The base analytical scenario is about $27,600 per year. This is not an official Nutrishop profit figure: the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document reports product purchases from an affiliate, not store sales, operating profit, owner compensation, or take-home pay.
This range is an independent analytical scenario, not an Item 19 financial performance representation by Nutrishop, Inc. It combines identified 2026 FDD facts with U.S. Census Bureau retail benchmarks and explicit supplier-mix and margin assumptions. Actual results can differ materially because of location, store format, sales volume, product mix, labor, occupancy, financing, owner involvement, and execution.
- Legal franchisor
- Nutrishop, Inc., a Nevada corporation
- Current disclosure
- 2026 Nutrishop Franchise Disclosure Document, issued March 13, 2026
- Item 19 status
- Affiliate product-purchase data only; no Gross Sales, net income, operating profit, EBITDA, cash flow, or Owner Compensation disclosure
- Applicable population
- Standard franchised Nutrishop Stores that are not Pro-Shops; Pro-Shop results are kept separate
- External benchmark
- 2022 U.S. Census Bureau Annual Retail Trade Survey data for the broad Health and Personal Care Stores category
- Date checked
- July 13, 2026
The FDD is current and the purchase figures are same-brand evidence, but the earnings result depends materially on a broad industry benchmark and on assumptions about purchases from suppliers outside Nutrishop's affiliate network.
What does Nutrishop's 2026 Item 19 actually report?
Item 19 officially reports annual purchases of Goods from NS Distribution, not revenue or earnings. For 80 franchised Nutrishop Stores that were not Pro-Shops, the 2025 median affiliate-purchase amount was $150,554.52, the average was $170,390.24, the low was $19,564.62, and the high was $554,469.04. Thirty stores, or 37.5% of the stated table population, attained or exceeded the average. Source: 2026 Nutrishop FDD, Item 19, pages 48–49.
The disclosure says franchisees may also buy products from other approved suppliers and that the affiliate-versus-outside-supplier mix varies by store. It also states that the data were drawn from affiliate internal records, were not audited or independently verified, and do not include all expenses required to determine net income or profit.
A $150,554.52 median purchase figure is a merchandise-cost input. It is not Average Unit Volume, Gross Sales, Gross Profit, operating profit, owner salary, distributions, or personal take-home pay.
Median affiliate purchases
2025 NS Distribution purchases for the standard-store table, rounded to the nearest dollar.
Standard stores in Table 1
The stated reporting population used for the non-Pro-Shop purchase statistics.
Annualized minimum purchases
The standard-store minimum of $7,000 per month multiplied by 12 months.
Broad retail gross margin
2022 Census benchmark for Health and Personal Care Stores, not a Nutrishop result.
Operating-surplus proxy
32.8% gross margin less a 22.96% operating-expense ratio from the same broad category.
Standard Nutrishop Stores that are not Pro-Shops; amounts are purchases from NS Distribution only.
Interpretation: The wide low-to-high spread signals substantial store variation, but it cannot be converted directly into a sales or profit distribution.
Source: 2026 Nutrishop FDD, Item 19, pages 48–49. The high, average, median, and low are purchase observations, not scenario probabilities.
The FDD separates Pro-Shops. Their 2025 median affiliate purchases were $79,427.89 across 13 franchised Pro-Shops. Because the format, footprint, purchasing requirement, and operating model differ, the Pro-Shop population is not blended into this standard-store earnings estimate.
How is the annual owner-earnings range estimated?
The estimate converts the FDD's median affiliate purchases into a sales proxy, then applies a broad retail operating-margin proxy. Every earnings result is estimated for one manager-run standard store, before financing principal and personal income taxes.
Estimated total merchandise purchases = $150,554.52 ÷ assumed NS Distribution share
Estimated revenue = estimated total merchandise purchases ÷ 67.2% merchandise-cost ratio
Estimated pre-tax owner earnings = estimated revenue × scenario operating margin
The 67.2% merchandise-cost ratio is the complement of the Census Bureau's 32.8% gross-margin benchmark. The base 9.84% operating-surplus proxy equals 32.8% gross margin minus 22.96% operating expenses as a share of sales.
The 2022 Annual Retail Trade Survey restated tables report the gross-margin and operating-expense series used here. For the broad Health and Personal Care Stores category, the model uses $397.019 billion of sales and $91.143 billion of operating expenses, producing a 22.96% expense ratio. The Census detailed operating-expense tables provide the corresponding expense framework.
- Supplier-share assumption: NS Distribution represents 90% of merchandise purchases in the Conservative scenario, 80% in Base, and 70% in Upside. The FDD confirms outside suppliers are permitted but does not disclose these shares.
- Margin sensitivity: The 9.84% broad-industry proxy is reduced or increased by 3 percentage points, producing 6.84%, 9.84%, and 12.84% scenario margins.
- Manager-run treatment: The Census operating-expense proxy is treated as including ordinary payroll, occupancy, depreciation, and other operating expenses for an employer retail business.
- Fee treatment: Nutrishop-specific administration and hosting charges are not subtracted again because the benchmark is an all-in operating-expense proxy; a separate deduction could double-count operating costs.
- Excluded from owner earnings: personal income taxes, financing principal, acquisition price, startup investment, and owner distributions from retained prior-year cash are outside the calculation.
| Scenario | Estimated revenue | Operating margin | Estimated pre-tax owner earnings |
|---|---|---|---|
| Conservative | $248,900 | 6.84% | $17,000 |
| Base | $280,000 | 9.84% | $27,600 |
| Upside | $320,100 | 12.84% | $41,100 |
Calculations use full-precision inputs and are rounded for publication. Scenario labels are analytical cases, not probabilities or franchisor projections.
Manager-run standard store; annual amount before financing principal and personal income taxes.
Interpretation: Supplier mix and operating margin move the estimate more than the absence of a royalty alone; a modest margin change creates a large percentage change in residual owner earnings.
Source: independent calculation using 2026 Nutrishop FDD Item 19 median affiliate purchases and 2022 U.S. Census Bureau ARTS benchmarks. Rounded to the nearest $100.
How does owner involvement change the result?
An owner who personally serves as the Designated Manager may retain cash that a manager-run store would otherwise spend on management labor. That incremental amount is an estimated owner-operator benefit, not pure business profit, because it compensates the owner for day-to-day work.
Item 15 requires a Managing Owner to oversee and supervise the store and requires a trained general manager, who may be the owner or Managing Owner. The official U.S. Nutrishop franchise website also describes the opportunity as active and hands-on rather than passive. Source: 2026 Nutrishop FDD, Item 15, pages 35–36.
- Manager-run pre-tax owner earnings
- Residual operating cash after normal unit-level operating expenses, including ordinary manager compensation in the benchmark, but before personal income taxes and financing principal.
- Owner-operator benefit
- Manager-run pre-tax owner earnings plus the supported market value of manager labor the owner actually replaces, adjusted for any replacement staffing, payroll burden, and owner compensation booked by the business.
- Passive income
- Not supported by the FDD or the official franchise-site description. Oversight, staffing, customer service, inventory control, and local execution remain operating responsibilities.
This article does not add a single national manager-salary figure to the earnings range because local retail-management compensation and required coverage vary materially. A buyer should price the actual Designated Manager role using the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics tables, local job postings, payroll taxes, benefits, and the store's operating hours.
Which Nutrishop requirements can move owner earnings most?
Product purchasing, labor, occupancy, and local sales conversion are the largest practical earnings drivers. The official Nutrishop franchise site states that the model has no royalties and no ongoing marketing fees, but that does not eliminate merchandise, payroll, rent, administration, technology, insurance, and other store-level costs.
For a standard store, Item 6 requires at least $7,000 of Goods per month from NS Distribution, equivalent to $84,000 annually. The monthly administration fee can range from $0 to $600 depending on prior-month purchases, and an optional franchise website has a $280 annual hosting fee. These obligations affect cash flow, but the all-in Census margin proxy already includes broad operating expenses, so the scenario does not subtract them a second time. Source: 2026 Nutrishop FDD, Item 6, pages 9–11.
The 2026 FDD estimates $149,000 to $255,950 to establish a new standard store. That Item 7 investment is not subtracted from one year of revenue. Financing interest and principal should be modeled separately from operating earnings.
What is the largest unresolved uncertainty in the estimate?
The largest uncertainty is the missing link between affiliate purchases, total merchandise purchases, and actual store sales. Item 19 does not disclose what percentage of each store's purchases came from NS Distribution, retail pricing, discounts, shrink, inventory changes, Gross Sales, labor, rent, or store-level profit.
The Census benchmark is also broad. It represents employer Health and Personal Care Stores, including business models such as pharmacies that are not directly comparable with a Nutrishop supplement retailer. The 2022 NAICS definition for Food (Health) Supplement Retailers is more specific, but the published ARTS margin and expense tables used here are available at the broader category level.
- Sample exclusions: Item 19 lists newly opened and closed outlets among excluded populations, which can make the disclosed cohort less representative of a new buyer's full risk.
- Population wording: The narrative and table counts do not fully reconcile on their face. This analysis uses the explicitly stated Table 1 denominator of 80 and does not invent a corrected count.
- Average versus median: Only 37.5% of Table 1 stores attained or exceeded the average purchase amount, showing why the average should not be treated as a typical result.
- System movement: Item 20 reports 100 franchised businesses at year-end 2025, down three during the year, and 11 transfers. Those figures do not establish profitability but should inform franchisee interviews.
- Debt sensitivity: The range is before financing principal and does not assume a common financed amount, rate, or term.
- Taxes: No after-tax take-home estimate is presented because entity structure, state, deductions, and owner circumstances differ.
What should a buyer verify before relying on this range?
A buyer should reconstruct actual store economics from written substantiation and franchisee records rather than treating the scenario as a forecast. The most important questions concern revenue, product cost, supplier mix, manager payroll, occupancy, and the performance of outlets that opened, transferred, or closed.
- Request Item 19 written substantiation and ask how NS Distribution purchase data were matched to the 80-store standard-store cohort.
- Ask current franchisees for annual Gross Sales, total purchases from all suppliers, inventory changes, gross margin, payroll, rent, other occupancy costs, and store-level operating profit.
- Separate owner salary, owner draw, distributions, retained earnings, and unpaid owner labor when reviewing financial statements.
- Compare owner-operated stores with manager-run stores of similar age, size, market, and sales volume.
- Interview franchisees whose stores opened, transferred, relocated, or closed, not only operators included in the Item 19 table.
- Model financing interest and principal separately using the buyer's actual loan amount and terms.
The FTC Franchise Rule Compliance Guide explains the framework for financial performance representations. Nutrishop's consumer-facing product and location information is available on the official Nutrishop retail website.
What is the most defensible earnings conclusion?
The strongest defensible range is approximately $17,000 to $41,100 in annual manager-run pre-tax owner earnings for one standard Nutrishop Store, with a $27,600 base scenario. It is a limited-confidence, FDD-anchored estimate—not an official Item 19 earnings result. The most important driver is the combination of actual sales volume and operating margin; the largest unresolved uncertainty is how affiliate purchases relate to total product cost and store revenue.
An active owner who replaces the Designated Manager may realize additional owner-operator benefit equal to the supported value of labor actually performed, but that amount should not be described as passive profit. Before making a decision, verify Item 19 substantiation, complete unit-level profit-and-loss statements, manager compensation, supplier mix, occupancy, debt service, and the experience of current, transferred, and former franchisees.
Publication definition: estimated pre-tax owner earnings means cash available after normal unit-level operating expenses and disclosed recurring franchise obligations, but before personal income taxes and financing principal. The broad operating benchmark includes depreciation and amortization and excludes interest expense and income taxes; capital expenditures are not separately modeled.