How Much Does a ServiceMaster Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Cost answer

How much does a ServiceMaster Clean franchise cost in 2026?

A prospective U.S. franchisee should read the verified 2026 ServiceMaster Clean disclosure as requiring an estimated initial investment of $111,800 to $187,500 for a Clean Franchise. The range covers both a new franchise and a Conversion Franchise, although a conversion may reuse qualifying equipment, vehicles, insurance, or office infrastructure. It is not the same as the $40,000 Initial Franchise Fee, and it is not a liquid-capital or net-worth requirement.

$111,800–$187,500

2026 Estimated Initial Investment for one U.S. Clean Franchise. The total includes $30,000 to $50,000 of Additional Funds for the first three months, plus the Initial Franchise Fee, equipment, a vehicle allowance, technology, training travel, insurance, marketing, opening costs, and professional fees.

Source: ServiceMaster Clean 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 7, pp. 41–44. The FDD page citation is unlinked because no matching 2026 copy was verified on a franchise-controlled public domain.

Data basis. Legal franchisor: ServiceMaster Clean/Restore SPE LLC. FDD issuance date: April 30, 2026. Applicable U.S. offer: one Clean Franchise license, including the start-up path and Conversion Franchise path. Cost analysis uses Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 15, and 17, with Item 5 on p. 27, Item 6 on pp. 28–40, and Item 7 on pp. 41–44. Information checked July 19, 2026. The legal entity is part of the ServiceMaster Brands structure described on the official ServiceMaster Brands company page.

Capital snapshot

These six figures separate the 2026 unit’s signing payments, major opening ranges, early operating reserve, vehicle assumption, and royalty basis.

Initial Franchise Fee $40,000 Lump sum at Franchise Agreement signing for a new Clean Franchise.
Online Marketing Fund Deposit $4,750 Due at signing for a new first Clean Franchise; not charged to a transferee or existing franchisee adding territory.
Additional Funds $30,000–$50,000 Included in Item 7 for pre-opening and the first three months of operation.
Equipment and Supplies $10,000–$40,000 Initial inventory of cleaning equipment, tools, and supplies.
Vehicle line in Item 7 $8,000–$12,500 Financed-truck down payment, first payment, and vehicle identification work—not the full truck price.
Royalty basis 4%–7% / 10% Tiered Contracted Recurring Services rate; Other Services are 10%, subject to the Minimum Monthly Royalty.
FDD caveat

The official low-end line items add to the published $111,800 total. The listed high-end line items add to $187,250, while the FDD publishes a $187,500 high total. This article preserves the official total and treats the $250 difference as an unresolved arithmetic discrepancy rather than silently changing the disclosure.

Item 7 investment

What is included in the $111,800 to $187,500 investment?

The 2026 opening-investment total is a full start-up range, not merely a payment to the franchisor. It includes fixed contract payments, operating assets, training travel, insurance, opening expenses, professional fees, and three months of Additional Funds. The Additional Funds are already inside the total; adding them again would double-count working capital.

Contract signing and pre-opening assets

For the 2026 unit, these seven categories cover the fixed payments and primary assets arranged before operations begin.

Cost entity Low High Payment timing
Initial Franchise Fee $40,000 $40,000 Upon signing the Franchise Agreement
Equipment and Supplies $10,000 $40,000 As incurred before opening
Vehicles $8,000 $12,500 As incurred before opening
Technology System $1,800 $3,000 As incurred before opening
Travel and Other Expenses During AOS Training $4,000 $7,000 As incurred before opening
Insurance $3,750 $6,500 Arranged before opening
Online Marketing Fund Deposit $4,750 $4,750 Upon signing the Franchise Agreement
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 41–43.

Opening expenses and initial operating capital

These five rows complete the published range by covering promotion, deposits, professional work, and the early business reserve.

Cost entity Low High What the category covers
Local Advertising $500 $1,500 Pre-opening promotional materials and advertising; excludes ongoing Ad Fund Contributions.
Miscellaneous Opening and Real Estate Expenses $4,000 $7,000 Background checks, drug screening, deposits, business licenses, and registration fees.
Professional Fees $5,000 $15,000 Legal and accounting work, entity formation, lease review, permits, business planning, and hiring practices.
Additional Funds—first three months $30,000 $50,000 Pre-opening and early operating expenses, based on an assumed start-up staff of three employees.
Official Total Initial Investment $111,800 $187,500 Published Item 7 total; see the arithmetic caveat above.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 41–44.
Vehicle and office structure

Why the asset lines require closer reading

The ServiceMaster Clean cost model is not a retail build-out. A franchisee must start with one truck, but the $8,000 to $12,500 Vehicles line assumes financing rather than a cash purchase. The FDD estimates a truck itself at approximately $30,000 to $70,000, then builds the Item 7 line from an estimated 10% down payment, the first monthly payment, and approximately $4,000 for the required vehicle wrap and signage.

Truck purchase priceApproximately $30,000 to $70,000.
Financing assumptionAbout 10% down, with a four-to-six-year term and estimated monthly payments of $1,000 to $1,500.
Office assumptionNo separate office outside the home is required, but Item 7 includes deposits for a small office and Item 11 requires enough approved offices to keep the Territory within the stated drive-time standard.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, Notes 4 and 10, pp. 42–44; Item 11, p. 50.
Range limitations

Which cash needs are not fully resolved by the official range?

The published range is a disclosure estimate, not a vendor quote or a promise that every buyer can open at the low end. Several assumptions depend on the proposed Territory, the buyer’s credit, the condition of existing assets, local insurance pricing, staffing choices, and the franchisor’s current specifications. Those variables should be priced before the agreement is signed because the low and high columns do not identify a single “normal” operating plan.

The first-three-month reserve is business working capital

The reserve category covers a broad set of early business expenses: employee salaries, wages and benefits; uniforms and payroll taxes; licenses; telephone, internet and utilities; ongoing vehicle payments and vehicle licensing; bank charges; taxes; added advertising; three months of software charges; credit-card processing; supplies; equipment; and other miscellaneous items. The estimate assumes three employees during the start-up stage. A buyer planning a larger team, faster hiring, more vehicles, or heavier early promotion could therefore face a different cash pattern even without changing the contractual charges.

The disclosure does not expressly include compensation for the owner, household expenses, debt payments unrelated to the business, or a personal emergency reserve. It also does not guarantee that three months will be enough for a particular buyer’s cash cycle. These omissions do not make the published range incorrect; they mean the business reserve and the owner’s personal reserve should be evaluated separately.

Supplier rules can affect both price and replacement timing

The franchisor can specify brands, models, vendors, purchasing programs, or product standards. Current required categories include certain cleaning solutions, specialty items, equipment, vehicle graphics, insurance, printed materials, and uniforms. The disclosure estimates that approximately 10% to 15% of purchases used to establish the business, and 2% to 5% of operating purchases, must come from designated or approved sources or comply with stated specifications.

That sourcing percentage is not an added fee and should not be added to the opening total. It is a restriction on where part of the budget may be spent. For a conversion or transfer, non-approved products may need to be discontinued and non-approved equipment may need replacement, either immediately or through attrition. The cost effect depends on what the buyer already owns and what the franchisor accepts after inspection. Item 8 also states that some approved vendors make payments to affiliates equal to 1% to 8% of the vendors’ sales to franchisees; that disclosure does not state that the buyer receives an offsetting credit.

Premises costs are deposits and local obligations, not a standardized build-out

The opening-expense line includes security and utility deposits for a small office, but the system does not require every new owner to rent a separate office outside the home. At the same time, the operating rules require enough approved office locations so that addresses in the Territory fall within the specified drive-time standard. A broad or unusually shaped Territory could therefore create a future premises obligation that is not apparent from a simple home-based assumption.

Monthly rent is not presented as a separate fixed Item 7 category. Local deposits, lease terms, access requirements, licenses, employee-screening costs, and legal review can move the actual amount. A conversion that already occupies acceptable space may incur monthly rent rather than new lease deposits. This is why the premises question should be resolved with the proposed Territory map and written location approval, not with a generic local rent estimate.

Cost implication

The range is most useful when treated as a checklist of cost responsibilities. It is less useful as a single cash target until the truck structure, accepted conversion assets, office footprint, staffing plan, insurance quote, vendor package, and personal reserve have been documented.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, Notes 3–12, pp. 42–44; Item 8, pp. 44–49; Item 11, p. 50.
Payment timing

When is the money paid?

The first fixed cash milestone is $44,750 at Franchise Agreement signing: the $40,000 Initial Franchise Fee plus the $4,750 Online Marketing Fund Deposit. Most other opening amounts are paid to vendors or providers as the franchisee acquires assets and prepares to open. The disclosure says a new unit typically opens 60 to 120 days after signing, or 15 days after successful completion of AOS Training, and must begin operating within six months.

Sign the Franchise Agreement

Pay the Initial Franchise Fee and, for a new first Clean Franchise, the Online Marketing Fund Deposit. The initial payments are non-refundable except where the franchisor does not accept the Franchise Agreement.

Acquire required assets before opening

Pay for Equipment and Supplies, the vehicle arrangement and wrap, the Technology System, insurance, and AOS Training travel. The Initial Franchise Fee includes AOS Training tuition and some meals for up to two Designated Trainees, but not wages, travel, lodging, or all meals.

Fund opening and the first three months

Pay Local Advertising, deposits, licenses, Professional Fees, employee costs, utilities, vehicle payments, three months of Technology Fees, and other expenses included in Additional Funds.

Move to the monthly fee cycle

Gross Service Sales reports are currently due by the 10th, while Royalties, Ad Fund Contributions, Management Software Technology Fees, the Digital Platform Fee, and other Operating Fees are generally due by the 20th through electronic debit.

Source: 2026 FDD, Items 5–7, pp. 27–44; Item 11, pp. 57–58.
Excluded from a simple cash-at-signing view

The $44,750 signing payment is not the total cash need. The buyer still must fund vendor deposits, the truck arrangement, equipment, insurance, travel, professional work, and operating expenses. The disclosure does not state that owner compensation or the owner’s personal living expenses are included in Additional Funds.

Cash planning

How should the disclosed range be translated into a funding schedule?

The safest interpretation is to separate committed payments from costs that become due only as the opening plan is approved. The signing payment is fixed for a new first unit, but the rest of the range is not necessarily payable on one date. Cash leaves the buyer at different points as contracts are executed, financing is arranged, assets are accepted, employees are hired, and recurring debits begin. A lender’s approval also does not remove the need to fund down payments, deposits, travel, payroll timing, or expenses that a lender excludes.

Build the schedule from documents, not from the headline total

Start with the signed agreement, the opening checklist, the approved territory map, and current written quotes. For each obligation, record the payee, due date, refundability, required method of payment, and whether the amount is fixed, capped, estimated, or subject to approval. This avoids treating a broad disclosure range as though it were a single invoice. It also reveals which payments must be available in cash even when a vehicle or other asset is financed.

The first column of that schedule should contain non-negotiable contract payments. The next should contain third-party commitments that are needed before operations can begin, such as deposits, coverage, travel reservations, equipment orders, screening, licenses, and professional work. A third column should cover the first operating cycle: payroll, utilities, supplies, software debits, vehicle obligations, processing charges, and local promotion. Keeping these groups separate makes it easier to test whether the buyer has enough accessible cash at each stage rather than merely enough total borrowing capacity.

Do not assume the low end is a cash-down figure

The low end combines several assumptions that may not all apply to the same buyer. A lower equipment package may depend on the scope of services planned at launch. A lower vehicle outlay depends on financing terms and approval. Lower premises costs may depend on acceptable home-based operations or existing space. A conversion may reduce some purchases only after the franchisor confirms that existing assets, products, graphics, systems, and coverage meet current standards. Each assumption should therefore be supported by a written approval or quote before it is used in a sources-and-uses statement.

Credit terms can change the timing without changing the economic obligation. A financed truck, leased equipment, or deferred vendor payment can reduce pre-opening cash, yet create monthly payments that begin during the same early period covered by the operating reserve. Conversely, paying cash may raise the amount needed before opening while reducing later fixed commitments. The disclosure does not select the buyer’s financing mix, so a funding schedule should show both the initial cash requirement and the future payments created by that choice.

Use a separate reserve for timing mismatches

Business expenses do not always line up with customer collections. Payroll, fuel, supplies, insurance installments, software, taxes, and vehicle payments may be due before invoices are collected. The disclosed early-operating allowance is intended to cover specified business uses, but it is not a statement that every buyer will have the same collection cycle or staffing pattern. A buyer should test the expected timing of outgoing payments against contract billing terms without using projected customer receipts to rewrite the official investment range.

Personal obligations should remain outside that business schedule. Household spending, personal debt service, health costs, and an owner’s desired compensation are not expressly included in the opening estimate. Mixing those amounts with business working capital can make the franchise appear fully funded when the owner’s household is not, or can make the business reserve appear larger than it really is. The two reserves serve different purposes and should be documented separately.

Reconcile the schedule before every irreversible payment

Before signing, confirm the exact initial payment and every discount in writing. Before ordering assets, confirm specifications and whether substitutes or existing equipment are accepted. Before training travel is booked, confirm attendees, dates, included meals, and the costs that remain the buyer’s responsibility. Before opening, confirm that coverage, software access, vehicle identification, office arrangements, and vendor accounts satisfy the operating requirements. This sequence creates a traceable record of why each payment was made and whether it belongs inside the published range.

Do not manufacture a midpoint or combine incompatible assumptions

A range does not identify an expected outcome. Taking the mathematical midpoint would create a figure the franchisor did not publish and could conceal how the assumptions interact. The lowest figure for one category may depend on reusing an asset, while the lowest figure for another may depend on financing, a smaller opening package, or limited local deposits. Those conditions may not all be available to the same buyer. The same problem occurs at the upper end: choosing every maximum can produce a sum that does not match the published total because categories may contain rounding, alternatives, or assumptions that are not meant to occur together.

For planning purposes, preserve each disclosed interval and replace it only with a buyer-specific quote after the relevant approval is obtained. Mark the quote date and state whether tax, delivery, installation, deposits, financing charges, and required identification work are included. Where no quote exists, keep the official interval rather than selecting a convenient point within it. That method shows which parts of the plan are known, which remain bounded estimates, and which are still unresolved.

Match each funding source to the obligation it can actually pay

Not every dollar of approved financing is interchangeable with cash. A vehicle lender may fund only the vehicle and may require the buyer to provide the down payment, taxes, registration, and graphics. An equipment lender may pay a supplier directly and exclude consumable supplies. A bank facility may require evidence of equity already invested. Credit cards can create immediate purchasing capacity but also create minimum payments during the opening period. The funding schedule should therefore identify both the source and the permitted use of every borrowed amount.

Accessible cash should be tested after deducting all deposits and equity contributions that must be paid before loan proceeds become available. It should also be tested after accounting for timing gaps between an invoice, a reimbursement, and a lender disbursement. A plan that balances on paper can still fail at a payment date when funds are restricted, delayed, or conditional. Written lender terms are more useful than an informal approval because they show closing conditions, collateral, guarantees, fees, and excluded uses.

Keep an approval log for every assumption that reduces cash

Any assumption that lowers the opening requirement should have an owner, a supporting document, and an expiration date. Examples include permission to operate from existing space, acceptance of a used machine, approval of existing coverage, a vendor credit, a financing commitment, or confirmation that a planned service mix does not require a particular asset at launch. Verbal statements should not be treated as completed approvals when the contract or operating standards require written consent.

The log also helps prevent late substitutions. A buyer may order an inexpensive item and later discover that it does not meet the required specification, or may rely on existing coverage that must be replaced before opening. Recording who approved the item, the model or policy number, and the date of approval reduces the risk of paying twice. It also creates a clearer record for advisers reviewing the transaction.

Use decision checkpoints rather than one final budget review

Review the funding schedule before each irreversible commitment. The first checkpoint is before the contract and initial payments. The second is before financing closes or deposits are placed. The third is before travel and training commitments become non-refundable. The fourth is before employees are hired and recurring vendor accounts begin. The final opening checkpoint should confirm that all required assets and coverage are approved and that adequate accessible cash remains for the early operating cycle.

At each checkpoint, compare committed spending with the latest available balance, not with the original amount raised. Update the schedule for changes in quotes, financing conditions, deposits, delivery charges, staffing, and opening timing. This approach does not replace the official disclosure. It turns the disclosure into a controlled record of actual commitments without claiming that one buyer’s result is typical for another.

Buyer verification

A complete funding plan should answer two different questions: how much must be paid before opening, and how much accessible cash remains after opening commitments are funded. The official range answers neither question for an individual buyer until financing terms, accepted assets, local deposits, staffing, and personal reserves are documented.

Source basis: 2026 FDD, Items 5–7, pp. 27–44; Item 8, pp. 44–49; Item 10, p. 50; Item 11, pp. 50–60.
Ongoing fees

Which fees continue after the franchise opens?

ServiceMaster Clean uses a layered ongoing-fee structure. Royalties depend on the service type and a graduated monthly scale, while the Ad Fund Contribution, Local Advertising Commitment, Technology Fee, and Digital Platform Fee operate separately. Optional Programs, certifications, meetings, and conventions can create further charges.

Ongoing cost entity Current amount or basis Timing Important qualification
Royalties—Contracted Recurring Services Graduated 7%, 6%, 5%, and 4% tiers Monthly, currently by the 20th Total monthly Royalties are the greater of the calculated amount or the Minimum Monthly Royalty.
Royalties—Other Services 10% of Gross Service Sales for Other Services Monthly, currently by the 20th Covers one-time work, work less frequent than twice monthly, or work without an annual contract.
Ad Fund Contribution Greater of 0.5% of monthly Gross Service Sales or $25 Monthly by the 20th Combined Ad Fund Contribution and Local Advertising Commitment may not exceed 2.5% of Gross Service Sales.
Local Advertising Commitment Currently 2% of monthly Gross Service Sales Spent monthly; shortfall payable on demand If qualifying spend is short, the difference is contributed to the Ad Fund.
Technology Fee $360–$750 monthly for Management Software, plus $450 quarterly for business intelligence software Monthly and quarterly Management Software tier is based on annual Gross Service Sales.
Digital Platform Fee Currently $250 per month per office location Monthly, currently by the 20th May change, but the disclosed cap is $500 per month per office location.
Required meetings and convention Training programs $300–$2,500 per attendee; regional meetings $1,000 per attendee; annual convention $1,000 per attendee At registration Travel, wages, lodging, and some meals are additional; attendance rules apply.
Certification Fees Currently $1,500–$2,500 per person per License As incurred May apply to Optional Programs or specialized work; current certifications renew every two years.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 28–33 and Notes 2–8, pp. 37–40.

How the Contracted Recurring Services royalty scale works

For the 2026 offer, recurring contracted work uses four graduated monthly bands, subject to the separate contractual floor.

Royalty tier Monthly Contracted Recurring Services Gross Service Sales Royalty calculation
Tier 1 $1–$11,140.99 7% of Gross Service Sales in Tier 1
Tier 2 $11,141–$27,053.99 $779.87 plus 6% of Gross Service Sales in Tier 2
Tier 3 $27,054–$90,177.99 $1,734.65 plus 5% of Gross Service Sales in Tier 3
Tier 4 $90,178 and above $4,890.85 plus 4% of Gross Service Sales in Tier 4

The dollar bands in the Royalties Scale increase annually on May 1 by the Consumer Price Index or 3%, whichever is greater. A Conversion Franchise may receive a negotiated royalty phase-in for existing accounts under its Conversion Ramp-Up Amendment.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, Notes 3–4, pp. 38–39.
Conversion format

Does a Conversion Franchise have a different cost contract?

The 2026 FDD does not publish a separate Item 7 total for a Conversion Franchise. Instead, it applies the same $111,800 to $187,500 range while allowing conversion-specific adjustments through the Conversion Ramp-Up Amendment. Existing assets can reduce actual cash outlays, but the buyer must verify which equipment, vehicles, products, insurance, technology, and office arrangements will be accepted.

Conversion cost levers
Initial Franchise FeeA qualifying Conversion Franchise is eligible for a 15% Initial Franchise Fee discount. Only one Item 5 discount may be used.
Equipment and vehicle reuseExisting equipment, supplies, and trucks may be used if they satisfy current standards; non-approved Goods are replaced immediately or through attrition as specified.
Royalty phase-inThe franchisor may phase Royalties into an increasing percentage of total Gross Service Sales and agree on treatment of existing accounts.
Source: ServiceMaster Clean 2026 FDD, Items 5–8, pp. 27, 38–45; Conversion Ramp-Up Amendment referenced in Item 1.

Other Initial Franchise Fee discounts are 20% for an honorably discharged U.S. Armed Forces veteran and 15% for a qualifying affiliate. A discount affects the Initial Franchise Fee only, not the vehicle, equipment, insurance, technology, professional-fee, or Additional Funds categories. The 20% military incentive is also described in the official ServiceMaster Brands veteran incentive article.

Qualifications and financing

Does the FDD state a liquid-capital or net-worth requirement?

No numeric Liquid Capital, Net Worth, or Non-Borrowed Funds threshold is stated in the 2026 ServiceMaster Clean FDD. A directory figure should therefore not be treated as an FDD requirement. The buyer must ask the franchisor for its current underwriting criteria and keep those criteria separate from the Item 7 Estimated Initial Investment.

Estimated Initial Investment
$111,800 to $187,500 under Item 7. This is the disclosed start-up cost range.
Liquid Capital
No numeric threshold is disclosed in the 2026 FDD. It would mean readily available funds, not total assets.
Net Worth
No numeric threshold is disclosed in the 2026 FDD. Net worth is not the same as cash available to invest.
Personal Guaranty
If the franchisee is an entity, owners holding 10% or more directly or indirectly must sign the Personal Guaranty and be personally bound by the Franchise Agreement.
Financing
The franchisor and affiliates do not offer direct or indirect financing and do not guarantee a note, lease, or other obligation.

Item 10 says ServiceMaster Clean/Restore SPE LLC has relationships with certain banks and third-party lenders and may provide referrals, but it has no arrangements with those lenders and receives no benefit if a franchisee obtains financing. A referral is not approval and does not reduce the contractual cost obligation.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 10, p. 50; Item 15, p. 66.
Event-triggered costs

Which fees apply only when a specific event occurs?

Item 6 contains a substantial contingent-fee schedule. These charges do not all apply to every franchisee, but they matter when comparing the cost of renewal, transfer, optional programs, supplier deviations, late reporting, audits, defaults, or termination.

Optional Programs and National Accounts

National Accounts fees may retain up to 10% of customer payments. Optional Program Participation Fees may reach $10,000 per year per program; referral fees are currently 5% of the invoiced amount, with a disclosed cap of $375 per job or 10%; service fees may reach 150% of related costs and expenses.

Supplier or product deviation

Product or Equipment Evaluation Testing Fees are $500 per non-equipment product or $1,000 per equipment product, plus a possible $500 travel-review fee and actual travel and living expenses.

Renewal

The Renewal Fee is 6% of the franchise fee charged to new franchisees at the time of renewal. Renewal can also require refurbishment or replacement of signage, vehicle wraps, uniforms, equipment, vehicles, branded items, and offices, plus training and certifications.

Transfer or ownership change

The standard Transfer Fee is 10% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee, plus costs and expenses; a 25% application payment is credited to the Transfer Fee. AOS Training for a transferee is separate and currently $5,000 per person, subject to the disclosed $8,110 cap. A $10,000 Lead Fee can apply when a franchisor-referred qualified buyer closes within 18 months. Current Change Fees are $500 per change or $1,500 per Franchise Agreement consolidated.

Late payment, reporting, or audit

Interest is 2% per month compounded daily or the legal maximum, whichever is less. Late reports and materials carry $200 weekly fees for the first four weeks and $500 weekly thereafter. If an audit finds at least a 1% monthly understatement, the franchisee pays the audit cost, underpayment, interest, late fees, and the lesser of $5,000 or the underpayment.

Inspection, insurance, and operational intervention

A follow-up Inspection Fee is $500 per representative per day plus expenses. Insurance procurement may cost up to 150% of the franchisor’s and affiliates’ costs. A Customer Complaint Management Fee is currently $500 plus costs, with the fixed portion capped at $750. Performance After Default may cost up to 120% of the costs incurred.

Non-compliance, enforcement, and termination

The current Non-Compliance Fee is $1,000 per violation per day and may rise to $2,000. Enforcement Expenses, Tax Reimbursement Fees, Indemnification, and Appraiser’s Fees vary. Liquidated Damages equal the average monthly Royalties and Ad Fund Contributions over the applicable operating period multiplied by the lesser of the remaining term or 24 months.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 32–40; Item 17, pp. 67–71.
Payment timing

An untimely renewal can add 2.5% of Gross Service Sales to the royalty rate after the stated 60-day period until renewal is completed or the Franchise Agreement ends. The ordinary Renewal Fee therefore is not the only possible renewal-related cost.

Buyer verification

What should a buyer verify before treating the FDD range as a budget?

The published range is the correct official starting point, but several material obligations remain market-dependent or approval-dependent. The buyer should reconcile the current disclosure, the proposed Territory, the Conversion Ramp-Up Amendment when applicable, and written vendor quotes before deciding how much cash must be available.

Confirm the exact offer format.

Determine whether the transaction is a new Clean Franchise, Conversion Franchise, transfer, renewal, or additional territory purchase. The same headline range does not erase different fees and credits.

Request vehicle and equipment approvals in writing.

Verify the truck financing assumption, wrap quote, approved equipment list, and whether existing conversion assets can remain in service.

Price the Territory office rule.

Confirm how many approved office locations are needed to satisfy the drive-time requirement and whether home-based operation is acceptable for the proposed Territory.

Separate Item 7 capital from personal reserves.

The disclosed operating reserve covers specified business expenses for three months and assume three employees; owner compensation and personal living expenses are not expressly included.

Obtain the current technology and supplier schedule.

Confirm Management Software, business intelligence software, accounting software, Digital Platform Fee, designated vendors, insurance, and any Optional Program requirements.

Recheck the disclosure before signing.

The FTC Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise explains the 14-day disclosure period and the roles of Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 11, and 17. State regulators can be located through the NASAA franchise regulator directory.

Official documents and tools

These public destinations provide official brand, training, regulatory, and franchise-development context; none is presented as a public copy of the 2026 disclosure.

ServiceMaster Clean franchise opportunity

Official U.S. franchise-development destination linked by ServiceMaster Brands.

ServiceMaster Brands franchising overview

Official page identifying ServiceMaster Clean within the U.S. franchise portfolio.

ServiceMaster Clean training and network information

Official description of initial training and continuing learning opportunities.

Official U.S. ServiceMaster Clean website

Brand and service-format information for the commercial cleaning network.

Final read

What is the practical capital takeaway?

The verified opening range is $111,800 to $187,500. For a new first unit, $44,750 is due at signing, while the remaining cash need develops through asset purchases, vendor deposits, travel, insurance, staffing, and the early operating period. The widest disclosed variables are the equipment package and the three-month reserve; the vehicle allowance also needs special attention because it assumes financing. The document gives no numeric liquidity or net-worth threshold. After opening, percentage charges, contractual minimums, advertising obligations, software charges, required learning events, and event-triggered amounts must be modeled separately from the start-up range.