How Much Does a Super 8 Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 U.S. COST ANSWER

How much does a Super 8 franchise cost in 2026?

For the U.S. offer in the March 31, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, a 65-room new-construction Super 8 facility requires an Estimated Initial Investment of $5,043,737 to $7,141,542. A 100-room conversion facility has a separate range of $285,156 to $2,626,641. Neither range includes buying or leasing real estate, and the conversion range assumes the franchisee already owns the facility.

65-room new construction $5,043,737–$7,141,542
100-room conversion $285,156–$2,626,641
These are different cost contracts, not one blended range.

The new-build estimate includes construction but excludes land. The conversion estimate assumes ownership of an existing hotel and changes sharply with the Property Improvement Plan, building condition, Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment, and Opening Inventory. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 39–46.

Data basis. Legal franchisor: Super 8 Worldwide, Inc., a South Dakota corporation and subsidiary of Wyndham Hotel Group, LLC, which is wholly owned by Wyndham Hotels & Resorts, Inc.; the relationship is also shown in Wyndham's SEC-filed subsidiary list. FDD issuance date: March 31, 2026. Cost sections reviewed: Item 5, pp. 24–27; Item 6, pp. 27–39; Item 7, pp. 39–46; Item 10, pp. 52–54; and cost-relevant provisions in Items 8, 11, and 17. Formats: 65-room new construction and 100-room conversion. Information checked July 17, 2026.

Wyndham's official Super 8 development page identifies both new construction and conversion and references the March 31, 2026 FDD. Wyndham does not publish the complete FDD on that page; its official hotel franchise cost guidance directs prospects to request the disclosure document. FDD references in this article therefore remain unlinked Item-and-page citations.

Capital snapshot

Greater of $25,000 or $250/room Initial Fee $2,500 Application Fee is credited if the application is approved.
$103,836–$169,131 Additional Funds — new construction Three-month range; conversion is separately $114,436–$180,031. Both are included in Item 7 totals.
5.5% of GRR Royalty Monthly, starting at opening or when an existing facility is acquired or possessed, whichever comes first.
3% of GRR System Assessment Fee Monthly; funds marketing, reservations, and other system services.
$6,000–$22,100 PMS Set-Up and Installation Due before opening; additional OPERA interfaces can cost extra.
2026 Item 7 total investment ranges by official format

The bars use a common $0 to $7.2 million scale. Exact range endpoints are shown in the labels.

Interpretation: the conversion range starts lower only because the 2026 FDD assumes an existing owned hotel; it does not include the property's acquisition price.

Source: Super 8 Worldwide, Inc. 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 39–46. Official FDD ranges; no midpoint or typical-cost estimate has been created.

ITEM 7 INVESTMENT

What is included in each Super 8 investment range?

The 2026 Item 7 tables cover the Initial Fee, pre-opening professional and property costs, technology, Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment, Opening Inventory, insurance, launch expenses, and Additional Funds. The line items reconcile exactly to each official total, but the assumptions are format-specific.

65-room new-construction facility: premises and equipment

The new-construction estimate is dominated by Facility Construction. Wyndham's official new-hotel development overview describes its design and construction support, but the binding cost ranges are the 2026 FDD figures below.

Item 7 cost entity 2026 range Payment timing
Market Study $5,000–$15,000 Before construction
Architecture, Design and Engineering, Phase I Environmental, Permits, Licenses, Deposits and Related Fees $153,725–$308,570 Before opening
Facility Construction $3,954,650–$5,381,145 Before opening
Construction Contingency $197,733–$269,057 As incurred; calculated at 5% of Facility Construction
Technology Systems $46,836–$48,836 Before opening
Property Management Set-Up and Installation $6,000–$22,100 Before opening
Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment $215,988–$323,876 Before opening
Signage $20,000–$80,000 Before opening

65-room new construction: opening and initial-period costs

Item 7 cost entity 2026 range Payment timing
Initial Fee, inclusive of Application Fee $25,000 $2,500 with application; balance at Franchise Agreement signing
Photos $2,450–$5,825 After opening
Training Tuition $5,100–$6,600 After opening
Training Expenses $3,200–$5,500 Before opening to third parties; after opening to franchisor or affiliate
Opening Inventory $181,230–$210,479 Before opening
Insurance $17,500–$70,000 Before opening
Grand Opening Advertising $3,000–$14,500 Before opening
Pre-Opening Wages $83,293–$148,888 Before opening
Miscellaneous Non-Tangible Asset Costs $19,196–$37,035 Before opening
Additional Funds for 3 Month Initial Period $103,836–$169,131 After opening
Excluded from new-construction Item 7

The $5.0 million to $7.1 million range does not include land purchase or lease cost. Item 7 also excludes certain local impact fees, site-evaluation fees, geotechnical reports, civil engineering fees, and some taxes, freight, and installation costs identified in the footnotes.

100-room conversion facility: property-condition costs

The conversion estimate assumes the franchisee already owns the hotel. Wyndham's official conversion overview notes that required renovation depends on the property's condition; the 2026 FDD quantifies that uncertainty through several wide Item 7 ranges.

Item 7 cost entity 2026 range Payment timing
Architecture, Design and Engineering, Phase I Environmental, Permits, Licenses, Deposits and Related Fees $0–$169,500 Before opening
Facility Improvements $0–$1,097,500 Before opening
Conversion Contingency $0–$54,875 Before opening; 5% of Facility Improvements
Technology Systems $1,500–$71,632 Before opening
Property Management Set-Up and Installation $6,000–$22,100 Before opening
Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment $71,770–$484,200 Before opening
Signage $20,000–$80,000 Before opening
Opening Inventory $7,073–$307,162 Before opening

100-room conversion: franchise, training, launch, and working capital

Item 7 cost entity 2026 range Payment timing
Initial Fee, inclusive of Application Fee $25,000 $2,500 with application; balance at Franchise Agreement signing
Photos $2,450–$5,825 After opening
Training Tuition $2,850–$6,600 After opening
Training Expenses $1,200–$3,500 Before opening to third parties; after opening to franchisor or affiliate
Temporary Signage $0–$1,250 Before opening, if permanent signage is not installed
Insurance $22,500–$80,000 Before opening
Grand Opening Advertising $3,000–$14,500 Before opening
Miscellaneous Non-Tangible Asset Costs $7,377–$22,966 Before opening
Additional Funds for 3 Month Initial Period $114,436–$180,031 After opening
CONVERSION CONDITION GAP

Which conversion categories create the widest uncertainty?

The low end assumes an existing property is largely compliant with System Standards. The high end assumes extensive improvement or replacement. This is the most franchise-specific cost issue in the 2026 disclosure.

Selected 100-room conversion cost ranges, scaled to the $1,097,500 maximum

Each bar shows the disclosed low-to-high interval for a separate Item 7 category.

Interpretation: Facility Improvements alone account for a $1,097,500 disclosed spread, so the Property Improvement Plan and physical-condition review are central to conversion capital planning.

Source: Super 8 Worldwide, Inc. 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 43–46. All plotted values are official low/high ranges.

PAYMENT TIMING

When is the Super 8 franchise money paid?

The cash commitment begins with the Application Fee, moves to the Initial Fee at Franchise Agreement signing, then shifts to design, construction or renovation, technology, inventory, insurance, and training. Item 7 includes some costs paid after opening, so the Total Estimated Initial Investment is not the same as the amount due on signing day.

Application submissionThe prospective franchisee pays a non-refundable $2,500 Application Fee. If approved, Super 8 Worldwide, Inc. credits it against the Initial Fee. FDD Item 5, p. 24.
Franchise Agreement signingThe balance of the Initial Fee is due. The formula is the greater of $25,000 or $250 per guest room; both sample Item 7 formats show $25,000. FDD Item 5, pp. 24–25; Item 7, pp. 39 and 43.
Pre-opening property workNew construction pays professional, permitting, construction, contingency, FF&E, signage, Opening Inventory, insurance, advertising, and Pre-Opening Wages as incurred. A conversion pays the applicable PIP-driven improvement, replacement, and professional costs. FDD Item 7, pp. 39–46.
At least 30 days before openingThe SynXis PMS Set-Up and Implementation Fee is $6,000. OPERA PMS Set-Up and Implementation is $11,000 to $22,100, plus applicable interface costs. FDD Items 5 and 6, pp. 25–26 and 34–35.
Opening and first three monthsRecurring Fees begin on the Opening Date, or when an existing facility is acquired or taken into possession, whichever occurs first. The Item 7 Additional Funds range covers a three-month initial period and includes labor and Recurring Fees, but excludes rent and debt service. FDD Item 6, p. 38; Item 7, pp. 43 and 46.
Payment timing

The 2026 FDD permits discretionary deferral of some or all of the Initial Fee, usually for about 90 days or until opening, whichever occurs first. This is not automatic financing and requires an Initial Fee Note. FDD Item 10, pp. 52–53.

ONGOING FEES

Which Super 8 fees continue after opening?

The core Recurring Fees are the 5.5% Royalty and 3% System Assessment Fee, both based on Gross Room Revenue and generally due monthly by the third day of the following month. Super 8 also has reservation-channel, loyalty, required service, and technology charges that use different fee bases.

Ongoing cost entity Amount or basis Timing and scope
Royalty 5.5% of GRR Monthly; from Opening Date through expiration or earlier termination
System Assessment Fee 3% of GRR Same timing as Royalty; may change on 30 days' notice
Loyalty Program Charge 4.25%–5.5% Applied to amounts on which Wyndham Rewards members earn points or other program currency
Wyndham Connect Plus Fee 3.5% of the GRR amount for each applicable reservation For reservations booked through the required Wyndham Connect Plus service
Digital Pay-For-Performance Commission Currently 7%; up to 10% of GRR On consumed reservations booked through the PFP channels; participation required
GDS, Third Party Channel, and Internet Booking Fees $2.08 per reservation for each applicable channel Invoiced as reservations are processed through the specified channel
PMS Monthly Support and Service Fee $734–$1,050/month SynXis, OPERA Cloud Foundation, or OPERA Cloud Standard; room-count dependent
OPERA Cloud Premium Monthly Support and Service Fee $13.25 per room/month For facilities selecting OPERA Cloud Premium
Gross Room Revenue The FDD definition includes gross revenues attributable to guest-room rentals, guaranteed no-show revenue, certain business-interruption insurance proceeds, and miscellaneous fees charged to all guests, subject to listed exclusions. FDD Item 6, p. 38.
Agency and member-benefit commissions Agency Commissions can be up to 20% of GRR for qualifying consumed reservations. Member Benefits Commissions can be up to 10% of GRR. Separate 1.5% service charges can apply to commissionable revenue. FDD Item 6, pp. 30–31.
Fixed-dollar fee increases The franchisor may adjust fixed-dollar fees by up to 10% annually, cumulatively, with a CPI-based provision when CPI exceeds 10%. Percentage fees have their own contractual terms. FDD Item 6, p. 38.
TECHNOLOGY AND CONDITIONAL COSTS

Which fees vary by system choice, event, or noncompliance?

Technology selection, training needs, reservation sources, property condition, quality inspections, transfers, and defaults can all create costs outside the two core Recurring Fees. These charges are not automatically incurred by every franchisee in the same amount.

Technology, training, and operating-program charges

Fee or program 2026 disclosed amount When it applies
OPERA PMS interfaces $525–$3,050 each; required RevIQ interface $750 In addition to OPERA Set-Up and Implementation
General Manager Certification $2,250 Initial general manager within 90 days after opening
Additional HMP attendee $1,400 For an additional employee attending the program
On-site Opening Training $750 / $2,250 / $3,750 Based on 0–50, 51–200, or 200+ rooms, plus facilitator travel and lodging
Continuing Education $600/year Annual access to training materials and support
Chain Conference $2,000 first attendee; $1,750 each additional Approximately every 18–24 months; billed even if required attendee does not attend
Optional Revenue Management Services $645–$5,425/month, depending on level and formula Standard, Premium, or Premium Plus RMS
Remote Sales Service $1,500/month Optional remote local-sales support
Opening deadline extension A $5,000 Extension Fee may be assessed if the franchisor extends a new-construction or conversion opening deadline; if assessed, it is due within 10 days of the Opening Date.
Property Improvement Plan preparation A $1,500 fee applies when the franchisor must prepare a post-opening PIP.
Custom interior design The current Custom Interior Design Review Fee is $6,000. A non-approved vendor requesting specifications for a required room-package component may pay up to $15,000.
Reinspection after failure The Reinspection Fee is $3,000 to $5,500, plus inspector travel, lodging, and meal expenses.
Late or failed payment Interest is the lesser of 1.5% per month or the legal maximum; returned checks are currently $100; paper checks incur a $160 processing fee.
Reservation-system reconnection The current Reconnection Fee is $4,000 after suspension of Central Reservation System service.
Quality, loyalty, and guest-service events Product Quality Training can cost $1,500 to $5,000; the Loyalty Missed Valid Enrollment Fee is currently $750 per quarter or $250 per month; other complaint-resolution and response fees may apply.
Room additions and photography The Rooms Addition Fee is currently $250 per added guest room. The standard photo package is $2,450, with $225 for each additional photograph required by a third-party channel.
Buyer verification

Item 11 states there is no contractual limit on the cost or frequency of required replacement computer hardware or software. A buyer should therefore separate the disclosed initial PMS amount from future mandatory technology upgrades. FDD Item 11, pp. 60–61.

CAPITAL AND FINANCING

Does Super 8 disclose liquid-capital or net-worth requirements?

The 2026 FDD does not state a fixed minimum Liquid Capital, Net Worth, or Non-Borrowed Funds threshold for the general Super 8 offer. It does require application and financial review, and significant owners must guarantee franchise obligations. A Development Incentive applicant must provide a current balance sheet, financing documents, equity-investment information, and other requested financial records.

Not disclosed Minimum Liquid Capital
Not disclosed Minimum Net Worth
Owner guaranty Significant owners guarantee obligations; some spouses must also sign.

What financing arrangements are described?

Item 10 says Super 8 Worldwide, Inc. generally does not provide financing except for disclosed arrangements. It may defer the Initial Fee in its discretion. It may also offer a Development Incentive for new construction or conversion. The incentive is structured as a loan typically funded shortly after opening and gradually forgiven over the Franchise Agreement term, but the unamortized balance can become repayable after an early termination or Transfer.

Development Incentive is not opening-day cash Disbursement follows opening, final credit review, completed pre-opening improvements, payment of the Initial Fee, and other agreed conditions.
Early exit can accelerate repayment If the franchise terminates or the Facility transfers before the end of the term, the outstanding balance may be due with a one-time Development Incentive Acceleration Fee equal to 10% of the unamortized balance.
Procurement conditions can apply The franchisor may require an approved procurement service provider or direct purchases from a manufacturer or Approved Supplier; procurement fees are typically 11% to 17% of FF&E purchased.
Approval remains discretionary The FDD does not promise a Development Incentive or a particular amount for a general applicant.

The Women Own the Room Development Incentive has a target amount of $2,500 per guest room, capped at 50% of the franchisee's equity investment, subject to qualification and discretion. Wyndham's Women Own the Room program page describes enhanced capital support for qualifying women-owned projects. The BOLD program may include a Development Incentive and customized support for qualifying Black entrepreneurs; the official BOLD program page describes enhanced capital and operational support. Neither program is guaranteed approval.

Financing caveat

A Development Incentive can reduce the franchisee's long-term net outlay only if its conditions are satisfied through the full term. It should not be subtracted from Item 7 as though it were guaranteed, unrestricted pre-opening equity.

EXCLUSIONS AND VARIABLES

Which costs are not resolved by the official range?

Item 7 is a disclosed investment range, not a guaranteed project budget. The most important unresolved amounts are real estate, property condition, local professional and government charges, financing costs, and certain taxes, freight, installation, insurance, and technology expenses.

Real estate New construction excludes land acquisition or lease cost. Conversion assumes the facility is already owned and excludes acquisition or lease cost.
Local development charges Impact fees, site-evaluation fees, geotechnical reports, and civil engineering fees are excluded from the stated professional-fee ranges.
FF&E and Opening Inventory add-ons Item 7 footnotes exclude certain tax, freight, and installation charges. Procurement-service fees of 11% to 17% are included in the disclosed FF&E estimates.
Insurance gaps The Item 7 insurance estimate includes specified liability policies but excludes workers' compensation, employer's liability, business interruption, and other policies identified in the footnote.
Additional Funds limits The three-month Additional Funds estimate includes labor and Recurring Fees but excludes rent and debt-service payments. Owner compensation is not separately identified as an included amount.
PMS interfaces and later upgrades Item 7's $6,000 to $22,100 PMS line excludes additional interfaces, and Item 11 permits future required technology replacements without a contractual cost or frequency cap.

The FTC's Consumer's Guide to Buying a Franchise explains that Items 5 through 7 cover major initial and ongoing costs but may not resolve every operating or professional expense. The FTC Franchise Rule requires the 23-item disclosure document and the pre-signing disclosure period.

TRANSFER, TERM, AND EXIT COSTS

What costs can arise at transfer, relicense, or early termination?

The Super 8 Franchise Agreement has a 20-year term beginning on the first day of the month after opening and provides no contractual renewal or extension right. If both parties elect to continue, the franchisee must sign the then-current Franchise Agreement and pay the then-current Relicense Fee.

Event Disclosed cost Cost implication
Transfer or mutually agreed relicense $2,500 Application Fee plus Relicense Fee greater of $25,000 or $250 per room Current fees may change by the event date; negotiated exceptions may apply
Administrative Assignment to an affiliate $5,000 Includes the Application Fee
Assignment to a financial institution or receiver $7,500 Includes the Application Fee
Development Incentive acceleration 10% of unamortized balance Added to repayment after specified early termination or Transfer
Liquidated Damages Contract formula Generally greater of $2,000 per authorized room or a multiple of prior Royalty and System Assessment Fees, subject to remaining term and other provisions
De-Identification Fee $2,000 per day Applies after termination until required de-identification is completed
Cost implication

The absence of a renewal right means a buyer should not treat the original Initial Fee as the only brand-rights payment over a long holding period. A later continuation is a new mutual decision with the then-current Relicense Fee and contract terms. FDD Item 17, pp. 71–75.

DECISION SUMMARY

What is the practical capital takeaway?

The verified 2026 Super 8 cost answer depends first on format: $5,043,737 to $7,141,542 for a 65-room new construction facility, versus $285,156 to $2,626,641 for a 100-room conversion facility. The conversion range is not a low-cost substitute for a new build unless the buyer already controls a suitable hotel and the Property Improvement Plan confirms limited work.

The $25,000 Initial Fee shown in both Item 7 sample formats is only one component of the investment; the general formula is the greater of $25,000 or $250 per guest room. Additional Funds are already inside the Item 7 totals, cover three months, and exclude rent and debt service. After opening, the central recurring obligations are the 5.5% Royalty and 3% System Assessment Fee, with separate loyalty, reservation, required-service, and technology charges. The most important unresolved question is the site- or property-specific cost outside Item 7: land for a new build, or acquisition price and PIP scope for a conversion.