That is an independent, manager-run planning range for one U.S. Budget outlet using the 2026 FDD’s 30-car operating model. It represents estimated pre-tax owner earnings after normal unit-level expenses and recurring franchise fees, but before personal income taxes and financing principal. Budget’s Item 19 does not disclose sales, profit, cash flow, or owner compensation, so this range is not an official Budget result.
Legal franchisor: Budget Rent A Car System, Inc., a subsidiary of Avis Budget Car Rental, LLC and Avis Budget Group, Inc. The FDD was issued April 29, 2026. Item 19, p. 75, states that Budget makes no financial performance representation. The operating anchor is the Item 7 model of a 30-car fleet in a territory of 55,000 people; Item 20 reported 173 franchised U.S. outlets at December 31, 2025.
- Applicable offer
- U.S. passenger-car rental franchise
- Population measured
- Per outlet scenario; not per owner or portfolio
- External benchmark
- 2025 Avis Budget Group Americas operating metrics
- Date checked
- July 15, 2026
The current FDD supplies the format, 30-car fleet assumption, outlet population, required manager structure, and recurring fees, but no outlet revenue or earnings data.
The result relies materially on a parent-company Americas proxy covering multiple brands and predominantly company-operated economics rather than Budget franchise P&Ls.
Manager-run, one 30-car outlet, before personal taxes and financing principal.
2025 Americas revenue per average fleet vehicle, scaled to 30 cars.
Due monthly under Item 6; the scenario margin is defined after this fee.
Year-end 2025 outlet count; it does not reveal how many distinct owners operated them.
$552 million divided by $8.9 billion for 2025; not a Budget franchise margin.
What does Budget’s Item 19 actually disclose?
Officially, it discloses no outlet sales, operating profit, EBITDA, net income, cash flow, or owner compensation. The 2026 FDD applies to the U.S. Budget passenger-car rental offer, and Item 19, p. 75, says Budget does not make representations about the past financial performance of franchised or company-owned outlets or a franchisee’s future performance.
That means there is no same-brand average unit volume, median revenue, profit distribution, mature-outlet cohort, reporting percentage, or percentage of outlets achieving a stated result. The strongest same-brand FDD evidence is therefore structural: the operating model, recurring obligations, management requirements, and outlet population.
Avis Budget Group’s revenue per day, utilization, fleet size, and Adjusted EBITDA are operating benchmarks. They are not owner salary, owner distributions, or a Budget franchisee’s take-home pay. The parent-company metrics cover the Americas segment, multiple brands, and company-operated activity.
| Evidence | FDD location | What it measures | How it is used |
|---|---|---|---|
| 30-car fleet, 55,000-person territory | Item 7, pp. 21–24 | Initial operating model and investment context | Defines the scenario format; startup investment is not deducted from annual revenue |
| 7.5% License Fee | Item 6, pp. 9–20 | Recurring percentage of Gross Revenue | Included in the scenario’s all-in residual margin |
| Full-time General Manager | Item 15, p. 70 | Required management structure | Manager compensation is treated as an operating expense |
| 173 franchised outlets | Item 20, pp. 76–83 | U.S. outlet count at December 31, 2025 | Describes system population, not owner earnings |
| No financial performance representation | Item 19, p. 75 | No same-brand sales or profit disclosure | Requires a clearly labeled, lower-confidence scenario model |
The Federal Trade Commission’s Franchise Rule Compliance Guide explains the framework for financial performance representations. The absence of an Item 19 representation is not proof of poor performance; it means prospective buyers lack franchisor-published unit economics.
How was the annual earnings range estimated?
The estimate combines a fleet-scaled revenue proxy with three explicitly assumed residual margins. For one 30-car U.S. outlet, the model produces approximately $13,000 in the Conservative scenario, $33,000 in the Base scenario, and $58,000 in the Upside scenario. Every figure is estimated, not reported by Budget.
The 6.2% central margin comes from 2025 Americas Adjusted EBITDA of $552 million divided by $8.9 billion of revenue. The 3.2%, 6.2%, and 9.2% residual margins are analytical sensitivities centered on that benchmark. They are defined after normal unit-level operating costs, a paid General Manager, vehicle depreciation or lease charges, vehicle interest, insurance, labor, occupancy, maintenance, required reservation and payment costs, and the FDD’s 7.5% License Fee. The model does not claim the parent margin itself contains a franchise royalty; it uses that margin only to set the scale of the scenario band.
| Scenario | Revenue anchor | Residual margin | Estimated pre-tax owner earnings |
|---|---|---|---|
| Conservative | $421,000 | 3.2% | $13,472 |
| Base | $527,000 | 6.2% | $32,674 |
| Upside | $632,000 | 9.2% | $58,144 |
Manager-run, one 30-car U.S. outlet; pre-tax and before financing principal.
Interpretation: the scenario spread is driven by both revenue and residual margin; it is not a probability distribution, and the Base value is not presented as the most likely outcome.
Source: 2026 Budget FDD, Items 6, 7, 15, and 19; Avis Budget Group 2025 full-year results; calculations by FranchisesBiz. Values rounded only for display.
How sensitive is the estimate to revenue and margin?
The margin assumption is as important as the revenue anchor. Across the same 30-car U.S. format, holding revenue at $527,000 while moving the residual margin from 3.2% to 9.2% changes estimated owner earnings from about $17,000 to $48,000. These are analytical combinations, not Budget-reported outcomes.
Annual pre-tax owner earnings in thousands, before financing principal.
Interpretation: a higher fleet-scaled revenue proxy does not guarantee strong owner earnings if fleet, labor, insurance, occupancy, commission, or vehicle-financing costs compress the residual margin.
Source: revenue anchors derived from the Avis Budget Group 2025 operating-metrics tables; margins are explicit editorial sensitivities centered on the 2025 Americas Adjusted EBITDA margin. Results may not represent Budget franchise performance.
How does owner involvement change the result?
Active involvement may improve operating execution, but this article does not add a manager salary to the owner’s earnings. Under the 2026 FDD’s U.S. operating model, Budget does not require the owner to participate personally and strongly urges involvement, yet Item 15 requires at least one full-time, trained General Manager. The manager-run scenario therefore includes normal manager compensation as an operating expense.
- Manager-run owner earnings: residual pre-tax business earnings after normal operating costs and paid management, before personal taxes and financing principal. This is the basis of the $13,000–$58,000 range.
- Active-owner effect: the owner may influence utilization, rate discipline, fleet rotation, damage recovery, labor scheduling, receivables, customer service, and local account development. Better execution can move an outlet within—or outside—the modeled range.
- Owner-operator benefit: only applicable if Budget confirms in writing that the owner may satisfy the required General Manager role. It would combine residual business profit with the market value of the owner’s labor, so it would not be passive profit.
- No automatic salary add-back: the FDD does not disclose General Manager pay, owner hours, or whether a particular owner can replace the required employee. A local wage estimate must be matched to the actual market and job scope before quantifying any labor value.
The economic benefit of working in the business can exceed the residual owner profit, but only because the owner is supplying labor. A buyer should not describe that labor component as passive income or assume it is available without Budget’s written approval of the management arrangement.
For local wage testing, use the Bureau of Labor Statistics May 2025 industry-specific wage estimates and the applicable metropolitan-area data, then confirm the actual duties and required hours with Budget and existing franchisees.
Which recurring fees can materially affect owner earnings?
The 7.5% License Fee is the clearest recurring FDD burden, but transaction, reservation, commission, payment, and technology charges also matter. These are official 2026 FDD terms for the U.S. Budget offer. Their dollar effect depends on revenue mix, reservation source, transaction volume, workstations, connectivity, and payment method.
| Fee or obligation | 2026 FDD amount | Earnings-model treatment |
|---|---|---|
| License Fee | 7.5% of Gross Revenue | Embedded in the all-in residual margin; approximately $31,600, $39,500, and $47,400 at the three revenue anchors |
| Monthly Marketing Fee | Currently $0; not currently collected | No current charge assumed, but the agreement permits collection to begin |
| Reservation and GDS fees | Generally $2.75–$5.50 per reservation; automated fees vary by source | Embedded as variable operating costs; no single per-outlet volume is disclosed |
| Travel-source commissions | Standard commission stated as 5%, with program variations | Embedded in the residual margin; impact depends on channel mix |
| Payment and voucher processing | Generally 2%–7% and 0.5%–4.5%, depending on segment and system use | Embedded in the residual margin; direct-bill exposure can be higher |
| Wizard and connectivity charges | Transaction, reporting, workstation, support, internet, and network charges | Embedded in operating costs; actual total varies by terminals, transactions, and connection type |
The FDD’s $625,500–$1,588,400 initial-investment range for a 30-car model is not an annual expense and is not subtracted from one year of revenue. Financing principal is also excluded from estimated owner earnings. Ordinary vehicle interest is treated as embedded because the parent-company Adjusted EBITDA benchmark retains vehicle interest, while non-vehicle depreciation and expansion capital expenditures are excluded from the proxy.
What uncertainty should a prospective owner verify?
The largest unresolved uncertainty is the absence of same-brand outlet-level revenue and cost distributions. The 2026 FDD identifies 173 franchised outlets at year-end 2025, but Item 19 does not show their sales, profitability, fleet size, airport versus local-market mix, maturity, or owner staffing. A buyer should treat the scenario as a screening model, not underwriting evidence.
- Request written Item 19 substantiation or permitted existing-outlet records. Ask Budget to identify exactly what financial information it can lawfully provide for the territory or an acquisition candidate.
- Interview comparable franchisees. Match fleet size, airport or neighborhood format, territory population, seasonality, owner role, vehicle financing, and years in operation.
- Rebuild the P&L from source documents. Verify rental days, revenue per day, utilization, ancillary revenue, fleet depreciation or lease cost, vehicle interest, insurance, damage losses, payroll, occupancy, and every FDD fee.
- Test channel economics. Quantify reservation fees, travel commissions, corporate-account rebates, payment processing, one-way rentals, and the share of business generated through each channel.
- Separate business profit from labor and financing. Keep required General Manager compensation, any owner wage, debt principal, personal income taxes, and distributions as distinct lines.
- Check outlet and owner concentration. Item 20 is per outlet, and the franchisee list shows that some owners control multiple locations; one-unit results cannot be multiplied without portfolio overhead and development timing.
What is the strongest defensible takeaway?
For one manager-run, 30-car U.S. Budget outlet, the strongest defensible planning range is approximately $13,000–$58,000 in annual pre-tax owner earnings, with a $33,000 Base scenario. It is a Mode D structural FDD-anchored estimate—not an official Budget earnings disclosure—and confidence is limited. The most important operating driver is the combined effect of fleet utilization and residual margin after vehicle, labor, insurance, channel, technology, and 7.5% License Fee costs.
The largest uncertainty is that Budget’s 2026 Item 19 provides no same-brand sales or profit cohort. Before relying on any range, a buyer should verify the applicable Item 19 language, request permitted written substantiation, and compare the model with current and former franchisee interviews and actual records from outlets matching the proposed fleet, market, financing, and owner-involvement structure.