How much does this franchise cost?
According to The C12 Group, LLC's Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 20, 2026, the Estimated Initial Investment is $37,700 to $68,200 for a new C12 Principal Chair franchise with a Territory of 1.49 Franchise Units or less. This is the Item 7 opening-cost range for the territory-based, typically home-office model; it is not a liquid-capital requirement, net-worth threshold, or resale price.
Official opening range. The total includes three payments to the franchisor, home-office and meeting technology, supplies, and $500-$2,500 of Additional Funds for the first year. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 11-12.
The published range is a contractual opening estimate, not a complete personal funding plan. A buyer should separate amounts due under the agreements from household reserves, taxes, professional advice, and other obligations that the opening table does not expressly quantify.
Capital snapshot
Three initial payments dominate the opening range; after launch, the main continuing charge is calculated from monthly billings.
Why does the territory fee vary?
The territory charge changes with the market potential assigned to the market area. The document prices a 1.0 Franchise Unit at $25,000 for market areas between 0.9 and 1.1 units; outside that band, the charge generally follows the actual multiple of the unit price, subject to a $12,500 minimum.
Examples of market-area size and territory charge
These are the franchisor's examples, not averages or recommendations.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 4-5.
The published opening total stops at 1.49 units. A larger initial market area requires added payment at the prevailing rate, disclosed as $25,000 per additional unit. A later expansion by a compliant owner is disclosed at $20,000 per additional unit, with a $2,500 minimum payment. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 5, 7, and 12, pp. 5, 12, and 24.
The official site describes three paths: pioneering a new market, joining an existing team, or succeeding a Chair. The opening table prices a new launch; it does not disclose the negotiated purchase price for a succession or the financial terms for joining an existing practice. See the official C12 ownership pathways.
What is included in the $37,700-$68,200 range?
The opening table contains seven expenditure categories. The territory charge is the largest source of variation; the launch-marketing and training/technology payments are fixed.
| Opening expenditure | Amount | When paid | Payee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $12,500-$37,500 | Summary: on signing; detailed narrative: end of training | Franchisor |
| Prepaid Marketing Fund Fee | $10,000 | Summary: on signing; detailed narrative: end of training | Franchisor |
| Training and Technology Fee | $13,200 | Signing or no later than first day of online training | Franchisor |
| Office Equipment and Furniture | $0-$1,500 | Before opening | Third-party vendors |
| Technology and A/V Equipment | $1,500-$3,000 | As incurred | Third-party vendors |
| Supplies | $0-$500 | As incurred | Third-party vendors |
| Additional Funds: hosting local events, one year | $500-$2,500 | As incurred during first year | Third-party vendors |
| Total initial investment | $37,700-$68,200 | Opening period and first year as disclosed | Franchisor and third parties |
Scale runs from $0 to $37,500. Dots mark fixed fees; teal segments show disclosed low-to-high ranges.
Interpretation: Market-area pricing creates most of the spread in the official total. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 11-12. All plotted values are official FDD figures.
When are the opening costs paid?
The cash outflow starts with the training/technology payment, then moves to the remaining initial charges and third-party launch costs. The sequence below follows the more detailed narrative, with the summary-table conflict flagged separately.
The initial-fee narrative and opening table do not use the same due date for two initial fees. The detailed narrative places the territory and launch-marketing charges at the end of training, while the summary table says they are due when the agreement is signed. Confirm the controlling invoice schedule and agreement language before paying. The FTC Consumer's Guide to Buying a Franchise explains the federal 14-calendar-day disclosure period before signing or payment.
What fees continue after opening?
The principal continuing charge is 15% to 30% of monthly Gross Billings, due by the fifth day of the following month. Additional per-Chair, per-member, technology, conference, supply, and event charges apply when their conditions are met.
Bars use a 0%-30% scale and show only the percentages disclosed in the 2026 FDD; they do not estimate sales or annual royalty dollars.
Interpretation: the disclosed percentage declines as the monthly Gross Billings bracket rises; the final 15% tier is labeled “unblended.” Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 9-10. All plotted values are official FDD figures.
The billing base includes both forum types from the prior month, and the royalty is due even if some billed amounts have not been collected. If an owner charges below the franchisor's minimum individual membership fees, the billing base is calculated using those minimums. The document still labels those minimums as 2025 amounts: $1,150 for a chief-executive membership and $550 for a key-player membership. Confirm the current minimums before modeling cash flow. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, p. 9.
| Continuing fee | Amount or basis | Timing | Cost implication |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | 15%-30% of Gross Billings | Fifth calendar day monthly | Sliding schedule shown above; tiers may change at renewal with notice. |
| Semi-Annual Franchisee Training Workshops | $115 per month per Chair | Fifth calendar day monthly | Travel and lodging are additional; Item 6 allows up to 10% annual increases. |
| Associate Chair Support Fee | $200 per Associate Chair monthly | Fifth calendar day monthly | Ends after the Associate Chair reaches 10 CEO Members or $10,000 in the disclosed monthly revenue threshold. |
| Member Registration | CEO $550; Key Player $330 | Upon member sign-up | Paid to the franchisor for registration and the start-up kit; may rise up to 10% annually. |
| CRM Fee | Not assessed in 2026; up to $100 per user | Monthly when implemented | The FDD expects the new CRM fee to become required in 2027. |
A percentage schedule cannot be converted into a responsible annual budget without buyer-specific billing assumptions. This article therefore preserves the disclosed basis and timing rather than inventing a sales forecast or a yearly dollar estimate.
The fee schedule discloses no continuing advertising fund or advertising cooperative. The $10,000 launch-marketing payment is initial. Local marketing cost-sharing is instead case-by-case and pre-approved: the franchisor's subsidy percentage equals the owner's effective royalty percentage, and the owner pays the balance. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 8 and 10-11.
Which costs apply only in specific circumstances?
Several potentially material charges sit outside the basic opening total because they depend on additional training, staffing, expansion, late payment, events, transfer, or exit. These triggers should be budgeted separately only when the relevant event occurs.
The fee table lists the mandatory workshop charge at $115 per month per Chair, while the assistance section, p. 19, refers to $110 per month. Because the fee table is the dedicated schedule, $115 is used here, but the invoice amount should be verified before signing.
Are financial qualification thresholds disclosed?
The 2026 disclosure does not publish a minimum Liquid Capital, Net Worth, or Non-Borrowed Funds threshold. The franchisor states that it evaluates financial ability, but it does not disclose a dollar minimum in the reviewed cost, investment, financing, or public recruitment information.
The official C12 Chair recruitment information focuses on leadership experience, full-time commitment, and the candidate review process rather than a published financial threshold. A buyer therefore cannot treat the opening total as the amount of cash the franchisor will require the buyer to hold.
What should a buyer verify before committing capital?
The official range is clear, but the exact cash schedule and several conditional amounts require confirmation because market size, staffing, billing thresholds, and internal inconsistencies can change the buyer's actual obligation.
Request a written schedule that ties each invoice to the signed agreement, identifies the payee, and states whether the amount is refundable. That single reconciliation should address the document's conflicting timing and fee references without relying on verbal explanations.
What does the verified cost structure mean for a buyer?
For a new market area of 1.49 units or less, the verified 2026 opening range is $37,700-$68,200. Of that amount, the disclosure cover identifies $35,700-$60,700 as payable to the franchisor or affiliate(s), so market-area pricing is the main driver of the spread.
The range does not establish a cash-resources or balance-sheet threshold, and it does not price a succession purchase, a market area above 1.49 units, owner compensation, or every travel and local-event obligation. After opening, the most consequential continuing charge is the royalty on monthly billings, supplemented by per-Chair, per-member, technology, training, conference, and event-triggered amounts.
The key unresolved cost question is not the published total; it is the exact payment and fee schedule the buyer will sign. The disclosure contains timing and fee inconsistencies that should be reconciled in writing before funds are committed. The FTC Franchise Rule describes the disclosure framework governing that review.