These are independent, per-unit annual scenarios for a U.S. SNOWFOX or SUSHIBOX Inline, Endcap, or Island sushi bar offered by JFE Franchising, Inc. The manager-run range is estimated pre-tax owner earnings after normal operating costs. The owner-operator range adds the market value of work performed by an owner who replaces a paid supervisor. The 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document does not report outlet sales, profit, or owner compensation.
This range is an independent analytical scenario, not an Item 19 financial performance representation by JFE Franchising, Inc. It combines identified 2025 FDD facts with separately identified U.S. restaurant benchmarks and explicit modeling assumptions. Actual results can differ materially because of host-store traffic, sushi-bar format, Gross Sales, Store Owner and Franchisor Revenue Shares, food and labor costs, waste, financing, owner involvement, and execution. Losses are possible.
Data basis and evidence status
Legal franchisor: JFE Franchising, Inc., a Texas corporation. Immediate parent: Wonderfield US Holdco, Inc. FDD: 2025 Snowfox Franchise Disclosure Document, issued July 14, 2025. Item 19, pages 43–44, states that no financial performance representation is made. The FDD covers the Snowfox and Sushibox trade names. The primary model covers Inline, Endcap, and Island sushi bars; Satellite Locations are excluded because their operating model and investment structure differ. Item 20 outlet counts include Satellite Locations, so they are not a clean earnings cohort. Benchmark inputs come from the U.S. Census Bureau, National Restaurant Association, Internal Revenue Service, and U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Checked July 18, 2026.
The official SNOWFOX franchise opportunity page describes the current grocery-store model, while the official SNOWFOX company profile identifies the brand as part of Wonderfield Group.
No same-brand sales, profit, EBITDA, net income, or owner-compensation figures are disclosed.
Store Owner share of 15%–35% plus Franchisor share of 5%–20%.
2024 median income before taxes for limited-service restaurant respondents.
May 2025 national mean wage for first-line food-service supervisors.
System count at March 31, 2025; includes Satellite Locations and is not an Item 19 sample.
$50 technology fee plus $25 ongoing-training fee, before permitted changes.
What does the 2025 FDD actually report about owner earnings?
Official answer: it reports no sales or earnings figures. Item 19 says JFE Franchising does not make representations about a franchisee’s future financial performance or the past financial performance of company-owned or franchised outlets. Therefore, there is no official average unit volume, median sales, operating profit, EBITDA, net income, cash flow, owner salary, or owner distribution to publish.
This makes the selected evidence mode Mode D — Structural FDD-Anchored Estimate. The FDD can define the legal entity, unit formats, revenue-sharing mechanism, recurring fees, owner-supervision requirement, outlet population, and exclusions, but it cannot establish what a typical unit sells or earns.
The principal earnings range relies materially on external restaurant benchmarks and explicit scenario spreads because the current same-brand FDD supplies no performance population. The FTC’s franchise buyer guide explains that Item 19 is where franchisor sales or earnings claims must appear and that gross sales, when disclosed, are not the same as profit.
Item 20 provides system structure rather than economics. At March 31, 2025, the FDD lists 1,415 franchised outlets and 55 company-owned outlets. It also reports 334 franchisee-to-new-owner transfers during the fiscal year ending March 31, 2025. Those counts include Satellite Locations, and the systemwide total also includes three contract-operated Texas outlets. None of these populations is tied to a revenue or earnings table.
FDD basis: 2025 Snowfox Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 19, pages 43–44; Item 20, pages 44–52.
How much of Gross Sales reaches the franchisee before operating expenses?
Official answer: before other deductions, the franchisee may receive approximately 45% to 80% of Gross Sales under the disclosed percentage ranges. The Store Owner retains 15%–35%, and JFE Franchising retains 5%–20%. The remaining commission is still not owner earnings because food, inventory, freight, equipment charges, labor, insurance, technology, training, and other operating costs remain.
Official 2025 FDD ranges; bars show minimum-to-maximum percentages, not probability bands.
Interpretation: the 35-percentage-point spread in the combined revenue share is a major source of uncertainty. Two units with identical Gross Sales can begin their cost bridge with materially different commissions.
Source: 2025 Snowfox Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 6, pages 11–15. “Gross Sales” excludes refunds, sales taxes, and discounts under the FDD definition.
The FDD says customer payments are collected by the Store Owner, which keeps its share and remits the balance to JFE Franchising. The franchisor then keeps its share and may deduct amounts owed for food, inventory, freight, equipment, and other purchases before paying the franchisee. The first payment after opening may be held for up to eight weeks or longer. A commission deposit is therefore neither Gross Sales nor owner take-home pay.
How was the annual earnings range estimated?
Estimated answer: the model produces approximately $2,000, $12,000, and $25,000 of annual manager-run pre-tax owner earnings in the Conservative, Base, and Upside scenarios. It uses a scale-adjusted U.S. limited-service restaurant revenue proxy and an all-in pre-tax margin benchmark because the FDD does not disclose same-brand sales or expenses.
Owner-operator benefit = manager-run estimated pre-tax owner earnings + supported supervisor labor value.
- Revenue productivity benchmark: 2022 U.S. Census data for NAICS 722513 Limited-Service Restaurants reports $358.864 billion of revenue and 4,807,245 employees, equal to approximately $74,651 of annual revenue per employee.
- Base staffing proxy: four full-time-equivalent workers, used only as an analytical scale device. The FDD does not disclose required headcount. Four FTE × $74,651 produces a central revenue proxy of approximately $298,603.
- Revenue spread: 80%, 100%, and 120% of the central proxy, producing approximately $238,882, $298,603, and $358,323. This spread is editorial, not FDD-reported.
- Margin proxy: the National Restaurant Association reported 2024 median income before taxes of 4.0% of sales among limited-service respondents. The scenarios use 1.0%, 4.0%, and 7.0%, an explicit ±3 percentage-point sensitivity.
- No double subtraction: the all-in margin proxy is not charged again for Store Owner share, Franchisor share, technology, insurance, training, or advertising. Whether a broad restaurant margin adequately captures SNOWFOX’s unusual commission structure is the model’s largest limitation.
| Scenario | Modeled revenue | Pre-tax margin proxy | Manager-run earnings |
|---|---|---|---|
| Conservative | $238,882 | 1.0% | $2,389 |
| Base | $298,603 | 4.0% | $11,944 |
| Upside | $358,323 | 7.0% | $25,083 |
Per-unit annual scenario values; rounded labels use the unrounded calculation shown in the table.
Interpretation: the manager-run residual is thin across the model. A modest deterioration in sales or margin can eliminate it, so the Conservative scenario is not a floor and should not be read as protection against losses.
Sources: U.S. Census Bureau 2022 limited-service restaurant table; National Restaurant Association 2025 operating-data summary. Calculations are independent and rounded only after full-precision inputs.
The 4.0% central margin also has a rough official-data cross-check. IRS Statistics of Income reports 2023 sole-proprietor business receipts of $77.217 billion and net income less deficit of $2.610 billion for restaurants, including full- and limited-service businesses and drinking places. That equals about 3.4% of receipts. The population is broader than NAICS 722513 and includes owner labor, so it is corroboration rather than a replacement benchmark. See the IRS nonfarm sole-proprietorship tables.
What is included and excluded from the estimate?
Estimated treatment: the manager-run figures are intended as pre-tax owner earnings after normal unit-level operating costs, using the all-in restaurant margin proxy. Personal income taxes and financing principal payments are excluded. Interest and depreciation are not separately added back; they are assumed to be reflected to the extent the benchmark respondents included them. Capital expenditures and remodels are not modeled as annual deductions. No after-tax take-home figure is calculated.
Item 7 startup investment is not subtracted from one year of revenue. It is a separate capital requirement: the FDD estimates $21,442–$223,920 for a new Inline, Endcap, or Island location, with separate ranges for existing locations and Satellite Locations.
How does active owner involvement change the result?
Estimated answer: replacing a paid full-time food-service supervisor can raise the modeled economic benefit to approximately $49,000–$71,000 per year. That higher figure is estimated owner-operator benefit, not pure business profit, because roughly $46,180 represents compensation for the owner’s labor.
The FDD requires an approved Acting Principal with majority ownership to participate actively in direct operations. The sushi bar must have day-to-day, full-time supervision by the Acting Principal or a trained full-time manager. Even when a manager runs the unit, the Acting Principal must remain personally and actively involved and fully responsible. This structure does not support a passive-income assumption.
The open marker is manager-run residual profit; the filled marker adds $46,180 of owner labor value.
Interpretation: most of the owner-operator range is labor compensation, not passive residual profit. The economic value disappears if the owner does not actually replace a paid supervisory role.
Labor-value source: BLS May 2025 national occupational wage table, first-line supervisors of food preparation and serving workers, annual mean wage $46,180. This is a wage proxy, not total employer cost; payroll taxes and benefits are not added. Local compensation can be materially different. FDD owner-role basis: Item 15, page 36.
Which disclosed charges can move annual owner earnings?
Official answer: the percentage revenue shares dominate the disclosed fee structure, while insurance and possible advertising contributions can also scale with sales. Fixed monthly technology and training fees are smaller, but they still reduce a low-margin unit’s residual earnings.
| Obligation | 2025 FDD amount | How it affects the earnings analysis |
|---|---|---|
| Store Owner Revenue Share | 15%–35% of Gross Sales | Location-specific host-store economics; percentage may be adjusted by the Store Owner. |
| Franchisor Revenue Share | 5%–20% of Gross Sales | Set by JFE Franchising; the FDD says the established rate does not change during the agreement term. |
| Commercial liability insurance | $18.20 per $1,000 of sales | Equivalent to 1.82% of sales at the stated current rate; deducted weekly. |
| Technology Fee | Currently $50 per month | Maximum is currently $100 per month and may increase under the disclosed mechanism. |
| Ongoing Training Fee | Currently $25 per month | Then-current fee may be charged up to $50 per month. |
| Advertising cooperative | Up to 1.5% of Gross Sales if formed | No current general advertising fund is required, but a future local cooperative can add a percentage expense. |
| Approved products and supplies | Actual cost | Food, inventory, freight, labels, uniforms, equipment, and other supplier charges can be deducted before payment. |
The official franchise page describes “zero rent” and “zero build costs,” and the FDD says the Store Owner controls the buildout and provides the kiosk, refrigerated display cases, sink, power, storage, and refrigeration. That does not mean occupancy is economically free: the Store Owner Revenue Share is the material host-location charge. The FDD also states that no advertising program currently operates and franchisees may not independently advertise, while reserving the right to create a cooperative contribution of up to 1.5% of Gross Sales.
FDD basis: Item 6, pages 11–15; Item 8, pages 21–24; Item 11, pages 26–31.
What variables could push actual earnings outside the modeled range?
Uncertain answer: the model can be wrong in either direction because no same-brand revenue distribution, food-cost ratio, labor ratio, waste rate, manager compensation, or outlet-age cohort is disclosed. The most important driver is Gross Sales at the assigned host store; the largest unresolved uncertainty is how the combined revenue-share structure interacts with actual food and labor costs at each format.
- Host-store demand
- Customer traffic, merchandising, store demographics, nearby competition, display-case size, kiosk placement, and the presence of a hot-food program can change sales.
- Format and cohort
- Inline, Endcap, Island, and Satellite units have different footprints and obligations. The FDD does not provide sales by format, age, geography, or ownership type.
- Labor coverage
- Daily full-time supervision, food preparation, training requirements, local wages, overtime, and benefit costs can consume the modeled residual.
- Food and waste
- Required suppliers, seafood pricing, freight, spoilage, markdowns, sampling, and product mix are not quantified in Item 19.
- Cash timing
- The Store Owner collects sales, and the first payment may be held for up to eight weeks or longer. Cash flow can therefore differ from accounting earnings.
- Financing and taxes
- Debt principal and personal income taxes are outside the range. Financing terms, entity structure, jurisdiction, and owner circumstances can materially change cash available to the owner.
The 1,415 franchised-outlet count should not be mistaken for a performance sample. Item 19 provides zero reporting outlets and no percentage of the system represented. Item 20 counts describe openings, transfers, closures, and ownership status, not sales or earnings.
Multi-unit economics are also not modeled. Multiplying the per-unit range by a portfolio count would ignore ramp-up, shared overhead, manager layers, travel, unit maturity, and the Acting Principal’s continuing involvement obligations.
What should a buyer verify before relying on any owner-income estimate?
Practical answer: obtain location-specific records and reconstruct the full cash bridge from Gross Sales to owner distributions. The current FDD cannot establish typical owner earnings, so the decision should turn on written evidence for the actual location and interviews with comparable current and former franchisees.
- Confirm the exact Inline, Endcap, Island, or Satellite format and whether the proposed opportunity is new or an existing operation.
- Obtain the exact Store Owner Revenue Share, Franchisor Revenue Share, insurance rate, technology fee, training fee, and any advertising-cooperative obligation in writing.
- For an existing outlet, request actual weekly records for Gross Sales, commissions remitted, food and freight deductions, payroll, waste, refunds, equipment charges, and owner distributions for at least 52 weeks.
- Ask the franchisor for written substantiation of any sales or earnings statement. If a representation is not in Item 19 or a permitted existing-outlet record, treat it as unverified.
- Use Item 20 contacts to interview franchisees with similar host-store brands, kiosk formats, geographic markets, operating tenure, and owner-management structure; include former and transferred operators.
- Separate paid manager compensation from residual business profit. For an owner-operated plan, document the weekly hours and duties the owner will personally perform.
- Model debt service separately using the buyer’s actual financed amount, rate, term, fees, and required reserves. Do not convert pre-tax business earnings into after-tax take-home pay.
What is the strongest defensible annual earnings range?
The strongest defensible answer is scenario-based, not official: approximately $2,000–$25,000 per year of manager-run pre-tax owner earnings, or approximately $49,000–$71,000 of owner-operator benefit when the owner genuinely replaces a paid first-line supervisor. Actual results may be negative and may fall outside both ranges.
The most important earnings driver is host-store Gross Sales. The largest unresolved uncertainty is the absence of a same-brand Item 19 sales and expense population, particularly the relationship between the 20%–55% combined revenue share and actual food, labor, and waste costs. A buyer should verify the exact Item 6 percentages, request written substantiation for every financial statement, obtain actual records for an existing outlet, and test the model against franchisee interviews drawn from comparable Item 20 contacts.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to the JFE Sushi Box Snow Fox Franchise?
- How Does the JFE Sushi Box Snow Fox Franchise Work?
- How to Start a JFE Sushi Box Snow Fox Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist
- How Does the JFE Sushi Box Snow Fox Franchise Work?
- What are the Pros and Cons of Owning a JFE Sushi Box Snow Fox Franchise?