How Much Does a CLUB Z! In-Home Tutoring Services Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Owner earnings answer
$8,000–$75,000 per year

This is an estimated owner-operator benefit range for a mature U.S. CLUB Z! In-Home Tutoring territory, not an official profit disclosure. The base scenario is about $43,000 before personal income taxes, financing costs, debt principal, and capital expenditures. Because the owner performs the director and management work, the figure combines residual business profit with compensation for the owner’s labor.

Evidence mode: Mode D structural estimate Confidence: Limited Format: Home-based tutoring territory Operating evidence: 2025
Independent estimate

The $8,000–$75,000 range is an independent analytical scenario. It is not an Item 19 financial performance representation by Club Z!, Inc. The model combines facts disclosed in the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document with separately identified assumptions about tutoring frequency, active weeks, local advertising, and other operating costs. Actual results can differ materially by territory, student volume, realized rates, tutor availability, payroll treatment, marketing efficiency, financing, owner involvement, and execution.

Data basis

The legal franchisor is Club Z!, Inc. The current U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document was issued April 30, 2026. Item 19 reports private-student counts by weekly owner work hours plus tutor and client hourly rates; it does not report Gross Sales, Operating Profit, EBITDA, Net Income, cash flow, or Owner Compensation.

Applicable operating population319 mature franchised businesses, each open at least one full year
Population limitationItem 19 does not isolate U.S. outlets; Item 20, pp. 28–38, reports 305 U.S. outlets and 319 worldwide at 2025 year-end
External labor benchmarkMay 2023 BLS wage data for privately owned Other Schools and Instruction
Research check dateJuly 20, 2026
47
Median private students

OFFICIAL. The median for the 35-or-more-hours owner-work cohort in Item 19.

$53.33
Modeled K–12 client rate

DERIVED. Simple mean of the three disclosed K–12 median client hourly rates.

$24.33
Modeled K–12 tutor rate

DERIVED. Simple mean of the three disclosed K–12 median tutor hourly rates.

$29.00
Hourly rate spread

DERIVED. Client rate minus tutor cash pay before every other business expense.

$78,840
Full-time manager proxy

BENCHMARK. BLS 2023 mean wage for education administrators in privately owned Other Schools and Instruction.

305
U.S. outlets at 2025 year-end

OFFICIAL. Item 20, pp. 28–38, separate from the 319-business Item 19 population.

Item 19 evidence

What does the CLUB Z! FDD actually measure?

Officially, Item 19 measures student counts and hourly rates—not annual owner earnings. For 2025, Club Z!, Inc. divided 319 mature franchised businesses into four cohorts based on hours worked during regular business hours. It then disclosed the average, median, low, and high number of private students for each cohort. Separate tables disclose tutor pay rates and client pay rates as recorded in the customer-management software in March 2025.

The distinction matters. A private-student count is not Gross Sales, and the difference between a client hourly rate and a tutor hourly rate is not business profit. Annual revenue still depends on tutoring hours per student, active weeks, cancellations, discounts, subject mix, and collection rates. Profit then depends on royalties, advertising, technology, recruiting, insurance, payment processing, administration, and owner or manager labor.

Median private students rise with disclosed owner work hours

Official 2025 Item 19 medians for mature franchised businesses; the relationship is descriptive and does not prove that additional hours cause higher enrollment.

Median private students by owner weekly work-hours cohort The chart shows 5 median students for owners working 10 or fewer hours, 15 for 10 to 20 hours, 30 for 20 to 30 hours, and 47 for 35 or more hours. 0 10 20 30 40+ 5 15 30 47 ≤10 hours 10–20 hours 20–30 hours 35+ hours Owner work during regular business hours per week

Interpretation: Owner involvement is the strongest same-brand operating signal in the FDD. The 35+ hour cohort represented 166 businesses, or 52% of the Item 19 population, and had a median of 47 private students.

Source: Club Z!, Inc. 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 19, pp. 25–27. Figures were franchisee-reported and unaudited.

Sample limitation

Item 19 says its tables cover 319 franchised businesses, while Item 20 reports 305 U.S. outlets and 319 worldwide outlets at December 31, 2025. The FDD does not provide a U.S.-only Item 19 breakout. Therefore, the official student and rate evidence cannot be treated as a clean U.S.-only earnings sample. This geographic ambiguity is a principal reason for the Limited confidence rating.

Scenario model

How is the estimated annual owner-operator benefit calculated?

The estimate is scenario-based and uses a bottom-up tutoring-hours model. It starts with disclosed private-student counts and disclosed median K–12 client and tutor rates, then subtracts the current FDD’s recurring fees, the FDD’s recommended local advertising level, and a clearly labeled allowance for other operating costs. The result is pre-tax cash available to an owner who performs the director role, before financing costs, debt principal, and capital expenditures.

Estimated owner-operator benefit = modeled client revenue − tutor cash pay − Royalty/Support Fee − Advertising Fund contribution − Business Package − software/phone/web/email fee − local paid advertising − other operating-cost allowance.
Model input or result Conservative Base Upside
Private students 30 47 52
Tutoring hours per student per week 1.5 2.0 2.5
Active tutoring weeks 32 36 40
Annual billable tutoring hours 1,440 3,384 5,200
Modeled client revenue $76,800 $180,500 $277,300
Tutor cash pay ($35,000) ($82,300) ($126,500)
Recurring FDD fees ($12,600) ($21,900) ($30,300)
Local advertising plus 12% other-cost allowance ($21,200) ($33,700) ($45,300)
Estimated owner-operator benefit $7,900 $42,500 $75,200

Rounded to the nearest $100 after calculating with full-precision inputs. “Recurring FDD fees” includes the modeled progressive monthly Royalty/Support Fee, the 2% Advertising Fund contribution, a $300 monthly Business Package fee for a mature year-three-or-later business, and the $75 monthly software/phone/web/email fee. The four-month launch-advertising charge and Item 7 startup investment are excluded from the mature annual model.

Three independent owner-operator scenarios

Estimated annual benefit before personal income taxes, interest, debt principal, and capital expenditures.

Estimated annual owner-operator benefit by scenario Conservative estimated owner-operator benefit is $7,900, base is $42,500, and upside is $75,200. $0 $20K $40K $60K $80K $7.9K $42.5K $75.2K Conservative Base Upside Independent analytical scenarios—not FDD-reported earnings

Interpretation: The range is wide because the FDD supplies no annual session volume or expense statement. Small changes in students, weekly tutoring intensity, and active weeks materially change billable hours and owner benefit.

Sources and assumptions: Club Z!, Inc. 2026 FDD, Items 6, 11, and 19; K–12 median-rate derivation; editorial tutoring-frequency, active-week, and 12% other-cost assumptions. No scenario is presented as the most likely result.

Which assumptions are official and which are editorial?

The student counts, hourly rate inputs, and franchisor fees are official or directly derived from the 2026 FDD; session intensity and the broad overhead allowance are estimates. The scenarios use the 20–30 hour cohort median of 30 students for the conservative case, the 35+ hour cohort median of 47 for the base case, and the 35+ hour cohort average of 52 for the upside case.

  • K–12 rate mixThe modeled $53.33 client rate is the simple mean of the $50 elementary, $55 middle-school, and $55 high-school medians. The modeled $24.33 tutor rate is the simple mean of the corresponding $24, $24, and $25 tutor medians. Test-preparation rates are excluded because the FDD does not disclose the revenue mix.
  • Tutoring cadence1.5, 2.0, and 2.5 weekly hours per student and 32, 36, and 40 active weeks are editorial scenario assumptions. Item 19 does not disclose tutoring hours per student, retention, seasonality, or cancellations.
  • Other operating costsThe 12% allowance covers costs not quantified in Item 19, including payment processing, insurance, recruiting, screening, bookkeeping, virtual-address expenses, supplies, and payroll-related or fulfillment leakage. It is not a franchisor-provided expense ratio.
  • Royalty calculationThe model applies the Item 6 monthly tiers progressively—8% through $10,000, 7% from $10,001 through $20,000, and 6% above $20,000—subject to the $550 monthly minimum. A buyer should confirm the franchisor’s actual billing calculation in writing.
Owner role

How does active ownership change the earnings result?

Active ownership can be the difference between a positive owner benefit and an operating loss after manager pay in this model. Item 15 requires the owner—or the owner’s manager—to participate personally in direct operation. Item 19 also reports materially higher median student counts in higher owner-work-hour cohorts. That association is official, but it is not proof of causation.

Operating role Conservative Base Upside
Owner-operator benefit
Owner performs director/management work
$7,900 $42,500 $75,200
Residual after 0.5 manager FTE
$39,420 wage proxy
($31,500) $3,100 $35,800
Residual after 1.0 manager FTE
$78,840 wage proxy
($70,900) ($36,300) ($3,600)

The manager sensitivity uses the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics May 2023 mean annual wage of $78,840 for Education Administrators, All Other in privately owned Other Schools and Instruction. The BLS estimate excludes self-employed workers and does not include employer payroll taxes or benefits, so a fully loaded manager cost could be higher. The occupation and industry are proxies, not CLUB Z! payroll data.

Owner-operator effect

The $8,000–$75,000 headline range should not be read as passive business profit. It is an estimated owner-operator benefit: part residual operating profit and part compensation for sales, local marketing, customer service, billing, payroll, tutor recruitment, scheduling, and other director work. An official 2025 CLUB Z! director profile similarly describes owners handling sales, marketing, customer service, information technology, billing, payroll, and relationships with tutors and customers.

Recurring economics

Which FDD fees materially reduce annual owner earnings?

The recurring burden includes a monthly Royalty/Support Fee, a system Advertising Fund contribution, the Business Package, and the technology/communications fee. These are official 2026 FDD obligations disclosed in Item 6, pp. 4–7, and Item 11, pp. 12–18. The model also includes the franchisor’s recommended $1,000-per-month local paid-advertising level, although the FDD describes that amount as a recommendation rather than a mandatory fee.

  • Royalty/Support FeeThe greater of the monthly percentage calculation or $550. Item 6 discloses 8%, 7%, and 6% Gross Sales tiers; an Expanded Territory pays a fixed 6% royalty.
  • Advertising FundThe greater of 2% of Gross Sales or $50 per month, beginning 30 days after training.
  • Club Z! Business Package$250 per month initially, increasing to $300 per month beginning in the third year. The scenario uses $3,600 annually because Item 19 covers mature businesses and the model is intended to represent a stabilized year.
  • Software and communications$75 per month for proprietary software, a virtual business telephone number, web hosting, and one email account.
  • Local paid advertisingItem 11 recommends at least $1,000 per month. The scenario deducts $12,000 per year separately from the 2% Advertising Fund.
Revenue is not earnings

At the base scenario’s modeled $180,500 of client revenue, tutor cash pay consumes about $82,300 before royalties, advertising, technology, insurance, recruiting, administration, or owner labor. The $29 hourly difference between modeled client and tutor rates is therefore a contribution spread—not an operating margin and not owner take-home pay.

Uncertainty

What could move actual owner earnings outside the range?

The largest unresolved variable is annual billable tutoring hours per student. Item 19 gives a student count at a point in the operating model and hourly rate schedules, but it does not disclose how many sessions each student buys, how long students remain active, how much is discounted or refunded, or how rates differ by territory and service mix. Those missing variables drive revenue before expenses are considered.

  • Student retention and seasonalityA territory with the same 47 students can produce very different annual revenue if students average 1.5 versus 2.5 hours per week or remain active for 30 versus 40 weeks.
  • Subject mixItem 19’s test-preparation median client rate is $100 per hour versus a $27 median tutor rate, substantially above the K–12 spread. The FDD does not disclose what percentage of sessions are test preparation, so the scenario excludes that potential uplift.
  • Realized rate versus posted rateThe disclosed rates were posted in the management software. The FDD does not show actual collected revenue after discounts, refunds, uncollectible accounts, package pricing, or cancellations.
  • Employment classification and payroll burdenThe FDD reports tutor hourly pay but does not provide payroll taxes, workers’ compensation, contractor classification, benefits, or recruiting and screening cost per tutor.
  • Geographic sampleThe 319-business Item 19 population appears to align with the worldwide outlet count, while the U.S. count was 305. A U.S.-only table could change the student and rate benchmarks.
  • Financing and taxesItem 10 states that Club Z!, Inc. does not offer or guarantee financing. Interest, debt principal, and personal income taxes are not included in the owner-benefit range and should be modeled separately for the buyer’s actual capital structure.
Buyer verification

What should a prospective owner verify before relying on an earnings estimate?

A buyer should request the Item 19 written substantiation and rebuild the model with U.S.-only operating records from comparable territories. The Federal Trade Commission advises buyers to examine the source, assumptions, sample coverage, and limitations behind financial performance representations and to speak with current and former franchisees.

  • Ask Club Z!, Inc. for written substantiation showing whether the 319-business Item 19 population includes the 14 non-U.S. outlets reported in Item 20.
  • Request U.S.-only data for active students, billed tutoring hours, collected hourly revenue, tutor cash pay, refunds, discounts, cancellations, and student retention by month.
  • Compare owner-operated territories with manager-run territories at similar population sizes, maturity, and service mix.
  • Confirm the monthly Royalty/Support Fee tier calculation, minimum payment, Advertising Fund assessment, Business Package fee, software fee, and any required or customary local marketing spend.
  • Interview franchisees near 30, 47, and 52 active students and ask for actual annual profit-and-loss statements, owner hours, manager hours, and normalized owner compensation.
  • Separate owner salary or labor value from distributions, retained earnings, interest, depreciation, debt principal, and personal taxes.
  • Review Item 20 turnover and reacquisition patterns, including the decline from 312 to 305 U.S. outlets during 2025, and ask former franchisees why they left.
Decision synthesis

What is the strongest defensible earnings conclusion?

The strongest defensible annual range is approximately $8,000 to $75,000 of estimated owner-operator benefit, with a $43,000 base scenario. It is a structural, FDD-anchored estimate—not an official CLUB Z! owner-income figure. The primary earnings driver is billable tutoring hours, which combine active student count, weekly session intensity, and active weeks.

The largest unresolved uncertainty is that Item 19 does not disclose sales, expenses, or a U.S.-only operating population. Owner involvement also changes the economic meaning of the result: an active owner may retain the modeled benefit by performing director work, while a manager-run model must deduct manager compensation and could be negative at the same student volume. Before making a decision, a buyer should verify the Item 19 substantiation, obtain U.S.-only session and expense data, and test the assumptions in detailed interviews with current and former franchisees.