Annual owner-earnings answer
A manager-run, 101-room Country Inn & Suites by Radisson hotel may produce about $450,000 to $860,000 in annual pre-tax owner earnings under this independent scenario model. The range is not reported by Choice Hotels International, Inc. It starts with the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document’s 2025 median RevPAR for Generation 4 hotels, then applies a broad U.S. hotel EBITDA-margin proxy. Debt service, personal income taxes, depreciation, amortization, and capital expenditures are excluded.
Data basis
The legal franchisor is Choice Hotels International, Inc. The Country Inn & Suites by Radisson Franchise Disclosure Document was issued April 1, 2026 and amended May 20, 2026. Item 19 reports 2025 operating metrics for 389 U.S. franchised hotels in the Performance Sample, including a 247-hotel Generation 4 cohort, but it does not disclose hotel operating profit, EBITDA, net income, owner compensation, or cash distributions. The external profitability proxy is CoStar/STR’s 2024 U.S. hotel P&L data; the owner-labor benchmark is the Bureau of Labor Statistics May 2025 national wage table. Evidence was checked July 21, 2026.
Official context: Country Inn & Suites by Radisson brand page, Choice Hotels’ 2025 brand-performance release, and Choice Hotels International’s 2025 Form 10-K. No matching public FDD copy on an official franchise-controlled domain was verified, so FDD references below are given in plain text by Item and page.
$450k–$860k
Manager-run owner earnings
Annual EBITDA-like owner benefit before debt service, personal taxes, depreciation, amortization, and capital expenditures.
$69.96
Generation 4 median RevPAR
2025 result for 247 franchised U.S. hotels meeting the Generation 4 definition.
247
Generation 4 hotels
The cohort used for the central revenue anchor; room counts vary across the cohort.
9.5%
Royalty plus marketing
6.0% Royalty Fee plus 3.5% Marketing and Reservation Fee, each based on Gross Room Revenues.
$78,740
Mean lodging-manager wage
May 2025 national mean annual wage; used only as the value of owner labor in an owner-operator case.
98.0%
Eligible franchised-hotel coverage
389 Performance Sample hotels divided by 397 franchised U.S. hotels open at year-end 2025.
What does the 2026 Item 19 actually measure?
Item 19 officially measures occupancy, Average Daily Rate, Revenue per Available Room, reservation-system contribution, loyalty-program contribution, and guest-recommendation cohorts—not owner earnings. The period is calendar 2025, and the principal population is the Performance Sample of 389 franchised U.S. Country Inn & Suites hotels.
The Performance Sample included hotels open and operating on or before January 1, 2025 and still operating on December 31, 2025. It excluded hotels repositioned from another Choice brand during 2025, hotels missing at least 30 days of performance data, and hotels with an operating interruption longer than 30 consecutive days. Item 19 states that no hotel closed during 2025 after operating for less than one year. These rules make the sample broad, but they also remove certain disrupted properties.
- Average Daily Rate
- Gross room revenue divided by occupied guest rooms. It is a room-price measure, not owner income.
- RevPAR
- Gross room revenue divided by available guest rooms. It combines room rate and occupancy, but excludes the operating costs needed to calculate profit.
- Gross Room Revenues
- The Item 6 fee base for sleeping-room revenue, including specified room-related charges and business-interruption proceeds, but excluding taxes and specified ancillary revenue.
- Estimated pre-tax owner earnings
- For this article, an EBITDA-like amount available before financing interest and principal, personal income taxes, depreciation, amortization, and capital expenditures. It is not after-tax take-home pay.
Choice Hotels says written substantiation for the Item 19 financial performance representation is available after a written request. The Federal Trade Commission’s franchise buyer guide likewise advises buyers to examine the source, limitations, assumptions, sample size, and written support behind an Item 19 claim.
How is the annual owner-earnings range modeled?
The estimate converts Generation 4 median RevPAR into room revenue for an illustrative 101-room hotel, then applies a broad EBITDA sensitivity. The revenue input is FDD-anchored; the 101-room room count and the 80%/100%/120% revenue spread are analytical assumptions; the margin input is an external U.S. hotel benchmark rather than a Country Inn & Suites profit disclosure.
CoStar/STR reported the 2024 U.S. hotel P&L metrics used in the second formula. Its 2024 hotel profitability release defines EBITDA as earnings before interest, income tax, depreciation, and amortization. The data are broad hotel-industry evidence, not a same-brand, same-format margin. Applying that total-revenue margin to room revenue is a simplifying proxy and one reason confidence is limited.
| Scenario | RevPAR assumption | Annual room revenue | EBITDA-margin proxy | Estimated pre-tax owner earnings |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Conservative | $55.97 | $2.06 million | 21.74% | $450,000 |
| Base | $69.96 | $2.58 million | 24.74% | $640,000 |
| Upside | $83.95 | $3.09 million | 27.74% | $860,000 |
What does the three-scenario earnings model show?
The modeled manager-run result rises from $450,000 in the Conservative scenario to $860,000 in the Upside scenario. Values are annual estimates for an illustrative 101-room hotel, rounded to the nearest $10,000.
Interpretation: Revenue and margin move together in this sensitivity, so the range is not a probability forecast and the midpoint is not presented as the most likely outcome.
Source and calculation: Country Inn & Suites by Radisson 2026 FDD, Item 19, pages 80–81; CoStar/STR 2024 U.S. hotel P&L metrics. Revenue uses 80%, 100%, and 120% of the official Generation 4 median RevPAR; margins use the benchmark minus three points, the benchmark, and the benchmark plus three points.
- Room count: 101 rooms is the 2026 FDD’s standard new-construction example, not the reported average room count of the Generation 4 Performance Sample.
- Revenue scope: RevPAR produces Gross Room Revenues. Ancillary revenue from meeting rooms, food and beverage, vending, and other sources is not added.
- Expense scope: The EBITDA-margin proxy is treated as all-in. FDD fees are not subtracted again in the scenario, avoiding double counting.
- Cash-flow scope: Replacement reserves, renovation capital, financing interest, loan principal, and personal income taxes are not deducted.
How does owner involvement change the result?
An active owner who replaces a paid General Manager may receive an estimated owner-operator benefit about $80,000 higher than the manager-run result, but that increment is compensation for labor, not passive business profit. Item 15, page 74, does not require personal owner participation; it does require a certified General Manager at the hotel.
The national May 2025 Bureau of Labor Statistics table reports a mean annual wage of $78,740 for lodging managers. The figures below round that value to $80,000. They do not include payroll taxes, benefits, bonuses, housing, or local wage differences.
| Scenario | Manager-run owner earnings | Owner labor value | Estimated owner-operator benefit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Conservative | $450,000 | +$80,000 | $530,000 |
| Base | $640,000 | +$80,000 | $720,000 |
| Upside | $860,000 | +$80,000 | $940,000 |
Which official performance cohort is most relevant?
The Generation 4 median RevPAR of $69.96 is the most relevant FDD anchor for a hotel built or renovated to current prototype standards, but it is not a guarantee for a new 101-room property. Item 19 defines Generation 4 hotels as properties meeting at least 70% of overall standards and 80% of brand-identity standards for the fourth-generation system.
How do the 2025 median RevPAR cohorts compare?
Generation 4 median RevPAR was $69.96, or $17.61 above the Generation 1–3 median. The chart compares official Revenue per Available Room for distinct franchised-hotel populations in the 2026 FDD.
Interpretation: Property generation and guest-satisfaction cohort are associated with materially different room-revenue productivity, but the cohorts are descriptive and are not probability bands.
Source: Country Inn & Suites by Radisson 2026 FDD, Item 19, pages 80–82. Generation 1–3 sample: 142 hotels; full Performance Sample: 389; Generation 4: 247; above-brand-average Likelihood to Recommend cohort: 193.
The above-brand-average Likelihood to Recommend cohort had the highest displayed median RevPAR, at $71.61. That cohort is selected using a guest-satisfaction result, so it should not replace the Generation 4 anchor for a general acquisition model. It does, however, indicate that service execution and guest satisfaction may affect room revenue alongside property standards.
How do recurring Choice fees affect owner earnings?
The 2026 FDD sets a 6.0% Royalty Fee and a 3.5% Marketing and Reservation Fee on Gross Room Revenues, creating a 9.5% core percentage burden before loyalty, distribution, technology, revenue-management, and other charges. These are official fee terms for the U.S. hotel format; the dollar examples below use the $2.58 million base room-revenue scenario.
| Recurring obligation | Official basis | Base annual illustration | Treatment in earnings model |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | 6.0% of Gross Room Revenues | $155,000 | Assumed embedded in the all-in EBITDA-margin proxy |
| Marketing and Reservation Fee | 3.5% of Gross Room Revenues | $90,000 | Assumed embedded; not deducted twice |
| Rewards Program Fee | 5% of room revenue generated by rewards members | $57,000 | Derived using 44.2% Generation 4 average loyalty contribution |
| Property Technology & Service Fee | $10.10 per room monthly, $650 minimum, $950 maximum | $11,400 | 101 rooms reach the stated monthly maximum |
| ChoiceROCS | $970–$1,900 monthly; ChoiceMAX bundled for participants | $11,640–$22,800 | Mandatory for Country Inn & Suites hotels |
| Other listed fixed charges | Medallia, educational resources, and one convention registration | $4,160 | Excludes convention travel and variable transaction fees |
The loyalty estimate is especially uncertain. It multiplies the FDD’s 5% Rewards Program Fee by the Generation 4 cohort’s 44.2% average Choice Privileges Contribution. A specific hotel’s member mix, reward-night economics, direct-channel mix, travel-agent usage, and third-party distribution will differ.
What could move actual annual earnings outside the range?
Property-level operating costs and financing are the largest unresolved variables, so actual cash distributions can fall well below—or occasionally exceed—the scenario range. The Item 19 population is strong revenue evidence for 2025 franchised hotels, but it does not provide labor, occupancy cost, insurance, property tax, utilities, repairs, management fees, capital reserve, or debt-service data.
- Location and demand: Local weekday demand, group business, events, highway access, competitive supply, seasonality, and disaster exposure can change occupancy and Average Daily Rate.
- Property generation and condition: Generation 4 median RevPAR exceeded the Generation 1–3 median by $17.61, but achieving current standards may require renovation capital that is excluded from annual earnings.
- Labor and management: Front desk, housekeeping, maintenance, breakfast, sales, and General Manager costs vary by market. Labor pressure was a major constraint in CoStar/STR’s 2024 U.S. hotel profitability data.
- Property-level fixed costs: Property tax, insurance, utilities, repairs, and replacement reserves can be substantial and location-specific.
- Financing: The range is before both interest and loan principal. A highly leveraged hotel may generate materially less cash for owner distributions even when operating earnings are positive.
- Sample and system movement: Item 20 shows franchised U.S. outlets declining from 416 at the end of 2024 to 397 at the end of 2025. The 2025 table reports 10 openings, four terminations, five non-renewals, and 20 outlets ceasing operations or leaving for other reasons, plus 36 transfers.
What should a buyer verify before relying on this range?
A buyer should replace every external or editorial assumption with property-specific records and current franchisee evidence before treating the range as decision-grade. The most important verification is a normalized profit-and-loss statement showing the relationship among room revenue, payroll, property-level costs, recurring Choice fees, management compensation, capital reserves, and debt service.
- Request the written substantiation supporting the 2026 FDD Item 19 tables, including the exact hotel list, room counts, and any updates issued after May 20, 2026.
- Ask the franchisor for a bridge from Gross Room Revenues to Gross Operating Profit and EBITDA for hotels comparable by room count, generation, geography, occupancy, age, and management model.
- Interview current Generation 4 franchisees and former franchisees listed in Item 20 about payroll, insurance, property tax, utilities, repairs, loyalty fees, distribution commissions, required renovations, and actual cash distributions.
- For an existing hotel, review at least three years of monthly profit-and-loss statements, tax returns, reservation-channel reports, occupancy, Average Daily Rate, RevPAR, capital expenditures, and debt statements.
- Confirm whether the owner will serve as the certified General Manager, what replacement management remains necessary, and whether the BLS wage benchmark fits the local labor market.
- Model financing interest and principal separately. Do not treat the EBITDA-like scenario as cash available for personal spending.
The strongest defensible annual range is approximately $450,000 to $860,000 for a manager-run, illustrative 101-room hotel, with estimated owner-operator benefit of about $530,000 to $940,000 when the owner replaces a paid certified General Manager. Both ranges are scenario-based, not official Item 19 profit figures. RevPAR is the most important modeled revenue driver; the largest unresolved uncertainty is the hotel’s actual expense and financing structure. Before relying on the range, verify the Item 19 substantiation, obtain comparable property-level profit-and-loss records, and test the assumptions in interviews with current and former franchisees.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to the Country Inn & Suites Franchise?
- How Does the Country Inn & Suites Franchise Work?
- How to Open a Country Inn & Suites Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist
- How Does the Country Inn & Suites Franchise Work?
- What Are the Pros and Cons of Owning a Country Inn & Suites Franchise?