The 2026 bb.q Chicken Franchise Disclosure Document reports sales, not franchisee profit. The ranges above are limited-confidence, per-unit scenarios for mature U.S. outlets, using Item 19 sales cohorts, a same-brand company-operated operating-margin proxy, and the national median wage for Food Service Managers.
This is an independent analytical scenario, not an Item 19 financial performance representation by BBDOTQ USA, Inc. It combines identified 2026 FDD facts with a derived company-operated margin proxy, a Bureau of Labor Statistics wage benchmark, and labeled sensitivity assumptions. Actual results can differ materially by location, format, sales, food and labor costs, occupancy, financing, owner involvement, and execution.
Legal franchisor: BBDOTQ USA, Inc. FDD issuance date: April 30, 2026. Item 19 status: official 2025 Gross Sales data for 198 mature franchised outlets, with no disclosed franchisee profit, EBITDA, net income, cash flow, or owner compensation. Formats: the FDD offers Restaurant, essential Restaurant, and Food Truck models, but Item 19 does not separate their results. Supplemental benchmark: 2025 audited operating results for three company-operated subsidiaries and May 2024 BLS Food Service Managers wage data. Date checked: July 15, 2026.
Item 19 supplies a strong revenue anchor but no franchisee earnings measure.
The margin proxy covers only three company-operated subsidiaries and is not a clean franchised-unit profit measure.
2025 Item 19 median for 198 mature franchised outlets.
Only 41% of mature franchised outlets were at or above this average.
About 87% of franchised outlets open at year-end 2025 were included.
Item 6 shows 5% plus 1%-2%; Item 11 states a 2% brand contribution.
Aggregate 2025 operating income divided by revenue for three subsidiaries.
May 2024 national BLS median; local compensation and payroll burden can differ.
What does the 2026 FDD actually disclose about bb.q Chicken earnings?
Officially, it discloses revenue only. Item 19 reports 2025 Gross Sales for 198 mature franchised outlets that were open for the entire year. It does not report franchisee operating profit, EBITDA, net income, cash flow, owner salary, distributions, or after-tax take-home pay. The applicable population pools the FDD's Restaurant, essential Restaurant, and Food Truck formats rather than presenting format-specific economics.
The official mature-franchised-outlet median was $955,603, while the Average Unit Volume was $1,043,905. The $88,302 gap and the fact that only 41% of outlets reached the average show why the median is the more defensible central revenue anchor. High-volume outlets pulled the average upward.
A unit generating roughly $956,000 of Gross Sales can still produce a loss after food, payroll, occupancy, delivery costs, required technology, franchise fees, repairs, and management compensation. Item 19 provides no expense bridge from sales to owner cash.
Official 2025 Item 19 medians by performance quartile, plus the median for all 198 mature franchised outlets.
Interpretation: the quartile medians confirm substantial sales dispersion. They are observed cohorts, not probabilities that a new outlet will land in any particular band.
Source: BBDOTQ USA, Inc. 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 19, p. 56. Values rounded to the nearest dollar for display.
Item 20 reported 227 franchised outlets at December 31, 2025. Item 19 included 198 mature franchised outlets and excluded 29 outlets that were not open for all of 2025, yielding about 87% coverage of the year-end franchised population. The FDD does not state a separate minimum age beyond full-year operation, nor does it segment the sample by format, geography, owner involvement, delivery mix, or occupancy model.
How can Item 19 sales be translated into a reasonable annual owner-earnings range?
Only through a transparent independent estimate. The model uses three official Item 19 revenue anchors and a derived 2025 operating-margin proxy from the franchisor's audited company-operated subsidiaries. Because those subsidiaries are not franchised outlets and the FDD does not disclose a clean franchise-equivalent margin, the resulting earnings range has limited confidence.
Estimated owner-operator benefit = manager-run result + $65,310 manager labor value
The margin proxy is reproduced from the audited consolidating statement: the three company-operated subsidiaries generated $9,648,056 of total revenue and -$111,768 of aggregate income from operation in 2025. That equals a -1.16% operating margin. The model uses that result as the base margin and applies a labeled sensitivity of minus or plus 3 percentage points for Conservative and Upside scenarios.
| Scenario | Official sales anchor | Margin assumption | Annual modeled results |
|---|---|---|---|
| Conservative | Third-quartile median: $815,690 | -4.2% | Manager-run: -$34,000 Owner-operator benefit: $31,000 |
| Base | All mature median: $955,603 | -1.2% | Manager-run: -$11,000 Owner-operator benefit: $54,000 |
| Upside | Second-quartile median: $1,104,741 | 1.8% | Manager-run: $20,000 Owner-operator benefit: $86,000 |
Calculations used full-precision inputs and were rounded to the nearest $1,000 for publication. The revenue anchors are official FDD observations; the margin band and resulting owner-earnings figures are independent scenarios.
What is included in the modeled operating result?
The modeled manager-run result is an operating-income proxy, not after-tax take-home pay. It assumes normal unit-level operating expenses and manager compensation are reflected in the company-operated benchmark. Depreciation is included in the audited operating expenses; interest and financing principal are excluded because the model starts with income from operation. Capital expenditures are excluded except through depreciation, and personal income taxes are not modeled.
The current FDD fees are not subtracted a second time from the company-operated margin. The audited consolidating schedule contains intercompany service-fee and expense eliminations, but it does not reveal whether those charges are economically identical to the Royalty Fee, Brand Development Fee, or required technology fees paid by a franchisee. A second deduction could double count costs; omitting a deduction could also overstate franchisee economics if company outlets receive favorable treatment. This unresolved comparability issue is a primary reason for the LIMITED confidence rating.
How much does active owner operation change the result?
In this model, replacing a paid General Manager adds $65,310 of labor value to the owner-operator scenario. That figure is the May 2024 national median wage for Food Service Managers, not a bb.q Chicken salary disclosure. It does not include local wage premiums, bonuses, benefits, employer payroll taxes, or overtime, so a buyer should substitute a market-specific fully loaded manager cost.
Each line shows the modeled change when the owner performs the General Manager's labor rather than paying a manager.
Interpretation: most of the modeled owner-operator benefit is compensation for full-time work, not passive return on invested capital.
Sources: scenario calculations above; BLS May 2024 national median wage for Food Service Managers. Wage benchmark excludes employer benefit and payroll-tax loading.
The FDD recommends, but does not require, that the owner be the General Manager. It expects active daily involvement. If the owner is not actively involved, an approved operating principal owning at least 5% must work in the Franchised Business full time, and a General Manager must devote full time and best efforts to supervision and management. The disclosed structure does not support treating the unit as automatically passive.
The owner-operator figures therefore should be read as estimated owner-operator benefit: residual operating profit or loss plus the market value of management labor performed by the owner. They are not pure business profit, distributions, or salary guaranteed by BBDOTQ USA, Inc.
Which franchise fees can materially change cash available to the owner?
The recurring burden includes sales-based fees and a required technology stack. Item 6 lists a 5% Royalty Fee and a Brand Development Fee of 1% of Gross Sales, subject to increase to 2%. Item 11 separately states that franchisees must contribute 2% to the Brand Development Fund. Local Marketing at 2% of Gross Sales is recommended but not required, while cooperative contributions become mandatory if a cooperative is formed.
| Recurring item | FDD amount | Owner-earnings relevance |
|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | 5% of Gross Sales | Mandatory sales-based expense under Item 6. |
| Brand Development Fee | 1%-2% of Gross Sales | Item 6 shows 1% subject to 2%; Item 11 states 2% monthly. |
| Local Marketing | 2% recommended | Not required under the stated Item 6 and Item 11 language. |
| Toast POS software | $500 monthly | Required by Item 11; equals $6,000 annually before upgrades. |
| Website, internal systems, web-order portal | Up to $150 monthly | Up to $1,800 annually under Item 6, excluding optional excess help-desk support. |
| POS maintenance contract | About $500 annually | Required ongoing maintenance estimate in Items 7 and 11. |
The Item 6 versus Item 11 difference is material: one percentage point of Gross Sales equals about $9,556 per year at the official $955,603 median. A buyer should obtain a written reconciliation of the current Brand Development Fee before finalizing a unit-level earnings model.
Other expenses can be episodic rather than routine, including audits, quality-assurance violations, remedial training, upgrades, and remodeling or redecorating costs that Item 6 says may vary up to $25,000 under the circumstances. These amounts are not annualized in the scenario range.
What creates the largest uncertainty in the earnings range?
The largest uncertainty is the missing franchised-unit expense statement. Item 19 gives a broad sales distribution, but it does not show food cost, hourly labor, manager compensation, payroll burden, rent and common-area charges, delivery commissions, utilities, insurance, maintenance, depreciation, or owner compensation for the same 198-outlet cohort.
Can the figures be multiplied for a multi-unit owner?
No—not without a separate portfolio model. Item 19 is per outlet, not per owner or development area. Multiplying one mature-unit result ignores opening schedules, ramp-up losses, shared overhead, area management, operating-principal requirements, financing, and the possibility that units occupy different sales cohorts.
What should a buyer verify before relying on this owner-earnings range?
Use the range as a screening model, then replace its assumptions with comparable outlet records. The most valuable next evidence is written Item 19 substantiation and actual profit-and-loss statements from mature franchisees operating the same format in similar labor and occupancy markets.
- Request the written substantiation for Item 19 and ask for sales results separated by Restaurant, essential Restaurant, and Food Truck format.
- Ask BBDOTQ USA, Inc. to reconcile the Brand Development Fee language in Item 6 with the 2% contribution stated in Item 11.
- Interview current and former franchisees listed through Item 20 and Exhibit D about food cost, hourly labor, General Manager pay, rent and common-area charges, delivery commissions, maintenance, and owner hours.
- Obtain at least three comparable mature-unit profit-and-loss statements and separate operating profit from owner salary, owner draw, distributions, depreciation, interest, and taxes.
- Replace the national manager wage with the local fully loaded cost of a qualified Food Service Manager, including payroll taxes, benefits, bonuses, and coverage for owner absences.
- Model financing separately using the actual financed amount, rate, term, and required principal payments; do not treat operating earnings as debt-service cash flow.
The strongest defensible per-unit range is -$34,000 to $20,000 of estimated manager-run pre-tax owner earnings, or $31,000 to $86,000 of estimated owner-operator benefit. These are scenario-based, not official Item 19 earnings figures. Sales volume and the unit's true labor-and-occupancy margin are the largest operating drivers; the absence of franchised-unit expense data and the Item 6/Item 11 brand-fee conflict are the largest unresolved uncertainties. Before investing, verify the Item 19 substantiation, obtain format-matched franchisee financials, and test the model through current and former franchisee interviews.