How Much Does a Tide Dry Cleaners Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Annual owner earnings answer
$149,000–$361,000

A mature, standalone Tide Cleaners Plant Store may produce about $149,000 to $361,000 in estimated annual pre-tax owner earnings, with a modeled base near $243,000. The 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document does not report owner earnings directly. It reports a stronger-than-sales but incomplete measure—Net Controllable Income Less Royalty—for 12 franchised Plant Stores that did not service other outlets.

Evidence mode: FDD-anchored scenario estimate Confidence: Limited Format: Standalone Plant Store Period: July 2024–June 2025
Selected mode: FDD-anchored scenario estimate

The same-brand FDD supplies Net Sales, controllable expense ratios, royalty, sample coverage, and an official partial-income measure. A scenario is still necessary because Item 19 excludes rent, real estate taxes, common-area maintenance, certain landlord-paid costs, professional fees, interest, other debt service, income taxes, depreciation, and amortization.

Limited confidence

The starting evidence is current and brand-specific, but the final owner-earnings range depends materially on modeled costs that the FDD does not disclose.

Official FDD
$1.431M
Average annual Net Sales

Twelve standalone Plant Stores, July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025.

Official FDD
$465,111
Net Controllable Income Less Royalty

A 32.5% partial-income measure, not final business profit or owner take-home pay.

Scenario
$243,000
Base pre-tax owner earnings

After modeled omitted operating costs; before financing and personal taxes.

Official FDD
12
Outlets in the key cohort

A mature but small sample; two younger standalone Plant Stores were excluded.

Official FDD
11.0%
Current percentage fee burden

6.5% royalty, 3.5% Brand Development Fund, and 1% local advertising.

Derived benchmark
$65,146
Annualized manager labor value

BLS median wage of $31.32 per hour multiplied by 2,080 hours.

Item 19 evidence

What does the 2025 FDD actually measure?

Item 19 officially reports $465,111 of average annual Net Controllable Income Less Royalty for the relevant standalone Plant Store cohort. That figure applies to 12 franchised outlets for the fiscal year ended June 30, 2025, but it is not owner earnings because the FDD expressly excludes several material costs.

Net Sales
Gross Sales after documented refunds, credits, coupons, loyalty discounts, allowances, and chargebacks. The cohort averaged $1,431,110.
Controllable expenses
Cost of Sales 6%, Labor Cost and Taxes 37%, Marketing 4%, Utilities 4%, Repairs and Maintenance 1%, and Miscellaneous Expenses 9%—61% of Net Sales in total.
Net Controllable Income
Net Sales less the listed controllable expenses. Item 19 reports 39%, then deducts the 6.5% royalty to reach 32.5%.
Not included
Rent, real estate tax, common-area maintenance, certain lease-related insurance and utilities, legal and accounting fees, interest, debt service, non-payroll taxes, depreciation, amortization, and most owner return or compensation.
Revenue is not earnings

The official $1.431 million Net Sales figure is revenue. The official $465,111 Net Controllable Income Less Royalty figure is closer to an operating contribution measure, but it remains above true owner earnings because major occupancy, financing, tax, and accounting costs are outside the calculation. Source: 2025 Tide Cleaners FDD, Item 19, pp. 58–66.

The sample is narrow. Average Net Sales were $1,431,110 and median Net Sales were $1,377,569; five of 12 outlets exceeded average Net Sales, and six of 12 exceeded the average Net Controllable Income measure. The FDD says the results came from franchisee-provided financial reports and that written substantiation is available on reasonable request. The FTC’s franchise buyer guide explains why a prospective buyer should ask for the written support behind an Item 19 claim.

Scenario model

How does the estimate reach $149,000 to $361,000?

The estimate begins with the FDD’s 32.5% partial-income margin, adjusts current required advertising to 4.5% of Net Sales, and then subtracts explicit allowances for occupancy, property costs, professional overhead, administration, and asset replacement. The three revenue anchors are 80%, 100%, and 120% of the FDD average Net Sales. Those percentages are analytical assumptions, not FDD quartiles or probabilities.

Estimated pre-tax owner earnings = scenario Net Sales × [32.5% FDD Net Controllable Income Less Royalty margin − 0.5 percentage-point current advertising adjustment − modeled occupancy/property ratio − modeled other omitted-overhead and reserve ratio].
Model assumptions
  • Revenue: 80%, 100%, and 120% of $1,431,110, the official average annual Net Sales for the standalone Plant Store cohort. The FDD’s observed Net Sales range was $521,606 to $2,405,372.
  • Current fee adjustment: Item 19 reports Marketing at 4%, while Item 6 currently requires a 3.5% Brand Development Fund contribution plus 1% local advertising. The model deducts the 0.5 percentage-point difference and does not subtract the 6.5% royalty twice.
  • Occupancy and property: 12%, 10%, and 8% of Net Sales. Item 7’s high estimate for three months of Plant Store occupancy is $37,500; annualizing that amount produces $150,000, or about 10.5% of the cohort’s average Net Sales. This is context for the base assumption, not a disclosed annual rent figure.
  • Other omitted overhead and reserve: 7%, 5%, and 3% of Net Sales for professional fees, administration, lease-related costs not already captured, and an equipment-replacement reserve. The allowance excludes interest, financing principal, personal income taxes, and tax depreciation.
  • Rounding: calculations use full-precision inputs and are displayed to the nearest $1,000.
Scenario Net Sales anchor Modeled omitted costs Residual margin Estimated pre-tax owner earnings
Conservative $1,144,888 19.5% 13.0% $149,000
Base $1,431,110 15.5% 17.0% $243,000
Upside $1,717,332 11.5% 21.0% $361,000
How estimated annual owner earnings change across scenarios

Mature standalone Plant Store; pre-tax, before interest and financing principal.

Estimated annual owner earnings by scenario Three columns show Conservative at 149 thousand dollars, Base at 243 thousand dollars, and Upside at 361 thousand dollars. $0 $100k $200k $300k $149k $243k $361k Conservative Base Upside

Interpretation: revenue and occupancy assumptions create a wide range even though every scenario begins with the same FDD-defined partial-income margin. Source: 2025 Tide Cleaners FDD, Items 6, 7, and 19; independent calculations shown above.

What does the base-case bridge look like?

The base case converts $1,431,110 of official average Net Sales into approximately $243,289 of estimated pre-tax owner earnings. The bridge uses $872,977 of FDD-reported controllable expenses, $93,022 of royalty, a $7,156 current advertising adjustment, $143,111 of modeled occupancy/property expense, and $71,556 of modeled other overhead and reserve.

Base-case bridge Amount Evidence class
Average Net Sales $1,431,110 Official FDD fact
Less: controllable expenses at 61% ($872,977) Derived from official FDD ratio
Less: royalty at 6.5% ($93,022) Derived from official FDD ratio
Less: current advertising adjustment at 0.5% ($7,156) FDD-compatible calculation
Less: occupancy/property at 10% ($143,111) Editorial scenario assumption
Less: other overhead and reserve at 5% ($71,556) Editorial scenario assumption
Estimated pre-tax owner earnings $243,289 Independent scenario result
Owner role

How does active owner involvement change the result?

An active owner may receive economic value above residual business earnings when the owner genuinely replaces a paid general manager. Item 15 generally requires a single-unit Managing Owner to work full time as the on-premises general manager. An approved hired general manager is contemplated for multiple outlets or when the franchisor grants a written exception.

The FDD’s 37% Labor Cost and Taxes ratio may include compensation reported for owner-managers, and the document warns that owner pay can be above or below market. Therefore, the owner-operator adjustment is a sensitivity—not a claim that every owner can add a manager wage without double counting. The model uses the BLS May 2023 drycleaning and laundry industry wage table: a $31.32 median hourly wage for General and Operations Managers, annualized at 2,080 hours to $65,146.

Residual business earnings versus owner-operator benefit

Owner-operator benefit adds $65,146 of modeled labor value only when the owner replaces a paid manager.

Owner role comparison across three earnings scenarios For the Conservative scenario, residual business earnings are 149 thousand dollars and owner-operator benefit is 214 thousand dollars. For Base, 243 thousand and 308 thousand. For Upside, 361 thousand and 426 thousand. $0 $100k $200k $300k $400k Conservative Base Upside $149k $214k $243k $308k $361k $426k
Estimated pre-tax owner earnings after reported labor Estimated owner-operator benefit including labor value

Interpretation: the owner-operator figures of approximately $214,000, $308,000, and $426,000 are not pure business profit; about $65,146 compensates the owner for full-time management labor. Sources: 2025 Tide Cleaners FDD, Item 15, pp. 48–49 and Item 19, pp. 58–66; BLS May 2023 NAICS 812300 wage data.

Owner-operator effect

The owner’s role changes the composition of the return, not merely the headline amount. A manager-run unit leaves residual business earnings after manager payroll. An owner-run unit may preserve that payroll economically, but the added amount is compensation for labor performed and may already be partly reflected in the FDD’s reported labor costs. It should not be described as passive profit.

Format boundary

Why are Drop Store figures not standalone owner earnings?

The FDD’s Drop Store Net Controllable Income figures cannot be used as standalone owner earnings because they exclude garment-processing costs incurred at the servicing Plant Store. Item 19 reports $294,080 for Drop Stores open more than one year and $351,751 for those open more than three years, but the excluded production labor, supplies, and utilities are economically necessary somewhere in the owner’s network.

FDD cohort Average Net Sales Net Controllable Income Less Royalty Owner-earnings interpretation
Standalone Plant Stores, open over 1 year $1,431,110 32.5% / $465,111 Best same-brand operating anchor, but still excludes occupancy and other major costs.
Drop Stores, open over 1 year $571,029 51.5% / $294,080 Not standalone: processing expenses at the servicing Plant Store are omitted.
Drop Stores, open over 3 years $633,786 55.5% / $351,751 Not standalone: a portfolio-level production allocation is required.

The official Tide Cleaners multi-unit franchise page states that a new owner starts with a Plant Store and may add Plant Stores or Drop Store formats. That operating relationship is why multiplying a Drop Store’s partial measure by a unit count would overstate portfolio earnings unless the servicing Plant Store’s capacity, production payroll, supplies, utilities, transportation, and shared overhead are allocated first.

Uncertainty

Which variables can move annual owner earnings most?

Sales volume, occupancy, labor structure, and equipment-related cash requirements are the largest earnings drivers. The scenario range is limited-confidence precisely because Item 19 gives a strong operating starting point but does not disclose the full distribution of rent, common-area maintenance, property tax, debt structure, professional fees, or capital replacement needs.

Material earnings variables
  • Revenue mix and discounts: the cohort’s Net Sales ranged from $521,606 to $2,405,372, so a central average cannot describe every territory.
  • Occupancy and property charges: rent, real estate tax, common-area maintenance, and landlord-billed insurance or utilities are outside Net Controllable Income.
  • Owner compensation inside labor: Item 19 permits owner-manager compensation to appear in Labor Cost and Taxes, making clean owner-operated versus hired-manager comparison difficult.
  • Recurring fee changes: the Brand Development Fund may rise from 3.5% to 4%, local advertising may rise from 1% to 3%, and the currently $0 Technology Support Fee may rise as high as 2% of Net Sales under Item 6.
  • Fixed technology and equipment obligations: Item 6 lists Plant Store computer maintenance, support, and licensing at approximately $500 to $1,000 per month and a $2,000 annual GrE license fee per drycleaning machine. Item 19’s Miscellaneous Expenses includes software and technology fees, so these amounts are not subtracted again here; a buyer should verify their actual placement.
  • Financing: interest and financing principal are outside this owner-earnings range. A highly leveraged opening can produce materially less cash available for distributions even when store-level operations match the base scenario.

The system population also matters. Item 20 reports 256 franchised Tide Cleaners outlets at June 30, 2025, up from 246 a year earlier, with 13 openings, one termination, and two outlets that ceased operations for other reasons during fiscal 2025. The key earnings cohort contains only 12 mature standalone Plant Stores, while Item 19 excludes Virtual Stores, Central Plants without sales, limited-service Drop Stores, certain conversions, and outlets without a full year. These exclusions make the official cohort useful but not systemwide.

Buyer verification

What should a buyer verify before relying on this range?

A buyer should reconstruct the target location’s full income statement rather than relying on the $465,111 Item 19 partial measure or this modeled range alone. The highest-value checks are the omitted occupancy costs, whether owner compensation is embedded in labor, the age and replacement needs of equipment, and the production economics supporting any Drop Stores.

Verification list
  • Request the franchisor’s written substantiation for Item 19 and reconcile the 12-outlet Plant Store cohort to the definitions and exclusions on FDD pages 58–66.
  • Ask current franchisees for actual rent, common-area maintenance, real estate tax, landlord insurance and utility pass-throughs, legal/accounting fees, equipment leases, and annual capital replacements.
  • Separate owner salary, owner draw, distributions, retained earnings, and store-level profit in every franchisee interview.
  • Determine whether reported Labor Cost and Taxes includes owner-manager compensation and whether a paid general manager would be required for the proposed ownership structure.
  • For a multi-unit plan, allocate servicing Plant Store production labor, supplies, utilities, delivery, and shared management to each Drop Store before calculating portfolio earnings.
  • Model interest and financing principal separately using the buyer’s actual loan amount, rate, amortization, and collateral terms; do not treat the operating range as after-debt cash flow.
  • Review Item 20 contacts, including former franchisees where available, and ask about mature-store performance, closures, transfers, and format changes.

The FTC states that financial performance claims must be handled through Item 19 and that prospects may ask for written substantiation. See the FTC guidance on evaluating franchise financial claims. For industry classification context, the U.S. Census Bureau’s NAICS 812320 definition covers drycleaning and laundry services other than coin-operated facilities.

Decision-useful synthesis

The strongest defensible annual range is approximately $149,000 to $361,000 in estimated pre-tax owner earnings for a mature standalone Plant Store, with a base near $243,000. It is scenario-based, not an official owner-profit disclosure. If an active owner truly replaces a paid general manager, estimated owner-operator benefit may rise to roughly $214,000 to $426,000, but the added labor value is compensation for work and may already be partly embedded in the FDD labor ratio. The most important earnings driver is Net Sales relative to occupancy and labor burden. The largest unresolved uncertainty is the full set of omitted property, professional, capital, and owner-compensation costs. Before deciding, a buyer should verify Item 19 substantiation, obtain outlet-level cost records, and test these definitions with current and former franchisees.