How Much Does a Sir Speedy Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Estimated annual owner earnings
$18,000-$81,000 per year

A reasonable manager-run residual range for one mature U.S. Sir Speedy Center is about $18,000 to $81,000 before personal income taxes and financing principal. The central scenario is approximately $45,000. This is not an official profit disclosure: the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document reports 2025 Gross Sales, not owner earnings.

Mode: FDD-anchored scenario Confidence: Limited FDD: 2026 issuance Unit: U.S. franchised center open over 1 year
Independent estimate, not an Item 19 earnings claim

The range is an independent analytical scenario. It is not an Item 19 financial performance representation by Sir Speedy, LLC. It combines identified FDD facts with an Internal Revenue Service industry benchmark and clearly labeled revenue and margin assumptions. Actual results can differ materially because of location, service mix, sales, labor, occupancy, equipment, financing, owner involvement, and execution.

Data basis

Legal franchisor: Sir Speedy, LLC. The Franchise Disclosure Document was issued March 25, 2026. Item 19 reports fiscal-year 2025 Gross Sales for franchised Sir Speedy Centers open at least 12 months; it does not report Operating Profit, EBITDA, Net Income, Owner Compensation, or Cash Flow. The model uses the 2025 median Gross Sales figure, the mature recurring fee schedule in Item 6, the IRS 2022 corporate data for Printing and Related Support Activities, and a Bureau of Labor Statistics manager-wage benchmark for the owner-role analysis. Sources were checked July 18, 2026.

Direct earnings answer

How much may a Sir Speedy owner earn annually?

The best defensible answer is an estimated $18,000 to $81,000 of annual pre-tax residual earnings for a mature center with paid management, with a central scenario near $45,000. This estimate applies to one U.S. franchised center operating more than one year and is anchored to the FDD's 2025 median Gross Sales of $751,554.

The scenarios use an analytical revenue spread of 80%, 100%, and 120% of the disclosed median, because Item 19 provides one systemwide median but no quartiles. They apply 3%, 6%, and 9% pre-tax margins. The 6% central margin is rounded from an IRS receipts-minus-deductions proxy for corporations classified in Printing and Related Support Activities; the lower and upper margins are a sensitivity band of three percentage points in each direction.

Scenario Modeled revenue Pre-tax margin Manager-run residual
Conservative $601,243 3.0% $18,037
Base $751,554 6.0% $45,093
Upside $901,865 9.0% $81,168
What does the three-scenario earnings range look like?

Estimated annual pre-tax residual earnings for one mature, manager-run center.

Conservative, base, and upside Sir Speedy owner earnings scenarios Three columns show estimated annual pre-tax residual earnings of 18 thousand dollars, 45 thousand dollars, and 81 thousand dollars. $0 $30k $60k $90k $18k $45k $81k Conservative Base Upside

Interpretation: revenue and margin move together in this sensitivity model, so the endpoints are not probabilities or FDD-reported performance bands.

Source: 2026 Sir Speedy FDD, Item 19, pp. 27-28; IRS Tax Year 2022 Corporation Complete Report, Table 5.1. Calculations are independent scenarios, rounded only after full-precision computation.

Revenue is not earnings

Item 19 explicitly states that its Gross Sales figures do not deduct operating expenses or other costs needed to calculate Net Income or profit. A buyer should not interpret the $751,554 median or $1,282,806 average as owner pay.

Item 19 evidence

What does the 2026 FDD actually measure?

The official disclosure measures 2025 Gross Sales per franchised center, grouped by years in operation. It does not disclose owner salary, owner draw, distributions, Store-Level Profit, EBITDA, Net Income, or Cash Flow. The applicable population is franchised Sir Speedy Centers open for at least 12 months as of December 31, 2025 that reported the required sales data.

Official
$751,554
Median 2025 Gross Sales
All 109 reporting centers open more than one year.
Official
$1,282,806
Average 2025 Gross Sales
Substantially above the median because results are highly skewed.
Official
109
Reporting mature centers
The FDD describes this as approximately 93% coverage of eligible domestic centers.
Official
28%
Met or exceeded average
32 centers reached the $1.283 million average, underscoring its limited typicality.
FDD-derived
$55,493
Illustrative mature fees
6% royalty plus the current $200 weekly advertising ceiling at median sales; the ceiling may change.
Benchmark
6.0%
Central margin proxy
Rounded IRS receipts-minus-deductions margin for printing corporations, not a Sir Speedy result.
Center age Centers Median Gross Sales Average Gross Sales
1-9 years 2 $540,387 $540,387
10-20 years 5 $1,321,675 $1,522,129
21-30 years 8 $601,043 $725,536
31 years or more 94 $754,914 $1,333,299
All centers over 1 year 109 $751,554 $1,282,806
Sample limitation

The 10-20-year and 1-9-year cohorts contain only five and two centers, respectively. Their medians should not be treated as stable age-based forecasts. The 31-plus-year cohort accounts for 94 of 109 reporting centers, so the systemwide median largely reflects a long-tenured network.

Average distortion

The highest reported annual Gross Sales were $14,243,458 and the lowest were $101,235. Only 28% of centers met or exceeded the average. The median is therefore the more defensible central revenue anchor for an earnings scenario, though it still does not predict a new center's results.

Owner role

How does owner involvement change the result?

Active owner operation can increase the owner's total economic benefit, but not necessarily the center's pure business profit. Item 15 requires the franchisee to directly supervise and participate in day-to-day operations and strongly recommends owner-managed operation. A hired manager is permitted, but this is not an absentee-ownership model.

For a labor-value illustration, the Bureau of Labor Statistics reported a May 2023 median hourly wage of $42.80 for General and Operations Managers in Printing and Related Support Activities. Annualizing that at 2,080 hours produces approximately $89,000 of manager labor value. Adding this value to residual earnings produces an estimated owner-operator benefit of about $107,000 to $170,000.

Residual profit versus owner-operator benefit

The gap is a $89,024 annualized manager-labor value, not passive profit.

Manager-run residual Owner-operator benefit
Comparison of manager-run residual earnings and owner-operator benefit For conservative, base, and upside scenarios, manager-run residuals are 18, 45, and 81 thousand dollars, while owner-operator benefits including labor value are 107, 134, and 170 thousand dollars. $0 $50k $100k $150k $200k Conservative Base Upside $18k $107k $45k $134k $81k $170k

Interpretation: owner-operator benefit combines residual operating profit with compensation for labor performed. It should not be described as passive income or pure business profit.

Source: 2026 Sir Speedy FDD, Item 15, p. 22; BLS May 2023 OEWS for NAICS 323000 and occupation 11-1021. The annual labor value is derived as $42.80 x 2,080 hours.

Owner-operator effect

The full $89,000 should not automatically be treated as a cash saving. A center may still require supervisory staff, the owner may work fewer than 2,080 hours, and the owner's skills may not substitute for every manager function. The chart isolates labor value so buyers do not confuse compensation for work with a return on capital.

Calculation method

How was the owner-earnings estimate built?

The calculation is a transparent scenario model, not a franchisor-reported result. It uses the FDD median as the revenue anchor and an official government industry margin as a proxy because Sir Speedy Item 19 provides no expenses or profit measure.

Estimated pre-tax owner earnings = modeled annual revenue x scenario pre-tax margin
  • Revenue: Conservative, Base, and Upside equal 80%, 100%, and 120% of the FDD's $751,554 median. The spread is editorial analysis, not an Item 19 distribution.
  • Margin: 3%, 6%, and 9%. The central 6% is the rounded ratio of IRS total receipts less total deductions to total receipts for Printing and Related Support Activities corporations in Tax Year 2022. The plus-or-minus three percentage-point band is a sensitivity assumption.
  • Recurring fees: Item 6 specifies a 6% Continuing Franchise Fee after year one and a 2% Network Advertising Fee, subject to a $50 weekly minimum and a temporary $200 weekly ceiling. Because the IRS margin is used as an all-in expense proxy, fees are not subtracted a second time.
  • Unit and period: One mature U.S. franchised center, annualized. New-center ramp-up, conversion economics, and multi-unit overhead are not modeled.
Manager compensation
Treated as embedded in the all-in manager-run margin proxy. Sir Speedy's actual staffing and pay structure are not disclosed.
Owner compensation
Not identified in Item 19 or the IRS benchmark. The separate owner-operator benefit adds an explicit labor-value assumption.
Interest and depreciation
Included only to the extent they are embedded in aggregate IRS corporate deductions. A specific center's financing and tax depreciation may differ substantially.
Capital expenditures
Replacement equipment purchases are not modeled as a separate annual cash charge. Item 7 startup investment is not subtracted from annual sales.
Debt service and taxes
Financing principal payments and personal income taxes are excluded. The article does not estimate after-tax take-home pay.
Benchmark limitation

The IRS category includes corporations of different sizes, ownership structures, product mixes, and franchise status. It is closer to Sir Speedy's printing activity than a generic small-business margin, but it cannot reveal a Sir Speedy center's labor, occupancy, outsourcing, equipment, or royalty economics. That dependency is the main reason confidence is Limited.

Uncertainty

What could move actual earnings outside the range?

Actual earnings can fall below or rise above the scenario range because the FDD discloses an unusually wide sales distribution but no corresponding cost distribution. The largest operational drivers are gross margin by service line, labor productivity, occupancy, outsourced production, equipment leases, and the owner's ability to generate and retain commercial accounts.

Sales mix and direct costs
Printing, signage, direct mail, promotional products, design, and fulfillment can have different material, outsourcing, freight, and labor economics. Item 19 does not separate them.
Labor structure
The owner may replace some management labor, but production, sales, design, and customer-service staffing still determine operating leverage.
Occupancy and equipment
Item 7 estimates leased production equipment at $2,500-$5,000 per month for 48 months. Rent, utilities, maintenance, and replacement capital vary by center.
Maturity and customer base
Ninety-four of 109 reporting centers were at least 31 years old. A new center should not assume it immediately inherits the median economics of this seasoned cohort.
Financing
Debt principal can materially reduce cash available to an owner even when operating earnings are positive. No uniform financing structure is assumed.
Item 20 reconciliation

Item 20 reports 119 systemwide franchised outlets at the end of 2025, down from 129 at the start. Its detailed table shows 114 U.S. outlets and two international outlets at year-end, while the Item 19 footnote states there were 117 U.S. centers at December 31, 2025. A buyer should ask Sir Speedy for a written reconciliation of these populations and confirm which outlets are included in Item 19 substantiation.

Buyer verification

What should a buyer verify before relying on any earnings range?

The range should be treated as a diligence framework, not a forecast. The most useful next evidence is center-level cost information from the franchisor's written Item 19 substantiation and consistent interviews with current and former franchisees in Item 20.

  • Request the written substantiation for Item 19 and confirm the exact 109-center reporting population, excluded centers, reporting completeness, and treatment of transfers and non-renewals.
  • Ask franchisees for annual Gross Sales, gross margin, payroll including owner pay, occupancy, equipment leases, outsourced production, bad debt, royalty, advertising, technology, insurance, and normalized maintenance capital.
  • Separate owner salary for work performed from distributions or retained business profit. Ask how many hours the owner works and which employee role the owner replaces.
  • Compare median and average results. The FTC advises prospective buyers to examine the basis and limitations of financial performance information rather than relying on a headline number.
  • Review Item 20 closures, non-renewals, and transfers, and interview both current and former operators. Ask the franchisor to reconcile the U.S. outlet counts across Items 19 and 20.
  • Build a center-specific model using the proposed location's rent, local wages, equipment terms, expected service mix, working capital, and financing. Keep personal taxes outside the operating model.
Decision synthesis

What is the strongest defensible Sir Speedy earnings range?

The strongest defensible range is approximately $18,000-$81,000 in annual pre-tax manager-run residual earnings per mature center, with a central scenario near $45,000. It is a Mode C, FDD-anchored independent estimate, not an official Item 19 profit result. An actively working owner may receive a larger total economic benefit, illustrated at about $107,000-$170,000, but that higher figure includes compensation for the owner's labor.

The most important earnings driver is the combination of sales volume and the center's true all-in margin after direct costs, payroll, occupancy, equipment, recurring franchise fees, and other operating expenses. The largest unresolved uncertainty is that Sir Speedy discloses Gross Sales but no center-level cost or profit data. Before making a decision, a buyer should verify Item 19 substantiation, reconcile the Item 19 and Item 20 populations, and test normalized expense statements with current and former franchisees.