Independent owner-earnings estimate
For one U.S. Ben & Jerry’s Scoop Shop operating all 12 months, the strongest defensible scenario range is approximately $4,700 to $49,000 in estimated pre-tax owner-operator benefit, with a base scenario near $23,300. The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document reports Gross Sales, not profit or owner compensation, so these earnings figures are independent estimates rather than franchisor-reported results.
Item 19 evidence
What does Ben & Jerry’s Item 19 actually measure?
Item 19 measures reported Gross Sales, not owner earnings. For the 52-week period ending December 31, 2025, 126 Scoop Shops that operated continuously and reported every month had median Gross Sales of $583,767 and average Gross Sales of $664,862. The reported range was $154,592 to $2,411,194. These are official franchisor disclosures for a mixed population of Community, Tourist and Quick Fix shops, not a profit statement for a standardized Full-Sized, In-Line or Kiosk format.
The FDD defines Gross Sales broadly as shop revenue and other income connected with the Shop, Off-Premises Activities, On-Demand Sales and Mobile Vending, excluding sales taxes. It expressly says that cost of goods, operating expenses and rent must still be deducted to reach possible net income or profit. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 19, pp. 70–74.
How were the 126 full-year shops distributed by Gross Sales?
Official 2025 counts from Item 19; the brackets are revenue bands, not earnings bands.
Interpretation: Nearly half of the reporting cohort was at or above $600,000 in Gross Sales, but the FDD does not disclose the profit attached to any sales band.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 19, Chart 1 and Notes 1–3, pp. 70–71.
Scenario model
How much could a full-year owner earn under a transparent model?
The model produces about $4,700, $23,300 and $49,000 of annual owner-operator benefit in Conservative, Base and Upside scenarios. These are estimated figures for one full-year Scoop Shop, not Item 19 results. The model uses the FDD median Gross Sales as its central revenue anchor and a broad IRS all-business net-income margin as the external profitability anchor.
| Scenario | Gross Sales anchor | Net-income margin | Estimated owner-operator benefit |
|---|---|---|---|
|
Conservative Scenario |
$467,014 | 1.0% | $4,666 |
|
Base Scenario |
$583,767 | 4.0% | $23,345 |
|
Upside Scenario |
$700,520 | 7.0% | $49,030 |
Estimated annual owner-operator benefit by scenario
Revenue and margin move together for sensitivity testing; the three cases are analytical scenarios, not probabilities.
Interpretation: At this revenue level, every one percentage point of net margin is worth about $5,838 at the FDD median, so cost control can move owner benefit more than a modest sales change.
Formula: scenario Gross Sales × scenario net-income margin. The exact IRS anchor is 3.9991%; scenario margins are that ratio minus 3.0, unchanged, and plus 3.0 percentage points. Calculations use full precision and are shown to the nearest dollar.
Which assumptions drive the estimate?
The estimate is driven by an analytical revenue spread and an external margin sensitivity band. The 2025 full-year sales median is official; the 80%–120% revenue range and 1%–7% margin range are scenario assumptions for one U.S. Scoop Shop.
- Revenue: Conservative, Base and Upside use 80%, 100% and 120% of the official $583,767 median. This spread is editorial analysis, not an FDD distribution or probability forecast.
- Margin: The IRS reported $3.094 billion of net income less deficit on $77.360 billion of receipts for all sole-proprietor restaurants and drinking places in tax year 2022, an exact all-business margin of 3.9991%, displayed as 4.0%. The scenario band applies minus three and plus three percentage points; displayed scenario margins are rounded, while earnings use the full-precision ratio.
- Industry fit: An ice cream Scoop Shop conceptually fits NAICS 722515, Snack and Nonalcoholic Beverage Bars, but the available IRS margin aggregates full-service restaurants, limited-service restaurants and drinking places. That broader population materially limits comparability.
- Expense treatment: IRS Schedule C net income is an all-in accounting result that includes reported business interest and depreciation. Financing principal payments and personal income taxes are not deducted. The estimate is therefore not after-tax take-home pay.
- Franchise fees: The model does not subtract Ben & Jerry’s fees a second time because the IRS margin is already net of business deductions and does not isolate franchise fees. The brand’s 7% current royalty-and-advertising requirement remains a major comparability risk.
- Owner labor: A sole proprietor cannot deduct a wage paid to the proprietor. The modeled figure therefore combines residual business income and compensation for the owner’s work; it is labeled owner-operator benefit, not passive profit.
Owner role
How does owner involvement change the result?
The 2026 FDD describes an active owner-operator model, not passive ownership. Unless Ben & Jerry’s approves otherwise in writing, the owner must devote full time and best efforts to management and operation, defined as at least 40 hours per week plus availability outside normal hours. A trained manager may assist, but the owner must maintain the full-time operator role. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 15, pp. 59–60.
Because the IRS sole-proprietor margin does not deduct a wage for the owner, the scenario result includes labor value. To illustrate the difference between active owner benefit and residual business profit, the table below subtracts one national-average Food Service Manager wage of $74,880. That wage comes from the BLS May 2025 Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics and excludes employer payroll taxes, benefits and local wage variation.
| Scenario | Owner-operator benefit | Less one manager wage | Illustrative residual |
|---|---|---|---|
| Conservative | $4,666 | ($74,880) | ($70,214) |
| Base | $23,345 | ($74,880) | ($51,535) |
| Upside | $49,030 | ($74,880) | ($25,850) |
Recurring obligations
Which disclosed fees have the largest earnings impact?
The current percentage-based obligations total 7% of Gross Sales: a 3% royalty and 4% of advertising obligations. At the official median Gross Sales, those two items equal approximately $40,864 a year, before the current $100-per-month POS SaaS license. These amounts are official FDD terms and compatible derived calculations, but they are not subtracted again from the all-in IRS margin scenario.
| Recurring obligation | 2026 FDD term | At $583,767 Gross Sales | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty | Current 3%; may vary up to 5% | $17,513 | Official / derived |
| Advertising obligations | Current 4%: 2% local advertising and 2% fund contribution | $23,351 | Official / derived |
| POS SaaS license | Current $100 per month | $1,200 | Official / derived |
| Technology fee | Current $0; may be charged up to $3,500 annually | $0 current | Official |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 16–21. Item 7’s initial investment and three months of Additional Funds are startup context, not recurring annual expenses, and are not deducted from one year of sales.
Uncertainty and verification
What is still unknown before a buyer can trust an earnings estimate?
The largest unresolved uncertainty is the actual unit-level cost structure. Item 19 provides no cost of goods, payroll, occupancy, delivery commissions, repairs, insurance, merchant fees, depreciation, interest or owner-compensation data. The IRS benchmark is broad and older than the 2025 sales period, while Ben & Jerry’s locations vary by customer profile, physical format, seasonality and off-premises activity.
How should the financial terms be read?
Gross Sales is the only official unit-performance measure, while owner-operator benefit and business profit are estimated concepts. The distinctions below apply to the 2025 full-year Scoop Shop cohort and the independent annual scenario model.
- Gross Sales
- Revenue before operating expenses. It is the official Item 19 measure and is not owner income.
- Owner-operator benefit
- Estimated pre-tax economic benefit that may include residual business income and the value of labor performed by the owner.
- Business profit
- Residual operating return after normal labor costs, including a market manager cost when the owner does not perform that role.
- Debt service
- Interest may be reflected in the IRS accounting benchmark, but financing principal is separate and reduces cash available to the owner.
- Personal taxes
- Excluded. Entity choice, jurisdiction, deductions and the owner’s individual circumstances determine after-tax results.
What should a buyer verify?
Verify actual expenses and owner labor before relying on the range. The checklist focuses on the 2026 FDD, the 126-shop 2025 cohort and comparable U.S. Scoop Shop operating records.
- Request the written substantiation supporting 2026 Item 19 and confirm how the 126 full-year shops were selected, classified and checked.
- Ask franchisees for recent unit profit-and-loss statements, with product cost, payroll burden, rent, common-area charges, delivery fees, card fees, repairs and insurance separated.
- Compare the proposed site with the FDD’s Community, Tourist or Quick Fix profile and with the actual Full-Sized, In-Line or Kiosk operating format.
- Identify how much of reported owner benefit represents compensation for 40 or more hours of owner labor and how much remains after paying a trained manager.
- Separate interest, financing principal, depreciation, capital expenditures and possible refurbishment costs from ordinary operating profit.
- Ask about cake sales, catering, events, delivery and Mobile Vending because Item 19 Gross Sales include those activities for participating shops.
- Resolve the seasonal-cohort count discrepancy and ask whether weather closures, newly opened shops, transfers and ceased operations materially change the picture. Item 20 reports 155 franchised Scoop Shops at the end of 2025, seven openings and four ceased operations during the year. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 20, pp. 74–82.
Decision synthesis
What is the strongest decision-useful answer?
A reasonable evidence-led range is approximately $5,000 to $49,000 in annual pre-tax owner-operator benefit for one full-year U.S. Scoop Shop, with a base scenario near $23,000. The range is scenario-based, not official earnings guidance. The most important driver is the unit’s realized net margin after product, labor, occupancy and the disclosed recurring obligations. The largest unresolved uncertainty is that the 2026 FDD does not disclose unit expenses or profit. A buyer should verify Item 19 substantiation, obtain comparable franchisee P&Ls and determine how much of any apparent owner benefit compensates the owner for the FDD-required active operating role.