How Much Does a Slim Chickens Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Annual owner-earnings answer
$165,000–$435,000 per restaurant

A defensible planning range for a manager-staffed, standard-prototype Slim Chickens restaurant is approximately $165,000 to $435,000 a year, with a Base scenario near $303,000. The model conservatively treats disclosed technology, loyalty and online-ordering charges as incremental; if those costs are already fully represented in the comparable operating benchmark, the range rises to roughly $174,000 to $447,000. These are pre-tax restaurant-level estimates before financing, depreciation, capital expenditures, entity-level overhead and personal income taxes—not franchisor-disclosed profit.

FDD: 2026, issued April 29 Evidence mode: Mode C — FDD-anchored scenario Format: U.S. standard prototype Confidence: Limited
Independent estimate

This range is an independent analytical scenario, not an Item 19 financial performance representation by Slim Chicken’s Development Company, LLC. It combines 2025 Gross Sales reported in the 2026 FDD with the FDD’s recurring fees, a comparable public-company restaurant contribution benchmark and clearly identified assumptions. Actual results can differ materially by location, format, sales, food cost, labor, occupancy, financing, owner involvement and execution.

Data basis

Legal franchisor: Slim Chicken’s Development Company, LLC. FDD: issued April 29, 2026. Item 19 population: 166 U.S. franchised standard-prototype Restaurants open for the full fiscal year ended December 28, 2025. Item 19 status: Gross Sales only; no franchised-unit profit or owner compensation. External benchmarks: El Pollo Loco Holdings, Inc. company-operated restaurant contribution margins and U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Food Service Managers wages. Date checked: July 19, 2026.

Item 19 evidence

What does Slim Chickens Item 19 actually disclose?

Item 19 officially discloses Gross Sales, not owner earnings. For fiscal 2025, the 166 full-year U.S. franchised Restaurants in the standard-prototype cohort had average Gross Sales of $2,351,047 and median Gross Sales of $2,240,967. Gross Sales is revenue before food, labor, occupancy, royalty, advertising, technology, debt and tax costs. Source: Slim Chickens 2026 FDD, Item 19, pp. 50–52.

The cohort represented 166 of the 201 U.S. franchised Restaurants open at fiscal year-end, or 82.6% on that denominator. Item 19 excluded locations that were not a current prototype, military-base units, college units without year-round operations, nontraditional units, international Restaurants and units that did not operate for the full year. The franchisor states that the sales reports were unaudited and unverified.

Revenue is not earnings

The strongest same-brand evidence supports the revenue side of the model. It does not show food cost, labor, rent, store-level profit, EBITDA, Net Income, owner draws or distributions. The Federal Trade Commission explains that Item 19 claims must disclose their source, limitations and assumptions, and prospective buyers may request written substantiation.

$2.241M
Median Gross Sales
OFFICIAL — 166 full-year U.S. franchised standard-prototype Restaurants in fiscal 2025.
$303K
Base owner-earnings scenario
SCENARIO — Base result after the conservative technology-overlap adjustment.
166
Restaurants analyzed
OFFICIAL — the mature, full-year prototype cohort used in Item 19 Table 1.
8%
Sales-based recurring burden
OFFICIAL — 5% royalty, 2% Advertising Fund and 1% local advertising.
$74,880
Food Service Manager wage
BENCHMARK — May 2025 national mean annual wage from the BLS.
Limited
Evidence confidence
Profit is estimated from an external company-operated proxy rather than same-brand franchise profit data.
How widely did 2025 Gross Sales vary across the Item 19 groups?

Median Gross Sales per Restaurant for the four FDD performance groups.

Slim Chickens 2025 median Gross Sales by Item 19 group Group 1 median Gross Sales were 3.204 million dollars, Group 2 were 2.502 million, Group 3 were 1.950 million, and Group 4 were 1.506 million. Aggregate median $2.241M $3.204M $2.502M $1.950M $1.506M Group 1 Group 2 Group 3 Group 4

Interpretation: the Group 1 median is 2.1 times Group 4, so a system average does not describe unit-level risk.

Source: Slim Chickens 2026 FDD, Item 19, pp. 50–51. The Group 4 threshold inconsistency does not change the plotted median.

Scenario model

How was the annual owner-earnings range estimated?

The model applies a comparable chicken limited-service restaurant contribution margin to FDD revenue, removes the comparable company’s embedded advertising expense and substitutes Slim Chickens’ 5% Royalty Fee plus 3% required advertising burden. It uses the FDD Group 4 median as the Conservative revenue anchor, the all-outlet median as the Base anchor and the Group 1 median as the Upside anchor. These labels describe analytical scenarios, not probabilities or franchisor projections.

Calculation

Estimated manager-staffed owner earnings = FDD revenue anchor × [comparable Restaurant Contribution Margin + comparable advertising-expense ratio − 5% Royalty Fee − 2% Advertising Fund Contribution − 1% local advertising − 0.2% modeled Digital Sales technology burden] − $5,680 in fixed technology, loyalty and OLO costs. Adding back the comparable advertising ratio before applying Slim Chickens advertising obligations prevents advertising from being charged twice.

  • Comparable margin: El Pollo Loco reported company-operated Restaurant Contribution Margins of 15.5% in 2023 and 17.8% in 2025. The measure includes food and paper, labor and related expenses, occupancy and other restaurant operating expenses, but excludes depreciation, amortization and corporate-level costs.
  • Advertising replacement: El Pollo Loco advertising expense was approximately 4.07% of company-operated revenue in 2023 and 4.16% in 2025. Because that cost is already inside Restaurant Contribution Margin, the model adds it back and then applies Slim Chickens’ 3% advertising obligation together with the 5% Royalty Fee.
  • Technology treatment: the FDD does not disclose Digital Sales mix, so the model assumes Digital Sales equal 20% of Gross Sales, making the 1% technology assessment equal 0.2% of total sales. It also subtracts $25 per fiscal week, $115 per month for loyalty and approximately $250 per month for OLO. This is conservative because the comparable company’s all-in operating expenses already contain software maintenance and marketplace delivery costs.
  • Manager-staffed operating model: normal restaurant management labor remains inside the comparable labor-cost benchmark. No owner salary is added to the manager-staffed result.
  • Excluded from owner earnings: financing interest and principal, depreciation, capital expenditures, entity-level overhead, owner income taxes and distributions retained in the business.
Scenario Revenue anchor Margin before fixed technology/vendor fees Estimated manager-staffed owner earnings
Conservative
FDD Group 4 median
$1,506,057 11.37% $165,497
Base
FDD aggregate median
$2,240,967 13.76% $302,777
Upside
FDD Group 1 median
$3,204,299 13.76% $435,374
No-double-count sensitivity

If Slim Chickens technology, loyalty and OLO costs are already fully represented by the comparable company’s software, delivery and other operating expenses, adding them back raises the Conservative, Base and Upside results to approximately $174,189, $312,938 and $447,462. The published scenario table retains the lower, conservative treatment.

What annual owner earnings does the conservative scenario model produce?

Manager-staffed, pre-tax restaurant-level estimates before financing and capital expenditures.

Slim Chickens estimated annual owner earnings scenarios The Conservative scenario is 165,497 dollars, the Base scenario is 302,777 dollars, and the Upside scenario is 435,374 dollars. $165,497 $302,777 $435,374 Conservative Base Upside

Interpretation: sales is the main driver; Upside is about 2.6 times Conservative, while technology overlap shifts results by $9,000–$12,000.

Sources: Slim Chickens 2026 FDD, Items 6 and 19; El Pollo Loco 2025 Form 10-K. Independent calculations.

Owner role

How does owner involvement change the economic result?

An owner who personally replaces a paid restaurant manager could add approximately $74,880 of labor value, producing an estimated owner-operator benefit of about $240,000 to $510,000 in the published scenarios. The no-double-count sensitivity increases the upper result to about $522,000. The added amount is compensation for work performed, not passive business profit.

Item 15 requires an individual franchisee to be actively and personally involved unless the franchisor permits otherwise. For an entity franchisee, the Controlling Owner must normally participate personally and directly and have principal responsibility for operation and management. Each Restaurant must also remain under direct on-premises supervision by the owner or a full-time trained employee. Source: Slim Chickens 2026 FDD, Item 15, pp. 38–40.

The labor-value adjustment uses the BLS May 2025 national mean annual wage for Food Service Managers of $74,880. It excludes employer payroll taxes and benefits, so it is a direct-wage proxy. It should be added only when the owner actually eliminates a comparable paid position without creating another staffing gap.

Manager-staffed earnings versus owner-operator benefit

The right-hand marker adds $74,880 of owner labor value to each published manager-staffed scenario.

Slim Chickens manager-staffed earnings and owner-operator benefit comparison Conservative manager-staffed earnings are 165,497 dollars and owner-operator benefit is 240,377 dollars. Base values are 302,777 and 377,657. Upside values are 435,374 and 510,254. $0 $150K $300K $450K $600K Conservative $165K $240K Base $303K $378K Upside $435K $510K
Manager-staffed owner earnings Owner-operator benefit

Interpretation: owner operation adds labor value, not passive profit; removing the conservative technology adjustment raises both markers by the same amount.

Sources: scenario model; BLS May 2025 Food Service Managers wage; Slim Chickens 2026 FDD, Item 15.

Recurring obligations

Which FDD fees materially affect annual earnings?

The largest recurring franchise charges are the 5% Royalty Fee and the combined 3% advertising obligation. Together, those three sales-based charges consume $179,277 at the FDD median Gross Sales before technology fees or other operating costs. This is a derived calculation from the 2026 FDD, not a franchisor-reported expense total.

Recurring obligation FDD amount Base-case annual effect Model treatment
Royalty Fee 5% of Gross Sales $112,048 Included
Advertising Fund Contribution 2% of Gross Sales $44,819 Included
Local Ad Expenditure or cooperative contribution 1% of Gross Sales $22,410 Included
Technology Fee $25 per fiscal week plus 1% of Digital Sales $5,782 Included in the published scenarios; possible overlap is shown separately
Loyalty and rewards vendor Currently $115 per month $1,380 Included in the published scenarios; possible overlap is shown separately
OLO online ordering $50 per month plus transaction fees averaging about $200 per month $3,000 Included in the published scenarios; one-time activation excluded

Source: Slim Chickens 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 8–12. The model replaces the comparable advertising expense with the 5% Royalty Fee and 3% Slim Chickens advertising burden, then conservatively subtracts technology, loyalty and OLO charges. The no-double-count sensitivity removes those charges because the comparable margin already contains software, delivery and other operating costs. The App Service Fee is described as customer-paid and passed through to the franchisor. Conditional fees, noncompliance charges, refresher training and transfer or renewal fees are excluded.

Uncertainty

What could move actual owner earnings outside the modeled range?

The largest unresolved uncertainty is Slim Chickens-specific store-level expense performance and the overlap between its technology charges and the comparable company’s all-in operating costs. Item 19 does not disclose food cost, labor, occupancy, Restaurant Contribution, EBITDA, Net Income or franchisee owner compensation. The comparable margin therefore may not match Slim Chickens purchasing economics, menu mix, staffing model, rent profile, geography, digital mix or operating execution.

Financing can also change cash available to the owner materially. Item 10 states that the franchisor does not offer or guarantee financing, so the model does not impose a universal loan amount, rate or term. Interest and principal payments must be modeled separately for the buyer’s capital structure. Depreciation and replacement capital expenditures are also excluded, even though a restaurant requires ongoing reinvestment.

As a broad tax-return cross-check, 2023 IRS partnership data for the Accommodation and Food Services sector reported approximately $4.15 billion of total income minus deductions on $362.43 billion of business receipts, a derived ratio of about 1.1%. That measure includes accommodation businesses, partnership-level deductions, interest and depreciation and is not a Slim Chickens forecast. It demonstrates why restaurant contribution should not be confused with tax-return income or owner take-home pay. See the IRS partnership statistics by industrial group.

Sample limitation

Item 19 excludes new, nonprototype, military-base, college, nontraditional and international Restaurants. The separate new-store table covers only six Restaurants and contains an apparent date inconsistency in the stated six-month period, so it is not used to annualize new-unit earnings. A buyer should not assume a new Restaurant immediately performs like the mature full-year cohort.

Buyer verification

What should a prospective owner verify before relying on this range?

Verify the model against current franchisee profit-and-loss statements and the franchisor’s written Item 19 substantiation. The following questions target the variables that most directly determine annual owner earnings.

  • Item 19 cohort: Ask how your proposed format, market, drive-through configuration and opening schedule compare with the 166 full-year standard-prototype Restaurants.
  • Store-level margin: Request actual ranges for food and paper, hourly labor, management labor, occupancy, utilities, repairs, delivery commissions and local operating expenses.
  • Owner role: Confirm in writing whether your planned involvement satisfies Item 15 and whether a paid full-time Supervisor or General Manager remains necessary.
  • Digital mix: Obtain current same-brand Digital Sales percentages because the 1% technology assessment applies to Digital Sales and changes with channel mix.
  • Capital structure: Model interest, principal, required reserves and replacement capital separately; the FDD provides no standard financing terms.
  • Franchisee interviews: Compare mature and recently opened units, including operators above and below the Item 19 median, and ask how much cash they retain after debt service and reinvestment.
Decision synthesis

What is the strongest defensible earnings takeaway?

The strongest defensible manager-staffed planning range is approximately $165,000 to $435,000 per mature standard-prototype Restaurant per year, with a Base scenario near $303,000. A no-double-count sensitivity raises the range to about $174,000 to $447,000. It is a Mode C independent estimate, not an official Slim Chickens owner-profit disclosure. An owner who truly replaces a paid Food Service Manager could have total owner-operator benefit of roughly $240,000 to $510,000 in the published scenarios, but the incremental amount compensates labor rather than increasing passive profit.

Sales volume is the most important modeled earnings driver. The largest unresolved uncertainty is the absence of Slim Chickens franchisee-level food, labor, occupancy and profit data. Before making a decision, a buyer should reconcile Item 19 substantiation, current unit-level P&Ls and franchisee interviews to the exact format, market, owner role and financing plan.