How much does a Murphy Business franchise cost?
The 2026 Murphy Business & Financial Corporation Franchise Disclosure Document estimates a total initial investment of $65,870 to $88,110 for one Location Franchise. The current offer is designed around a home-based professional office, although a franchisee may choose commercial office space. Because rent and leasehold improvements are not estimated, a commercial-office decision can push the buyer's actual capital need beyond the disclosed Item 7 range.
Estimated Initial Investment for a Location Franchise in the 2026 FDD. The range includes the $47,500 Franchise Fee, the $16,500 Quick Start Marketing Program Fee, selected pre-opening expenses, three months of specified service costs, and $120 to $2,500 of Additional Funds. It does not estimate rent or leasehold improvements. 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 19–21.
- Legal franchisor
- Murphy Business & Financial Corporation LLC
- Disclosure basis
- 2026 U.S. FDD, issued April 14, 2026; principally Items 5, 6, and 7, with cost-relevant provisions from Items 8, 10, 11, and 17.
- Applicable format
- Location Franchise. The FDD says new Regional Developer Franchises are not currently offered.
- Public verification
- The official franchise investment page identifies the $47,500 Franchise Fee, while the Wisconsin active franchise filings list identifies Murphy Business & Financial Corporation LLC as an active filing.
- Information checked
- July 21, 2026
Which numbers matter most at the start?
The largest fixed payments are the Franchise Fee and QSMP Fee. The disclosure also separates the amount payable to the franchisor or affiliates, transaction-based Continuing Franchise Fees, staffing-based Monthly Service Fees, and the required local marketing expenditure.
What makes up the $64,000 due at signing?
The two fixed Item 5 payments are additive: $47,500 plus $16,500 equals $64,000. This total is a derived calculation, not a separate franchisor estimate.
Source: Derived calculation from fixed payments disclosed in the 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 12–14. Percentages are rounded to one decimal place and reconcile to 100.0%.
What is included in the $65,870 to $88,110 range?
The disclosed total combines fixed payments to Murphy Business & Financial Corporation LLC with variable third-party costs. For the current offer, the most important distinction is that the home-based model keeps several office categories at zero, while a buyer who selects commercial premises may incur costs the table does not estimate.
Payments to sign the agreement and establish the office
The Franchise Fee and QSMP Fee are due in lump sums when the agreement is signed. Other setup costs are generally paid before opening or as incurred, depending on whether the franchisee already owns suitable equipment and whether commercial premises are selected.
| Cost entity | 2026 amount | Payment timing or basis |
|---|---|---|
| Franchise Fee | $47,500 | Lump sum when the agreement is signed |
| Quick Start Marketing Program Fee | $16,500 | Lump sum when the agreement is signed |
| Security Deposits | $0–$1,500 | Before opening; commercial office only |
| Signage | $0–$1,100 | Before opening; only when premises and local rules require it |
| Office Equipment | $0–$2,000 | Before opening; may be zero when suitable items are already owned |
| Computer, software, supplies and installation | $100–$4,000 | Before opening; paid to third parties |
| Service fees included in opening estimate | $1,200–$1,710 | As incurred during the initial period |
Table source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 19–21.
Licensing, insurance, training and first-three-month costs
The remaining estimated categories cover professional setup, required insurance, travel and living expenses for initial training, telecommunications, and the narrowly defined Additional Funds amount.
| Cost entity | 2026 amount | What the estimate covers |
|---|---|---|
| Business Licenses and Permits | $100–$500 | Governmental requirements before opening |
| Professional Fees | $100–$2,500 | Third-party professional services before opening |
| Insurance | $150–$2,500 | Required coverage, including Errors and Omissions obligations |
| Initial Training Expenses | $100–$5,300 | Travel and living expenses for two people; wages and salaries excluded |
| Telecommunications Services | $0–$500 | Deposits and service charges; may be zero with an existing line |
| Additional Funds (3 months) | $120–$2,500 | Internet services during the first three months |
| Rent and Leasehold Improvements | Not estimated | Only applicable if commercial office space is selected |
Table source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 19–21 and explanatory notes.
Which variable opening categories have the widest disclosed ranges?
The bars use a common $0 to $5,300 scale. They show official low and high bounds, not averages or expected spending.
Interpretation: Training travel has the broadest estimated range, while several office-related categories may be zero for a home-based setup. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 19–21.
Rent and Leasehold Improvements are not estimated. The disclosure says commercial space is optional and describes 500 to 1,000 square feet as a possible office size, but local rent, credit, lease terms, and build-out needs vary. Owner or manager wages during training are also excluded. The disclosed Additional Funds amount is not a broad working-capital reserve; the table identifies it as internet-service funding for the first three months.
Home-based operation is the central cost variable
The offered unit is expected to start from a home-based office. Choosing a commercial office changes which cost entities apply and introduces two categories that the official total does not quantify.
When is the money paid?
The most concentrated cash event occurs at signing, when the $47,500 Franchise Fee and $16,500 QSMP Fee are due. The remaining opening expenditures occur before opening, as incurred, or during the first three months, while recurring fees begin according to the contract rather than waiting for the business to become established.
- At signing
Pay the $47,500 Franchise Fee and $16,500 QSMP Fee. Both are described as fully earned and non-refundable upon payment. An eligible honorably discharged U.S. veteran may qualify for a $5,000 reduction to the Initial Franchise Fee for a single unit if eligibility is disclosed before signing. 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 12–14.
- Beginning the first full month after signing
The Monthly Service Fee becomes due on the first day of each month. Item 5 says up to three months may be payable before opening. 2026 FDD, Items 5–6, pp. 13–15.
- Before opening and during training
Pay applicable licenses, professional fees, insurance, equipment, technology, telecommunications, optional office costs, and travel and living expenses for initial training. The online and classroom instruction for two people is included in the Franchise Fee, but travel and living expenses are not. 2026 FDD, Items 7 and 11, pp. 19–21 and 25–33.
- During the first three months
Fund the $120 to $2,500 internet-services allowance and pay the service charges included in the opening table. The disclosure anticipates opening one to three months after signing and assumes two months for its estimate. 2026 FDD, Items 7 and 11, pp. 20–21 and 25–26.
- After opening and as transactions close
Pay the Continuing Franchise Fee within five business days after transaction funds clear, continue Monthly Service Fees on the first of each month, and satisfy the annual local marketing requirement. 2026 FDD, Items 6 and 11, pp. 14–18 and 27–29.
The current disclosure contains two different service-fee schedules for the initial period. The initial-fee section lists three months at $1,170 to $1,650 using $390 for the first broker or agent and $160 for an additional broker or agent. The opening-cost table lists $1,200 to $1,710 and uses $400 and $170. The cover and that table also state $65,200 to $65,710 is payable to the franchisor or affiliates, while the initial-fee table totals $65,170 to $65,650. Preserve the official total of $65,870 to $88,110, but obtain written confirmation of the applicable service schedule before signing.
Which fees continue after opening?
The primary continuing obligation is a 10% Continuing Franchise Fee on Gross Revenues. The Monthly Service Fee continues by staffing level, and a Location Franchise must spend the greater of $7,500 or 5% of Gross Revenues annually on local advertising, promotion, and marketing. These obligations use different payment bases and should not be combined into one percentage.
| Continuing cost | Amount or basis | When paid or incurred |
|---|---|---|
| Continuing Franchise Fee | 10% of Gross Revenues | Within five business days after funds clear for each transaction |
| Monthly Service Fee | $390 first broker/agent; $160 each additional; $50 each assistant | First day of each month, beginning first full month after signing |
| Local advertising, promotion and marketing | Greater of $7,500 or 5% of Gross Revenues annually | Ongoing annual expenditure |
| Errors and Omissions insurance allocation | Current rate; amount not stated in FDD | Monthly on the first day if coverage is maintained through the franchisor |
| Technology protection and maintenance | $45–$200 per computer yearly; $0–$5,000 yearly for maintenance, upgrades or support | As required or elected; no contractual limit on upgrade frequency or cost |
| Educational Conference Fee | Currently $595 | On demand, whether or not the franchisee attends |
Table source: 2026 FDD, Items 6 and 11, pp. 14–18 and 27–32.
How does the 10% fee basis work?
Item 6 defines Gross Revenues broadly as revenue and receipts connected with the Murphy Business, its services, Marks, Copyrights, and System. The definition excludes only specified sales, use, or service taxes paid to the appropriate authority and actual customer refunds, adjustments, credits, and allowances. Operating expenses are not deducted before calculating the Continuing Franchise Fee. A promissory note is generally treated as received when signed, while earn-out or periodic payments are treated as received when paid. 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 17–18.
The annual local marketing obligation is not identified as a payment to a national brand fund. Item 11 states that Murphy Business & Financial Corporation LLC does not currently operate a formal advertising program and does not require a fixed national advertising contribution. The official franchise site provides broader franchise resources, but the binding fee basis should be taken from the current Franchise Agreement and FDD.
Which additional fees depend on events or choices?
Item 6 includes several charges that do not apply routinely but can become material after a late payment, compliance issue, staffing change, transfer, renewal, termination, or special service request. Fixed dollar fees may also be adjusted for changes in the Consumer Price Index under the Franchise Agreement's annual adjustment provision.
The event-triggered fee schedule creates obligations that are not part of the $65,870 to $88,110 opening range. Renewal, transfer, termination, audit, technology replacement, and legal costs should be evaluated as separate contract exposures rather than folded into the Initial Investment.
Does Murphy Business disclose a liquid-capital or net-worth minimum?
The 2026 FDD does not state a numerical Liquid Capital minimum or Net Worth minimum for a Location Franchise. The official franchise investment page refers generally to financial readiness, but it does not publish a specific cash or net-worth threshold. Third-party directory figures should not be treated as franchisor requirements without confirmation in current written franchise materials.
- Estimated Initial Investment
- $65,870 to $88,110 for the currently offered unit. This is the franchisor's disclosed opening-cost range, subject to its assumptions and exclusions.
- Initial Franchise Fee
- $47,500 paid at signing. It is one component of the total investment, not the total capital requirement.
- Liquid Capital
- Cash or assets readily convertible to cash. No numerical minimum is disclosed in the current document.
- Net Worth
- Total assets less liabilities. No numerical buyer minimum is disclosed in the current document, and Net Worth is not the same as cash available to fund opening costs.
- Additional Funds
- $120 to $2,500 included in the official total for internet services during the first three months. It is not automatically extra money above the official total and is not described as owner living expenses or a comprehensive operating reserve.
Is financing available from the franchisor?
No. Item 10 states that Murphy Business & Financial Corporation LLC does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a franchisee's note, lease, or obligation. Any third-party financing remains subject to the lender's credit, collateral, and underwriting requirements. The official steps-to-ownership page can help identify when financial review occurs, but it is not a financing commitment.
What should be confirmed before relying on the official range?
The official range is a starting disclosure, not a substitute for a buyer-specific cash plan. The following checks focus on the unresolved variables in this franchise's cost structure.
- Confirm the Monthly Service Fee in writing. Reconcile the two disclosed schedules and confirm which amount will appear in the signed contract.
- Choose the operating format before setting a capital ceiling. A home office and a commercial office do not have the same deposit, signage, rent, insurance, or Leasehold Improvement obligations.
- Price state and local licensing requirements. Business-broker, real-estate, securities, registration, and permit rules can differ by jurisdiction and are represented by only a $100 to $500 official allowance.
- Obtain insurance quotes using the disclosed coverage requirements. Item 8 specifies Errors and Omissions, general liability, and vehicle coverage standards that can vary materially by carrier and history.
- Separate personal reserves from Additional Funds. The $120 to $2,500 line covers internet services for three months; it does not disclose owner compensation, household expenses, or a broad operating cushion.
- Review technology replacement exposure. Item 11 allows required upgrades and states there is no contractual limit on their frequency or cost.
- Read renewal, transfer, and termination provisions together. Item 17 can require current-standard upgrades, new training, QSMP for a buyer, and continuing payments beyond the opening-cost period.
The Federal Trade Commission explains that a prospective franchisee generally must receive the FDD at least 14 calendar days before signing or paying the franchisor. Its Consumer's Guide to Buying a Franchise and FDD review guidance explain how to compare the disclosure with the final agreements.
What is the practical capital takeaway?
The verified 2026 starting range is $65,870 to $88,110 for one Location Franchise. Of that amount, $64,000 is due at signing for the Initial Franchise Fee and QSMP Fee, and the cover states that $65,200 to $65,710 is payable to the franchisor or affiliates. The principal range drivers are training travel, technology, professional fees, insurance, staffing-based Service Fees, and the decision to use commercial premises.
The official range should not be read as a commercial-office cap or a broad liquidity requirement. Rent and Leasehold Improvements are unestimated, the disclosed Additional Funds line covers internet services only, and no numerical Liquid Capital or Net Worth threshold is stated. After opening, the 10% Continuing Franchise Fee, Monthly Service Fee, local marketing requirement, insurance, technology, and event-triggered fees remain separate obligations.
Official documents and tools
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to Murphy Business & Financial Corporation Franchise?
- How Does Murphy Business & Financial Corporation Franchise Work?
- How to Start a Murphy Business & Financial Corporation Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist
- What are the Pros and Cons of Owning a Murphy Business & Financial Corporation Franchise?
- How Much Does a Murphy Business & Financial Corporation Franchise Owner Make?