How Much Does a Creative Colors Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Estimated annual owner earnings
About $3,300 to $40,900 per single mobile unit

The base analytical scenario is about $14,000 in annual pre-tax owner-operator benefit. Creative Colors International's 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document reports 2025 revenue, not profit. The range therefore combines a U.S.-only reconstruction of single-mobile-unit revenue from Item 19 with an official IRS automotive-body-shop net-income benchmark.

Evidence mode: FDD-anchored scenario estimate Confidence: Limited Format: One mobile unit, U.S. owners Periods: FDD 2025 revenue; IRS tax year 2022
Independent estimate—not an Item 19 earnings claim. This scenario is an independent analysis. It is not a financial performance representation by Creative Colors International, Inc. It combines identified 2026 FDD facts with a separately identified government benchmark and explicit margin sensitivity assumptions. Actual results can differ materially with territory, customer mix, sales, materials, labor, vehicle costs, financing, owner involvement, national-account work, and execution.

Data basis

Legal franchisor
Creative Colors International, Inc., an Illinois corporation.
Current disclosure
2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, issued April 20, 2026. Item 19 is on pages 45–60; Items 5, 6, 7, 15, and 20 are also used.
What Item 19 provides
Gross annual revenue for mobile businesses operating for the full calendar year ended December 31, 2025. It expressly excludes operating expenses.
U.S. cohort used
22 single-mobile-unit U.S. franchise owners reconstructed from the owner-level table. The published 23-owner single-van summary includes one Canadian operation, which is excluded here.
External benchmark
IRS Statistics of Income, tax year 2022, “Automotive body shops,” supported by the 2022 NAICS definition for automotive body, paint, and interior repair.
Date checked
July 15, 2026.
Derived from FDD
$118,626
U.S. single-unit median revenue

Median of 22 U.S. single-mobile-unit owner results in the 2025 Item 19 table.

Derived from FDD
$130,013
U.S. single-unit average revenue

Calculated from the same 22-owner U.S. cohort; revenue is not owner earnings.

Official FDD facts
$37,405–$275,940
Observed U.S. revenue range

The actual low and high among the U.S. single-mobile-unit results used here.

Benchmark
11.8%
IRS net-income margin

Automotive body shops: net income less deficit divided by business receipts.

Official FDD facts
8.5% + $1,350
Core recurring franchise charges

7.5% royalty, 1% marketing, $750 technology, and $600 business listing annually.

Scenario
$14,015
Base owner-operator benefit

Before personal income taxes and financing principal; includes owner labor value.

Item 19 evidence

What does the 2026 FDD actually measure?

Item 19 measures annual gross revenue, not owner earnings. The 2026 FDD reports revenue for mobile operations that were open for the full calendar year ended December 31, 2025. It states that the figures are gross sales only and include no operating expenses. Therefore, the franchisor does not disclose business profit, EBITDA, net income, owner compensation, or cash flow.

Why is the published single-van median not used directly?

The article uses a derived U.S.-only median of $118,626 because the official 23-owner summary includes one Canadian business. Recalculating the individual 2025 results for the 22 U.S. single-mobile-unit owners produces a $130,013 average, a $118,626 median, and an observed range from $37,405 to $275,940. This is a same-FDD calculation, but it is not a separately reported franchisor statistic.

Revenue is not earnings A business with $118,626 of annual sales still must pay technicians or other employees, materials, fuel, insurance, vehicle costs, franchise charges, bookkeeping, taxes on payroll, and other operating expenses. Item 19 does not disclose those costs, so no owner-profit figure can be read directly from the FDD.

How broad is the reported population?

The FDD gives broad system revenue visibility but not a clean profit cohort. Item 19 describes 67 franchised locations and two company stores operating for the full 2025 calendar year, with owners sometimes holding multiple territories and sharing mobile units. The single-mobile-unit subset is the most compatible population for a one-unit owner estimate. Item 20 separately shows U.S. franchised outlets declining from 69 to 66 during 2025, with two nonrenewals and one cessation for another reason.

Scenario model

How is the annual earnings range calculated?

The model applies an 8.8% to 14.8% all-in net-income margin to the observed low, derived U.S. median, and observed high single-unit revenue. The central 11.8% margin comes from IRS Statistics of Income data for automotive body shops. The conservative and upside margins are explicit three-percentage-point sensitivities, not IRS-published quartiles.

Scenario Revenue anchor Margin assumption Estimated owner-operator benefit Evidence treatment
Conservative $37,405 8.8% $3,297 Observed U.S. low revenue; benchmark margin minus 3 percentage points.
Base $118,626 11.8% $14,015 Derived U.S. median revenue; IRS automotive-body-shop net margin.
Upside $275,940 14.8% $40,879 Observed U.S. high revenue; benchmark margin plus 3 percentage points.
How much owner-operator benefit does each scenario produce?

Annual pre-tax estimate per single mobile unit; values are rounded to the nearest $100 in the chart.

Creative Colors International single-unit owner-operator benefit scenarios Three columns show approximately 3300 dollars conservative, 14000 dollars base, and 40900 dollars upside. $0 $10k $20k $30k $40k $3,300 $14,000 $40,900 Conservative Base Upside

Interpretation: most of the range comes from the FDD's wide dispersion in single-unit revenue, while margin uncertainty widens it further.

Source note: Revenue anchors are reconstructed from Creative Colors International's 2026 FDD, Item 19, pages 48–50. The 11.8% benchmark is calculated from IRS tax-year 2022 automotive-body-shop receipts and net income less deficit; the ±3 percentage-point band is an editorial sensitivity.

What exactly is included in “owner-operator benefit”?

It is pre-tax cash-generating capacity that includes compensation for the owner's work, not pure passive business profit. IRS Schedule C statistics do not deduct a sole proprietor's salary. The benchmark therefore mixes residual business income with the economic value of labor performed by the owner. The estimate is before personal income taxes and financing principal payments.

  • Interest and depreciation: reflected only to the extent they are included in the IRS industry aggregate.
  • Capital expenditures: not modeled as current cash outlays beyond the benchmark's depreciation treatment.
  • Franchise fees: not subtracted a second time because the IRS margin is an all-in net-income measure; the inability to isolate franchise charges inside the benchmark is a major limitation.
  • Personal taxes and financing principal: excluded. No after-tax take-home amount is estimated.
Recurring obligations

How much of median sales is claimed by disclosed franchise charges?

At the $118,626 U.S. single-unit median, the core disclosed charges equal about $11,433, or 9.6% of sales. That consists of the 7.5% royalty, 1% marketing contribution, $750 annual technology fee, and $600 annual business-listing fee. This is not a complete expense budget and is shown for decision context rather than deducted again from the all-in IRS margin.

Core annual franchise charges at $118,626 of sales

The chart isolates disclosed recurring charges; it does not include labor, materials, fuel, insurance, vehicle costs, or conditional fees.

Core Creative Colors International franchise charges at median single-unit sales Horizontal bars show royalty of 8897 dollars, marketing of 1186 dollars, technology of 750 dollars, and business listing of 600 dollars. $0 $2.5k $5k $7.5k $10k Royalty Marketing Technology Business listing $8,897 $1,186 $750 $600

Interpretation: the royalty is the dominant disclosed recurring charge, while the minimum-payment structure can make the effective percentage higher at low sales.

Source note: Creative Colors International 2026 FDD, Item 6, pages 12–16. Calculations use the derived U.S. median revenue of $118,626 and are rounded to the nearest dollar.

Which recurring costs are not in that $11,433 figure?

Conditional and operating-input costs are excluded from the chart. Beginning on the second anniversary, the FDD requires proprietary-product purchases equal to 2% of gross sales or $1,500 per mobile unit, whichever is lower. National-account sales can carry an administrative fee of up to 5%. Vehicle lease payments, insurance, employee compensation, fuel, supplies, conference attendance, and other operating costs also sit outside the four-charge total.

Minimum-payment effect Item 6 sets monthly royalty and marketing minimums that rise with business age. At low sales, those minimums can produce an effective fee rate materially above 8.5%. This is one reason the conservative $3,300 scenario should not be treated as a floor; an actual owner could earn less or incur a loss.
Owner role

How does owner involvement change the result?

Active owner operation is economically different from manager-run ownership because the scenario benefit includes the owner's labor. Item 15 requires the owner or a fully trained manager to devote full time and best efforts to the business and recommends that an individual franchisee serve as the fully trained manager. The model therefore should not be described as passive income.

What happens if a paid manager replaces the owner?

Manager-run residual profit falls dollar-for-dollar with the manager's total compensation cost. The formula is: manager-run pre-tax owner earnings = owner-operator benefit minus manager wages, payroll taxes, benefits, and related employment cost. Because local compensation and duties vary, no unsupported national manager salary is inserted.

Scenario Owner-operator benefit Maximum total manager cost before owner residual reaches $0 Decision meaning
Conservative $3,297 $3,297 Almost any meaningful manager expense would create a modeled loss.
Base $14,015 $14,015 The business supports only a small manager-cost threshold before residual profit disappears.
Upside $40,879 $40,879 Even the upside case must compare the full manager cost with this threshold.
Owner-operator effect For a one-mobile-unit operation, the key distinction is not salary versus profit; it is labor value versus residual profit. An owner who performs management, sales, routing, and technical work may retain the modeled benefit, but a manager-run owner must purchase some or all of that labor from employees.
Uncertainty

What could move actual earnings outside the range?

The largest uncertainty is the absence of same-brand operating expenses and owner-hours data. The official revenue distribution is useful, but the IRS benchmark covers a broader automotive-body-shop population and cannot isolate mobile operations, franchise fees, Creative Colors International's nonautomotive services, or the mix of owner labor and employee labor.

Why is the evidence confidence limited?

Confidence is LIMITED because the estimate relies materially on an external government margin proxy. Census NAICS 811121 is directionally relevant because it includes repairing or customizing automotive vehicle and trailer interiors. However, Creative Colors International also serves furniture, marine, aviation, hospitality, healthcare, and other commercial or residential surfaces, so the benchmark is not a perfect business-format match.

  • Revenue extremes are observations, not probabilities. The $37,405 and $275,940 anchors are actual low and high U.S. single-unit results, not “likely” outcomes or quartiles.
  • Survivorship and eligibility matter. Item 19 includes businesses operating for the full calendar year and excludes two locations that did not renew during 2025.
  • Territory and tenure differ. The owner-level table spans markets, business ages, and customer mixes that are not standardized.
  • Debt can materially reduce cash available. Financing principal is excluded, and vehicle or acquisition financing will vary by buyer.
  • Taxes are personal. Entity choice, state, deductions, and household circumstances prevent a credible after-tax estimate.
Buyer verification

What should a prospective owner verify before relying on the estimate?

A buyer should replace the proxy margin with current, same-brand operating records whenever possible. The FDD says written substantiation for Item 19 is available on reasonable request, and Item 20 provides current and former franchisee contacts. The most useful interviews reconcile revenue to owner cash flow rather than asking only whether an owner is “doing well.”

  • Request Item 19 substantiation and confirm the 2025 revenue assigned to single-mobile-unit U.S. owners.
  • Ask several comparable owners for materials, technician payroll, vehicle, insurance, fuel, royalty, marketing, technology, and national-account expenses as percentages of sales.
  • Separate hours spent performing repairs from hours spent selling, scheduling, supervising, billing, and collecting receivables.
  • Ask whether the owner takes a W-2 wage, draw, distribution, or no formal compensation, and reconcile those amounts to business profit.
  • Verify whether a manager is full time, what the total payroll burden is, and whether the owner still performs sales or administrative work.
  • Review low-sales months against the royalty and marketing minimums, not just the stated percentage rates.
  • Separate vehicle principal payments and other debt service from unit-level operating performance.
  • Confirm closures, nonrenewals, transfers, and early-stage results with Item 20 contacts rather than relying only on surviving full-year operators.
Decision synthesis

What is the decision-useful earnings view?

The strongest defensible one-unit estimate is approximately $3,300 to $40,900 in annual pre-tax owner-operator benefit, with a base case near $14,000. It is scenario-based, not official owner earnings. The most important driver is annual sales per mobile unit; the next is whether the owner supplies the labor or pays a manager. The largest unresolved uncertainty is the same-brand expense structure, especially labor, materials, vehicle costs, and the effective burden of minimum and conditional fees. A buyer should verify the Item 19 substantiation, obtain current operating statements from comparable franchisees, and reconcile owner labor, debt service, and distributions before treating any figure as personal income.