422
National Advertising Fund Greater of 2% of Gross Revenue or $500 per month; may rise to 3% $9,141
Local advertising plus management $2,500 monthly media spend after startup, plus at least $300 monthly management $33,600
Technology fee $650 per month for the first territory $7,800
Convention allowance Mandatory attendance; fee will not exceed $2,000 annually $2,000
Total Derived base-case annual amount $79,962

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, PDF pages 16–20. The first six months have different local-advertising and royalty-minimum rules, so this mature-year model should not be used as a startup-year cash-flow forecast.

Why is Item 7 not subtracted from annual revenue?

Item 7 is an initial-investment disclosure, not a recurring annual expense schedule. Its startup investment and Additional Funds estimates should not be deducted from one year of Gross Revenue to manufacture a profit figure. Item 7 does state that the initial operating-funds estimate excludes owner salary or draw and assumes no manager during the initial period, which reinforces the need to model owner labor separately.

Uncertainty

What could move actual earnings outside the range?

The largest unresolved uncertainty is the expense structure below Gross Margin. Item 19 does not report payroll taxes, office and administrative payroll, occupancy, vehicle economics, insurance, merchant fees, management compensation, or operating profit for the mature cohorts.

  • Cleaner labor productivity: Item 19 Direct Labor excludes payroll taxes, so scheduling efficiency and employer burden can materially change the result.
  • Recurring-customer mix and pricing: the FDD reports recurring-customer percentages and average ticket values, but does not convert them into unit-level net profit.
  • Lead conversion and local advertising: required media spend is substantial; local conversion quality determines whether that cost produces enough recurring revenue.
  • Owner or manager structure: a full-time manager can consume most of the modeled benefit at central revenue levels.
  • Territory maturity: 10 territories open from one to under two years averaged $302,267 of 2025 Gross Revenue, below the mature third-quintile base anchor.
  • Debt and capital needs: interest, principal, vehicle replacement, and major capital expenditures are outside the published range.

Does the IRS benchmark prove a 21% Two Maids margin?

No. The IRS Statistics of Income nonfarm sole-proprietorship table covers a broad Administrative and Support Services category. For 2023, the table reports $114.423 billion of receipts and $24.229 billion of net income less deficit, a derived ratio of about 21.2%. It includes many non-cleaning businesses, nonfranchised operators, and owner labor, so this article uses it only as a directional upper reference for the upside owner-operator margin.

The model therefore receives a LIMITED evidence-confidence label: it is anchored to current same-brand FDD revenue, gross margin, fees, and owner-participation requirements, but it relies materially on explicit assumptions for expenses the franchisor does not disclose.

Multi-unit evidence

Can the one-territory result be multiplied for multi-unit ownership?

No simple multiplication is defensible. Item 19 reports 24 multi-unit franchisees operating 65 territories, with an average of 2.71 territories per owner. Their aggregate average Gross Revenue was $1,432,094 and aggregate median Gross Revenue was $1,139,278, but those are portfolio revenue figures—not per-territory earnings or owner compensation.

Multi-unit economics can include shared office staff and marketing leverage, but also more managers, vehicles, recruiting load, and uneven ramp-up. A buyer should obtain territory-by-territory statements and a consolidated owner-level profit-and-loss statement before treating the Item 19 portfolio figures as evidence of annual owner income.

Buyer verification

What should a buyer verify before relying on this range?

Verify the undisclosed expense lines and owner workload directly with current and former franchisees. The FTC permits financial performance representations only under defined disclosure rules, and the Two Maids FDD says written substantiation for Item 19 will be available to a prospective franchisee on reasonable request.

  • Request the Item 19 written substantiation and reconcile each chart to the population, exclusions, and territory-reporting rules.
  • Ask at least several mature owners in different revenue quintiles for 2025 and trailing-12-month profit-and-loss statements.
  • Separate owner salary, draws, distributions, retained cash, depreciation, interest, and debt principal in every statement reviewed.
  • Confirm cleaner wages, payroll taxes, workers’ compensation, recruiting costs, vehicle costs, office payroll, rent, insurance, merchant fees, and bad debt.
  • Ask owner-operators how many weekly hours they work and which paid manager or office roles they personally replace.
  • Ask manager-run owners for the manager’s cash wage, bonuses, payroll burden, benefits, turnover, and the residual profit after that full cost.
  • Compare one-year and two-year territories with mature territories rather than assuming immediate mature-cohort performance.
Decision synthesis

What is the strongest defensible annual earnings view?

The strongest defensible view is a scenario-based owner-operator benefit of approximately $47,000 to $125,000 per mature territory, with a base case near $82,000. It is not an official owner-profit figure. The most important driver is mature Gross Revenue combined with labor and overhead control. The largest unresolved uncertainty is the cost structure below the FDD’s Gross Margin.

A manager-run structure can reduce the residual sharply: under the article’s $75,000 manager-wage sensitivity, the modeled range becomes approximately -$28,000 to $50,000 before manager payroll burden, financing, and personal taxes. Before making a decision, reconcile the 2026 Item 19 substantiation to actual franchisee profit-and-loss statements and confirm exactly how owner labor, manager cost, debt service, and distributions are recorded.