How Much Does a Super 8 Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Owner earnings answer
$134,000-$243,000 per year

Estimated pre-tax owner earnings for a manager-run, 65-room U.S. Super 8 facility. The range is not reported as owner profit in Item 19. It is an independent scenario built from the 2026 Super 8 Worldwide, Inc. FDD's 2025 RevPAR data and external hotel-profitability benchmarks. A 100-room facility produces a modeled range of roughly $205,000-$373,000 before debt principal, personal income taxes, depreciation, and capital expenditures.

Evidence mode: FDD-anchored scenario estimate Confidence: Limited Format: U.S. new construction or conversion hotel Performance period: Calendar 2025
Independent estimate - not an Item 19 owner-profit claim This analysis combines identified FDD facts with separately identified benchmark and scenario assumptions. Super 8's Item 19 reports Average Daily Room Rate, Occupancy Rate, RevPAR, RevPAR Index, and reservation contribution; it does not report owner compensation, EBITDA, net income, or cash flow. Actual results can differ materially by location, room count, occupancy, room rate, labor, utilities, insurance, property taxes, booking mix, financing, owner involvement, and execution.
Legal franchisor
Super 8 Worldwide, Inc., a South Dakota corporation
Current disclosure
Franchise Disclosure Document issued March 31, 2026; Item 19 at pages 76-79
Item 19 population
579 Qualified Chain Facilities out of 1,344 U.S. Chain Facilities as of December 31, 2025
Operating formats
New construction and conversion guest lodging facilities; the FDD illustrates a 65-room new construction facility and a 100-room conversion facility
Benchmark basis
CBRE hotel operating-margin evidence, CoStar/STR U.S. hotel P&L metrics, and BLS Accommodation wage data
Date checked
July 17, 2026
$40.71 Average RevPAR 2025 average for 579 Qualified Chain Facilities. RevPAR is room revenue per available room, not owner earnings. OFFICIAL FDD
$37.68 Median RevPAR The median is below the average, indicating that the average should not be treated as a typical guaranteed result. OFFICIAL FDD
43.1% Qualified sample coverage 579 of 1,344 U.S. Chain Facilities met the qualification criteria used for the ADR, occupancy, and RevPAR table. DERIVED
8.5% Core recurring percentage fees 5.5% royalty plus 3.0% System Assessment Fee, both calculated on Gross Room Revenue. OFFICIAL FDD
17.9% Base operating-earnings margin A modeled EBITDA-style proxy after adjusting a traditional economy/midscale GOP benchmark for below-GOP ownership costs. SCENARIO
$67,110 Owner-operator labor value 2025 BLS median annual wage for lodging managers in the Accommodation subsector; benefits and payroll burden are not added. BENCHMARK
Item 19 evidence

What does Super 8's Item 19 actually measure?

Item 19 measures hotel room-rate and demand performance, not business profit. For 2025, the FDD reports an average ADR of $80.47, median ADR of $76.09, average Occupancy Rate of 50.6%, median Occupancy Rate of 50.2%, average RevPAR of $40.71, and median RevPAR of $37.68 for Qualified Chain Facilities.

“Qualified Chain Facilities” were U.S. hotels that opened before January 1, 2025, passed their most recent quality-assurance inspection or had not yet received one by December 31, 2025, and achieved a Comparable Social Review Score. The FDD identifies 1,344 U.S. Chain Facilities at year-end, of which 579 qualified for this performance table. All facilities in the Item 19 samples were franchisee-operated; Item 20 reports no company-owned Super 8 outlets in 2025.

The FDD excludes 60 Chain Facilities that left the system during 2025 from the Item 19 results. One of those had been open for less than 12 months. This exclusion matters because closed or departing hotels can have materially different economics from surviving qualified properties.

Revenue is not earnings RevPAR multiplied by room count and 365 days produces an estimate of annual Gross Room Revenue. It does not deduct labor, housekeeping, utilities, insurance, property taxes, repairs, franchise charges, booking commissions, management, debt service, or capital expenditures.
Scenario model

How is the annual owner-earnings range calculated?

The model converts FDD RevPAR into annual room revenue and then applies a hotel operating-earnings margin proxy. The conservative scenario uses the FDD median RevPAR. The base scenario uses the FDD average RevPAR. The upside scenario uses 120% of the FDD average RevPAR because Item 19 does not publish quartiles or an upper performance band.

Annual Gross Room Revenue = RevPAR × available rooms × 365
Estimated pre-tax owner earnings = annual Gross Room Revenue × modeled EBITDA-style margin

The margin bridge starts with CBRE's 28.3% Gross Operating Profit margin for traditional economy and midscale limited-service hotels. CoStar/STR's 2024 U.S. P&L data show GOPPAR of $73.60, TRevPAR of $209.67, and EBITDA per available room of $51.88. Those figures imply a broad below-GOP ownership-cost spread of about 10.4 percentage points. Subtracting that spread from 28.3% produces a 17.9% base EBITDA-style proxy. The conservative and upside cases move that proxy down and up by three percentage points.

This is a cross-source model rather than a Super 8 profit disclosure. The CBRE segment benchmark is closer to Super 8's operating format than an all-hotel average, while the below-GOP adjustment comes from the broader U.S. hotel population. That mismatch is the principal reason the confidence rating is Limited.

Estimated manager-run earnings for a 65-room facility
Annual pre-tax operating earnings before debt principal, personal taxes, depreciation, and capital expenditures
Conservative, base, and upside annual owner-earnings scenarios Three vertical columns show 134 thousand dollars conservative, 173 thousand dollars base, and 243 thousand dollars upside. $0 $100k $200k $300k $134k $173k $243k Conservative Base Upside

Interpretation: The range moves because both revenue and margin assumptions change. It is not a probability distribution or a franchisor forecast. Sources: 2026 Super 8 FDD, Item 19, pages 76-79; CBRE Hotels Research, Trends in the Hotel Industry; CoStar/STR 2024 U.S. hotel P&L metrics.

Scenario RevPAR anchor 65-room Gross Room Revenue Modeled margin Manager-run owner earnings
Conservative $37.68 $893,958 14.9% $133,548
Base $40.71 $965,845 17.9% $173,263
Upside $48.85 $1,159,014 20.9% $242,686
Owner role

How does active owner operation change the result?

An active owner may capture the economic value of the lodging-manager role, but that value is compensation for work rather than passive business profit. Item 15 says the owner is not required to participate personally in direct operation, although Super 8 recommends owner participation. An absentee owner must hire a qualified individual manager or management company, and the franchisor may require an approved third-party manager in specified circumstances.

The owner-operator scenario adds the BLS 2025 median annual lodging-manager wage of $67,110 for the Accommodation subsector to the manager-run residual. This creates an estimated owner-operator benefit of approximately $201,000-$310,000 for a 65-room facility. The labor-value addition excludes employer payroll taxes, benefits, and any management-company markup, so the real avoided cost may differ.

Manager-run earnings versus owner-operator benefit
65-room annual scenarios; owner-operator figures include $67,110 of modeled manager labor value
Owner role difference across three scenarios Dumbbell chart comparing manager-run earnings with owner-operator benefit in conservative, base, and upside cases. $100k $200k $300k $400k Conservative Base Upside $134k $201k $173k $240k $243k $310k
Manager-run residual Owner-operator benefit

Interpretation: The $67,110 gap is labor value. It should not be described as passive profit or a guaranteed owner salary. Source: BLS 2025 Accommodation subsector wage data for lodging managers.

Recurring obligations

Which Super 8 fees materially affect owner earnings?

The largest predictable percentage charge is the 8.5% combination of royalty and System Assessment Fee. Item 6 states a 5.5% royalty and a 3.0% System Assessment Fee, each calculated on Gross Room Revenue. At the 65-room base revenue estimate of $965,845, those two charges equal approximately $82,100 per year.

Additional charges vary with booking and guest mix. Item 6 lists a Loyalty Program Charge of 4.25%-5.5% of amounts on which members earn points or other program currency, a 3.5% Wyndham Connect Plus charge on reservations booked through that service, agency commissions of up to 20% on qualifying booked revenue, and digital pay-for-performance commissions of up to 10% on qualifying reservations. These percentages do not all apply to all room revenue and should not be stacked mechanically.

Technology also has recurring cost. The standard PMS Monthly Support and Service Fee is currently $734-$1,050 per month, depending on room count, while the OPERA Cloud Premium fee is $13.25 per room per month. Variable reservation, channel, customer-care, and compliance charges can add further expense.

Core recurring franchise fees at the 65-room base revenue
Only the royalty and System Assessment Fee are shown because their bases are directly compatible with total Gross Room Revenue
Annual core franchise fees at base room revenue Horizontal bars show royalty of 53 thousand dollars, system assessment of 29 thousand dollars, and combined core fees of 82 thousand dollars. Royalty, 5.5% System Assessment, 3.0% Combined core fees, 8.5% $53,122 $28,975 $82,097

Interpretation: Core fees alone absorb 8.5 cents of each dollar of Gross Room Revenue. Loyalty and distribution charges can materially increase the effective burden but depend on channel and member mix. Source: 2026 Super 8 FDD, Item 6, pages 27-38.

No double charge in the model The CBRE traditional economy/midscale GOP benchmark is drawn from operating hotel statements that include franchise-related fees within undistributed expenses. The scenario model therefore does not subtract the 8.5% royalty and System Assessment Fee a second time. The FDD fee schedule is shown separately so a buyer can test whether a specific property's booking mix and recurring charges are above or below the benchmark sample.
Format and scale

How does room count change the estimate?

Room count changes the modeled dollar result almost proportionally, but it does not guarantee proportional profit. The FDD's initial-investment examples use a 65-room new construction facility and a 100-room conversion facility. Applying the same RevPAR and margin scenarios yields the following per-facility ranges.

Illustrative format Manager-run earnings range Owner-operator benefit range Key limitation
65-room new construction illustration $134,000-$243,000 $201,000-$310,000 New construction debt and property basis may be materially higher.
100-room conversion illustration $205,000-$373,000 $273,000-$440,000 Conversion condition, renovation scope, and legacy operating costs can dominate the economics.

A 100-room hotel may gain fixed-cost leverage, but it may also need more housekeeping, front-desk coverage, maintenance, utilities, insurance, and capital reserves. The table is therefore a scenario comparison, not a per-owner forecast. A multi-property owner should not multiply one hotel's result without modeling each property's occupancy, manager structure, renovation cycle, and shared overhead.

Definitions and uncertainty

What is included, excluded, and still unknown?

The published range is an EBITDA-style operating estimate, not after-tax take-home pay. It is intended to approximate cash-generating capacity after normal hotel operating expenses, manager compensation in the manager-run case, and recurring franchise-related costs represented in the benchmark, but before financing principal and personal income taxes.

  • Included: an operating-cost structure consistent with the traditional economy/midscale hotel benchmark, including labor and franchise-related operating expenses at the benchmark level.
  • Interest: excluded because the modeled measure is EBITDA-style. Interest expense can materially reduce cash available to the owner.
  • Depreciation and amortization: excluded by definition and not treated as cash owner earnings.
  • Capital expenditures and renovation reserves: excluded. Hotels require recurring furniture, fixtures, equipment, technology, and property-improvement spending.
  • Debt principal: excluded and should be modeled separately using the property's actual loan amount, rate, amortization, and maturity.
  • Personal income taxes: excluded because tax outcomes depend on entity structure, deductions, jurisdiction, and owner circumstances.
Largest unresolved uncertainty Super 8 Item 19 does not disclose property-level operating expenses, EBITDA, net income, manager compensation, insurance, property taxes, or capital reserves. The external margin proxy is therefore more uncertain than the FDD-derived revenue calculation.
Buyer verification

What should a prospective owner verify before relying on this range?

Verify the proposed property's actual room economics and expense structure rather than relying on a system average. The most decision-useful diligence is a property-specific bridge from occupied rooms to cash available after operating and ownership costs.

  • Request the franchisor's written substantiation for the 2026 FDD Item 19 representations, including definitions, source records, and qualification criteria.
  • Ask current and former franchisees for trailing 12-month ADR, occupancy, RevPAR, Gross Room Revenue, payroll, utilities, insurance, property taxes, repairs, and replacement-reserve spending.
  • Separate direct bookings, Wyndham Rewards bookings, online travel agency bookings, Wyndham Connect Plus bookings, and other channels to calculate the true blended distribution and loyalty cost.
  • Confirm whether the property requires an owner-manager, employee general manager, or third-party management company and obtain written compensation proposals.
  • Model debt interest, principal, required reserves, and near-term property improvement obligations separately from operating earnings.
  • Compare the target hotel's age, room count, quality-assurance status, review score, market demand, and competitive set with the 579 Qualified Chain Facilities used in Item 19.

What is the strongest defensible earnings range?

For a 65-room U.S. Super 8 facility, the strongest defensible manager-run estimate is approximately $134,000-$243,000 in annual pre-tax operating earnings; the owner-operator benefit is approximately $201,000-$310,000 when the owner replaces a paid lodging manager. These are scenario-based figures, not Item 19 profit results. RevPAR and labor productivity are the most important operating drivers, while the absence of same-brand expense and EBITDA data is the largest unresolved uncertainty. A buyer should verify Item 19 substantiation, the target property's channel-level fees and operating statements, and franchisee-reported cash flow before treating any point in the range as applicable.