A defensible independent scenario for one full-year, non-ghost U.S. franchised Famous Dave’s restaurant is approximately $69,000 to $307,000 in annual pre-tax owner earnings, with a base scenario near $171,000. The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document reports Net Revenues, not profit or owner compensation, so this is a Mode C FDD-anchored scenario estimate rather than an official Item 19 earnings result.
Independent-estimate disclosure. This range is an analytical scenario, not an Item 19 financial performance representation by Famous Dave’s of America, Inc. It combines the 2026 FDD’s franchised-restaurant Net Revenues and recurring-fee facts with a separately identified IRS industry margin and explicit scenario assumptions. Actual results can differ materially because of location, restaurant format, sales mix, food cost, labor, occupancy, financing, owner involvement, capital needs, and execution.
- Legal franchisor
- Famous Dave’s of America, Inc.
- Disclosure document
- 2026 U.S. FDD, issued March 27, 2026
- Item 19 evidence
- Net Revenues only; no franchised-unit profit, EBITDA, Net Income, owner salary, or owner distributions
- Applicable cohort
- 59 franchised U.S. restaurants open for the entire fiscal year ended November 30, 2025; ghost kitchens excluded
- External benchmark
- IRS 2022 “Food services and drinking places” active-corporation data; BLS May 2024 Food Service Managers wage data
- Date checked
- July 18, 2026
Fiscal 2025, full-year non-ghost franchised cohort.
Franchisee-reported historical data; unaudited.
Derived from broad IRS 2022 corporation data.
5% royalty, 1% Marketing Fund, 1.5% local advertising.
BLS May 2024 median for Food Service Managers.
What does Famous Dave’s Item 19 actually measure?
Officially, Item 19 measures restaurant Net Revenues—not owner earnings—for fiscal 2025. The most relevant figure is median annual Net Revenues of $2,831,846 across 59 franchised U.S. restaurants that operated for the full year. Average franchised Net Revenues were $2,919,786, and the reported franchised range was $471,188 to $7,459,051.
The disclosure defines Net Revenues as food, liquor, and merchandise sales net of discounts. It expressly says the figures do not deduct cost of sales, payroll, rent, other operating expenses, or the costs required to reach Net Income or profit. Therefore, the median cannot be described as an owner salary, owner draw, cash flow, EBITDA, or take-home pay. Source: 2026 Famous Dave’s FDD, Item 19, pp. 64–66.
| Item 19 population | Restaurants | Average Net Revenues | Median Net Revenues |
|---|---|---|---|
| Franchised restaurants | 59 | $2,919,786 | $2,831,846 |
| Company-owned restaurants | 30 | $2,613,365 | $2,439,747 |
| Combined system-wide cohort | 89 | $2,816,498 | $2,718,656 |
The franchised median is the strongest revenue anchor because it applies directly to franchised outlets. Company-owned results are useful context but are not substituted for franchised economics. Item 19 does not separate full service, counter service, and line service results, and it excludes ghost kitchens, so the published cohort should not be applied to a ghost-kitchen format.
The sample also has limitations. Franchisee figures were compiled from historical information reported to the franchisor and were not audited. Only restaurants open throughout fiscal 2025 were included, which excludes newly opened and partial-year outlets. The full-year cohort may therefore differ from a buyer’s ramp-up period. Famous Dave’s states that written substantiation is available on reasonable request. Source: 2026 Famous Dave’s FDD, Item 19, pp. 64–66; see also the FTC Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise.
How is the annual owner-earnings range calculated?
The estimate applies a transparent margin sensitivity to an FDD-anchored revenue range. The model starts with the $2,831,846 franchised median Net Revenues, uses an analytical 80% / 100% / 120% revenue spread because Item 19 provides no quartiles, and applies a 3.03% / 6.03% / 9.03% net-income margin range.
Central margin proxy = (IRS aggregate net income − IRS aggregate deficit) ÷ IRS aggregate business receipts for 2022 “Food services and drinking places” active corporations.
The IRS figures produce a central aggregate margin of 6.03%. The conservative and upside margins are explicit editorial sensitivities of three percentage points below and above that benchmark. They are not Famous Dave’s results and should not be treated as probabilities, forecasts, or performance targets. The broad IRS category includes businesses unlike a Famous Dave’s restaurant, and the tax-year data are older than the 2025 FDD revenue period. That mismatch is the main reason the evidence-confidence rating is Limited. Benchmark source: IRS Corporation Income Tax Returns Complete Report, 2022 Table 1.
| Scenario | Net Revenues anchor | Margin assumption | Estimated pre-tax owner earnings |
|---|---|---|---|
| Conservative | $2,265,477 | 3.03% | $68,600 |
| Base | $2,831,846 | 6.03% | $170,706 |
| Upside | $3,398,215 | 9.03% | $306,793 |
Estimated pre-tax owner earnings for one full-year non-ghost franchised restaurant.
Interpretation: margin variation is amplified by revenue variation. The $170,706 base figure is a calculation midpoint, not a prediction of the most likely result.
Source and method: 2026 Famous Dave’s FDD, Item 19, pp. 64–66; IRS 2022 Corporation Income Tax Returns, Table 1; revenue spread and ±3-percentage-point margin sensitivity are editorial scenario assumptions. Values are rounded after full-precision calculations.
What is included and excluded from “pre-tax owner earnings” here?
The estimate is a residual business-income proxy before personal income taxes and financing principal payments. Because the IRS benchmark is an all-in net-income measure, normal operating expenses and recurring franchise charges are presumed embedded at the industry level; the model does not subtract the FDD royalty and advertising fees a second time.
- Manager compensation: presumed included in the broad corporate expense base; owner labor value is analyzed separately below.
- Interest and depreciation: embedded in the IRS net-income measure to the extent reported by corporations in the benchmark.
- Financing principal: excluded because principal repayment is not an operating expense or income-statement deduction.
- Capital expenditures: excluded as cash outlays except to the extent depreciation affects the benchmark; remodeling and equipment replacement can reduce cash available for distributions.
- Personal income taxes: excluded. Entity structure, state, deductions, and the owner’s circumstances determine after-tax results.
How does full-time owner involvement change the result?
Owner involvement can add labor value, but it does not automatically create additional business profit. Item 15 requires an Operating Partner with at least a 20% ownership interest to participate full time in the restaurant’s operation. That requirement makes a fully passive interpretation inappropriate for the standard franchised restaurant described by the FDD. Source: 2026 Famous Dave’s FDD, Item 15, p. 55.
If the full-time Operating Partner performs work that would otherwise require a paid Food Service Manager, an analytical owner-operator benefit can add the BLS May 2024 median manager wage of $65,310 to the residual business-income estimate. The resulting range is about $133,910 to $372,103, with a base owner-operator benefit near $236,016. The $65,310 increment compensates the owner for labor performed; it is not passive profit, a distribution guarantee, or a Famous Dave’s compensation disclosure. Wage source: BLS Occupational Outlook Handbook: Food Service Managers.
Residual business-income scenario compared with the same scenario plus one BLS manager-wage reference.
Interpretation: the distance between each pair is the same $65,310 labor-value assumption. It should be removed when the owner does not replace a paid manager role or when that wage is already paid to the owner through payroll.
Source and method: 2026 Famous Dave’s FDD, Item 15, p. 55; BLS May 2024 Food Service Managers median annual wage; owner-operator benefit = modeled residual business income + $65,310. This is an independent scenario, not an Item 19 result.
The FDD does not disclose how a full-time Operating Partner is paid, whether that person receives W-2 compensation, or how profits are divided among owners. A non-operating investor’s personal cash distribution cannot be inferred from per-unit results without the ownership agreement, payroll treatment, retained-cash policy, and debt obligations.
Which disclosed fees put the clearest pressure on earnings?
The clearest official percentage-based burden is 7.5% of Revenues before other restaurant expenses. The current FDD lists a 5% royalty, a 1% Marketing Fund fee, and a minimum 1.5% local-advertising requirement. At the $2,831,846 franchised median Net Revenues, those percentages equal approximately $212,388 annually.
| Recurring obligation | FDD rate or amount | Illustration at median Net Revenues |
|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | 5.0% of Revenues | $141,592 |
| Marketing Fund Fee | Currently 1.0% of Revenues | $28,318 |
| Local advertising | Minimum 1.5% of Revenues | $42,478 |
| Technology support | $200–$325 monthly | $2,400–$3,900 annually |
| POS licensing | $200–$600 monthly | $2,400–$7,200 annually |
| Back-office system licensing | $100–$400 monthly | $1,200–$4,800 annually |
Sources: 2026 Famous Dave’s FDD, Item 6, pp. 24–28, and Item 8, pp. 33–38. The percentage illustrations use the fiscal 2025 franchised median Net Revenues and are derived calculations. They exclude payment processing, internet connectivity, hardware, inspections, repairs, insurance, required upgrades, and other variable expenses.
These figures are shown to identify obligations, not to build a second profit calculation. The IRS margin proxy is treated as all-in, so subtracting these fees again would double count them. A buyer’s actual operating model should instead replace the broad margin with location-specific food cost, payroll burden, occupancy, utilities, insurance, technology, repair, delivery, and general-and-administrative assumptions.
Unit-level operating margin is more consequential than the disclosed royalty alone. A three-percentage-point margin movement at the $2,831,846 median revenue level changes annual residual earnings by about $84,955 before considering any simultaneous sales change.
What could move actual owner earnings outside the range?
The largest unresolved uncertainty is the absence of same-brand unit-level expense and profit data. Item 19 does not disclose food cost, labor, occupancy, restaurant-level EBITDA, Net Income, owner compensation, or cash distributions, and it does not segment economics by full service, counter service, or line service. The IRS margin is therefore a broad external proxy rather than Famous Dave’s operating evidence.
- Revenue spread: 80%, 100%, and 120% of the franchised median is analytical; Item 19 does not report quartiles or probabilities.
- Margin spread: 3.03%, 6.03%, and 9.03% is a sensitivity band around the IRS benchmark, not a disclosed brand margin.
- Restaurant maturity: the FDD cohort operated for all of fiscal 2025; new-unit ramp-up performance is not represented.
- Format comparability: the cohort combines multiple non-ghost service models; ghost kitchens are expressly excluded.
- Owner compensation: the FDD requires a full-time equity Operating Partner but does not state salary, draw, or distribution policy.
- Debt and capital needs: loan principal, remodel cash, equipment replacement, and working-capital reserves can materially reduce distributable cash.
Does Item 20 change how the range should be read?
Yes—official outlet counts reinforce the need for conservative due diligence, but they do not prove why any outlet left the system. Item 20 shows 91 franchised outlets at the start of 2023 and 70 at the end of 2025, a net reduction of 21 outlets. The 2025 year alone moved from 76 to 70 franchised outlets. Those counts are system-structure evidence, not a profit measure, and they do not establish each closure’s economics. Source: 2026 Famous Dave’s FDD, Item 20, pp. 66–74.
The buyer should reconcile Item 20 with the Item 19 substantiation and current and former franchisee interviews. The relevant questions are whether lower-volume restaurants, transferred locations, newly refranchised stores, and different service models have materially different labor, occupancy, food-cost, and capital profiles.
What should a buyer verify before relying on this range?
A buyer should treat $69,000 to $307,000 as a screening range and replace its assumptions with unit-specific evidence. The most decision-useful work is to obtain the Item 19 substantiation, compare it with operating statements from similar restaurants, and separate business profit from compensation for the full-time Operating Partner.
- Request the written substantiation for 2026 FDD Item 19 and confirm the exact restaurants, service models, exclusions, and Net Revenues calculations.
- Ask current and former franchisees for three years of profit-and-loss statements, including food and beverage cost, hourly labor, management payroll, occupancy, repairs, insurance, delivery commissions, and local advertising.
- Confirm how the required 20%-plus equity Operating Partner is compensated and whether management payroll already includes that person’s labor.
- Model the proposed site’s rent, common-area charges, wage rates, sales mix, liquor mix, seating capacity, hours, and delivery-channel costs.
- Separate interest, loan principal, owner taxes, remodeling reserves, equipment replacement, and retained working capital from unit-level operating earnings.
- Interview franchisees whose restaurant format, market density, sales level, and operating tenure most closely match the proposed unit.
The strongest defensible annual range is approximately $69,000 to $307,000 in scenario-based pre-tax owner earnings, with a $171,000 base calculation. It is not an official profit disclosure. The most important driver is the restaurant’s realized operating margin after food, labor, occupancy, and franchise obligations. The largest uncertainty is that Famous Dave’s Item 19 reports Net Revenues without same-brand expense or profit data. A buyer should verify the Item 19 substantiation, Operating Partner economics, and comparable franchisee profit-and-loss statements before using any point in the range.