How Much Does a Big Frog Custom T-Shirts & More Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Annual owner earnings estimate
About a $42,000 loss to $49,000 of pre-tax residual

For a mature U.S. Big Frog Standard Store, the strongest defensible model produces a base estimate of about $13,000 in annual pre-tax owner earnings before financing and personal income taxes. The range is wide because the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document reports revenue and selected cost ratios, but not operating profit, owner compensation, or complete expenses.

Evidence mode: FDD-anchored scenario Confidence: Limited Format: Standard retail Store Operating period: 2025
Independent estimate

This range is an independent analytical scenario, not an Item 19 financial performance representation by Big Frog Custom T-Shirts, Inc. It combines identified 2026 FDD facts with separately identified expense assumptions. Actual results can differ materially with location, sales mix, garment and decorating costs, staffing, rent, required marketing, financing, owner involvement, and execution.

Data basis

Legal franchisor: Big Frog Custom T-Shirts, Inc. FDD: issued April 2, 2026. Item 19 status: official 2025 Gross Revenue and selected expense ratios, but no Operating Profit, EBITDA, Net Income, Cash Flow, or Owner Compensation. Primary cohort: 62 franchised Stores open at least 12 months and supplying monthly profit-and-loss statements. External context: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics manager wages, U.S. Census Bureau industry classifications and expense categories, and IRS sole-proprietor statistics. Checked: July 19, 2026.

The FDD is cited by year, Item, and page because no matching franchisor-hosted public copy was verified. Brand and format context is available from the official Big Frog U.S. website and its official company overview.

Evidence status
Mode C · Limited confidence

Why: same-brand Item 19 data anchor revenue, COGS, rent, payroll, marketing, and utilities, but the earnings result still requires assumptions for omitted operating costs and does not identify whether payroll includes an owner or a full-time manager.

Item 19 evidence

What does Big Frog Item 19 actually report?

Officially, Item 19 reports sales and partial operating-cost data—not owner earnings. For 2025, the FDD presents a detailed table for 62 franchised Stores that had operated for at least 12 months and submitted monthly profit-and-loss statements. It separates those Stores into revenue quartiles and reports Gross Revenue, COGS, rent, payroll, marketing, utilities, customer count, and average sale. The table expressly excludes Royalty Fees.

The FDD defines Gross Revenue as total gross sales receipts less tax. COGS includes apparel and decorating material but excludes labor. Marketing includes Brand Fund Contributions. Those definitions matter: the remainder after the listed columns is not automatically profit because merchant processing, insurance, accounting, maintenance, office costs, technology, licenses, and other expenses are not shown as separate Item 19 columns. Source: 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 19, pp. 34–38.

Gross Revenue
Sales receipts less tax. It is revenue, not owner income.
Gross Profit Margin
The FDD reports 61.9% for 2025 systemwide data. It reflects revenue after source-defined direct costs, not complete business profit.
Estimated pre-tax owner earnings
Modeled cash residual after normal unit-level operating expenses and recurring franchise fees, before financing costs, personal taxes, depreciation, major capital expenditures, and owner distributions.
Owner-operator benefit
Business residual plus the market value of manager labor the owner may personally perform. It is not passive profit.
Revenue is not earnings

The official 2025 Average Annual Revenue was $545,125 and Median Annual Revenue was $491,128 for the broader mature-store KPI population. Neither figure answers what an owner keeps. The FTC’s franchise buyer guide specifically warns that gross sales can coexist with losses after overhead and other expenses.

Scenario model

How is the annual earnings range calculated?

The estimate uses observed Item 19 quartile medians and quartile-level median cost ratios, then completes the expense structure with current FDD fees and an explicit reserve. Conservative, Base, and Upside are analytical scenarios—not probabilities, forecasts, or franchisor claims.

Official
$438,878
Base revenue anchor

Third-quartile median Gross Revenue in the 62-Store Item 19 cost cohort.

Scenario
$13K
Base pre-tax residual

After modeled operating expenses and recurring fees; before debt and personal taxes.

Official
62
Detailed reporting Stores

Mature franchised Stores with monthly P&L submissions used in the cost table.

Derived
12.5%
Sales-linked minimum burden

6% Royalty Fee, 1.5% Brand Fund, and 5% local marketing after the opening period.

Benchmark
$53,380
Manager labor value

May 2025 BLS mean annual wage for first-line retail sales supervisors.

What formula is used?

The formula is a bottom-up operating bridge. For each 2025 revenue quartile, the model applies the median COGS, rent, payroll, and utilities ratios. Marketing is set at the higher of the observed quartile median or the contractual 6.5% combined Brand Fund and local-marketing requirement. It then subtracts a 6% Royalty Fee, $4,200 annual Internal Systems Fees, $6,000 of estimated annual software subscriptions, and an 8%–12% reserve for other operating expenses.

Scenario and FDD revenue anchor Modeled margin Estimated pre-tax owner earnings Main assumption
Conservative
Fourth-quartile median: $254,683
−16.3% −$42,000 Fourth-quartile median costs; 12% other-expense reserve.
Base
Third-quartile median: $438,878
3.0% $13,000 Third-quartile median costs; 10% other-expense reserve.
Upside
Second-quartile median: $619,468
8.0% $49,000 Second-quartile median costs; 8% other-expense reserve.
Estimated annual pre-tax owner earnings by scenario

Business residual before financing costs, personal income taxes, depreciation, major capital expenditures, and owner distributions.

Conservative, Base, and Upside owner earnings scenarios The Conservative scenario is a 42 thousand dollar loss, Base is 13 thousand dollars of earnings, and Upside is 49 thousand dollars of earnings. $60K $30K $0 −$40K −$42K $13K $49K Conservative Base Upside

Interpretation: modest revenue does not cover the disclosed cost structure once contractual marketing, royalty, technology, and omitted operating expenses are completed. The model becomes positive around the third-quartile revenue anchor, but with a thin margin.

Source: FranchisesBiz calculation from the 2026 FDD, Items 6, 11, and 19, pp. 8–12, 18–23, and 34–38. Values rounded to the nearest $1,000 after full-precision calculation.

  • Other operating expense reserve: 12% Conservative, 10% Base, and 8% Upside for merchant processing, insurance, accounting, office and communications costs, repairs, routine maintenance, permits, and other expenses absent from the Item 19 columns.
  • Technology: $350 per month Internal Systems Fee plus the Item 11 estimate of $500 per month for ongoing software. Potential maintenance and upgrade costs remain inside the other-expense reserve.
  • Excluded: personal income taxes, financing interest and principal, depreciation, major equipment replacement, remodels, owner draws, and extraordinary or contingent fees.
  • Marketing treatment: Item 19 marketing includes Brand Fund Contributions, so the model does not add 1.5% again after applying the 6.5% contractual combined floor.
Revenue distribution

How much does Store revenue vary inside the FDD cohort?

Official 2025 quartile medians range from $254,683 to $886,992. That spread is the clearest same-brand evidence that one system average cannot support a narrow owner-earnings claim. The scenarios use the Fourth, Third, and Second Quartile medians; the First Quartile is shown for context but is not treated as a likely or guaranteed outcome.

Official 2025 Gross Revenue medians by quartile

Sixty-two mature franchised Stores with monthly P&L submissions; Gross Revenue is sales less tax.

Big Frog 2025 Gross Revenue quartile medians First Quartile median is 886,992 dollars, Second Quartile 619,468 dollars, Third Quartile 438,878 dollars, and Fourth Quartile 254,683 dollars. $900K $600K $300K $0 $886,992 $619,468 $438,878 $254,683 First Quartile Second Quartile Third Quartile Fourth Quartile Observed medians are descriptive cohorts, not outcome probabilities.

Interpretation: the First Quartile median is about 3.5 times the Fourth Quartile median. Sales volume is therefore the dominant earnings driver, but cost ratios also deteriorate sharply in the lower quartile.

Source: 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 19, pp. 36–38. The table excludes 14 outlets described as operating less than 12 months and four mature outlets missing one or more monthly P&Ls.

Owner role

How does active owner involvement change the result?

An active owner may create an estimated owner-operator benefit of roughly $12,000 to $103,000, but only if the owner genuinely replaces paid manager labor. This is not pure business profit. It combines the modeled residual with $53,380 of labor value, the May 2025 national mean annual wage for First-Line Supervisors of Retail Sales Workers from the Bureau of Labor Statistics wage table.

Item 15 says the owner or Principal Owner should devote time and best efforts to management and operations. If the owner is not actively on-site, the Store must have a full-time designated Manager with day-to-day responsibility. Item 19 does not state whether reported payroll includes owner compensation, a manager salary, both, or neither. The add-back is therefore conditional and should be verified Store by Store. Source: 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 15, pp. 29–30.

Manager-run residual versus conditional owner-operator benefit

Owner-operator benefit adds the BLS manager wage only as the value of labor performed, not as passive profit.

Owner involvement sensitivity Conservative manager-run residual is negative 42 thousand dollars and conditional owner-operator benefit is 12 thousand. Base is 13 thousand versus 67 thousand. Upside is 49 thousand versus 103 thousand. −$50K $0 $50K $100K Conservative Base Upside −$42K $12K $13K $67K $49K $103K
Manager-run business residual Conditional owner-operator benefit

Interpretation: owner operation can materially increase economic benefit because the owner is supplying management labor. It does not repair a weak Store automatically, and it should not be described as passive income.

Source: FranchisesBiz scenario calculations plus BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025. The BLS figure is wages only and does not include employer payroll taxes or benefits.

Recurring obligations

Which FDD costs have the greatest earnings impact?

Sales-linked fees and required marketing create the largest fixed contractual drag after product, payroll, and occupancy costs. For a mature Store, the core recurring burden is a 6% Royalty Fee, 1.5% Brand Fund Contribution, and at least 5% of Gross Sales for local marketing, plus fixed technology charges.

Recurring obligation FDD amount Treatment in estimate Source
Royalty Fee 6% after month six, subject to $1,200 monthly minimum 6% of scenario revenue; the percentage exceeds the annualized minimum at all three anchors. Item 6, pp. 8–9
Brand Fund 1.5% of Gross Sales Included inside the 6.5% marketing floor. Items 6 and 11, pp. 9 and 20–21
Local marketing 5% of Gross Sales or $500 monthly Combined with Brand Fund; no double counting of Item 19 marketing. Items 6 and 11, pp. 9 and 21
Internal Systems Fee $350 monthly $4,200 annual fixed expense. Item 6, p. 11
Required software Estimated $500 monthly $6,000 annual fixed expense; upgrades and support remain in the reserve. Item 11, pp. 22–23
Debt-service effect

The earnings figures are before financing interest and principal. Item 10 states that the franchisor does not offer or guarantee financing, so a uniform debt assumption would be artificial. A buyer should subtract the actual annual loan payments from the modeled operating residual separately.

Uncertainty

Why is the evidence confidence limited?

The main uncertainty is not the arithmetic; it is what the FDD cost table omits and who is included in the reported population. The calculations reproduce disclosed line items, but the resulting residual depends materially on the expense reserve and on whether payroll already contains owner or manager compensation.

  • Population reconciliation: Item 19 states that 66 Stores were mature and that 14 newer Stores were excluded, while Item 20 reports 73 franchised U.S. outlets at year-end. Those statements do not reconcile on their face. The 62-Store cost table itself is internally countable, but the broader cohort description should be clarified in written substantiation.
  • Geographic scope: Item 19 calls the population “all outlets” and does not expressly isolate U.S. Stores, while Item 20 separately identifies Canadian outlets. The article therefore does not assume the 62-Store table is purely U.S. and treats geography as an unresolved limitation.
  • Unaudited submissions: the Point-of-Sale and franchisee P&L data were not independently audited or verified by the franchisor.
  • Missing definitions: Item 19 does not disclose Operating Profit, EBITDA, Net Income, owner salary, manager salary, depreciation, debt service, or capital expenditures.
  • Survivorship and maturity: Stores under 12 months and four mature Stores missing P&Ls are excluded, so the table is not a complete picture of every outlet operating during 2025.

The closest official industry classification is NAICS 323113, Commercial Screen Printing, which includes printing on T-shirts and other apparel. The Census Annual Integrated Economic Survey confirms that operating-expense analysis normally includes payroll, benefits, rent, utilities, purchased services, materials, supplies, and other costs beyond the FDD columns.

The IRS 2023 nonfarm sole-proprietor table is useful only as a boundary check: “Printing and related support activities” showed a −2.6% aggregate net-income-to-receipts ratio across all returns but a 19.1% ratio among returns with net income. That selection-sensitive spread is not applied to Big Frog because sole proprietors differ in scale, legal form, franchise fees, and owner-labor treatment.

Buyer verification

What should a buyer verify before relying on the range?

The buyer should treat approximately −$42,000 to $49,000 as a scenario-based manager-run residual range, not as an official earnings promise. Sales volume is the strongest driver; the largest unresolved uncertainty is the treatment of owner or manager labor and omitted operating costs.

  • Request Item 19 written substantiation and ask the franchisor to reconcile the mature-store, excluded-store, and Item 20 outlet counts.
  • Ask whether the 62-Store P&L cohort includes any Canadian outlets and obtain a U.S.-only breakout if it does.
  • Ask current franchisees for full 2025 income statements showing merchant fees, insurance, software, accounting, maintenance, taxes, depreciation, owner pay, manager pay, and debt service.
  • Interview owners in the Second, Third, and Fourth revenue quartiles, including both actively managed and manager-run Stores.
  • Confirm whether local marketing compliance actually reaches 5% plus the 1.5% Brand Fund and whether any deferrals or waivers affected the 2025 ratios.
  • Model the proposed lease, local wages, financing terms, equipment replacement schedule, and sales mix rather than substituting the system average.

Decision view: a mature Big Frog Store may generate a modest positive residual at middle-to-upper revenue levels, while lower-quartile economics can remain negative after required fees and a complete expense allowance. An active owner may raise total economic benefit to about $12,000–$103,000 by supplying management labor, but that labor component is compensation for work, not passive return. The most defensible next step is to verify complete P&Ls, owner compensation, manager staffing, and the Item 19 population directly against substantiation and franchisee interviews.