How Much Does a CLUB Z! In-Home Tutoring Services Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 ITEM 7 INVESTMENT

How much does a Club Z! In-Home Tutoring franchise cost?

Club Z!, Inc. discloses a total estimated initial investment of $40,975 to $57,425 for the CLUB Z! In-Home Tutoring home-based franchise model. The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document states that this range excludes real estate costs and includes three months of Additional Funds.

$40,975–$57,425
Official 2026 Item 7 range. It applies to the home-based CLUB Z! Business, includes the Item 7 startup categories and three months of Additional Funds, and does not estimate commercial office or other real estate expense. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 8–9.

Data basis: legal franchisor Club Z!, Inc.; U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 30, 2026; home-based tutoring business with territory-based franchise fees; Items 5, 6 and 7 on FDD pages 4–9, with cost-relevant details from Items 8, 10, 11, 15 and 17. The current U.S. offer was confirmed through the 2026 disclosure and active official franchise site. Information checked July 20, 2026.

No matching 2026 FDD was located on a franchise-controlled public website, so FDD references in this article are presented as unlinked Item and page citations. Separate links point to official Club Z! franchise information and government guidance, not to a substitute disclosure document.

Item 7 franchise fee $27,250–$39,750 The range used in the official total investment.
Launch advertising $6,000 Four monthly payments of $1,500.
Additional Funds $4,000–$6,000 Three-month Item 7 operating allowance.
Royalty/Support Fee 8%–6% or $550 Greater of the disclosed percentage calculation or monthly minimum.
Advertising Fund 2% or $50 Greater of Gross Sales percentage or monthly minimum.
Business Package $250–$300/mo. $250 through year two; $300 from year three.

The range should be read as a startup-cost envelope, not as a promise that every buyer can open at the low end. Several line items are estimates paid to outside parties, and the territory fee must match the population band actually granted. The lower bound therefore works only when the corresponding lower assumptions apply to the same transaction.

Additional Funds are already inside the disclosed total. They should not be added a second time when preparing a capital summary. Conversely, the absence of a premises line does not mean office space is free; it means the disclosed model assumes home-based operation and leaves an optional commercial location outside the estimate.

SOURCE CONFLICT

The current official franchise investment page lists a $37,500 to $50,000 total investment and a $27,500 initial fee. Those figures do not match the April 30, 2026 FDD. This article uses the current disclosure figures; a buyer should obtain a written reconciliation before relying on the website amount.

STARTUP COST CONTRACT

What is included in the $40,975 to $57,425 investment?

The 2026 Item 7 total combines the territory-based franchise fee, required launch and platform payments, training travel, computer and supplies, insurance, miscellaneous opening costs, and three months of Additional Funds. It does not include an estimate for commercial office space or other real estate.

Payments tied to the franchise agreement and launch services

These four Item 7 categories are paid to the franchisor and are controlled by signing-date or monthly contract deadlines rather than by third-party vendor schedules.

Item 7 category Disclosed amount Payment timing and payee
Initial Franchise Fee $27,250–$39,750 Lump sum to Club Z!, Inc. when the Franchise Agreement is signed.
Software, Business Telephone Number, Web Hosting and Email Account — 3 months $225 Paid to the franchisor; the $75 monthly charge begins 30 days after signing.
Club Z! Business Package — 3 months $750 Paid to the franchisor; the $250 monthly charge begins 30 days after signing.
Initial Launch Advertising — 4 months $6,000 Four $1,500 monthly payments to the franchisor, beginning the first day of the month after signing.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 8–9; payment details cross-checked to Items 6 and 11, pages 4–7 and 14–15.

Third-party opening costs and operating allowance

These Item 7 categories are paid to third parties as incurred and vary with training travel, existing equipment, insurance pricing and the first three months of operating needs.

Item 7 category Disclosed amount What determines the amount
Travel and Living Expenses during Training $1,000–$1,500 Estimate for two people; paid to third parties as incurred if training requires travel.
Miscellaneous Opening Costs $500 Third-party opening expense paid as incurred.
Computer and Other Equipment, Supplies $550–$1,200 Depends partly on whether the franchisee already owns a compliant computer and required software.
Insurance $700–$1,500 Must include $1 million General Liability and $1 million Professional Liability coverage naming the franchisor as additional insured.
Additional Funds — 3 months $4,000–$6,000 Initial operating allowance; the FDD says startup estimates include payroll costs, but does not state that owner compensation is included.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 8–9; computer details in Item 11, pages 14–15.

The two tables also show why the official total is more useful than adding isolated figures from a directory or marketing page. Some obligations are fixed, some vary within a stated range, and some begin on a schedule that can straddle the opening date. The disclosed total already reconciles those categories under the franchisor's assumptions.

The startup allowance is limited to an initial three-month period. It does not establish how long a buyer's own cash will last, and it does not resolve personal living costs. The practical budgeting question is whether the buyer has enough funding for the disclosed business expenses and any separate household or optional-office obligations that are not included.

The visual comparison is not a suggested spending mix. It simply shows that the territory-related fee accounts for most of the variation among the largest disclosed categories. A buyer cannot choose the lowest bar independently of the territory granted, and should not replace the official total with a custom sum built from incompatible assumptions.

A range also does not mean that every variable will land at the same endpoint. Travel could be near its lower estimate while insurance is near its upper estimate, for example. The disclosed endpoints remain the franchisor's official boundary, while the buyer's actual mix depends on personal circumstances and vendor terms. That is why the official total should remain intact in the comparison, even when individual quotes become available.

As quotes are collected, the clean approach is to replace only the matching assumption in a private working budget and preserve a separate column showing the official disclosure. This makes it possible to see which differences come from a chosen territory, an existing computer, remote training, insurance pricing or another known fact. It also prevents a lower quote in one category from masking an omitted obligation elsewhere.

TERRITORY-BASED PRICING

How does territory population change the initial franchise fee?

Item 5 lists three population-based Initial Franchise Fees: $19,750 for 100,000 people, $27,250 for 150,000 people and $39,750 for 250,000 people. However, Item 7 uses only $27,250 to $39,750 in its official investment range, so the $19,750 fee should not be inserted into the Item 7 total without written clarification from the franchisor

The schedule is not a per-person formula. The listed amounts are discrete contract prices tied to stated population bands. A territory between two listed bands should not be priced by interpolation, and a buyer should not assume that a larger or smaller area will be available merely because a fee appears in the disclosure.

This distinction matters because the initial fee also affects the total startup range. Until the final territory map and agreement identify the applicable population, the buyer has a disclosed range rather than a single committed price.

The territory disclosures require written confirmation

There are two internal FDD points a buyer should reconcile. First, Item 5 lists a 250,000-population fee, while Item 12 describes a protected Territory as 50,000 to no more than 200,000 people. Second, the $19,750 fee appears in Item 5 but not in the Item 7 total. These differences affect the fee contract and the territory being purchased; they should be resolved in the final Franchise Agreement and territory map, not by assuming that every population band is currently available.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, page 4; Item 7, pages 8–9; Item 12, page 18.

CASH MILESTONES

When is the startup money paid?

The largest payment is due at signing, but several required charges begin on monthly clocks tied to the Franchise Agreement or completion of training. The 2026 FDD estimates about 30 days from signing to opening, subject to training, financing, insurance and legal requirements.

  1. Before signing or paying. The FTC Franchise Rule generally requires the disclosure document at least 14 calendar days before a binding agreement or payment. The FTC franchise buying guide explains this review period.
  2. When the Franchise Agreement is signed. The Initial Franchise Fee is paid in one non-refundable lump sum: Item 7 uses $27,250 to $39,750.
  3. Beginning the first day of the next month. Initial Launch Advertising starts at $1,500 per month for four months, totaling $6,000 in Item 7.
  4. Thirty days after signing. The Club Z! Business Package begins at $250 per month and the software, virtual business telephone number, web hosting and email account charge begins at $75 per month.
  5. During training and opening preparation. Travel and living expenses, equipment, supplies, insurance and miscellaneous opening costs are paid as incurred. Opening requires successful training completion and proof of insurance.
  6. After training. Royalty/Support Fees are waived for two months starting the month after training completion; the Advertising Fund charge starts 30 days after training. The official ownership process provides non-contractual context for territory mapping, FDD review, training and launch.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, page 4; Item 6, pages 4–7; Item 7, pages 8–9; Item 11, pages 14–17. Disclosure timing guidance: FTC Franchise Rule.

A useful cash calendar separates the signing date, the first day of the following month, the 30-day anniversary, the training-completion date and the opening date. Those milestones can fall close together. The first several weeks may therefore require both the large signing payment and the beginning of recurring service charges before the business has completed its initial operating period.

Third-party costs are less synchronized. Travel, equipment, insurance and opening expenses are paid when arranged or incurred. A buyer should preserve the FDD categories and timing labels in the budget instead of collapsing every obligation into a single “opening day” amount.

PAYMENT TIMING

The Item 7 total is not one payment on opening day. The Franchise Fee is due at signing, launch advertising begins the next month, and the two platform-related monthly charges begin 30 days after signing. A buyer's cash schedule should therefore be built from contract dates, not only from the expected opening date.

ONGOING FEES

Which fees continue after opening?

After the initial launch period, the principal continuing charges are the Royalty/Support Fee, Advertising Fund contribution, Club Z! Business Package and technology/communications fee. The Royalty/Support Fee and Advertising Fund are percentage-based obligations with monthly minimums; the package and technology charges are fixed monthly amounts.

Continuing fee Amount or basis When it applies
Royalty/Support Fee Greater of 8%–6% of Gross Sales or $550/month Due by the 10th day of each month; waived for two months starting the month after training completion. Expanded Territory note: fixed 6% percentage.
Advertising Fund Greater of 2% of Gross Sales or $50/month Due by the 10th day of each month; begins 30 days after training completion.
Club Z! Business Package $250/month; $300/month from year three Begins 30 days after the Franchise Agreement and is charged automatically.
Software, virtual telephone number, web hosting and email account $75/month Begins 30 days after the Franchise Agreement; applicable state tax may be added.
Additional email account $120/account/year Only when an additional account is requested.
Local paid advertising $1,000/month recommended Item 11 describes this as a recommendation, not as the Item 6 Advertising Fund obligation.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pages 4–7; Item 11, pages 12–14.

The percentage-based charges and fixed service charges are separate obligations. The monthly minimums prevent the two percentage-based fees from falling below their stated floors, while the package and technology payments remain due at their fixed amounts. The two-month royalty waiver changes timing only; it does not remove the other charges that begin under their own schedules.

No annual dollar estimate can be calculated from the percentage terms without a sales figure, and this article does not create one. The decision-useful point is the payment basis: actual monthly billing can exceed the minimum whenever the disclosed percentage calculation produces a larger amount.

How is the Royalty/Support percentage described?

The FDD defines Gross Sales broadly as receipts connected with the franchised business, excluding refunds, tax collections, allowances and discounts to customers. It then describes the percentage component in bands: 8% for monthly Gross Sales of $10,000 or less; 7% of Gross Sales between $10,001 and $20,000; and 6% of all Gross Sales over $20,000. The applicable calculation is compared with the $550 monthly minimum, and the greater amount is due. Because the language is tiered, a buyer should request a worked billing example rather than treating 8%, 7% or 6% as a single universal rate.

Gross Sales basis
Gross receipts from products, services and other business-related income, less the specific exclusions stated in Item 6.
Monthly minimum
$550 for Royalty/Support and $50 for the Advertising Fund; percentage calculations can produce a higher payment.
Expanded Territory
Item 6 states a fixed 6% Royalty/Support percentage for an Expanded Territory, while the monthly-minimum framework remains in the fee table.
Payment method
The FDD requires credit-card authorization for automatic collection of monthly minimums if timely payment is not submitted.

Minimum-payment mechanics matter most during periods of limited activity. A percentage charge may be small, but the contractual floor can still be due. Fixed service charges follow their own schedule and do not disappear because the percentage calculation is below its minimum. The result is a layered monthly obligation rather than one all-inclusive continuing charge.

For planning purposes, each monthly statement should be checked against four questions: which charges are fixed, which are percentage-based, which have a floor, and which are temporarily waived. That framework is more reliable than applying one blended percentage to the business, because the disclosure assigns a different basis and start date to each obligation.

CONDITIONAL COSTS

Which costs depend on events or operating choices?

Several obligations arise only after a late payment, conference, transfer, renewal, early termination or contract default. Other costs depend on the decision to operate from commercial office space rather than from home.

  • Late payment: $100 initial late fee plus 1.67% of the amount due for each day after the due date, or the maximum rate permitted by state law if lower, when Royalty/Support and Advertising Fund payments are late.
  • Conference: up to $295 per person before a national or regional conference; the FDD says the fee may be charged whether or not the franchisee attends. Travel, food and lodging are additional if attending.
  • Transfer: $2,000 transfer fee plus $3,000 for training the transferee, paid before the transfer is completed.
  • Renewal: $250 at renewal, together with compliance, any required training, a release and execution of the then-current Franchise Agreement.
  • Early termination without required notice: an amount equal to 180 days of minimum Royalty/Support and Advertising Fund Fees.
  • Default or claims: variable attorneys' fees, costs and indemnification obligations may be payable as incurred.
  • Optional commercial office: the franchise may be operated from home or from leased office space, but Item 7 provides no real estate estimate. Tutoring at a business office or retail site requires written permission.
  • System changes: Item 11 permits hardware, software and System Standards changes that may require additional capital; no upgrade-cost estimate is disclosed.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pages 5–7; Item 11, pages 14–17; Item 17, pages 22–24.

These charges should not be added to the opening range as though they are certain startup expenses. They belong in a separate contingency schedule because the trigger, timing and amount depend on later events. The exception is any known choice made before opening, such as leasing an office or planning travel for in-person training.

The same separation protects against understating long-term obligations. A low startup estimate does not remove transfer, renewal, default or system-change costs; it means those costs are not part of the initial opening table unless and until the relevant event occurs.

EXCLUDED FROM ITEM 7

Commercial office rent, deposits, build-out, utilities and other real estate costs are not estimated. The official range assumes home-based operation. A buyer choosing office space must obtain location-specific costs separately without adding an unsupported generic estimate to the FDD total.

CAPITAL QUALIFICATIONS

Does Club Z! disclose liquid capital, net worth or financing requirements?

The 2026 FDD does not state a verified Liquid Capital, Net Worth or Non-Borrowed Funds threshold. Item 10 also states that the franchisor does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease or obligation.

The official franchise investment page says third-party lenders may be available to qualified candidates. That statement is not a guarantee of approval, rate, term or required down payment, and no lender is identified in the 2026 FDD.

Item 15 also states that the franchisor does not require the buyer, a spouse or a domestic partner to sign a Personal Guarantee. That disclosure concerns the franchise relationship; a third-party lender may impose separate guaranty or collateral requirements.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 10, page 12; Item 15, page 21.

Borrowing changes the source of the money, not the amount the business is expected to consume. Any loan analysis should therefore keep the startup uses of funds separate from lender fees, interest, collateral, required equity and debt-service obligations. None of those financing terms is quantified in the current disclosure.

Because no official cash or net-worth threshold is stated, third-party directory figures should not be treated as franchisor qualifications. The relevant number is whatever the franchisor and lender provide in writing for the specific applicant and territory.

FDD CAVEAT

Total Initial Investment is not a liquidity requirement. The $40,975 to $57,425 Item 7 range estimates startup uses of funds; it does not establish how much cash a lender will require, what portion may be borrowed, or how much personal liquidity the franchisor will require during candidate approval.

BUYER VERIFICATION

What should be confirmed before setting the final capital budget?

The official FDD range is the correct starting point, but the territory schedule, website conflict, real estate exclusion and financing terms require written confirmation before a buyer treats the range as a complete cash plan.

The most reliable final budget will preserve three separate views: the total startup estimate, the calendar of payments to the franchisor, and a contingency list for choices or events outside the opening table. Keeping those views separate prevents a fee from being counted twice and makes omissions easier to identify.

Written answers should be retained with the current disclosure and final agreement. Verbal explanations can clarify a question, but they should not replace the population, timing, fee basis or financing terms that determine the actual obligation.

  • Confirm the exact territory population and fee. Ask which Item 5 population bands are currently offered and why Item 12 caps the stated Territory below the 250,000-person fee band.
  • Reconcile the website and FDD figures. Obtain a written explanation for the official site's lower investment range and $27,500 fee.
  • Do not recalculate Item 7 with the $19,750 fee. The 100,000-population fee appears in Item 5 but not in the official Item 7 total.
  • Confirm Additional Funds coverage. Ask which payroll, operating and owner-related cash needs are included in the three-month $4,000 to $6,000 allowance.
  • Price any office choice separately. Item 7 excludes real estate and assumes home-based operation.
  • Request a Royalty/Support billing example. Verify how the tiered Gross Sales percentages and $550 minimum are applied, including an Expanded Territory.
  • Document any incentive or third-party financing. Use only written terms showing eligibility, lender, amount, timing and whether the concession changes the Initial Franchise Fee or another category.

The FTC Franchise Rule requires a 23-item disclosure framework, but it does not make the franchisor's estimates a guarantee. The official Club Z! tutoring franchise page can help identify the current operating model, while the signed Franchise Agreement and current FDD control fee obligations.

CAPITAL DECISION

What is the clearest way to interpret the Club Z! cost range?

Use $40,975 to $57,425 as the verified 2026 startup range for the home-based CLUB Z! Business. The largest variable is the Initial Franchise Fee used in Item 7, while the most important fixed launch obligation is $6,000 of Initial Launch Advertising. The range already includes three months of Additional Funds, but excludes real estate and does not disclose a Liquid Capital or Net Worth threshold.

After opening, capital planning must also account for the Royalty/Support Fee, Advertising Fund, Club Z! Business Package and technology charge, plus event-triggered transfer, renewal, conference, late-payment and termination costs. The central unresolved issue is territory pricing: the buyer should confirm the current population band, the applicable fee and the reason the territory provisions do not align cleanly across Items 5, 7 and 12.

The final funding plan should therefore preserve a margin for timing differences and unpriced choices without presenting that margin as an official estimate. The disclosure supplies the documented business-cost range; the buyer's separate reserve must reflect personal financing terms, household needs and any elective premises decision.

A practical worksheet can show the documented low and high boundaries in one pair of columns, confirmed vendor quotes in another, and unresolved questions in a final notes column. That structure keeps estimates, commitments and unknowns visibly separate. It also makes later updates easier: when a territory, training method, insurance quote or funding term is finalized, only the matching assumption changes, while the original disclosure remains available for comparison and recordkeeping.