How Much Does a Slim Chickens Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 COST ANSWER

How much does a Slim Chickens franchise cost?

A prospective U.S. franchisee should plan around the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document estimate of $1,188,900 to $4,944,000 for one Slim Chickens Restaurant. That total includes the $30,000 Initial Franchise Fee and three months of Additional Funds, but the range changes sharply with the real-estate strategy, building condition, site work, and whether the project is a conversion, inline or endcap build-out, or prototype new build.

$1,188,900–$4,944,000

Estimated Initial Investment for a single Restaurant. The disclosure covers opening and operating expenses through the first three months. It does not establish a minimum cash or net-asset threshold, and the total should not be confused with the upfront brand fee alone. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 12–16.

Data basis: Slim Chicken’s Development Company, LLC; Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 29, 2026; single-Restaurant Franchise Agreement and multi-unit Development Agreement paths; Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 17; information checked July 20, 2026. A matching 2026 FDD was not located on the franchise-controlled website, so FDD citations in this article are unlinked Item/page references. The official Slim Chickens U.S. franchise information remains useful for current program context.

What are the key capital and fee figures?

Initial Franchise Fee $30,000 Single Restaurant; due when the Franchise Agreement is signed.
Development-path unit fee $15,000 Per Restaurant after signing a Development Agreement.
Additional Funds $40,000–$65,000 Single Restaurant; pre-opening and first three months.
Royalty Fee 5% Payable weekly; percentage basis detailed below.
Advertising obligations 2% + 1% Fund contribution plus local marketing obligation; payable weekly.
Territory Fee $45,000–$75,000 Illustrated 3-to-5-Restaurant Development Schedule; paid at signing.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 7; Item 6, pp. 8–12; Item 7, pp. 12–16.

ITEM 7 INVESTMENT

What is included in the $1.19 million to $4.94 million range?

The single-Restaurant total includes the upfront brand fee, premises and construction, furniture and equipment, restaurant technology, opening stock, training-related expenses, deposits, licensing, launch advertising, and a three-month working-capital allowance. The official total is the sum of the disclosed line-item low estimates and the sum of the disclosed high estimates.

Premises, build-out, equipment, and technology

Expenditure Low High Cost driver or timing
Real Property / Site Lease / Site Review Fees $45,000 $1,200,000 Lease/conversion assumption at low end; land purchase assumption at high end.
Construction / Building Conversion $400,000 $2,000,000 Existing-building conversion through prototype new build.
Site Work $50,000 $600,000 Grading, utilities, landscaping, paving, slab preparation, and related work.
Furniture, Fixtures, and Equipment $275,000 $375,000 Paid to approved vendors as arranged.
Smallwares $21,000 $27,000 Utensils, flatware, shelving, and handheld food-preparation equipment.
Building Signage and Interior Graphics $25,000 $100,000 Varies by freestanding, endcap, or inline location and local restrictions.
POS System / Drive-Thru / Kiosks / Components / Menu Boards $85,000 $175,000 Restaurant technology and customer-ordering components.
Low Voltage / Security / Network Installation $40,000 $85,000 Network, security, and related installation.

Pre-opening, launch, and working-capital categories

Expenditure Low High What the disclosure covers
Initial Franchise Fee $30,000 $30,000 Due on signing the single-Restaurant Franchise Agreement.
Soft Costs $90,000 $120,000 Permits, architecture, legal services, title reports, plans, soil analysis, and similar costs.
Insurance $9,000 $15,000 Estimated first-year premiums for required coverages.
Opening Inventory $6,000 $10,000 Food, disposables, chemicals, cleaning supplies, and uniforms.
Training Costs / Opening Assistance Reimbursement $60,000 $80,000 Travel and living costs for seven trainees plus opening-assistance personnel costs.
Security and Utility Deposits $2,500 $50,000 Premises, equipment, telephone, and utility deposits.
Business Licenses $400 $2,000 Excludes beer and wine licensing.
Grand Opening Ad Expenditure $10,000 $10,000 Approved grand-opening advertising; a limited proximity-based exception may apply.
Additional Funds — 3 months $40,000 $65,000 Wages, occupancy, professional expenses, and other recurring expenses before opening and during the first three months.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 12–16. The official single-Restaurant total is $1,188,900 to $4,944,000.

Cost implication

Derived from the disclosed endpoints, real property, construction, and site preparation account for about 88% of the $3,755,100 width between the low and high single-Restaurant totals. The fixed upfront fee is not the reason the total varies by several million dollars.

FORMAT AND SITE ECONOMICS

Why is the Slim Chickens investment range so wide?

The 2026 disclosure uses one single-Restaurant range, but its endpoints represent materially different real-estate and construction circumstances. The low end assumes a lease and conversion of an existing structure, while the high end assumes land acquisition and a prototype new build without a landlord build-out contribution.

Conversion, inline/endcap, and prototype new-build assumptions

The current ground-up design is approximately 2,700 to 3,200 square feet of interior space plus approximately 200 to 500 square feet of outdoor patio space. The FDD states building costs of roughly $250 to $280 per square foot for conversions and endcap/inline spaces, versus up to $540 per square foot within the broader current-design range for ground-up work.

Low-end site assumption Lease + conversion
Land assumption $500,000–$1,200,000
Site report estimate $3,500–$5,000

The Site Investigation Report must be compiled by a licensed architect or engineer and submitted no later than 60 days after site approval. The official development and construction support description identifies site selection, analytics, site approval, and project-management support, but it does not replace the buyer-funded cost ranges.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 14–16; official franchise website.

Excluded from a clean comparison

Beer and wine licensing is excluded from Business Licenses, landlord contributions are not assumed, and regional labor, rent, wage, and construction conditions can change the result. The FDD also says costs vary with Restaurant size, location, experience, competition, and whether an existing restaurant is converted.

PAYMENT TIMING

When is the money paid?

The upfront brand fee or multi-unit territory charge is paid at contract signing, while most premises, construction, equipment, technology, deposit, inventory, training, and launch costs are paid later under vendor, landlord, contractor, utility, and government schedules. The working-capital allowance is spent across pre-opening and the first three months of operations.

1

Before a binding agreement or franchisor payment

The FDD states that the disclosure document must be delivered at least 14 calendar days before signing or paying the franchisor or an affiliate. The Federal franchise guide explains the federal disclosure period and why buyers should review all 23 Items.

2

At agreement signing

A single-unit buyer pays $30,000. A multi-unit buyer pays the territory charge, calculated at $15,000 per Restaurant in the agreed opening schedule.

3

During site approval, construction, and training

Real estate, the required site report, construction, site preparation, equipment, signage, ordering systems, low-voltage installation, deposits, licenses, insurance, and training travel are paid as arranged or agreed with the relevant third parties. The official ownership process places agreement completion before the development and opening work.

4

At launch and during the first three months

Opening stock and the $10,000 launch-ad budget are incurred around launch. The $40,000 to $65,000 allowance covers disclosed recurring business expenses before opening and through the first three months.

Sources: 2026 FDD cover; Item 5, p. 7; Item 7, pp. 12–16.

MULTI-UNIT COMMITMENT

How does the multi-unit development contract change the cash requirement?

The legal franchisor normally requires new franchisees to sign a multi-unit development contract unless it authorizes one Restaurant at a pre-approved site. The territory charge equals $15,000 multiplied by every Restaurant in the agreed opening schedule, and each Restaurant then carries a separate $15,000 upfront fee when its individual contract is signed.

Multi-unit territory charge ladder

3 Restaurants $45,000
4 Restaurants $60,000
5 Restaurants $75,000

The $45,000 and $75,000 endpoints are the FDD’s three- and five-Restaurant examples. The $60,000 four-Restaurant amount is a derived calculation from the disclosed $15,000-per-Restaurant formula. The official site states that it seeks experienced multi-unit restaurateurs; its operator qualification information also says a financial investor must identify an experienced operational partner before Discovery Day.

Source conflict

The 2026 FDD cover and opening-cost table differ by $1,000 in the multi-unit high-end total. Because the document is internally inconsistent, this article does not use that disputed high-end total as a planning figure; a buyer should obtain a corrected or confirmed schedule before relying on it.

The first Restaurant’s contract is normally signed before initial training or when construction starts. Contracts for the second and later Restaurants, with their $15,000 upfront fees, are signed and paid before construction begins on each site. The multi-unit table also includes $2,500 to $4,000 for professional and administrative expenses related to reviewing and signing the development contract.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 7; Item 7, pp. 13–16.

ONGOING FEES

Which fees continue after opening?

The central weekly obligations are the 5% royalty, 2% fund contribution, and 1% local advertising requirement, each calculated on Gross Sales. Technology and digital-ordering charges use separate fixed-dollar and Digital Sales bases, so they should not be blended with those sales-based percentages.

Recurring or usage fee Amount and basis Timing Important qualification
Royalty Fee 5% of Gross Sales Weekly Paid to the franchisor.
Advertising Fund Contribution 2% of Gross Sales Weekly Paid directly to the franchisor.
Local Ad Expenditure / Cooperative Contribution 1% of Gross Sales Weekly Spent on approved local marketing or paid to an approved cooperative; combined obligation cannot exceed 1%.
Technology Fee $25 per Restaurant per fiscal week plus 1% of Digital Sales for fiscal year 2026 Weekly The disclosed permitted ranges are $0 to $62.50 weekly and 0% to 1.5% of Digital Sales, subject to stated caps.
App Service Fee FDD states 3% of Digital Sales for fiscal year 2025; permitted range 0% to 5% Weekly Passed through from customers; the FDD does not state a fiscal year 2026 rate, so the current amount needs confirmation.
Loyalty & Reward Programs Currently $115 per month Monthly Third-party vendor amount may change.
OLO Online Ordering $100 activation, $50 monthly, plus transaction fees currently averaging about $200 per month As incurred Third-party vendor sets the actual charges.
Customer Service Response Program $50 to $200 per month Monthly, if required Paid to the program provider only when participation is required.

The technology charge can fund the App, training and operational software, cloud-based franchise management, IT support, databases, digital marketing, loyalty programs, e-learning, surveys, and related technology. The FDD says the total Technology Fee may not increase by more than 10% from one fiscal year to the next and may not exceed $8,000 per Restaurant in any fiscal year during the initial term. Its fixed weekly amount may temporarily rise to $62.50 for no more than 18 months if the app-service charge is discontinued before the App is completed.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 8–12.

Which fees arise only after a triggering event?

Extra or replacement training
$1,000 per person plus actual out-of-pocket costs; required education programs may cost up to $2,500.
Development delay or transfer
$5,000 for one six-month Development Schedule extension; $75,000 plus actual costs for a permitted Development Agreement transfer.
Franchise transfer or relocation
$5,000 plus actual costs for a Franchise Agreement transfer; $5,000 if relocation is allowed.
Non-compliance or late payment
$250 for a first violation, $500 for a second, and $1,000 for a third and later violation; late-payment interest is the lesser of 1.5% of the overdue balance or the maximum lawful rate.
Audit, collection, or plan revision
Actual audit cost if the disclosed sales base is understated by 2% or more, actual collection attorney fees and costs, and actual architectural costs for approved construction-plan revisions.
Other approval events
$5,000 plus costs for an approved securities offering, plus actual testing and inspection costs for a proposed unapproved product or service.
CAPITAL QUALIFICATIONS

Does Slim Chickens disclose a liquid-capital or net-worth minimum?

No numeric Liquid Capital, Net Worth, or Non-Borrowed Funds threshold appears in the reviewed disclosure or on the current official U.S. franchise pages. The $1,188,900 to $4,944,000 opening-cost range is therefore not a substitute for a liquidity requirement, and an owner’s net assets would not be the same as cash available to fund construction and opening expenses.

Opening-cost range
The disclosed opening-cost range for the Restaurant model and initial operating period.
Liquid Capital
No minimum dollar amount is disclosed in the 2026 FDD; a buyer must obtain the current qualification standard directly.
Net Worth
No minimum dollar amount is disclosed in the 2026 FDD; it is not equivalent to deployable cash.
Personal Guarantee
Item 1 states that certain owners must personally guarantee and be bound by some or all obligations under the two contracts.
Financing
Item 10 states that the franchisor offers no direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee notes, leases, or obligations.

The official franchise site describes its target franchisee as an experienced multi-unit restaurateur and requires a financial investor to identify an experienced operational partner before Discovery Day. That is an operator-profile condition, not a published capital threshold. The site’s restaurant development and design information also emphasizes standardized equipment and furniture, reinforcing that lender or investor budgets should be built around the required Restaurant specifications rather than a generic restaurant estimate.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 1, pp. 1–2; Item 10, p. 23; official franchise website.

REQUIRED PURCHASES

Which supplier and technology obligations can affect the final budget?

Item 8 requires approved Restaurant designs, products, inventory, supplies, equipment, signage, and technology. The franchisor may change standards over time, and the franchisee must repair or replace worn, damaged, obsolete, or out-of-style assets. Those obligations can create costs beyond the initial estimate during the contract term.

The 2026 FDD names Sysco as the primary approved distributor and identifies required or location-dependent sources that include Golden Waffles, Farmer Brothers, Flowers Bakery or Bimbo Bakeries, Coca-Cola, Keurig Dr Pepper, and Worldpay. Item 8 estimates the covered required/approved purchases at approximately 40% to 50% of the total cost to establish the Restaurant and approximately 25% to 35% of ongoing operating expenses.

Buyer verification

Request the current approved-vendor list, equipment package, payment-processing schedule, technology stack, and any preventive-maintenance programs before finalizing financing. Item 8 allows specifications and approved sources to change after the FDD issuance date.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 8, pp. 16–21.

ADDITIONAL FUNDS AND EXCLUSIONS

What does the three-month working-capital allowance leave unresolved?

The $40,000 to $65,000 working-capital category is already included in the single-Restaurant total. It covers wages, occupancy costs, professional expenses, and other recurring expenses before opening and during the first three months. It should not be added to the $1,188,900 to $4,944,000 range a second time.

The FDD does not specifically identify owner compensation or personal living expenses as included. It also does not state that three months will be sufficient for every project. The disclosure notes say actual expenses vary by region, Restaurant size and location, experience, prevailing wage, landlord contributions, beer and wine costs, competition, and conversion status.

Confirm the exact site model: lease, land purchase, freestanding, endcap, inline, conversion, or prototype new build.
Reconcile landlord economics: rent commencement, tenant-improvement allowance, deposits, and any landlord-paid build-out.
Update third-party quotes: construction, site preparation, equipment, signage, ordering systems, low-voltage/network, insurance, and utilities.
Separate business and personal reserves: the disclosed working-capital category does not expressly cover the owner’s household expenses.
Verify current digital fees: especially the customer app charge, because the 2026 disclosure states a fiscal year 2025 current rate.
Obtain the latest state-effective document: the FDD’s State Effective Dates page showed registration states as pending in the reviewed copy. The Minnesota franchise registration and document lookup is one official state tool for checking filing status and public records.
LATER CONTRACT COSTS

What renewal, transfer, relocation, and remodel costs should be reserved for?

The 10-year franchise contract may be renewed for another 10 years if the franchisee satisfies the conditions in Item 17. Those conditions include notice, no default, current payments, a release, execution of the then-current contract, payment of the Renewal Fee, and remodeling to current standards.

Later-stage obligation Disclosed charge When it applies Cost uncertainty
Renewal Fee 50% of the then-current franchise fee Before renewal after the initial 10-year term The future franchise-fee amount is not fixed in the 2026 FDD.
Renewal remodel Not quantified As a condition of renewal to current standards Structural changes, remodeling, redecoration, and improvements may be required.
Franchise transfer $5,000 plus actual costs Before an approved sale or transfer Documentation and other actual costs vary.
Development Agreement transfer $75,000 plus actual costs Only if a transfer is legally required or otherwise permitted The franchisor generally does not allow sale of development rights.
Relocation $5,000 If relocation is allowed Does not include premises, construction, equipment, or reopening costs.
Development extension $5,000 One six-month extension, requested 90 days before a schedule deadline Approval is conditional; it is not an automatic right.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 10–12; Item 17, pp. 41–49; Franchise Agreement, p. 8 in Exhibit C.

DECISION SYNTHESIS

What capital question matters most before signing?

The verified starting point is $1,188,900 to $4,944,000 for one Restaurant under the 2026 disclosure, not the $30,000 upfront fee. The main uncertainty is the approved site and construction plan: leased conversion versus land purchase and prototype new build, together with site preparation, landlord contributions, and local project costs. A multi-unit buyer must also layer in the territory charge, separate $15,000 fees for each Restaurant, and the agreed opening schedule.

After opening, the buyer must distinguish weekly sales-based fees from Digital Sales-based technology charges, third-party monthly fees, required supplier purchases, and event-triggered charges. The disclosure does not provide numeric cash or net-asset thresholds and provides no franchisor financing, so those requirements and the debt/equity structure remain buyer-specific verification items.