How much does a bb.q Chicken franchise cost?
The 2026 U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document gives three separate Item 7 ranges: $497,000 to $1,060,000 for a quick-service restaurant, $668,000 to $1,446,000 for a full-service restaurant, and $280,000 to $417,500 for a food truck. These ranges include the $45,000 Initial Franchise Fee and $20,000 to $40,000 of Additional Funds for the first three months, but they do not include a real-estate purchase or debt service.
Quick service: $497,000–$1,060,000
Full service: $668,000–$1,446,000
Food truck: $280,000–$417,500
2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 21–27. The ranges are not interchangeable, and the essential Restaurant model does not receive a separate Item 7 total.
Capital snapshot
The six figures below separate the three Item 7 formats from the fee and working-capital obligations that apply across the disclosed entry paths.
How do the official ranges compare by unit format?
The food truck has the lowest disclosed total, while the full-service restaurant has the highest ceiling. The chart uses the official 2026 Item 7 totals, not averages or midpoints.
Scale runs from $0 to $1.5 million. Each teal segment shows the disclosed low-to-high range.
Interpretation: format selection changes both the minimum capital requirement and the main asset being funded. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 22–24. Official figures; no midpoint is implied.
Premises, vehicle and major physical assets
Restaurant economics are dominated by Leasehold Improvements, while the Food Truck/Vehicle is the largest single food-truck line item. The combined presentation below preserves each format label without implying that a range for one format can be transferred to another.
| Item 7 category | Applicable format | Disclosed amount |
|---|---|---|
| Lease/Security Deposit, Utility Deposit | Quick service and Food Truck Full service |
$3,000–$20,000 $3,000–$50,000 |
| Leasehold Improvements | Quick service Full service |
$150,000–$700,000 $450,000–$1,000,000 |
| Food Truck/Vehicle | Food Truck only | $120,000–$160,000 |
| Generator | Food Truck only | $10,000–$20,000 |
| Signage | Quick service and full service Food Truck |
$5,000–$25,000 $5,000–$10,000 |
| Furniture and Fixtures | Quick service Full service |
$10,000–$30,000 $30,000–$40,000 |
| Equipment | Quick service Full service Food Truck |
$70,000–$110,000 $70,000–$150,000 $40,000–$80,000 |
| Point-of-Sale System | Quick service and full service Food Truck |
$4,000–$8,000 $2,000–$4,000 |
| Architectural/Design Fees | Quick service Full service |
$5,000–$25,000 $5,000–$30,000 |
Common setup, launch and working-capital categories
These categories apply across the disclosed formats, with the two stated exceptions for Inventory and Opening Material. Training expenses cover travel, lodging, meals and applicable wages for the initial trainees; they do not include additional personnel. Item 7 does not state that owner compensation is included in Additional Funds.
| Item 7 category | Disclosed amount | Scope |
|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $45,000 | All three Item 7 formats. |
| On-Site Opening Training Fee | $7,000 | All three formats; paid to the franchisor. |
| Business Licenses and Permits | $500 | All three formats; local variation and exclusions are discussed in the notes. |
| Professional Fees | $1,000–$5,000 | All three formats. |
| Insurance - 3 Months | $1,500–$3,000 | All three formats. |
| Inventory | $8,000–$20,000 restaurants $8,000–$15,000 Food Truck |
Food, beverages, paper products, cleaning materials and supplies. |
| Training Fee & Expenses / Training Expenses | $5,000–$6,500 | All three formats. |
| Opening Material | $2,000–$5,000 quick service/Food Truck $3,000–$6,000 full service |
Printed interior, marketing and operating materials. |
| Grand Opening Marketing | $10,000 | All three formats. |
| Additional Funds - 3 Months | $20,000–$40,000 | All three formats; included in the official total. |
Two Item 7 endpoint calculations do not reconcile to the printed totals. Adding the quick-service line-item minimums produces $347,000, which is $150,000 below the stated $497,000 minimum. Adding the food-truck line-item maximums produces $431,000, which is $13,500 above the stated $417,500 maximum. The full-service endpoints reconcile. This article preserves the official totals shown on the cover and in Item 7; a buyer should request a written line-by-line reconciliation before using either disputed endpoint as a funding target.
What makes the restaurant cost vary so widely?
Leasehold Improvements are the principal restaurant range driver. The 2026 FDD assumes the low end may involve a second-generation restaurant with limited conversion work, while the high end may involve a vanilla-box space requiring more improvements. Local labor and materials, grease traps, ventilation, HVAC, fire suppression, landlord requirements and the condition of the premises can materially change the result. Item 7, pp. 25–27.
- Second-generation space
- A prior restaurant location that may already contain systems needed for restaurant use; this assumption supports the lower end of the Leasehold Improvements range.
- Vanilla-box space
- A less finished premises requiring more construction; this assumption supports the higher end of the Leasehold Improvements range.
- Tenant improvement allowance
- Not deducted from the FDD estimate. A negotiated landlord allowance could change the franchisee's out-of-pocket build-out cost.
- Real-estate purchase
- Excluded. The FDD says purchasing property would probably increase the investment and does not estimate the amount.
- Debt service
- Excluded from the Item 7 totals.
The essential Restaurant is not a fourth Item 7 total. The FDD describes this limited-menu model as generally under 1,000 square feet in marts, grocery stores and similar venues, but it does not publish a standalone essential-Restaurant investment range. A prospect offered that model should obtain a written Item 7 mapping showing whether the quick-service table applies and which equipment, Opening Material and premises assumptions control.
When is the money paid?
The first fixed payment is the $45,000 Initial Franchise Fee when the Franchise Agreement is signed. Most remaining Item 7 amounts are listed as payable "as arranged," which means the actual cash schedule depends on the lease, contractor, suppliers, insurer and opening timetable. The FDD says a prospect must receive the disclosure document at least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or making a payment; the FTC franchise buying guide explains the federal disclosure process.
Which incentives can reduce or offset an opening payment?
The 2026 FDD identifies several programs, but none reduces every Item 7 category. The franchisor may modify or withdraw incentive programs without notice.
30% off the Initial Franchise Fee for the first Franchised Business. Applied arithmetically to $45,000, the discounted fee would be $31,500; that $13,500 reduction is a derived calculation, not a separate FDD estimate.
$5,000 toward proprietary products if the Franchised Business opens within three months of the Franchise Agreement's effective date.
The FDD states a 20% discount for the first unit opened in a Nielsen Media Research Designated Marketing Area, but the sentence does not identify the precise fee base. Written confirmation is needed before budgeting the reduction.
The $5,000 proprietary-products credit goes to the existing franchisee who made the referral, not automatically to the incoming franchisee.
Which fees continue after opening?
The core continuing charge is a 5% Royalty Fee on Gross Sales, paid monthly on the 15th for the previous month. The Brand Development Fee is internally inconsistent: Item 6 lists 1% of Gross Sales, subject to increase to 2%, while Item 11 states that franchisees must contribute 2%. Local Marketing is stated as 2% of Gross Sales but described as recommended, not required. No annual dollar conversions are appropriate because the FDD expresses these charges as percentages of Gross Sales.
Scale runs from 0% to 5% of Gross Sales. Solid fill is required, the range reflects inconsistent Brand Development disclosures, and the dashed bar is recommended rather than required.
Interpretation: the Royalty Fee is clear, while the current Brand Development rate requires written confirmation because Item 6 and Item 11 do not match. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 15 and 21; Item 11, pp. 35–36. Local Marketing is expressly described as recommended, not required.
Do not budget the Brand Development Fee from only one table. Item 6 says 1% of Gross Sales, subject to increase to 2%; Item 11 says the required contribution is 2%. The Franchise Agreement, current written fee notice and pre-signing confirmation from BBDOTQ USA, Inc. should establish which rate applies.
Recurring technology and digital-system charges
Item 11 identifies Toast as the required POS System. The software charge below is disclosed in Item 11, while the other recurring technology charges appear in Item 6.
| Charge | Amount | Timing and basis |
|---|---|---|
| Toast POS software | $500 | Monthly; Item 11, p. 41. |
| POS maintenance contract | About $500 | Annually; the initial maintenance amount is included in the Item 7 POS expenditure. |
| Website Maintenance Fee | $25 setup; $50/month | Initial page setup, then monthly hosting. |
| Internal Systems Fee | Up to $75/month | May increase by no more than 5% annually until it reaches actual cost. |
| Web Order Portal | $25/month | Paid to the approved supplier for maintenance and continued use. |
| POS Help Desk Support | Up to $100/month | Only for support above the standard level included in the POS monthly fee. |
If a Cooperative Marketing organization is formed for the area, membership is mandatory and contributions are determined by its members. The FDD states that no cooperatives existed as of April 30, 2026.
Which costs arise only after a trigger or special event?
Item 6 contains material fees that are not part of the ordinary monthly Royalty Fee. They arise from replacement training, payment failures, audits, transfers, relocation, remodeling, insurance lapses, management intervention or contract breaches. Item 6 states that its fees are non-refundable unless otherwise indicated.
$1,000 trainee fee, plus the trainee's travel, lodging, meals and wages. Fees are due before training; related expenses are due as incurred.
$100 per occurrence. Three occurrences within 12 months may give the franchisor a termination right.
Actual audit cost, estimated at $1,000 to $5,000, when an audit finds an understatement of amounts owed or Gross Sales by 2% or more, plus the shortage and interest.
$500 per violation plus audit cost estimated at $1,000 to $5,000.
$500 for each infraction, including unapproved products, services or third-party delivery channels.
The single-unit Transfer Fee, Successor Agreement Fee and relocation outside the Designated Territory are each 100% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee. A Multi-Unit Operator transfer is $1,000 multiplied by the number of businesses to be developed.
Variable under the circumstances, not to exceed $25,000. The FDD says required remodeling or redecorating will not occur more often than every five years.
If the franchisee fails to maintain required coverage, reimbursement of the franchisor's actual insurance cost plus a 10% administrative fee may be charged.
10% of Gross Sales plus expenses if the franchisor steps in to manage the Franchised Business under specified circumstances.
Item 6 also discloses interest on overdue amounts at 18% per annum or the highest rate allowed by applicable law, whichever the table states is greater; a $100,000 confidentiality or non-competition liquidated-damages charge plus attorneys' fees; and a separate post-termination liquidated-damages formula based on historical monthly Royalty Fees. Those provisions require contract-specific legal review and are not part of the opening investment.
Does the multi-unit range cover all three required locations?
No. The 2026 Item 7 range of $402,000 to $1,386,000 for a minimum three-unit Multi-Unit Operator includes the $135,000 Development Fee and the expenditures for the first Restaurant or Food Truck. The FDD expressly says the build-out costs of the additional units are not estimated because future inflation, labor and material costs cannot be controlled. Item 7, p. 27.
The minimum commitment is three Franchised Businesses. The franchisor says it may adjust this formula depending on the size of the area and the financial ability of the Multi-Unit Operator.
For the minimum three-unit commitment, $45,000 × 3 = $135,000, due when the Multi-Unit Operator Agreement is signed. Each location requires a separate Franchise Agreement, and later agreements may use the then-current form.
The printed $402,000 to $1,386,000 multi-unit range is not a complete three-store capital plan. A buyer must add site-specific Item 7 budgets for the second and third locations and preserve enough liquidity to meet the minimum performance schedule.
Are liquid capital, net worth or financing minimums disclosed?
The 2026 FDD does not state a specific Liquid Capital or Net Worth minimum for a single-unit prospect. Item 10 states that BBDOTQ USA, Inc. does not offer direct or indirect Financing and does not guarantee a note, lease or obligation. Total Initial Investment therefore should not be treated as a disclosed cash-on-hand threshold, and the absence of a stated liquidity minimum does not mean the buyer can fund the project entirely with debt.
The Franchise Agreement also creates a Personal Guarantee relationship: Franchisee Principals guarantee performance, and the FDD's special-risk page states that a spouse must sign a document making the spouse liable for financial obligations even without an ownership interest. A Multi-Unit Operator's financial ability may also affect the Development Fee formula.
What should be verified before treating the FDD range as a budget?
The current FDD is the starting point, but the following unresolved or site-dependent items determine the actual capital requirement.
What is the most important cost distinction?
The official investment range depends first on format, then on site condition. The Food Truck, quick-service restaurant and full-service restaurant totals must remain separate, with Leasehold Improvements driving the restaurant spread and the Food Truck/Vehicle anchoring the mobile format. The Initial Franchise Fee and three months of Additional Funds are contained within those totals; neither is a Liquid Capital or Net Worth qualification. After opening, the Royalty Fee, the unresolved Brand Development Fee disclosure, technology charges and event-triggered Item 6 obligations remain separate operating commitments.
The most material unresolved questions are the Item 7 endpoint arithmetic, the current Brand Development Fee, and the absence of a separate essential-Restaurant total. Those points should be reconciled in writing before a prospect treats any published range as the amount of cash required.