How Much Does a Ben & Jerry's Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 ITEM 7 ANSWER

How much does a Ben & Jerry's franchise cost?

Ben & Jerry's Franchising, Inc. discloses three separate U.S. Scoop Shop investment ranges in its 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document: $280,300 to $631,300 for a Full-Sized Shop, $228,300 to $435,300 for an In-Line Shop, and $188,300 to $402,300 for a Kiosk Scoop Shop. These are format-specific Item 7 totals, not one interchangeable cost range.

Three separate investment ranges

Full-Sized: $280,300-$631,300  |  In-Line: $228,300-$435,300  |  Kiosk: $188,300-$402,300. Each total includes $50,000-$75,000 of Additional Funds for the first three months, but excludes the purchase of real estate.

Data basis: Ben & Jerry's Franchising, Inc., Scoop Shop Program Franchise Disclosure Document issued May 29, 2026; Item 5, pages 13-15; Item 6, pages 16-20; Item 7, pages 21-28; Item 8, pages 29-32; Item 10, page 35; and cost-relevant provisions of Items 11 and 17. The direct parent identified in the FDD is Ben & Jerry's Homemade, Inc.; the ultimate parent is The Magnum Ice Cream Company N.V. Information was checked July 22, 2026. The FDD itself is cited by Item and page because no matching 2026 copy was located on an official franchise-controlled public website.

The current U.S. offer and candidate criteria can be checked on the official Ben & Jerry's franchise page. Wisconsin's active franchise registration list also lists Ben & Jerry's Franchising, Inc.; that government page is a registration-status resource, not the official franchise-site FDD.

Standard new franchise fee $39,500 Paid when the Franchise Agreement is signed; Item 5, page 13.
Additional Funds $50,000-$75,000 Included in Item 7 totals for the first three months.
Current royalty 3% Of Gross Sales; may change up to a 5% cap.
Current advertising allocation 4% 2% local plus 2% Fund contributions; total cap is 4% of Gross Sales.
Official candidate thresholds $100k / $350k Liquidity / net worth on the official U.S. franchise page.
FORMAT DIFFERENCES

Why do the three shop formats have different total investments?

The principal difference is the physical premises package. A Full-Sized Shop is approximately 750-1,200 square feet, an In-Line Shop is approximately 450-650 square feet, and a Kiosk Scoop Shop is approximately 100-200 square feet. Item 7 gives each format its own total and its own construction, equipment, signage, and inventory ranges.

SOURCE CONFLICT

The official public franchise page currently displays lower startup ranges than the May 29, 2026 FDD. This article uses the newer FDD figures for the cost answer. A prospective franchisee should ask Ben & Jerry's to reconcile the public investment figures with the current disclosure document before relying on a budget.

ITEM 7 BREAKDOWN

What is included in the estimated initial investment?

Item 7 includes the franchise payment, design and permitting, the build-out or kiosk structure, furniture and equipment, signage, professional fees, required technology, deposits, training travel, opening inventory, insurance, grand-opening spending, and three months of Additional Funds. The Preliminary Agreement Deposit is credited toward the Initial Franchise Fee and must not be added twice.

Format-sensitive Item 7 category Full-Sized In-Line Kiosk
Plans, Development & Permits $4,000-$13,000 $4,000-$13,000 $3,500-$12,000
Leasehold Improvements & Construction $105,000-$275,000 $65,000-$135,000 $10,000-$85,000
Kiosk base cost Not applicable Not applicable $60,000-$85,000
Furniture, fixtures, equipment, casework and smallwares $85,000-$165,000 $75,000-$115,000 $30,000-$60,000
Signage $6,000-$22,000 $6,000-$20,000 $2,500-$10,000
Menu Board Systems Not separately itemized Not separately itemized $4,000-$8,000
Opening Inventory $8,000-$14,000 $6,000-$10,000 $6,000-$10,000
Official Item 7 total $280,300-$631,300 $228,300-$435,300 $188,300-$402,300

Which startup categories are broadly common to all three formats?

The following categories appear in each format's Item 7 table. The exact payee and timing vary, but most are paid to third-party vendors as incurred or before installation.

Common startup category Disclosed amount Typical disclosed timing FDD reference
Initial Franchise Fee $19,750-$39,500 for a Franchise Agreement; $8,000 for a Satellite Addendum Upon signing Item 5, pages 13-14; Item 7, pages 21-25
Professional Fees $3,000-$6,000 As arranged Item 7, pages 21-25
POS hardware $1,800-$2,300 Before installation Item 7, pages 22-25 and page 27
Online Ordering System Hardware $1,000-$1,500 Before installation Item 7, pages 22-25 and page 27
Internet Connectivity and Telephone $1,000-$1,500 Before installation Item 7, pages 22-25 and page 27
Deposits $3,000-$8,000 As incurred Item 7, pages 22-25
Initial Training travel and living expense $1,000-$3,000 As incurred Item 7, pages 22-27
Insurance $500-$2,500 As arranged Item 7, pages 22-25
Grand Opening Advertising $3,000 As incurred; event within 90 days after opening Item 7, pages 22-27
Additional Funds $50,000-$75,000 As incurred during first three months Item 7, pages 22-28
FDD CAVEAT

Item 7 says construction costs can exceed the stated range in large metropolitan, tourist, and coastal markets, where union labor is required, or when the site does not meet “vanilla shell” standards. The FDD also states an estimated construction basis of approximately $135-$185 per square foot, but the official format totals remain the controlling disclosed ranges.

PAYMENT TIMING

When is the money paid?

The cash requirement is staged. The first payment is generally a non-refundable Preliminary Agreement Deposit, followed by the balance of the Initial Franchise Fee after an authorized site is found, then vendor and construction payments as the shop is developed.

Sign the Preliminary AgreementIf a Preliminary Agreement is required, a new franchisee pays a $10,000 deposit and an existing franchisee pays $5,000. Existing franchisees opening additional locations and candidates developing under a Development Agreement generally do not sign this agreement. Any deposit is credited toward the Initial Franchise Fee. The Evaluation Period is 12 months, with up to two requested six-month extensions. Item 5, page 13.
Obtain site authorization and sign the Franchise AgreementThe remaining Initial Franchise Fee is paid in a lump sum upon signing. A standard new-franchisee fee is $39,500; an additional Scoop Shop for an existing franchisee is $19,750. Item 5, page 13.
Fund design, permitting, build-out and equipmentPlans and permits are paid as incurred; leasehold construction is paid as arranged; equipment, signage, deposits, inventory and professional fees are paid to the applicable vendors or authorities. Item 7, pages 21-25.
Install required technology and complete trainingPOS hardware, online-ordering hardware, internet and telephone costs are generally due before installation. Training travel and living costs are paid as incurred. Item 7, pages 22-27.
Open and retain working capitalItem 7 includes $50,000-$75,000 of Additional Funds for three months. A Grand Opening event must occur within 90 days; required spending is up to $3,000, and the franchisor may reimburse up to $3,000 after review. Item 7, pages 27-28.
ONGOING AND EVENT-TRIGGERED FEES

Which fees continue after the Scoop Shop opens?

The principal recurring charges are the Royalty, Advertising Obligations, and POS SaaS License Fee. Item 6 defines Gross Sales broadly as revenue and other income related to the Shop, Off-Premises Activities, On-Demand Sales, and Mobile Vending, excluding sales taxes.

Fee Current amount or range Basis and timing FDD reference
Royalty Current 3%; cap 5% Gross Sales for the prior month; due on the 15th Item 6, pages 16 and 19
Advertising Obligations Current 4% total 2% Local Advertising and Promotion plus 2% Fund contributions; total cap 4% of Gross Sales; due with royalty Item 6, pages 16 and 19-20
POS SaaS License Fee Current $100/month Varies by vendor; due on the 15th Item 6, page 19
Technology Fee Current $0; cap $3,500/year May be charged in the future; upon demand Item 6, page 19
Renewal Fee $12,000 Scoop Shop; $5,000 Satellite Shop Before renewal Item 6, page 16; Item 17, pages 61-62
Refurbishment Expense $5,000-$15,000 Required changes may be imposed no more than once every five years; typically one year to complete Item 6, page 18

Which charges arise only when a particular event occurs?

Transfer$7,000 before transfer, reduced to $3,000 for a transfer to a convenience entity formed by the original franchisee.
Relocation$3,000 upon demand if the Shop is relocated with approval.
New or replacement manager trainingCurrent Scoop U Training fee is $1,800, due before attendance.
Audit or re-inspectionAudit costs apply when reports understate results by 3% or more; re-inspection costs include the franchisor's travel, room and board after an unsatisfactory inspection.
Overdue amountsThe agreement permits interest of 1.5% per month or the maximum legal rate, although the 2026 FDD states the franchisor was not charging it as of issuance.
Unapproved supplier reviewThe franchisee can be charged the franchisor's cost and expense of evaluating and testing a proposed product or supplier.
CAPITAL QUALIFICATIONS

How much liquidity and net worth does Ben & Jerry's require?

The official U.S. franchise page states that candidates need a minimum net worth of $350,000 and $100,000 in liquidity, defined there as cash and securities excluding retirement accounts. Those thresholds are screening qualifications; they are not substitutes for the Item 7 investment range.

Estimated Initial InvestmentThe format-specific amount disclosed in Item 7 to establish and begin operating the shop, including three months of Additional Funds.
Liquidity$100,000 in cash and securities, excluding retirement accounts, according to the official franchise candidate criteria checked July 22, 2026.
Net Worth$350,000 minimum on the official franchise page; net worth includes assets less liabilities and is not the same as cash available to invest.
FinancingItem 10 states that Ben & Jerry's offers no direct or indirect financing, will not guarantee a note, lease or obligation, and does not provide trade credit. The official franchise FAQ gives the same practical answer.
COST IMPLICATION

The $100,000 liquidity threshold is below every 2026 Item 7 minimum. Meeting the screening threshold therefore does not establish that a candidate has enough cash, debt capacity, or committed financing to complete a particular format.

SPECIAL PATHS

Do Satellite Shops, Test Shops or development rights change the fee contract?

Yes. The 2026 FDD includes add-on and multi-unit paths that do not have the same cost contract as a standard new single Scoop Shop. The three main Item 7 totals should not be automatically applied to these arrangements.

Ben & Jerry's format and development fee map

A Satellite Shop carries an $8,000 initial satellite fee. An approved Test Shop for an existing franchisee carries a $2,500 test fee, which is credited toward the Initial Franchise Fee if the location is approved to become a permanent Scoop Shop. The Manager-to-Franchisee Pathways Program may waive Initial Franchise Fees and provide one or two years of royalty waivers for qualifying managers, depending on ownership level; eligibility is case-by-case and the program can change.

Satellite Shop$8,000 fee under a Satellite Addendum; renewal fee is $5,000. The FDD does not provide a separate complete Item 7 total for a Satellite Shop.
Test Shop$2,500 fee for an approved existing franchisee; generally a 6-12 month term and no automatic renewal.
Existing franchisee$19,750 Initial Franchise Fee for an additional Scoop Shop outside the disputed development-fee formula.
Development AgreementItem 7 labels the Development Fee as “Varies” and states that remaining investment depends on the format of each shop.
BUYER VERIFICATION

The May 29, 2026 FDD contains conflicting Development Fee formulas in Item 5 and Item 7 footnote 16. Because the formulas do not reconcile, this article does not state a definitive Development Fee. A multi-unit candidate should obtain written clarification, any applicable amendment, and a completed Development Schedule before making a payment.

EXCLUSIONS AND RANGE RISK

What can push the required capital beyond the disclosed range?

Item 7 is an estimate, not a ceiling. It excludes real estate purchases and warns that site condition, local construction economics, design requirements, menu scope, market wages, and the period needed to reach positive cash flow can change the amount required.

Real estate purchaseThe totals do not include buying the property for the Shop.
Non-vanilla-shell workA site below vanilla-shell standards can create design and construction costs beyond the estimate.
High-cost markets and labor conditionsLarge cities, tourist destinations, coastal markets, union labor and local ordinances can increase construction costs.
Lease and landlord requirementsDeposits, exterior-sign restrictions, required improvements and leasehold condition can change both timing and total cash needs.
Payment processing and connectivityCredit-card processing and interchange charges are separate vendor costs; alternative connectivity may cost more where cable or DSL is unavailable.
Owner compensationThe FDD's training estimate excludes wages and salaries. Item 7 identifies payroll among the expenses supported by Additional Funds but does not state that owner compensation is included.
Working capital after month threeThe FDD gives no assurance that $50,000-$75,000 will be sufficient during or after the three-month startup phase.
Required suppliersItem 8 estimates that approved or specified purchases represent about 75% of establishment purchases and about 80% of continuing purchases, limiting the ability to substitute cheaper unapproved items.
FINAL COST CHECK

What should a prospective franchisee verify before signing?

The controlling decision is the format-specific 2026 Item 7 range, adjusted only by documented site bids, lease terms, supplier quotes, financing terms, and the precise agreement being offered. The Initial Franchise Fee, liquidity threshold, and ongoing percentage fees answer different questions and should remain separate in the capital plan.

Match the exact formatConfirm whether the proposed location is Full-Sized, In-Line, Kiosk, Satellite, Test Shop, or part of a Development Agreement.
Reconcile the public page and current FDDUse the May 29, 2026 FDD figures unless Ben & Jerry's provides a later amendment or replacement disclosure.
Resolve the Development Fee conflictObtain a written formula and credit schedule before signing a Development Agreement.
Confirm Additional Funds assumptionsIdentify payroll, rent, utilities, inventory replenishment, debt service and personal living costs that the three-month estimate may not cover.
Review required purchases and refurbishmentPrice approved suppliers, technology contracts, insurance, signage, leasehold conditions and the potential $5,000-$15,000 refurbishment obligation.

Official documents and verification tools

Official U.S. franchise informationFormats, public investment figures, financial qualifications and financing FAQ.
Wisconsin active registrationsGovernment status check for registered franchise offers.
FTC Franchise RuleFederal disclosure framework for the 23-item Franchise Disclosure Document.
FTC FDD review guideConsumer guidance for evaluating disclosure details and consulting advisers.
Official parent-company brand pageConfirms Ben & Jerry's within The Magnum Ice Cream Company portfolio.

The verified 2026 investment ranges are $280,300-$631,300 for a Full-Sized Shop, $228,300-$435,300 for an In-Line Shop, and $188,300-$402,300 for a Kiosk Scoop Shop. The largest unresolved cost issue is not the standard franchise fee; it is the site-specific construction package and, for multi-unit candidates, the conflicting Development Fee language that must be clarified before payment.