How Much Does a ServiceMaster Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Earnings answer

$14,000–$69,000 annually

An established U.S. ServiceMaster Clean single-franchise owner may have roughly $14,000 to $69,000 in pre-tax manager-run owner earnings under the independent scenarios below. The base scenario is about $31,800. An actively managing owner could receive an estimated $62,800 to $118,300 in owner-operator benefit, but that higher figure includes compensation for the owner’s full-time labor and is not passive business profit. Losses remain possible outside the modeled range.

2026 FDD / 2025 sales Mode C: FDD-anchored estimate Single-franchise ownership group Evidence confidence: Limited
Independent estimate This earnings range is an independent analytical scenario, not an Item 19 financial performance representation by ServiceMaster Clean/Restore SPE LLC. It combines identified facts from the 2026 ServiceMaster Clean FDD with a broad IRS industry margin proxy and a BLS supervisor-wage proxy. Actual results can differ materially by territory, service mix, contract pricing, labor, occupancy, financing, owner involvement, customer retention, and execution.

Data basis

Legal franchisor
ServiceMaster Clean/Restore SPE LLC
FDD issuance
April 30, 2026
Item 19 status
Official 2025 Gross Service Sales; no profit or owner-compensation disclosure
Primary population
169 Single-Franchise Ownership Groups with one Active Franchise
External benchmarks
IRS tax year 2022 corporate data; BLS May 2023 wage data
Research checked
July 18, 2026

Scope: The 2026 disclosure analyzed here covers the U.S. ServiceMaster Clean commercial-cleaning offer. ServiceMaster Restore is covered by a separate FDD and is not mixed into these figures.

Scenario $14k–$69k Manager-run owner earnings

Estimated annual pre-tax residual before financing principal and personal income taxes.

Official $392,208 Median Gross Service Sales

2025 median for the FDD’s 169 single-franchise ownership groups.

Benchmark 8.1% Base residual-margin proxy

IRS 2022 net income less deficit divided by business receipts for a broad support-services category.

Official 169 Reporting single-franchise groups

Groups with one Active Franchise represented in Item 19 Table 1.

Benchmark $48,970 Owner labor-value proxy

BLS May 2023 mean wage for the occupation in Services to Buildings and Dwellings.

Scenario model

How much can a ServiceMaster Clean owner make?

The most defensible modeled answer is $13,800, $31,800, or $69,400 in annual pre-tax manager-run owner earnings under the Conservative, Base, and Upside scenarios. These are estimated results for a single-franchise ownership group using fiscal-year 2025 revenue observations; they are not probabilities, forecasts, or franchisor-reported profits.

The revenue anchors use the FDD’s third-quartile median, overall median, and second-quartile median. The model deliberately avoids the bottom-quartile median and the highly skewed top quartile when defining the central decision range.

Manager-run pre-tax owner-earnings scenarios

Annual residual after normal operating costs under the model, before personal income taxes and financing principal.

ServiceMaster Clean manager-run annual owner earnings scenarios Three columns show conservative earnings of 13,800 dollars, base earnings of 31,800 dollars, and upside earnings of 69,400 dollars. $0 $25k $50k $75k $13,800 $31,800 $69,400 Conservative Base Upside

Interpretation: the modeled range expands quickly because both the revenue anchor and the residual-margin assumption change across scenarios.

Sources: 2026 ServiceMaster Clean FDD, Item 19, pp. 72–77; IRS Corporation Complete Report, tax year 2022. Values rounded to the nearest $100.

Reproducible scenario calculation
Scenario FDD revenue anchor Residual-margin assumption Estimated manager-run earnings
Conservative
Third-quartile median
$270,505 5.1% $13,800
Base
All-group median
$392,208 8.1% $31,800
Upside
Second-quartile median
$624,849 11.1% $69,400
Revenue is not earnings Item 19 calls the reported measure Gross Service Sales. It does not subtract direct cleaning labor, payroll burden, supplies, vehicles, insurance, office costs, royalties, advertising, technology, bad debt, or other operating expenses. The FTC likewise cautions that gross sales do not show whether an outlet made a profit.

Item 19 evidence

What does the 2026 FDD actually report?

The official disclosure reports fiscal-year 2025 Gross Service Sales, not operating profit, EBITDA, net income, owner compensation, or cash flow. The principal single-franchise table covers 169 Franchise Ownership Groups that owned one Active Franchise for the measurement period.

A Franchise Ownership Group may own one or several affiliated Clean Franchises. For a new buyer purchasing one franchise, the closest population is the Single-Franchise Ownership Group with one Active Franchise, not the all-group table that blends single- and multi-franchise portfolios.

The 169-group cohort combines 127 Cleaning Services Franchises with 42 former-license formats: 32 Contract Services, one Small Market, four Floor Care, three Commercial, and two Small Business franchises. The FDD states that these operations are substantially similar to the current Cleaning Services Franchise, but the legacy service authorizations are not identical.

Official 2025 Gross Service Sales distribution
Single-franchise cohort Groups Median Gross Service Sales Average Gross Service Sales
Top quartile 43 $1,891,122 $2,527,051
Second quartile 42 $624,849 $633,307
Third quartile 42 $270,505 $265,056
Bottom quartile 42 $82,229 $77,001
Total population 169 $392,208 $885,376

Source: 2026 ServiceMaster Clean FDD, Item 19, Table 1 and notes, pp. 73–76.

The average is more than twice the median because a small number of high-revenue groups pull the average upward. Only 47 of 169 groups, or 27.8%, attained or exceeded the $885,376 average. For an earnings model, the $392,208 median is therefore a more stable central revenue anchor than the average.

Sample limitation The table excludes groups that opened their first franchise during 2025, transferred ownership of all franchises, failed the reporting criteria, or ceased operating all franchises during the year. Item 19 also excludes 16 single-franchise ownership groups that ceased operations in 2025. These exclusions make the table useful for established operators but less representative of start-up and closure risk.

Item 20 shows 584 franchised Clean outlets at December 31, 2025, down 27 from the prior year. The FDD notes that part of the reduction reflects consolidation of former licenses into a single current Clean Franchise, so the outlet-count decline should not be interpreted as 27 business failures. Still, Item 20’s openings, non-renewals, ceased operations, and former-franchisee list are relevant to earnings due diligence.

Source: 2026 ServiceMaster Clean FDD, Item 20, pp. 77–85.

Calculation method

How was the owner-earnings range estimated?

The range is a derived scenario estimate: an FDD revenue anchor is multiplied by an external residual-margin proxy. The model uses 2025 single-franchise sales and a tax-year 2022 IRS Corporation Complete Report benchmark because the FDD does not disclose franchisee expenses or profit.

Estimated pre-tax manager-run owner earnings = FDD Gross Service Sales anchor × scenario residual margin
Estimated pre-tax owner earnings
Residual available to the owner after normal operating expenses and required recurring franchise costs, before personal income taxes and financing principal payments.
IRS base proxy
For “Other administrative and support services,” 2022 business receipts were $398.48 billion and net income less deficit was $32.12 billion, producing an aggregate 8.1% ratio.
Scenario spread
Conservative and Upside margins are 3 percentage points below and above the 8.1% base proxy: 5.1% and 11.1%. This spread is editorial, not FDD-reported.
Debt and tax treatment
Personal income taxes and loan-principal payments are excluded. The broad IRS measure may embed interest, depreciation, and officer compensation, but it does not isolate them for ServiceMaster Clean.
Cash-flow limitation
The model does not separately forecast capital expenditures, vehicle replacement, working-capital swings, customer collection timing, or owner distributions.
  • Comparable operating model: Census NAICS 561720 covers establishments primarily engaged in cleaning building interiors and windows, which is directionally aligned with ServiceMaster Clean’s commercial cleaning model.
  • Broad benchmark: the IRS category is broader than janitorial services and includes businesses with different size, ownership, and fee structures. That materially limits precision.
  • Manager-run interpretation: the residual-margin proxy is treated as including a normal management labor cost. The IRS table does not verify that every business had a paid manager.
  • No fee double count: the IRS ratio is an all-in net-income proxy, so the scenario does not subtract ServiceMaster royalties and marketing fees a second time. Those obligations are analyzed separately as a transferability risk.
  • No probability claim: the three FDD revenue anchors are observations from the disclosed distribution, not predicted likelihoods for a buyer.

Evidence confidence is LIMITED because the same-brand FDD supplies revenue but not earnings, while the margin benchmark is a broad government aggregate rather than a ServiceMaster Clean franchisee profit-and-loss sample.

Owner role

How does owner involvement change the result?

For the same 2025 single-franchise revenue anchors, owner involvement can add approximately $48,970 of labor value to each scenario, producing estimated owner-operator benefits of $62,800, $80,700, and $118,300. This is an estimated labor-plus-profit measure, not pure business profit and not passive income.

Item 15 requires the owner, owners, officers, or managers to devote full-time energy and best efforts to the business. If the owner does not personally supervise it, each office generally must have a trained manager responsible for direct supervision. The FDD permits an owner to serve as that manager.

Manager-run residual versus owner-operator benefit

Owner-operator benefit adds the BLS $48,970 supervisor wage proxy to the modeled residual.

Comparison of manager-run owner earnings and owner-operator benefit For conservative, base and upside scenarios, manager-run earnings are 13,800, 31,800 and 69,400 dollars, while owner-operator benefit is 62,800, 80,700 and 118,300 dollars. $0 $40k $80k $120k Conservative Base Upside $13.8k $62.8k $31.8k $80.7k $69.4k $118.3k Manager-run residual Owner-operator benefit

Interpretation: the approximately $49,000 gap is compensation for management work performed by the owner; it should not be valued as passive return on invested capital.

Sources: 2026 ServiceMaster Clean FDD, Item 15, p. 66; U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, May 2023, First-Line Supervisors of Housekeeping and Janitorial Workers in Services to Buildings and Dwellings.

Owner-operator effect The BLS industry wage figure is a market labor-value proxy, not an amount disclosed by ServiceMaster Clean. It excludes self-employed owners and does not capture payroll taxes, benefits, overtime, or the possibility that a larger operation requires additional management layers. The owner-operator figures therefore have more uncertainty than the manager-run residuals.

Recurring obligations

Which ServiceMaster fees can move owner earnings most?

The most material disclosed recurring obligations are the royalty structure, minimum monthly royalty, 0.5% Ad Fund contribution, 2% Local Advertising Commitment, technology fees, and $250 monthly Digital Platform Fee. These are official 2026 FDD terms; their actual effect depends on service mix, franchise age, prior-year sales, office count, and participation in optional programs.

Base-revenue fee sensitivity at $392,208 of annual Gross Service Sales
Illustrative service mix Annual royalty Ad Fund + local marketing Technology + digital platform Total disclosed burden
100% contracted recurring services; franchise operating 49+ months $35,784 $9,805 $9,120 $54,709
100% Other Services $39,221 $9,805 $9,120 $58,146

Source: 2026 ServiceMaster Clean FDD, Item 6, pp. 28–41. Calculations use full-precision inputs and are rounded to the nearest dollar.

The contracted-recurring calculation uses the $2,982 monthly minimum royalty that applies after 49 months because the percentage calculation at the base revenue would be lower. The Other Services royalty is 10% of Gross Service Sales. The advertising amount assumes the current combined 2.5% obligation, and the fixed software/platform amount assumes annual sales below $750,000 and one office.

These rows are fee sensitivities, not expense forecasts. A real franchise normally has a mixed service portfolio, and the table excludes optional-program referral fees, national-account charges, training travel, insurance, vehicles, supplies, employee costs, rent, bad debt, and other operating expenses. The amounts are not subtracted again from the scenario earnings because the IRS margin is used as an all-in residual proxy; doing so would create an unsupported double charge.

Minimum-royalty effect At lower sales, a mature franchise’s minimum royalty can be more important than the nominal 4%–7% graduated recurring-services scale. Buyers should model the monthly minimum by franchise age and compare it with the percentage calculation under their expected contracted-recurring and Other Services mix.

Uncertainty

How wide is the realistic earnings uncertainty?

For the 2025 single-franchise population used as the revenue anchor, the numerical scenario range is $14,000 to $69,000, but the full economic outcome range is wider and includes losses. This is an uncertain estimate because Item 19 does not disclose expenses, the IRS proxy is broad, and the FDD population excludes start-ups and groups that ceased operations during 2025.

  • Sales concentration: the FDD’s $885,376 average materially exceeds its $392,208 median, so using the average can overstate a typical central outcome.
  • Labor intensity: contract pricing, wage rates, payroll burden, overtime, worker availability, and supervisory layers can change the residual margin by several percentage points.
  • Service mix: recurring contracts use a graduated royalty scale, while Other Services carry a 10% royalty. Optional programs can add referral, job, participation, or service fees.
  • Customer quality: Gross Service Sales are reported on an accrual basis when billed, even if cash has not been collected. Bad debt and collection timing can make accounting revenue differ from cash available.
  • Owner compensation: corporate tax-return data can include officer compensation and entity structures unlike a single franchisee, making the owner-labor treatment imprecise.
  • Capital and financing: vehicle replacement, equipment purchases, working capital, interest rates, and loan principal can reduce cash available for owner draws even when the operating scenario is positive.

What does debt service do to take-home cash?

Debt service is separate from the estimated operating owner-earnings range. The 2026 FDD officially estimates a financed truck may require approximately $1,000 to $1,500 per month (Item 7, pp. 42–43), but a buyer’s total financing can also include the franchise fee, equipment, working capital, or an acquisition price. Subtract actual loan interest and principal from the operating scenario only after obtaining lender terms; do not treat the same debt payment as an operating expense twice.

Personal income taxes are also excluded. Entity choice, state and local tax rules, depreciation elections, owner wages, distributions, and other personal circumstances can materially change after-tax cash, so no after-tax owner-income estimate is presented.

Buyer verification

What should a buyer verify before relying on this range?

A buyer should treat this estimated 2025 single-franchise range as a screening model, not an official earnings claim, and replace every major assumption with territory-specific evidence. The most useful verification comes from Item 19 substantiation, detailed franchisee profit-and-loss statements, manager compensation, and the exact service mix.

  • Request the written substantiation for the 2026 FDD Item 19 tables and confirm how Gross Service Sales were validated.
  • Ask several current single-franchise owners for 2024 and 2025 revenue, direct labor, payroll burden, supplies, vehicles, insurance, rent, royalties, advertising, technology, bad debt, and owner compensation.
  • Interview owners in the second, third, and bottom quartiles rather than relying only on high-volume operators.
  • Ask former franchisees listed in Item 20 why they transferred, did not renew, or ceased operations and whether license consolidation affected the reported outlet count.
  • Model the minimum monthly royalty by franchise age and the graduated royalty by the expected mix of Contracted Recurring Services and Other Services.
  • Determine whether the owner will personally manage the office, employ a trained manager, or require multiple supervisors as revenue grows.
  • Separate business profit, owner wages, distributions, debt principal, capital expenditures, and personal taxes in the buyer’s own pro forma.

The FTC’s Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise recommends evaluating Item 19 methodology and speaking with current and former franchisees. The official ServiceMaster Brands franchising page identifies ServiceMaster Clean as a current U.S. franchise opportunity, while the official ServiceMaster Clean website describes the commercial cleaning service network.

Decision synthesis

What is the strongest defensible earnings takeaway?

The strongest defensible range is about $14,000 to $69,000 in annual pre-tax manager-run owner earnings for the modeled single-franchise cases, with a base result near $31,800. It is a scenario-based estimate anchored to official 2025 Gross Service Sales, not an official ServiceMaster Clean earnings disclosure.

The most important earnings driver is the interaction between sales volume and labor-adjusted margin. The largest unresolved uncertainty is the absence of same-brand franchisee expense and profit data, especially direct labor, management compensation, customer collection experience, and the effect of minimum royalties at lower sales.

An owner who personally performs the required management role may realize an estimated $62,800 to $118,300 in owner-operator benefit, but roughly $48,970 of that figure is labor value rather than passive residual profit. Before making a decision, a buyer should reconcile the FDD’s Item 19 substantiation with franchisee interviews, actual profit-and-loss statements, Item 20 turnover, and a territory-specific fee, staffing, debt, and working-capital model.