Estimated annual owner earnings
This is a limited-confidence estimate of pre-tax owner-operator benefit for one Kona Ice mobile business, not an official earnings claim. The 2026 Kona Ice, Inc. Franchise Disclosure Document makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so the range combines the FDD-defined Kona Entertainment Vehicle model and recurring fees with U.S. government benchmarks. The base scenario is approximately $18,800 per year.
Pre-tax estimate after modeled operating deductions and required fixed FDD fees.
2022 Census revenue per employer establishment in NAICS 722330, not Kona Ice sales.
Broad sole-proprietor restaurant results; the positive-return endpoint excludes loss-making returns.
Years 3–6 royalty plus Brand Fund, technology, KonaOS, email, and monitor software fees.
Item 20 count at year-end 2025; it is system context, not proof of outlet profitability.
What does Kona Ice disclose about owner earnings?
The official answer is that the 2026 FDD does not disclose owner earnings, sales, profit, EBITDA, net income, or cash flow. Item 19 on page 52 states that Kona Ice, Inc. makes no representations about future franchisee performance or past performance of franchised or company-owned outlets. Therefore, no brand-reported average, median, quartile, or percentage-achieving result exists to anchor a direct earnings conclusion.
This is not an FDD-gate failure. The Federal Trade Commission’s franchise guide explains that an Item 19 disclosure is optional, but any franchisor sales or earnings claim generally must appear there and be supported by a reasonable basis. The absence of an Item 19 claim means public revenue estimates, broker statements, search-result snippets, and franchisee anecdotes cannot be presented as official Kona Ice performance.
What does Item 20 add to the analysis?
Item 20 provides system scale and turnover context, not unit economics. Kona Ice reported 1,816 franchised outlets at the start of 2025 and 1,929 at year-end, with 140 openings, 27 outlets ceasing operations for other reasons, and 99 transfers during the year. Four company-owned outlets existed at year-end 2025, but the FDD gives no sales or profit data for them.
Those counts help define the population and identify franchisees for interviews. They do not establish that a typical outlet earns money. The FTC advises buyers to use Item 20 contacts to ask current and former franchisees about revenue, costs, profitability, operating tenure, and reasons for leaving.
How is the $2,000 to $42,000 range calculated?
The range is estimated by applying transparent margin assumptions to a mobile-food-service revenue anchor, then subtracting Kona Ice’s disclosed fixed annual fees. The model is for one primary KEV in contract years 3–6, excludes smoothies and Additional Equipment, and is rounded only after the full-precision calculation.
- Revenue anchor: The 2022 Economic Census reports 10,155 employer establishments and $3.019 billion of revenue for NAICS 722330 Mobile Food Services, or approximately $297,317 per employer establishment.
- Revenue spread: Conservative, Base, and Upside revenue equal 80%, 100%, and 120% of that Census average. This spread is an editorial modeling assumption, not a government distribution and not an FDD result.
- Margin endpoints: The IRS 2023 nonfarm sole-proprietorship study reports broad restaurant and drinking-place receipts and net income. All returns imply a 3.38% net-income-less-deficit margin; returns with net income imply 13.64%. The Base margin of 8.51% is the arithmetic midpoint and is an editorial assumption.
- Fee layer: The IRS businesses are not Kona Ice franchisees, so the model separately deducts Kona-specific fixed obligations disclosed in Item 6. Variable food, labor, fuel, storage, insurance, maintenance, event, and other operating costs are assumed to be reflected imperfectly in the broad IRS margin.
The IRS endpoints are reproducible from 2023 Table 1: all restaurant and drinking-place sole-proprietor returns reported approximately $77.217 billion of business receipts and $2.610 billion of net income less deficit; returns with net income reported approximately $58.742 billion of receipts and $8.013 billion of net income.
| Scenario | Revenue | Margin | Owner-operator benefit |
|---|---|---|---|
|
Conservative 80% Census revenue; IRS all-return margin |
$237,900 | 3.38% | $1,600 |
|
Base 100% Census revenue; midpoint margin |
$297,300 | 8.51% | $18,800 |
|
Upside 120% Census revenue; IRS positive-return margin |
$356,800 | 13.64% | $42,200 |
How do the three owner-operator scenarios compare?
Estimated annual benefit after the modeled years 3–6 fixed fee stack; headline values are not FDD-reported results.
Interpretation: Revenue and margin assumptions compound. The spread is driven much more by sales and operating efficiency than by the fixed royalty schedule. Sources: 2026 Kona Ice, Inc. FDD, Item 6, pp. 7–19; 2022 Economic Census Mobile Food Services table; IRS 2023 Table 1 workbook. Calculations by FranchisesBiz.
What exactly does “owner-operator benefit” include?
It combines residual business income with the economic value of work performed by the owner. The IRS Schedule C proxy does not deduct a sole proprietor’s own wage, so the estimate is not equivalent to passive business profit or a market salary paid in addition to profit.
- Included
- Broad operating deductions reflected in the IRS net-income proxy; the modeled fixed Kona Ice fees; and the owner’s uncompensated labor value embedded in sole-proprietor net income.
- Interest and depreciation
- The IRS net-income measure reflects reported business deductions, which can include interest and depreciation. The model does not reverse those items.
- Excluded
- Personal federal, state, and local income taxes; financing principal payments; owner-specific capital expenditures; optional smoothie and Additional Equipment fees; and any portfolio-level overhead.
- Not a take-home-pay estimate
- Entity structure, tax basis, deductions, jurisdiction, financing, and distributions vary by owner. No after-tax result is estimated.
How does owner involvement change the result?
Active owner operation is central to this model, and a fully manager-run structure is not supported by the benchmark economics. Item 15 requires a Managing Owner with at least 51% ownership and voting power to directly supervise and participate in day-to-day operations. The owner or Managing Owner must be active for at least the first 60 days. A Designated Manager may be allowed later under specified conditions.
The 2023 BLS Special Food Services benchmark reports a $47,820 annual mean wage for first-line food-service supervisors. The 2024 BLS benchmark for food-service managers in food services and drinking places is $63,040. Subtracting either wage from the owner-operator benefit produces negative residual profit in all three scenarios, although the Upside scenario approaches break-even under the lower supervisory proxy. Employer payroll taxes and benefits are not added, so these manager-run results are optimistic.
Owner-operated benefit versus manager-run residual
The manager-run range subtracts $47,820 to $63,040 of annual wage expense from each owner-operator scenario.
Interpretation: The scenario range should be read as compensation for an active owner, not passive distributions. A manager-run model requires substantially higher revenue, a stronger margin, part-year staffing, or a different unit portfolio than the central benchmarks assume. Sources: 2026 Kona Ice, Inc. FDD, Item 15, pp. 47–48; BLS Special Food Services wage estimates; BLS Food Service Managers wage data.
Which Kona Ice fees materially affect annual earnings?
The recurring franchise charge is primarily a fixed-dollar burden rather than a percentage-of-sales royalty. For one primary KEV in years 3–6, the modeled mandatory fixed stack is $6,476 per year. This figure is official FDD data assembled into a compatible annual total; it is not a franchisor-reported profit calculation.
| FDD fee | Years 1–2 | Years 3–6 | Years 7–10 |
|---|---|---|---|
| KEV Royalty | $3,000 | $4,000 | $5,000 |
| Brand Fund contribution | $1,000 | $1,000 | $1,000 |
| Technology Fee | $600 | $600 | $600 |
| KonaOS software | $420 | $420 | $420 |
| Required Kona email | $216 | $216 | $216 |
| Monitor content software | $240 | $240 | $240 |
| Modeled annual total | $5,476 | $6,476 | $7,476 |
The table excludes the recommended Google Voice number, optional KonaOS AI Premium, optional E-Lead service, optional smoothies, Additional Equipment royalties, conference costs, non-compliance charges, payment-service fees, and other contingent amounts. It also excludes variable operating expenses such as branded products, ice, sugar, vehicle fuel and maintenance, insurance, event fees, storage, permits, payment processing, and payroll. Fixed fees may increase under the adjustment provisions described in Item 6.
Why does the fixed royalty structure matter?
A fixed royalty consumes a larger share of revenue when sales are low and a smaller share when sales are high. At the Conservative revenue scenario, the $6,476 modeled fixed stack equals about 2.72% of revenue. At Base revenue it equals 2.18%, and at Upside revenue it equals 1.82%. That operating leverage amplifies weak territories and rewards stronger volume, but it does not eliminate variable-cost risk.
What could move actual earnings outside the range?
The largest uncertainty is whether the government establishment benchmarks resemble a specific Kona Ice territory and vehicle portfolio. Census defines a Mobile Food Services establishment as the central operating location, not each vehicle or cart. A Kona Ice franchise may operate one KEV plus Additional Equipment in a Protected Territory, so the Census denominator is not necessarily equivalent to one KEV or one franchise agreement.
- Territory and bookings: School events, sports leagues, festivals, fundraisers, corporate events, and private parties can produce materially different calendars and average ticket sizes.
- Seasonality and weather: The FDD states that activity is higher in warm months and may be minimal in colder months. A national annual benchmark masks regional climate and weather volatility.
- Unit portfolio: Trailers, kiosks, mini trucks, KEV 2.0 Trucks, smoothies, and other Additional Equipment have different revenue capacity, capital needs, and royalty obligations.
- Cost structure: Food inputs, branded supplies, event commissions, card fees, fuel, repairs, insurance, storage, permits, and local wages can diverge sharply from broad IRS deductions.
- Entity and accounting treatment: IRS sole-proprietorship data do not represent every franchisee entity type and combine owner labor with business net income.
- Debt: Financing principal is outside the estimate. Interest may be embedded imperfectly in the IRS margin, while an individual borrower’s rate, term, down payment, and financed amount can materially change cash available for distributions.
How should the Census and IRS benchmarks be interpreted?
They are structural proxies, not forecasts. The 2022 Economic Census Sector 72 program is closely matched to the mobile format through NAICS 722330, but it covers employer establishments across many concepts and operating models. The IRS margin evidence is broader still: restaurants and drinking places operated as sole proprietorships, not a mobile shaved-ice cohort.
The Conservative margin includes profitable and loss-making returns in aggregate. The Upside margin uses only returns reporting net income, so it has survivorship and selection bias. The Base margin is not reported by the IRS; it is a transparent midpoint used to avoid treating either endpoint as the single expected result.
What should a buyer verify before relying on any earnings estimate?
A buyer should replace every external proxy with territory-specific records and franchisee evidence before making a capital decision. Because Item 19 provides no brand financial performance representation, the most decision-useful evidence will come from written substantiation for any seller statement, records for an existing business if applicable, and consistent interviews with current and former franchisees.
- Ask whether any sales, income, profit, or payback statement has a written basis in Item 19 or qualifies for one of the FTC’s narrow exceptions.
- Request monthly revenue, transaction count, event count, average event revenue, product mix, and weather-cancellation history for a comparable territory.
- Separate one primary KEV from every trailer, kiosk, mini truck, KEV 2.0 Truck, smoothie package, or other Additional Equipment unit.
- Ask franchisees for ingredient and branded-supply cost, labor hours, event commissions, card fees, fuel, repairs, insurance, storage, permits, and annual franchise fees.
- Compare active owner-operated territories with approved Designated Manager territories, including the owner’s weekly hours and the manager’s complete payroll burden.
- Interview franchisees in similar climates and territory densities, including owners who transferred or ceased operations during 2025.
- Reconcile tax returns, profit-and-loss statements, bank deposits, point-of-sale reports, and vehicle-level records rather than relying on gross sales alone.
The official Kona Ice U.S. franchise website describes the event-focused mobile format, while the official Kona Ice vehicle overview helps distinguish the KEV and other mobile equipment. Those pages explain the concept; they do not replace Item 19 evidence or franchisee financial records.
What is the strongest defensible Kona Ice earnings conclusion?
The strongest defensible public conclusion is an estimated owner-operator benefit of roughly $2,000 to $42,000 per year for one primary KEV, with a Base scenario near $18,800. It is a Mode D scenario range with Limited confidence, not an official Kona Ice earnings disclosure. The principal driver is revenue and operating margin in the local event calendar; the fixed fee schedule is material but secondary.
The largest unresolved uncertainty is the mismatch between a Census employer establishment, an IRS sole proprietor, and a specific Kona Ice territory that may use multiple vehicles or Additional Equipment. Owner involvement is also decisive: the modeled range compensates an active owner for labor, and subtracting a full-year management wage produces negative residual profit in these scenarios. Before relying on any number, a buyer should verify the current Item 19, request written substantiation for any earnings statement, and reconcile comparable franchisee records through detailed current and former franchisee interviews.