This is an independent single-unit owner-operator benefit range, not an official earnings claim. The middle-third base scenario is about $15,200. It uses the 2026 FDD’s 2025 single-unit “Gross Profit” medians, an official IRS sole-proprietor expense benchmark, and the FDD’s royalty, local-advertising minimum, and monthly service fee.
- Legal franchisor
- Murphy Business & Financial Corporation LLC, a Delaware limited liability company; also identified on the brand’s official website legal notice.
- Current disclosure
- 2026 U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document, issued April 14, 2026.
- Item 19 status
- Official 2025 “Gross Profit” disclosure for eligible franchised units; no operating profit, net income, owner compensation, or cash flow is reported.
- Applicable population
- 123 of 133 franchised units operating for the full 2025 calendar year; the owner-earnings model uses only the 93-unit single-unit table.
- External benchmark
- IRS 2023 Schedule C data for offices of real estate agents, brokers, property managers, and appraisers; classification context from U.S. Census NAICS 531210.
- Date checked
- July 21, 2026. No matching public FDD was verified on a franchise-controlled domain, so FDD citations below are unlinked by year, Item, and page.
What does Murphy Business Item 19 actually measure?
The official measure is “Gross Profit,” defined as all revenue and receipts derived from the Murphy Business operation less the 10% royalty. It is not gross margin in the conventional accounting sense, and it is not owner earnings because marketing, service fees, agents, insurance, technology, travel, professional services, occupancy, debt costs, and other operating expenses remain.
The 2026 FDD reports 2025 results for 123 franchised units that operated for the full year. Ten units were excluded for not operating all 12 months, including three new units. Multi-unit owners submitted consolidated reports, so their figures are per franchisee portfolio rather than per outlet. The cleaner owner-income anchor is therefore the separate 93-unit single-unit table. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 19, pages 43–45; Item 20, pages 45–50.
2025 total cohort median; royalty already removed, other expenses not removed.
The average is more than twice the median, showing substantial positive skew.
123 of 133 franchised units were included in the full-year Item 19 population.
Charged on Gross Revenues; already deducted in the Item 19 Gross Profit measure.
The required spend is the greater of $7,500 or 5% of Gross Revenues.
May 2025 national mean wage for general and operations managers; payroll burden excluded.
| 2025 single-unit cohort | Units | Average Gross Profit | Median Gross Profit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Top third | 31 | $457,797 | $387,531 |
| Middle third | 31 | $90,956 | $87,300 |
| Bottom third | 31 | $6,319 | $1,350 |
| All single-unit offices | 93 | $185,024 | $87,300 |
The $185,024 average should not be read as a typical owner salary. The $87,300 median is lower and therefore less distorted by large results, yet even that figure is only post-royalty revenue. The FTC’s franchise-buying guidance specifically warns that gross sales figures do not reveal actual costs or profit.
What owner-operator earnings do the three scenarios produce?
The independent scenarios produce approximately −$11,800, $15,200, and $108,100 of annual owner-operator benefit. They are based on the bottom-, middle-, and top-third single-unit median Gross Profit figures, not probabilities or forecasts.
How is the estimate calculated?
The model first reconstructs Gross Revenues by dividing the FDD’s Gross Profit by 90%, because Item 19 has already removed the 10% royalty. It then applies an IRS-derived operating margin before advertising, subtracts the 10% continuing franchise fee, applies the FDD local-advertising minimum, and subtracts the $390 monthly service fee for the first broker or agent.
- Revenue anchor: FDD single-unit median Gross Profit of $1,350, $87,300, and $387,531 for the bottom, middle, and top thirds.
- Industry expense anchor: IRS 2023 Table 2 business receipts and deductions for offices of real estate agents, brokers, property managers, and appraisers. Removing the IRS advertising line produces a 38.19% margin before advertising; the scenarios use 35.19%, 38.19%, and 41.19% as an explicit ±3 percentage-point sensitivity.
- Murphy-specific obligations: 10% royalty, annual local marketing equal to the greater of $7,500 or 5% of Gross Revenues, and $4,680 annualized first-person service fees. The $595 educational conference fee is not annualized because Item 6 does not state its frequency.
- Definition: owner-operator benefit is pre-tax cash benefit after modeled operating costs and recurring franchise obligations, before personal income taxes and financing principal. It includes compensation for the owner’s labor.
| Scenario | Implied Gross Revenues | Required local marketing | Owner-operator benefit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Conservative — bottom-third median | $1,500 | $7,500 | −$11,800 |
| Base — middle-third median | $97,000 | $7,500 | $15,200 |
| Upside — top-third median | $430,590 | $21,530 | $108,100 |
Annual pre-tax owner-operator benefit by FDD performance third and benchmark-margin sensitivity.
Interpretation: The official FDD distribution, not small margin changes, creates most of the range. The middle-third median supports only a modest modeled owner benefit after the minimum marketing spend.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 19, pages 43–45; Item 6, pages 14–19; Item 11, pages 27–29; IRS Nonfarm Sole Proprietorship Statistics, 2023 Table 2. Calculations rounded to the nearest $100.
How does active ownership change the economics?
Active ownership is economically material because the owner-operator figures include the value of the owner’s work. Item 15 requires the owner or another approved principal or employee to participate actively unless the franchisor approves an on-site general manager, so manager-run operation is neither automatic nor equivalent to passive income.
For a wage-only sensitivity, subtracting the May 2025 BLS national mean wage of $134,940 for general and operations managers produces modeled manager-run residuals of approximately −$146,700, −$119,800, and −$26,900. These figures exclude payroll taxes and benefits, so they are not a full loaded-manager cost.
The manager-run sensitivity subtracts one national general-manager wage from each owner-operator scenario.
Interpretation: Under this national wage sensitivity, none of the three scenarios supports a fully paid general manager. A lower local wage, part-time structure, owner oversight, or materially stronger Gross Profit would change the result.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 15, pages 38–39; scenario calculations above; BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025. Payroll taxes, benefits, recruiting cost, and training cost are excluded.
Item 19 also reports average Gross Profit of $400,485 for 27 franchisees with agents and $111,593 for 84 franchisees without agents. This is an association, not proof that adding agents causes higher owner earnings: the FDD does not disclose cohort age, agent commissions, owner hours, operating expenses, or net income. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 19, page 44.
What is included, excluded, and still uncertain?
The published range is a pre-tax planning estimate, not take-home pay. It separates the FDD’s post-royalty revenue measure from business expenses, owner labor, manager compensation, debt service, capital spending, and personal taxes.
- FDD “Gross Profit”
- All operating revenue and receipts less the 10% continuing franchise fee. It does not remove normal business overhead.
- Estimated owner-operator benefit
- Residual business cash benefit after modeled operating expenses and recurring obligations, before personal tax and debt principal; includes the value of owner labor.
- Interest and depreciation
- Represented indirectly through the aggregate IRS deduction profile, not through Murphy-specific balances or asset schedules.
- Capital expenditures
- Not deducted as current cash outlays. The model only captures industry depreciation, so equipment replacement and technology upgrades can reduce cash available.
- Debt service
- Financing principal is excluded. Item 10 states that the franchisor and affiliates do not offer direct or indirect financing, so no standard loan structure is assumed.
- Personal income taxes
- Excluded. Entity type, state, deductions, filing status, and owner circumstances determine after-tax outcomes.
The IRS proxy is broader than Murphy Business. It covers real estate agents, brokers, property managers, and appraisers, while Murphy offices focus on business brokerage, valuations, advisory work, and related transactions. The IRS dataset is authoritative but does not isolate Murphy’s transaction mix, agent commission structure, franchise fees, or office maturity.
What should a prospective owner verify before relying on the range?
A buyer should verify the expense bridge directly with the franchisor’s written Item 19 substantiation and with comparable current franchisees. The official disclosure supports the Gross Profit distribution, but not the article’s estimated net owner benefit.
- Request Item 19 written substantiation and confirm how closing submissions were compiled, how zero-revenue offices were treated, and whether any late or incomplete reports were omitted.
- Interview single-unit franchisees in the same performance third, market size, and operating age; ask for Gross Revenues, royalty, local advertising, agent splits, technology, insurance, travel, professional fees, and owner hours.
- Ask why the single-unit average Gross Profit is $185,024 while the median is $87,300, and identify the operational traits of offices above and below the median.
- Confirm whether the $7,500-or-5% local marketing minimum is fully incremental to the Quick Start Marketing Program and what spending categories qualify.
- For any manager-run plan, obtain written approval requirements under Item 15 and price a local fully loaded manager cost rather than relying on the national wage-only sensitivity.
- Do not divide the multi-unit owner average by unit count or multiply a single-unit result across territories without unit maturity, shared overhead, agent structure, and development timing.
What is the strongest defensible earnings takeaway?
The strongest defensible single-unit planning range is approximately −$12,000 to $108,000 in annual owner-operator benefit, with a middle-third scenario near $15,200. It is scenario-based, not reported by the franchisor as owner income.
The largest earnings driver is the office’s position in the official Gross Profit distribution; the most important unresolved uncertainty is the Murphy-specific operating-expense structure behind that post-royalty figure. Active ownership matters because the modeled benefit includes owner labor, while a national general-manager wage eliminates the residual in all three scenarios. A buyer should reconcile Item 19 substantiation to actual franchisee income statements before treating any point in the range as applicable to a proposed territory.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to Murphy Business & Financial Corporation Franchise?
- How Does Murphy Business & Financial Corporation Franchise Work?
- How to Start a Murphy Business & Financial Corporation Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist
- How Does Murphy Business & Financial Corporation Franchise Work?
- What are the Pros and Cons of Owning a Murphy Business & Financial Corporation Franchise?