How Much Does a Tide Dry Cleaners Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2025 FDD cost answer

How much does a Tide Dry Cleaners franchise cost?

A new first Tide Cleaners Plant Store requires an estimated initial investment of $709,700 to $1,505,800. A first Plant Store conversion has a separate range of $280,000 to $526,200. The current Franchise Disclosure Document uses the name “Tide Cleaners” for the system formerly offered as “Tide Dry Cleaners,” and it does not treat Plant Stores, Central Plant Stores, Drop Stores, Virtual Stores, conversions, or development rights as interchangeable investments.

$709,700–$1,505,800 New first Plant Store

This 2025 FDD Item 7 range includes the $50,000 Initial Franchise Fee, a $10,000 Development Rights Fee assumption, equipment, signage, technology, build-out, opening costs, and $75,000 to $95,000 of Additional Funds for the first three months. It excludes a purchase of land or a building.

Source: 2025 Tide Cleaners FDD, Item 7, Table 7-A and explanatory notes, pp. 14–19.

Data basis. Legal franchisor: Agile Pursuits Franchising, Inc.; parent: The Procter & Gamble Company. FDD issuance date: October 24, 2025. Cost analysis uses Items 5, 6, and 7, plus cost-relevant provisions in Items 8, 10, 11, and 17. Formats reviewed: new Plant Store, Central Plant Store, Drop Store, Virtual Store, four conversion paths, and a three-to-five-outlet Development Rights Agreement. Information and official web pages were checked July 19, 2026.

No matching 2025 FDD was located on a franchise-controlled public domain, so FDD citations in this article are plain-text Item and page references. Separate links point to the official U.S. Tide franchise website and P&G corporate information.

Capital snapshot

First Plant conversion $280,000–$526,200 2025 FDD Item 7, Table 7-C.
Initial Franchise Fee $50,000 First Outlet Plant Store; new-store fee paid 50% at signing and 50% at opening.
Development Rights Fee $10,000 / outlet At least three committed Outlets under the current Development Rights Agreement.
Additional Funds $75,000–$95,000 Plant Store or Central Plant Store; three months; already included in Item 7.
Royalty 6.5% Weekly Net Sales; due weekly.
Current marketing obligations 3.5% + 1% Brand Development Fund plus Local Advertising Expenditures, each based on weekly Net Sales.
Format-specific investment

Which Tide Cleaners Item 7 range applies to the planned outlet?

The applicable range depends first on whether the location is new or a conversion, and then on the operating format. The 2025 FDD says a new franchisee’s first Outlet is a Plant Store; subsequent development may use Plant Store, Central Plant Store, Drop Store, or Virtual Store formats. The official store-format page also distinguishes the processing Plant Store from smaller Drop Store configurations.

New Tide Cleaners Outlets

2025 FDD format Total Estimated Initial Investment Initial Franchise Fee in Table 7-A Additional Funds, 3 months
Plant Store $709,700–$1,505,800 $50,000 $75,000–$95,000
Central Plant Store $697,500–$2,517,300 $30,000 $75,000–$95,000
Drop Store $119,200–$592,800 $20,000 $22,500–$63,000
Virtual Store $40,320–$124,050 $20,000 $9,500–$21,000

Source: 2025 Tide Cleaners FDD, Item 7, Table 7-A, pp. 14–15. The Initial Franchise Fee shown for a Plant Store reflects the required First Outlet assumption; a subsequent Plant Store fee is $30,000 under Item 5.

Conversions of existing dry-cleaning businesses

Conversion ranges assume an existing dry-cleaning business already has some usable assets. The amount still depends on required supplemental equipment, signage, technology, rebranding, leasehold work, supplies, and the condition of the premises.

2025 FDD conversion format Total Estimated Initial Investment Initial Franchise Fee Additional Funds, 3 months
Plant Store Conversion as First Outlet $280,000–$526,200 $50,000 $75,000–$95,000
Plant Store Conversion as Subsequent Outlet $231,800–$472,200 $30,000 $75,000–$95,000
Central Plant Store Conversion $162,800–$394,900 $30,000 $75,000–$95,000
Drop Store Conversion $117,800–$233,000 $20,000 $20,000–$45,000

Source: 2025 Tide Cleaners FDD, Item 7, Table 7-C and explanatory notes, pp. 20–24.

Format difference

A Drop Store, Virtual Store, or Central Plant Store range should not be used as the budget for a new franchisee’s first location. The current development structure requires the first Outlet to be a Plant Store, while the Development Rights Agreement generally commits the franchisee to at least three Outlets.

Largest range drivers

What makes the Tide Cleaners investment range so wide?

Equipment and leasehold improvements create most of the variation for physical outlets. In the 2025 FDD, new Central Plant Store capital expenditures can reach $2,256,500, compared with $1,193,500 for a Plant Store, $426,400 for a Drop Store, and $60,300 for a Virtual Store.

The high end is especially sensitive to processing capacity and construction scope. A Central Plant Store can require more dry-cleaning machines, larger premises, and more extensive utility and building work than the first processing outlet. A Drop Store uses a smaller physical footprint and sends garments to a servicing plant, while a Virtual Store relies primarily on delivery operations and an existing servicing plant.

Furnishings, Fixtures and Equipment
$455,300–$586,500 for a new Plant Store and $520,300–$922,500 for a new Central Plant Store. Equipment needs vary with the number of dry-cleaning machines and the anticipated site requirements.
Leasehold Improvements
$0–$540,000 for a new Plant Store and $0–$1,250,000 for a new Central Plant Store. Site condition, landlord contributions, electrical work, plumbing, cabinetry, flooring, and optional services can change the amount.
POS and Related IT System
$21,500–$32,000 for a new Plant Store; $15,000–$19,000 for a Central Plant Store; $16,500–$22,500 for a Drop Store; and $0–$4,000 for a Virtual Store.
Vehicle
Up to $55,000 where a vehicle is required or selected. Drop Stores and Virtual Stores may need an approved branded van; the low end may represent a lease down payment or use of an existing vehicle.

The FDD expects a Plant Store to use roughly 2,600 to 3,000 square feet, a Central Plant Store about 6,000 to 12,000 square feet, and a Drop Store about 1,060 to 1,600 square feet. The official franchise site describes similar format distinctions, while its site-selection and lease criteria show why premises negotiations can materially affect the cash plan.

Excluded from Item 7

The Item 7 totals exclude the purchase of land or a building. The FDD says acquiring and developing real estate for a Plant Store or Central Plant Store may range from approximately $1,000,000 to $2,000,000. That amount is not an addition every franchisee will incur, but it is a separate exposure when the premises are purchased rather than leased.

Required sourcing also affects flexibility. Item 8 says Plant Dry Cleaner Equipment, Drop Equipment, certain computer-system components, proprietary products, signage, uniforms, and other specified operating assets must come from designated or approved suppliers. The FDD estimates that roughly 50% to 75% of purchases and leases used to establish and operate an Outlet will be subject to approved sources or specifications.

Sources: 2025 Tide Cleaners FDD, Item 7, pp. 14–19; Item 8, pp. 24–28.

Payment timing

When is the startup money paid?

The required cash is paid in stages rather than as one check. The 2025 FDD ties payments to the Development Rights Agreement, Franchise Agreement, site and equipment commitments, training and pre-opening work, the opening date, and the first operating months.

Development Rights Agreement signing Pay $10,000 for each committed Outlet. The current minimum commitment is three Outlets, so the Development Rights Fee is generally $30,000 to $50,000 for a three-to-five-outlet schedule. It is not credited against an Initial Franchise Fee.
Franchise Agreement signing For a new first Plant Store, pay 50% of the $50,000 Initial Franchise Fee, or $25,000. Item 7’s conversion table lists the applicable conversion Initial Franchise Fee as due in a lump sum when the Franchise Agreement is signed.
Site, equipment, construction, and supplier commitments Pay deposits and invoices as arranged. The FDD anticipates an equipment deposit of approximately 50% of the final equipment price, with the balance typically due on delivery and before installation. Plan review, sign review, deposits, insurance, technology, permits, and supplies are paid when triggered or incurred.
Training and pre-opening period Pay attendee travel and living costs, employee wages, workers’ compensation, and pre-opening expenses. Two attendees are covered by the first-outlet training program, but each additional attendee currently costs $2,500. The official training and support page describes the franchisor’s onboarding, design, construction, and training support.
Opening date Pay the second 50% installment of the Initial Franchise Fee for a new Outlet. New Store Marketing Expense is incurred during the opening period: currently $35,000 for a first Plant Store in a new market, $20,000 for a subsequent Plant Store or Drop Store, $7,500 for a Virtual Store, and $0 for a Central Plant Store.
First three months and first June 30 Use the Additional Funds amount already included in Item 7 for payroll, utilities, and other initial expenses not listed separately. A Plant Store or Central Plant Store also pays the GrE License Fee of $2,000 per dry-cleaning machine on June 30 following opening.
Payment timing

The Initial Franchise Fee is only one part of the cash schedule. Equipment deposits, leasehold invoices, occupancy costs, employee wages, travel, technology, supplies, and marketing can become payable before the second franchise-fee installment is due.

Sources: 2025 Tide Cleaners FDD, Item 5, pp. 6–9; Item 7, pp. 14–24; Item 11, pp. 33 and 38–40.

Ongoing fees

Which Tide Cleaners fees continue after opening?

The principal recurring charges are the 6.5% Royalty, the current 3.5% Brand Development Fund Contribution, the current 1% Local Advertising Expenditures, format-specific technology costs, and the annual GrE License Fee where dry-cleaning machines are used. Percentage fees are based on the FDD definition of weekly Net Sales, not on a projected sales amount.

Ongoing fee or obligation 2025 FDD amount or basis Timing Format or condition
Continuing Service and Royalty 6.5% of weekly Net Sales Due by Thursday for the prior week All Outlets; Virtual Store sales are reported through the servicing Plant Store or Central Plant Store as specified
Brand Development Fund Contribution Currently 3.5% of weekly Net Sales; may increase to 4% Weekly All applicable Outlets; conversion timing starts at conversion or the scheduled deadline
Local Advertising Expenditures Currently 1% of weekly Net Sales; may increase to 3% Weekly spending or payment as directed All applicable Outlets; may be offset by approved cooperative contributions
Technology Support Fee Currently $0 per month; may increase up to 2% of Net Sales Monthly System-wide technology support
Computer Systems Maintenance, Support, and Licensing Plant/Central: $500–$1,000 monthly; Drop: $300–$800; Virtual: $0–$100 Monthly Can exceed the stated range when more services or delivery licenses are activated
GrE License Fee $2,000 per dry-cleaning machine June 30 each year Plant Store and Central Plant Store
Franchisee Convention Fee Currently up to $500 per attendee Before the convention Two representatives may be required; travel, living costs, and wages are additional

Source: 2025 Tide Cleaners FDD, Item 6, pp. 9–13. The official franchise FAQ also states that the Royalty is 6.5% of Net Sales and is paid weekly.

Conditional obligations

Which additional fees arise only if a specific event occurs?

Item 6 includes several event-triggered charges that are outside the ordinary weekly fee stream. They matter because relocation, renewal, transfer, delays, compliance failures, or a change of format can create significant cash obligations later.

  • Opening-deadline extension: currently $2,500 for each one-month extension, payable with the request made at least 30 days before the deadline.
  • Plan and sign review: $4,000 if an approved non-preferred architect is used, plus $500 if an approved non-preferred sign vendor is used.
  • Relocation: $10,000 when the new Franchise Agreement is signed, plus all costs of moving, de-identifying the old site, and bringing the new site to current standards.
  • Renewal: 50% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee for the applicable Outlet type, plus a remodel to then-current standards and the other renewal conditions.
  • Transfer: 50% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee for the applicable Outlet type before completion, except for a qualifying transfer to a controlled entity.
  • Virtual Store conversion: $10,000 when a Virtual Store is converted to a physical store format.
  • Payment and insurance defaults: $100 for insufficient funds; 1.5% monthly interest on overdue amounts; and reimbursement of insurance costs plus a current $500 service fee if the franchisor obtains required coverage.
  • Additional training or management: currently $500 per trainer per day plus travel, or $500 per manager per day plus costs when the franchisor or a third party manages the Outlet after specified events.
  • Early termination damages: the average weekly Royalty owed during the prior year multiplied by the lesser of 104 weeks or the weeks remaining in the term, when the franchisor terminates after a qualifying default.
Outlet condition and remodeling

Renovation exposure can arise at three different points

The 2025 FDD creates separate cost paths for correcting appearance deficiencies, renewing the franchise, and transferring the Outlet.

During the term If the franchisee does not correct notified appearance deficiencies, the franchisor may perform the work and require reimbursement of its expenses, stated as not exceeding $1 million.
At renewal Item 17 says the Outlet must be remodeled to then-current standards, “regardless of cost,” as a condition of acquiring a successor franchise term.
At transfer Existing deficiencies must be corrected, and the transferee may have to upgrade and remodel the Outlet within the specified period after transfer.

Sources: 2025 Tide Cleaners FDD, Item 6, pp. 10–13; Item 17, pp. 50–56.

Financial qualifications

How much liquid capital and net worth does Tide Cleaners require?

The 2025 FDD does not disclose a minimum Liquid Capital or Net Worth threshold, and current official franchise pages do not state one consistent liquid-capital amount. The Net Worth figure is consistently $2 million on the pages reviewed, but the liquid-capital statements differ.

Source conflict

As checked July 19, 2026, the official FAQ states $1 million in Liquid Capital; the official investment page states $1.5 million in liquid assets; and the official multi-unit page states $750,000 in Liquid Capital. Each page lists at least $2 million in Net Worth. The pages do not explain whether the differences reflect program type, combined Tide concepts, or stale content.

Obtain the threshold in writing for the exact Tide Cleaners format and Development Rights Agreement. Do not treat a website number as part of the Item 7 investment range.
Separate Liquid Capital from Net Worth. Liquid Capital is cash or readily available funds; Net Worth includes assets minus liabilities and is not the same as cash available for the project.
Confirm whether borrowed funds count toward qualification. The current FDD does not disclose a Non-Borrowed Funds minimum.
Model the full multi-unit obligation. The $30,500 to $51,000 Development Rights Agreement investment is only the development-rights layer; each required Outlet has its own Item 7 investment.

Item 10 states that Agile Pursuits Franchising, Inc., its agents, and its affiliates do not offer direct or indirect financing, guarantee the franchisee’s notes or leases, or arrange to sell financing obligations. Financing therefore depends on the buyer’s own lenders, creditworthiness, collateral, and loan terms. The FTC’s franchise buying guide explains how to evaluate the FDD and financing assumptions before signing.

Sources: 2025 Tide Cleaners FDD, Item 10, p. 30; official Tide franchise pages checked July 19, 2026.

Budget boundaries

What does the Item 7 total not fully resolve?

Item 7 is the franchisor’s official opening range, but it is not a guarantee that the stated high end will cover every site, financing structure, owner need, or operating period. Several obligations remain variable or expressly excluded.

  • Purchased real estate: land and building acquisition for a Plant Store or Central Plant Store is excluded from the total; the FDD separately references an approximate $1 million to $2 million range.
  • Owner compensation: Additional Funds include payroll and utilities but exclude any draw or salary for the owners.
  • Operating needs beyond three months: Additional Funds cover an initial three-month period, and the FDD states that more money may be needed for a longer period.
  • Optional or site-driven upgrades: enhanced signage, upgraded electrical or plumbing, cabinetry, flooring, added wash-and-fold services, unusual zoning, weather, and site conditions can increase cost.
  • Supplier pricing and activated technology: approved-supplier prices and monthly computer-system charges can change, and technology costs may exceed the listed range when more delivery licenses or services are active.
  • Future remodeling: Item 7 does not price the later correction, renewal, transfer, or system-standard upgrades described in Items 6 and 17.
Buyer verification

Before relying on a Tide Cleaners capital figure, reconcile the exact format, whether the site is new or a conversion, the Development Rights Agreement schedule, the lease or purchase structure, required equipment count, supplier quotations, and the written financial-qualification threshold.

Decision synthesis

What is the clearest capital takeaway?

For a new first Plant Store, the verified 2025 FDD range is $709,700 to $1,505,800; for a first Plant Store conversion, it is $280,000 to $526,200. The largest opening variables are processing equipment, leasehold improvements, site structure, and the difference between a new location and an existing-business conversion. The $50,000 Initial Franchise Fee is only one component, Additional Funds are already included in Item 7, and the ongoing Royalty and marketing obligations begin after opening on the disclosed Net Sales basis.

The unresolved issue is the current Liquid Capital threshold: official Tide franchise pages publish conflicting amounts. A prospective franchisee should use the written requirement issued for the specific Tide Cleaners development plan, not a blended internet figure.