How Much Does a C12 Group Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Estimated annual owner earnings
About $86,000-$179,000

A C12 Group franchise owner who personally works as the Principal Chair may have an estimated pre-tax owner-operator benefit of about $86,000 to $179,000 a year, with a base scenario near $135,000. The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document does not report profit or owner compensation; it reports 2025 Total Revenue. A non-operating owner who pays a qualified Principal Chair may have substantially less residual profit, including a modeled base result below zero.

Mode C: FDD-anchored scenario Evidence confidence: Limited Territory-based C12 practice 2025 results / 2026 FDD
Independent estimate

This range is an independent analytical scenario, not an Item 19 financial performance representation by The C12 Group, LLC. It combines identified FDD facts with an IRS consulting-industry reference and explicit all-in margin assumptions. Actual results can differ materially by territory, member count, dues pricing, Royalty Fee tier, registration activity, local marketing, travel, Associate Chair staffing, financing, owner involvement, and execution.

Data basis
Legal franchisorThe C12 Group, LLC, a Texas limited liability company.
FDDIssued April 20, 2026; Item 19 covers January 1-December 31, 2025.
Item 19 population67 franchised C12 Forum businesses open for the full 2025 calendar year; seven 2025 openings were excluded.
Operating formatTerritory-based, typically home-office, led by a Principal Chair with optional Associate Chairs.
BenchmarksIRS 2023 Schedule C consulting data used only as a broad margin reference; BLS wage and compensation data used for the manager-run comparison.
CheckedJuly 20, 2026. The official C12 Chair opportunity page was reviewed for the operating role.
Evidence status
LIMITED

The same-brand FDD supplies strong revenue and fee evidence but no expense, profit, cash-flow, or owner-compensation measure. The earnings range therefore depends materially on a broad official consulting benchmark and editorial scenario assumptions.

Item 19 evidence

What does C12 Group's Item 19 actually disclose?

Item 19 officially discloses Total Revenue, not owner earnings. For 67 C12 franchisees operating for the full 2025 calendar year, median Total Revenue was $489,575 and average Total Revenue was $752,208. The FDD defines Total Revenue as all revenue received from member registration fees and monthly dues, with no deductions. See 2026 FDD, Item 19, page 35.

The same table reports a low of $36,850 and a high of $4,031,885. Only 19 of 67 franchisees, or 28%, met or exceeded the $752,208 average. That gap between the median and average indicates a right-skewed population: a relatively small number of high-revenue practices pull the average upward.

Official FDD $489,575 Median 2025 Total Revenue

The central revenue anchor for the scenario model.

Official FDD $752,208 Average 2025 Total Revenue

Only 28% of reporting franchisees met or exceeded it.

Official FDD 67 of 74 Full-year population

Seven practices opened during 2025 and were excluded.

Official FDD 15%-30% Royalty Fee schedule

The applicable rate depends on monthly Gross Billings.

Benchmark 50.25% IRS reference margin

Broad 2023 consulting comparator; it is not applied directly as a C12 margin.

Derived benchmark $151,725 Loaded Chair compensation

BLS wage proxy adjusted for employer benefits and payroll costs.

Why is the median the better planning anchor?

The $489,575 median is the stronger central anchor because half of the reporting practices were below it and half were above it. The $752,208 average is official, but it is not a typical-outlet measure when only 28% of the population reached or exceeded it. Neither figure measures business profit, Principal Chair compensation, distributions, or after-tax take-home pay.

Revenue is not earnings

A practice with $489,575 of Total Revenue still must pay its Royalty Fee, member registration charges, training costs, local operating expenses, marketing, travel, technology, insurance, professional fees, and any Associate Chair or employee compensation. Item 19 does not disclose those total expenses.

Scenario model

How was the annual owner-earnings range modeled?

The estimated range uses the $489,575 FDD median and applies 80%, 100%, and 120% revenue anchors for Conservative, Base, and Upside scenarios. The revenue spread and the all-in owner-operator margins of 22.0%, 27.5%, and 30.5% are editorial scenario assumptions, not FDD-reported results. The formula is: scenario revenue x selected all-in scenario margin.

The latest available IRS nonfarm sole-proprietorship statistics provide a broad calibration reference. IRS Table 1 for tax year 2023 reports $67.087 billion of business receipts and $33.709 billion of net income less deficit for Management, scientific, and technical consulting services, equal to a 50.25% all-return Schedule C net-income margin. The Census definition of NAICS 541611 includes strategic and organizational planning, but the IRS category is much broader than the C12 Business Forum model.

Because the IRS statistic is already an all-in net-income measure, the model does not subtract the C12 Royalty Fee or workshop fee from that IRS margin. Instead, the lower C12 scenario margins are independent assumptions intended to absorb normal operating costs, the disclosed 22.5%-25% median-like Royalty Fee tiers, the $1,380 annual Principal Chair workshop fee, registration charges, local marketing, travel, technology, professional costs, business interest, and depreciation once. The precise expense mix is unknown, so the model has Limited confidence.

For the owner-operator case, no separate owner salary is deducted: the result includes both residual business profit and compensation for the owner's full-time Principal Chair labor. Financing principal, capital expenditures, personal income taxes, and entity-specific tax effects are excluded. The manager-run comparison separately deducts a loaded Principal Chair compensation proxy.

Scenario Revenue anchor Estimated owner-operator benefit Manager-run residual
Conservative80% of FDD median; 22.0% all-in assumed margin $391,660 $86,000 -$66,000
Base100% of FDD median; 27.5% all-in assumed margin $489,575 $135,000 -$17,000
Upside120% of FDD median; 30.5% all-in assumed margin $587,490 $179,000 $27,000

Revenue anchors are shown exactly; estimated earnings and manager-run residuals are rounded to the nearest $1,000. At full precision, the model applies 22.0%, 27.5%, and 30.5% to the three revenue anchors, then deducts $151,725 only for the manager-run comparison.

Estimated owner-operator benefit by scenario

Annual pre-tax benefit before personal income taxes and financing principal payments.

Estimated C12 owner-operator benefit in three scenarios Conservative scenario is 86 thousand dollars, Base is 135 thousand dollars, and Upside is 179 thousand dollars. $0 $50k $100k $150k $200k $86k $135k $179k Conservative Base Upside

Interpretation: the modeled owner-operator range is driven by both revenue and all-in margin assumptions; it is not a probability forecast. Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 19, page 35; Item 6, pages 5-10; IRS Table 1, tax year 2023. Scenario values are rounded to the nearest $1,000.

  • Revenue: $391,660, $489,575, and $587,490, equal to 80%, 100%, and 120% of the official Item 19 median.
  • All-in margins: 22.0%, 27.5%, and 30.5% are editorial assumptions intended to include ordinary operating costs and disclosed recurring franchise fees once.
  • Benchmark calibration: the 50.25% IRS Schedule C consulting margin is a broad reference, not a C12 result and not the margin applied in the formula.
  • Fee calibration: the assumed margins consider Item 6 Royalty Fee tiers of 25% in the Conservative case and 22.5% in the Base and Upside cases, plus the $1,380 annual workshop fee; neither is deducted again after applying the all-in margin.
  • Definition: owner-operator benefit includes the economic value of the owner's Principal Chair labor; it is not passive business profit.
Owner role

How does owner involvement change the result?

Owner involvement is the dominant economic distinction because a C12 Principal Chair is an operating role, not merely an ownership title. This requirement is official; the dollar effect below is estimated. Item 15, page 30, requires the Principal Chair to remain actively involved in day-to-day operations. A non-operating ownership entity may designate a trained Principal Chair only with C12 approval. The official C12 Chair FAQ describes the Chair role as a full-time endeavor involving Forum facilitation, one-on-one coaching, and market development.

For a manager-run comparison, the model uses the BLS Management Analysts median wage of $101,190 in May 2024. It then applies the March 2026 BLS employer-compensation ratio for management, business, and financial occupations: $88.30 of total compensation for each $58.89 of wages. The resulting loaded compensation proxy is $151,725 a year.

Owner-operator benefit versus manager-run residual

The manager-run result deducts a $151,725 loaded Principal Chair compensation proxy from each owner-operator scenario.

Owner-operator benefit Manager-run residual
Comparison of owner-operator benefit and manager-run residual Conservative owner-operator benefit is 86 thousand dollars versus negative 66 thousand manager-run residual. Base is 135 thousand versus negative 17 thousand. Upside is 179 thousand versus 27 thousand. -$100k $0 $100k $200k Conservative Base Upside -$66k $86k -$17k $135k $27k $179k

Interpretation: paying a market-rate Principal Chair can absorb most or all modeled business profit at median-like revenue. The owner-operator figure is therefore partly compensation for labor performed, not a passive return on capital. The compensation proxy is national and may not match a specific territory or employment arrangement. Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 15, page 30; BLS Management Analysts pay, May 2024; BLS Employer Costs for Employee Compensation, March 2026.

Owner-operator effect

The base scenario's approximately $135,000 owner-operator benefit becomes a manager-run residual of approximately -$17,000 after the loaded Chair compensation proxy. A non-operating structure may require higher revenue, a lower compensation package, shared staffing economics, or multiple productive Chairs before it produces meaningful residual profit.

Recurring obligations

Which C12 fees have the greatest effect on earnings?

The Royalty Fee is the largest disclosed recurring franchise charge considered in the scenario margins. Item 6 sets a monthly sliding schedule from 30% of Gross Billings at $0-$13,000 to 15% above $200,001, with intermediate rates of 27.5%, 25%, 22.5%, 20%, and 17.5%. See 2026 FDD, Item 6, pages 5-10.

  • Gross Billings: monthly CEO and Key Player membership charges, subject to minimum membership fees; the Royalty Fee can be due even when billed amounts have not been collected.
  • Principal Chair training workshop fee: currently $115 per month, or $1,380 annually, plus travel and lodging for mandatory on-site training.
  • Member Registration: currently $550 for a CEO member and $330 for a Key Player member. The franchisee may charge the member more, but Item 19 does not disclose new-member counts or registration margins.
  • Associate Chair costs: $11,000 initial training for each Associate Chair and a temporary $200 monthly support fee until stated membership or revenue thresholds are reached, in addition to the Chair's compensation.
  • CRM Fee: not currently assessed in the 2026 FDD; C12 expected implementation in 2027 at no more than $100 per user per month.

Item 7's $37,700-$68,200 initial investment is not an annual operating expense and is not subtracted from one year of revenue. Debt principal payments are also excluded from the earnings scenarios because C12 does not offer financing and buyer financing terms vary. See 2026 FDD, Items 7 and 10, pages 11 and 15.

Uncertainty

What could move actual owner earnings outside the range?

The largest unresolved uncertainty is the absence of same-brand operating-expense data. Item 19 does not show labor, marketing, travel, meeting costs, insurance, professional fees, registration charges, technology, bad debt, interest, depreciation, or distributions. The IRS benchmark supplies a broad aggregate expense result, but it cannot reproduce a specific C12 practice's cost structure.

  • Population limitation: Item 19 excludes the seven franchises that opened during 2025, so it does not measure launch-year ramp-up. Item 20, pages 36-41, shows 74 franchised outlets and no company-owned outlets at year-end 2025.
  • Format limitation: the FDD describes a territory and Franchise Unit based on market potential, while Item 19 reports per-franchisee revenue without separating territory size, Principal Chair count, Associate Chair count, or member mix.
  • Benchmark limitation: IRS Management, scientific, and technical consulting services include many businesses that do not use C12's membership, peer-forum, or royalty model.
  • Owner-labor limitation: Schedule C net income generally includes the proprietor's labor value. It should not be interpreted as passive operating profit or a salary paid in addition to profit.
  • Expense-treatment limitation: business interest and depreciation are embedded in the IRS aggregate; financing principal, capital expenditures, personal income taxes, and entity-specific tax effects are not modeled.
  • Fee-calibration limitation: median-like annual revenue implies a 22.5%-25% Royalty Fee tier when divided evenly by 12, but actual dues billings, registration revenue, seasonality, and rate application can differ. The fee is embedded in the assumed all-in margin rather than deducted separately.
Buyer verification

What should a buyer verify before relying on an earnings estimate?

A buyer should replace the broad benchmark with actual C12 practice expense evidence before making a decision. The FTC guide to evaluating franchise earnings recommends examining Item 19 assumptions and limitations, requesting written substantiation, and comparing claims with current and former franchisee experience.

  • Request the written substantiation supporting 2026 FDD Item 19 and confirm that the 67-business population and 2025 Total Revenue table remain current.
  • Ask for anonymous expense ranges by revenue band: Royalty Fee, registration charges, local marketing, travel, event costs, technology, insurance, professional fees, payroll, and Associate Chair compensation.
  • Interview franchisees below, near, and above the $489,575 median, not only the highest-revenue practices.
  • Ask each franchisee to separate owner labor compensation, residual business profit, distributions, retained cash, depreciation, interest, capital expenditures, and debt principal.
  • Verify territory size, Franchise Unit value, member count, member dues, CEO versus Key Player mix, renewal and attrition, new registrations, and number of active Chairs.
  • For a non-operating structure, obtain a written staffing plan and market compensation estimate for the approved Principal Chair, including benefits, payroll taxes, incentives, and recruiting risk.
Decision synthesis

What is the strongest defensible earnings range?

The strongest defensible range is approximately $86,000 to $179,000 of annual pre-tax owner-operator benefit, with a base scenario near $135,000. It is scenario-based, not an official C12 profit disclosure. The most important earnings driver is whether the owner personally performs the full-time Principal Chair role; paying a loaded market-rate Chair reduces the modeled range to approximately -$66,000 to $27,000 of residual business profit.

The largest unresolved uncertainty is the lack of same-brand expense and owner-compensation data. Before relying on any range, a buyer should verify the 2026 FDD Item 19 substantiation, obtain actual expense statements from comparable C12 franchisees, and reconcile owner labor, Royalty Fee, member registration charges, Associate Chair economics, debt service, and capital needs. Personal income taxes are outside this analysis.