How much does a Budget franchise cost?
Budget Rent A Car System, Inc. discloses a total estimated initial investment of $625,500 to $1,588,400 for a U.S. Budget Franchise built around a 30-car fleet and a territory with 55,000 people. The 2026 range covers the first three months of operation and includes a $50,000 Initial License Purchase Fee, premises costs, equipment, signage, insurance, the automobile line, training travel, and Additional Funds.
The official 2026 Item 7 range for one 30-car Budget Franchise serving a 55,000-person territory. It includes a $450,000–$1,290,000 automobile line but excludes fleet-financing interest.
Data basis: Budget Rent A Car System, Inc. is the legal franchisor, a wholly owned subsidiary of Avis Budget Car Rental, LLC, which is a subsidiary of Avis Budget Group, Inc. The Franchise Disclosure Document was issued April 29, 2026; Item 5 p. 8, Item 6 pp. 9–20, Item 7 pp. 21–24, Item 8 pp. 24–26, Item 10 p. 29, Item 11 pp. 29–33, and Item 17 pp. 71–75. Applicable model: one disclosed 30-car fleet and 55,000-person territory. Information checked July 15, 2026.
No matching 2026 FDD was verified on an official franchise-controlled domain, so the FDD citations in this article are unlinked. Brand identity can be checked on Budget’s official U.S. website, and the ownership chain can be checked through Avis Budget Group’s official corporate website.
Key cost figures
The five figures below separate the entry fee, the fleet line, first-three-month operating funds, and the two most important recurring fee disclosures.
Why is the initial fee $50,000 in the cost example?
The $50,000 Initial License Purchase Fee is the 2026 Item 5 amount for a territory with 55,000 people. Budget starts with $45,000 for a territory of 50,000 people or fewer and adds $5,000 for each 5,000-person increment above 50,000.
The fee is tied to territory population
The Item 5 formula, rather than a single national flat fee, produces the $50,000 amount used in Item 7.
Population is determined using U.S. Census Bureau figures and is updated through a consulting company. The underlying population data can be reviewed through the U.S. Census Bureau Population Estimates Program.
Budget reserves the right to waive the fee or charge more or less based on territory characteristics, including an airport, resort, large hotel, university, conversion of an existing business, or local competition. The fee is nonrefundable. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5 p. 8.
What is included in the $625,500–$1,588,400 investment?
The official range combines the territory fee, site development, equipment, signage, three months of rent and deposits, vehicle insurance, opening expenses, a 30-car fleet, training travel, and three months of Additional Funds. The two tables preserve each 2026 Item 7 category without blending it with ongoing Item 6 fees.
License, premises, equipment, and opening costs
These payments begin at agreement signing and continue through site preparation and the grand opening.
| Item 7 expenditure | 2026 amount | When payable | Paid to |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial License Purchase Fee | $50,000 | When signing the Budget License Agreement | Budget |
| Construction, remodeling, decorating, and leasehold improvements | $15,000–$50,000 | As incurred | Outside suppliers |
| Furniture, fixtures, other fixed assets, and equipment | $15,000–$28,000 | As incurred | Budget and outside suppliers |
| Signage | $10,000–$25,000 | As incurred | Outside suppliers |
| Three months’ rent and security deposits | $9,000–$18,000 | As specified in the lease | Landlord |
| Vehicle Insurance Premiums | $15,000–$37,500 | As specified in the insurance contract | Third parties |
| Grand opening advertising and promotional costs | $2,000–$5,000 | Before grand opening | Third parties |
Source: Budget 2026 FDD, Item 7 pp. 21–23. The furniture and equipment estimate includes the initial Wizard connection and related costs.
Fleet, training, and first-three-month costs
The automobile line is the largest category; Additional Funds are a separate three-month operating category already included in the official total.
| Item 7 expenditure | 2026 amount | When payable | Paid to |
|---|---|---|---|
| Office supplies | $500–$2,000 | As incurred | Outside suppliers |
| Miscellaneous opening costs | $1,000–$3,000 | As incurred | Third parties |
| Automobiles | $450,000–$1,290,000 plus interest | As arranged | Financial institutions selected by the franchisee |
| Travel and living expenses during training | $3,000–$7,500 | As incurred | Budget and third parties |
| Additional Funds—three months | $55,000–$72,400 | As incurred | Budget and third parties |
Source: Budget 2026 FDD, Item 7 pp. 22–24. Miscellaneous opening costs include utility installation and deposits, business licenses and certificates, and professional fees. Item 7 does not state whether owner compensation is included in Additional Funds.
Non-fleet Item 7 ranges, scaled to $75,000
This chart shows which non-fleet categories create the largest disclosed spread. The automobile line is omitted from the scale because its $450,000–$1,290,000 range would compress the smaller opening categories.
Official figures: Budget 2026 FDD, Item 7 pp. 21–24. Bars show disclosed low-to-high ranges; no midpoint or typical value is implied.
How does fleet financing affect the capital requirement?
The automobile line drives most of the disclosed investment. Budget estimates $15,000 per economy car to $43,000 per luxury car, producing a $450,000–$1,290,000 range for a 30-car fleet. The estimate excludes interest and uses all-economy and all-luxury fleets to define the extremes rather than a predicted fleet mix.
What makes up the $625,500 low end?
Derived grouping of compatible 2026 Item 7 minimums. The five groups reconcile exactly to the official low-end total.
- 30-car fleet$450,000 · 71.9%
- Training and Additional Funds$58,000 · 9.3%
- Initial License Purchase Fee$50,000 · 8.0%
- Premises and opening$37,500 · 6.0%
- Equipment and insurance$30,000 · 4.8%
Derived calculation from Budget 2026 FDD, Item 7 pp. 21–24. Percentages are rounded to one decimal and total 100.0%.
Budget expects franchisees to finance 100% of the fleet purchase price and expects security to include the fleet, a Personal Guarantee from the franchisee or owners, and possibly personal assets. Monthly fleet expense is expected to increase after the first three months as the fleet grows. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7 pp. 23–24.
When is the money paid?
Budget’s costs are not paid as one lump sum. The Initial License Purchase Fee is due at signing, development and equipment costs are paid as incurred, advertising is paid before grand opening, and the first-three-month operating categories are paid under leases, insurance contracts, financing arrangements, and vendor terms.
Sign the Budget License Agreement
Pay the Initial License Purchase Fee. The 55,000-person Item 7 example uses $50,000, and Budget states that fees paid to it as part of the initial investment are nonrefundable.
Secure and prepare the location
Pay rent and security deposits under the lease, then fund construction, leasehold improvements, furniture, fixtures, signage, office supplies, utility deposits, licenses, certificates, and professional fees as incurred.
Install Wizard and complete training
Pay the $320 Wizard Connection Start Fee per workstation before operating on Wizard; Item 7 includes the initial Wizard connection costs in equipment. Initial training must be completed at least 30 days before opening, with travel and living costs paid as incurred.
Arrange the 30-car fleet and insurance
Automobile payments are made as arranged with selected financial institutions or vehicle sources, while Vehicle Insurance Premiums follow the insurance contract. Financing interest is outside the Item 7 automobile amount.
Open and fund the first three months
Budget says the signing-to-opening period is typically 0–90 days. Additional Funds of $55,000–$72,400 are included in Item 7 for the first three months and should not be added a second time.
Sources: Budget 2026 FDD, Items 5, 6, 7, and 11, pp. 8–24 and 29–33.
Which fees continue after opening?
The principal continuing charge is the 7.5% License Fee on the Budget Franchise’s Gross Revenue for the preceding month, due on the 10th. A Budget operator also pays transaction, reservation, reporting, connectivity, commission, network, and payment-processing charges when the relevant system or program applies.
| Ongoing fee or program | 2026 disclosed amount | Basis and timing | Cost condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| License Fee | 7.5% | Gross Revenue for preceding month; due on the 10th | Core recurring fee |
| Monthly Marketing Fee | $0 currently | Not currently collected | Budget may begin collecting it |
| Current Rental System Service Charge | $0.22 per transaction | Due 45 days from Monthly Licensee Settlement Statement | Wizard transaction processing |
| Wizard Administrative Reporting Service Fees | $150/month plus $0.22 × Club Billing transaction value; $55 minimum Club Billing charge | Due 45 days from settlement statement | Required Wizard reports |
| Technical Support and Wizard Internet Access | $24 + $18 per connected workstation/month | Due 45 days from settlement statement | Internet access component applies when chosen |
| Network charges | $480–$970/month MPLS; $135+/month Aruba/DSL | Due 45 days from settlement statement | Site Survey determines the connection |
| Reservation System Fees | $2.75–$5.50 per reservation; automated $2.75–$5.18; international phone $11.50 | Due 45 days from settlement statement | Varies by reservation source |
| BCCS commission and processing | 5% standard commission; contractual override; $5 per unreported reservation plus $0.31 per transaction | Commission on applicable bookings; processing charge after reporting failure | Travel-source business |
| Payment Processing | 2%–7% Accounts Receivable; 0.5%–4.5% voucher processing | When transaction is processed | Rate depends on segment and Wizard use |
| Intercity Program | 60%–75% of revenue per reservation | As agreed | Revenue split between owning and renting cities |
Source: Budget 2026 FDD, Item 6 pp. 9–20. Percentage charges are stated only on the disclosed basis; no annual dollar estimate is implied.
Which required suppliers can affect operating cost?
Wizard participation is mandatory, and Avis Budget Car Rental, LLC administers the systemas the reservation and rental-system service provider. Thin Client Terminals and Site Surveys must come through approved suppliers; sequentially numbered Standard Rental Agreement forms, jackets, and additional-driver forms must be purchased from Budget or an approved supplier; and branded stationery, signage, backwall counter modules, and uniforms must meet system specifications. Item 8 estimates that designated or approved purchases and leases, or purchases made to Budget Standards, represent about 15% of establishment purchases and leases and about 10% of operating purchases and leases. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 8 pp. 24–26.
How is Gross Revenue defined for the License Fee?
The Budget License Agreement definition is broad: it includes sums payable, whether collected or uncollected, under closed rental agreements, vehicle lease agreements, sublicense agreements, and related ancillary goods and services. Specific exclusions include separately stated taxes paid to applicable authorities, certain insurance proceeds for vehicle or property loss, revenue from fuel sold at rental, and customer facility fees paid to the applicable governmental authority. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6 pp. 18–19.
Which costs arise only in certain circumstances?
Transfer, default, late-payment, correction, termination, customer-program, and renewal events can create material obligations outside the opening budget. These amounts should not be treated as routine monthly fees, but they belong in a long-term capital review.
- Transfer: 5% of the sales price, generally $2,500–$100,000, plus out-of-pocket expenses stated as $7,500–$100,000. A $2,500 deposit is due with the approval request, or $5,000 for a private stock offering; the remainder is invoiced.
- Inspection after serious noncompliance: the franchisee reimburses inspection compensation, travel, room, and board when the inspection identifies a breach that could support termination.
- Late amounts owed to Budget: interest is 2% above the selected prime rate or the highest lawful rate, whichever is less, beginning the day after payment is due.
- Unpaid invoices: certain invoices open more than 30 days accrue 18% per year or the highest lawful rate from the invoice date.
- Operational deficiencies: Budget may correct deficiencies after notice and charge its costs and expenses.
- Early shutdown during the 180-day termination notice: a formula-based Termination Fee can apply, using six times the average monthly License Fee and the remaining portion of the notice period.
- Temporary operation after default: Budget may assume management and charge its costs, expenses, and a management fee.
- Corporate Rate Association Affinity Program rebates: the FDD states a typical range of 3%–12% of Net Time and Mileage Revenue from the transaction, depending on the account agreement.
- Renewal: the 10-year Budget License Agreement may be renewed for successive five-year terms if conditions are met, including payment of the then-current renewal fee. The 2026 FDD does not state a fixed renewal-fee amount.
Sources: Budget 2026 FDD, Item 6 pp. 9–20 and Item 17 pp. 71–75.
Does Budget disclose a liquid-capital or net-worth requirement?
No minimum Liquid Capital or Net Worth threshold is stated in the 2026 FDD. The document instead describes the official Item 7 investment, expects 100% fleet financing, and anticipates a Personal Guarantee and possibly personal assets as lender security. This leaves lender equity, credit standards, collateral coverage, and reserve requirements unresolved until financing is quoted.
- Total Estimated Initial Investment
- $625,500–$1,588,400 for the disclosed 30-car, 55,000-person model. It is a cost range, not an applicant qualification.
- Liquid Capital
- Not disclosed as a minimum in the 2026 FDD. It should not be inferred from the Item 7 low end.
- Net Worth
- Not disclosed as a minimum in the 2026 FDD. Net Worth is not the same as available cash.
- Fleet Financing
- Budget and its affiliates do not provide or guarantee financing. Budget expects outside financing for 100% of the fleet purchase price.
- Personal Guarantee
- The FDD expects the fleet, an owner or franchisee guarantee, and possibly personal assets to secure fleet financing.
- Additional Funds
- $55,000–$72,400 is already included in Item 7 and covers the first three months; it is not an automatic add-on above the total.
Item 10 states that Budget and its affiliates offer no direct or indirect financing and do not guarantee notes, leases, vendor purchases, or other obligations. The FDD says Budget is listed in the SBA Franchise Directory; SBA-assisted financing requires the SBA Addendum, but directory status does not guarantee lender approval.
What should a prospective franchisee verify before committing capital?
The largest unresolved questions are the actual fleet mix and financing terms, the final territory population and fee, site-specific leasehold work, network configuration, insurance structure, and the operating reserve required by the buyer’s lender. Each can materially change cash timing without changing the published Item 7 total.
The Federal Trade Commission publishes federal consumer and business guidance relevant to franchise disclosures and due diligence.
What is the clearest reading of Budget’s cost disclosure?
For the 2026 30-car, 55,000-person model, the official investment range is $625,500–$1,588,400. The automobile line is the main driver and excludes financing interest; the non-fleet Item 7 categories total a derived $175,500–$298,400. The Initial License Purchase Fee is territory-based, Additional Funds cover three months and are already included, the continuing License Fee is 7.5% of Gross Revenue, and many Wizard, reservation, commission, payment-processing, transfer, default, and renewal obligations depend on actual usage or events. The unresolved capital question is not the published total—it is how much cash and collateral the final fleet lender, landlord, insurer, and approved suppliers require at each payment milestone.