How Much Does an Avis Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Independent U.S. owner-earnings estimate
Manager-run: –$18,000 to $11,000 a year

An active owner who personally fills the required General Manager role may have an estimated owner-operator benefit of about $78,000 to $107,000 a year, but most of that difference represents compensation for the owner’s full-time labor—not passive business profit. The 2026 Avis Franchise Disclosure Document does not disclose franchise sales, profit, salary, cash flow, or owner earnings.

Evidence mode: D — structural estimate Confidence: Limited Format: 30-car U.S. franchise scenario FDD: issued April 29, 2026
Independent estimate — not an Item 19 result

This range is an independent analytical scenario, not a financial performance representation by Avis Rent A Car System, LLC. It combines verified 2026 FDD facts with an Avis Budget Group Americas operating proxy, a BLS manager-wage benchmark, and clearly identified scenario assumptions. Actual results can differ materially by airport or neighborhood demand, fleet size and mix, utilization, daily rate, vehicle costs, insurance, labor, occupancy, reservation channel, financing, owner involvement, and execution.

Data basis
Legal franchisor
Avis Rent A Car System, LLC, a Delaware limited liability company.
Current disclosure
2026 U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document, issued April 29, 2026; Items 5, 6, 7, 15, 19, and 20 reviewed.
Item 19 status
No financial performance representation. No franchise revenue, profit, owner compensation, EBITDA, or cash-flow population is reported.
Operating format
The Item 7 reference format is a 30-car fleet serving a territory of 55,000 people. This is a planning format, not a performance cohort.
Supplemental evidence
Avis Budget Group 2025 Americas revenue-per-day, utilization, revenue, and Adjusted EBITDA; BLS May 2023 wage data for Automotive Equipment Rental and Leasing.
Date checked
July 20, 2026. FDD citations are provided by year, Item, and page because no matching public official FDD was verified on a franchise-controlled website.
Item 19 evidence

What does the 2026 Avis FDD actually disclose about owner earnings?

Officially, it discloses no earnings figure at all. Item 19 says Avis does not make representations about a franchisee’s future financial performance or the past financial performance of company-owned or franchised outlets. That means there is no official average sales figure, median profit, operating margin, owner salary, or percentage of outlets achieving a stated result to use as a direct earnings answer. See 2026 FDD, Item 19, p. 80.

The absence of an Item 19 claim is not evidence that outlets lose money or make money. It means the franchisor has not published a qualifying financial performance representation for the offered U.S. franchise. The Federal Trade Commission’s franchise guide explains that Item 19 claims are optional, but any franchisor claim about sales, income, or profit must have a reasonable basis and appear in that disclosure.

Official FDD
None

Item 19 earnings disclosure

No sales or profit population is reported in the 2026 FDD.

Derived proxy
$526,216

Base annual revenue anchor

30 cars × 365 days × 69.9% utilization × $68.75 revenue per day.

Official FDD
7.5%

License Fee

Applied monthly to defined Gross Revenue. See Item 6, p. 11.

Official proxy
6.2%

2025 Americas Adjusted EBITDA margin

$552 million divided by $8.9 billion; not a franchise-unit margin.

Official FDD
189

Franchised outlets at year-end 2025

Compared with 1,823 company-owned outlets. See Item 20, pp. 81–87.

BLS benchmark
$95,760

General Manager labor value

May 2023 annual mean wage in NAICS 532100; excludes owner profit.

Revenue is not earnings

The $526,216 base figure is a modeled revenue proxy, not owner income. It must support fleet costs, labor, rent, insurance, maintenance, payment and reservation costs, the 7.5% License Fee, technology and network charges, and other operating obligations before any residual reaches the owner.

Scenario model

How is the 30-car Avis earnings range calculated?

The estimate starts with a same-brand company operating proxy because Item 19 supplies no franchise sales data. Avis Budget Group reported 2025 Americas revenue per day of $68.75 and vehicle utilization of 69.9%. Applied to the FDD’s 30-car reference fleet, those metrics imply approximately $526,216 of annual revenue before any franchise-specific adjustment.

Base revenue formula

30 vehicles × 365 available days × 69.9% utilization × $68.75 revenue per rental day = $526,215.94, rounded to $526,216.

The 2025 Americas segment reported $552 million of Adjusted EBITDA on $8.9 billion of revenue, a 6.2% margin. The scenario subtracts the FDD’s 7.5% License Fee because company-operated locations do not bear that franchisee charge. With no same-brand franchise margin distribution, the conservative and upside cases use a transparent three-percentage-point sensitivity around the 6.2% proxy, while revenue uses 80%, 100%, and 120% of the base anchor.

  • Conservative: 80% of base revenue and a proxy operating margin three percentage points below the 2025 Americas margin, then less the 7.5% License Fee.
  • Base: 100% of base revenue and the 2025 Americas Adjusted EBITDA margin, then less the 7.5% License Fee.
  • Upside: 120% of base revenue and a proxy operating margin three percentage points above the 2025 Americas margin, then less the 7.5% License Fee.
Scenario 30-car revenue Manager-run owner earnings Owner-operator benefit
Conservative $420,973 –$18,092–4.3% residual margin $77,668Includes $95,760 labor value
Base $526,216 –$6,829–1.3% residual margin $88,931Includes $95,760 labor value
Upside $631,459 $10,7491.7% residual margin $106,509Includes $95,760 labor value

What does the manager-run scenario leave for the owner?

Estimated annual pre-tax operating residual after the 7.5% License Fee, before personal income taxes and financing principal.

Manager-run annual owner earnings scenarios Conservative negative eighteen thousand ninety-two dollars, base negative six thousand eight hundred twenty-nine dollars, and upside positive ten thousand seven hundred forty-nine dollars. $10k $0 –$10k Conservative Base Upside –$18,092 –$6,829 $10,749

Interpretation: Under this proxy, a paid-manager structure produces a small loss in the conservative and base cases and only low five-figure residual profit in the upside case.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 6, p. 11; Item 7, pp. 21–24; Avis Budget Group 2025 full-year operating metrics. Values are independent calculations.

What is included and excluded from “manager-run owner earnings”?

The figure is an estimated pre-tax operating residual, not take-home pay. It assumes the parent-company Adjusted EBITDA margin is a workable all-in operating proxy, then deducts the FDD License Fee. The Avis Budget Group definition adds back non-vehicle depreciation and amortization, non-vehicle interest, taxes, and specified adjustments; vehicle economics are treated differently. The estimate does not deduct personal income taxes or financing principal payments.

Item 6 also lists transaction-dependent reservation, payment-processing, commission, technology, network, customer-adjustment, and program charges. They are not separately layered onto the corporate margin because the Americas proxy already includes enterprise reservation, payment, technology, and operating costs; another subtraction could double-count similar economics. A franchisee’s actual charge mix can still be higher or lower, which is a major reason the confidence rating is limited.

Owner role

How much can active owner operation change the result?

Potentially by about $95,760 a year in labor value, but not by creating $95,760 of extra passive profit. Item 15 says personal participation is not required, although Avis strongly urges it, and requires at least one full-time General Manager who completes the franchisor’s instruction. The owner-operator scenario assumes the owner is approved and trained to fill that role rather than paying a separate manager. See 2026 FDD, Item 15, p. 74.

The labor benchmark is the BLS May 2023 annual mean wage of $95,760 for General and Operations Managers in Automotive Equipment Rental and Leasing, NAICS 532100. It is an industry wage benchmark, not an Avis salary and not a promise that a 30-car location can support that compensation. It also excludes employer payroll taxes and benefits.

Manager-run residual versus owner-operator benefit

The distance between markers is the $95,760 BLS labor-value assumption in each scenario.

Manager-run residual Owner-operator benefit
Owner role comparison across three scenarios For the conservative scenario, manager-run residual is negative eighteen thousand ninety-two dollars and owner-operator benefit is seventy-seven thousand six hundred sixty-eight dollars. For base, negative six thousand eight hundred twenty-nine dollars and eighty-eight thousand nine hundred thirty-one dollars. For upside, ten thousand seven hundred forty-nine dollars and one hundred six thousand five hundred nine dollars. –$20k $0 $50k $100k Conservative Base Upside –$18,092 $77,668 –$6,829 $88,931 $10,749 $106,509

Interpretation: Owner involvement changes the economic benefit far more than the modeled residual business profit because the owner is replacing a full-time management job.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 15, p. 74; BLS May 2023 NAICS 532100 wage estimate. Owner-operator values are independent calculations.

Owner-operator effect

An owner-operator benefit of $88,931 in the base case consists of an estimated –$6,829 business residual plus $95,760 of labor value. It should not be presented as $88,931 of passive profit, distributable cash, or after-tax take-home pay.

Uncertainty

Which variables can move Avis owner earnings the most?

Fleet productivity and vehicle economics are the dominant unresolved drivers. Revenue per day and utilization determine how much a 30-car fleet earns, while acquisition cost, depreciation, financing, insurance, maintenance, damage, and resale proceeds determine how much of that revenue survives. The FDD does not disclose a franchisee distribution for any of these measures.

  • Location and demand: airport, resort, hotel, university, central-business-district, and neighborhood locations can have materially different daily rates, seasonality, concessions, and utilization.
  • Fleet capital: Item 7 estimates $450,000 to $1,290,000 for 30 automobiles, plus interest. Vehicle mix and financing terms can change annual cash requirements sharply.
  • Insurance and risk: Item 7 uses $2,000 to $5,000 per vehicle per year as the basis for its first-three-month insurance estimate, but actual premiums depend on state, fleet, coverage, loss history, and risk retention.
  • Channel and payment mix: Item 6 charges can vary with reservation source, travel commissions, corporate-account rebates, payment processing, network configuration, and transaction volume.
  • Manager structure: the owner may avoid a separate manager wage only by performing the role full-time and meeting Avis training and approval requirements.

How does debt service affect cash available to the owner?

Principal payments can turn a positive operating result into negative owner cash flow. This article does not model a universal loan because the FDD does not provide one standardized fleet-financing package for all buyers. The Item 7 automobile estimate can be financed, but rate, term, advance rate, collateral, residual value, and payment schedule vary. Personal income taxes are also excluded because they depend on entity structure, jurisdiction, deductions, and the owner’s circumstances.

Why is the evidence confidence “Limited”?

The estimate depends materially on a company-operated Americas segment proxy rather than franchised U.S. outlet results. The Americas segment combines a very large fleet, corporate purchasing power, company overhead, franchise-related revenue, multiple geographies, and mature operating infrastructure. Item 20 reports 1,823 company-owned outlets and 189 franchised outlets at December 31, 2025, so the available parent-company economics are not a like-for-like franchise cohort. See 2026 FDD, Item 20, pp. 81–87.

Buyer verification

What should a buyer verify before relying on this range?

A buyer should replace every proxy with territory-specific written evidence wherever possible. The most important task is to obtain actual operating records for a comparable existing location or build a local model from rental-day, rate, fleet-cost, insurance, payroll, occupancy, and channel-mix data.

  • Confirm in the current FDD that Item 19 still contains no financial performance representation and request written substantiation for any separate sales or earnings statement.
  • Ask existing and former franchisees listed in Item 20 for monthly rental days, revenue per day, utilization, fleet depreciation, vehicle interest, insurance, labor, rent, and total Item 6 charges.
  • Separate company-owned metrics from franchised-outlet results and separate airport, hotel, neighborhood, and other location types.
  • Verify whether the owner may serve as the required General Manager, what training and approval are required, and whether another on-premises supervisor is still needed.
  • Model reservation fees, commissions, corporate-account rebates, payment processing, network charges, customer adjustments, and local airport or concession costs from the expected transaction mix.
  • Run debt schedules for the exact fleet purchase price, rate, term, residual value, down payment, and seasonal working-capital requirement; keep principal payments separate from operating profit.
Decision synthesis

What is the strongest defensible Avis owner-earnings takeaway?

For the FDD’s 30-car reference format, the strongest defensible manager-run range is approximately –$18,000 to $11,000 in annual pre-tax operating residual, while an approved full-time owner-manager may receive about $78,000 to $107,000 of total owner-operator benefit. Both ranges are scenario-based, not official Avis franchise results. The most important earnings driver is fleet productivity relative to vehicle and labor cost. The largest unresolved uncertainty is the absence of franchised-outlet sales and expense data in Item 19.

A prospective buyer should therefore treat the base case of about –$6,829 manager-run residual or $88,931 owner-operator benefit as a calculation to challenge, not a forecast. Verify the current Item 19 language, request substantiation for any financial claim, and use franchisee interviews and location-level records to replace the Americas proxy before making an investment decision.

Definitions used here: “manager-run owner earnings” means modeled operating residual after normal costs represented by the segment proxy and the 7.5% License Fee, before personal income taxes and financing principal. “Owner-operator benefit” adds the market wage value of management work performed by the owner. Neither measure is after-tax take-home pay.