That is a manager-run, pre-tax business-earnings scenario for a mature U.S. Auntie Anne’s enclosed-mall franchise. The base scenario is about $42,000 per year. If an approved owner-operator replaces one paid manager, the corresponding estimated owner-operator benefit is about $74,000–$170,000, but that larger figure includes the market value of the owner’s labor rather than passive profit.
Data basis
- Legal franchisor
- Auntie Anne’s Franchisor SPV LLC, a Delaware limited liability company.
- Current disclosure
- 2026 U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document, issued March 27, 2026 and amended May 11, 2026. Item 19 covers fiscal year 2025, ended December 28, 2025.
- What Item 19 reports
- Net Sales by quartile for eligible enclosed-mall, outlet-center, airport, and Cinnabon co-branded franchised Shops. It does not report store profit, EBITDA, owner compensation, or cash flow.
- Scenario benchmark
- IRS Statistics of Income, tax year 2022, active corporations in “Food services and drinking places”; Census NAICS 722515 is used only to confirm that fixed-location pretzel shops fit the snack-and-nonalcoholic-beverage category.
- Date checked
- July 21, 2026. No matching franchise-controlled public PDF of the 2026 FDD was verified, so FDD references below are cited by year, Item, table, and page without a hyperlink.
How much may an Auntie Anne’s owner earn in a year?
The strongest defensible estimate for a manager-run enclosed-mall Full Shop is about $11,000 in the Conservative scenario, $42,000 in the Base scenario, and $107,000 in the Upside scenario. These are independent pre-tax owner-earnings proxies for the 2025 operating period, not official Auntie Anne’s profit results.
The evidence confidence is LIMITED because the same-brand FDD supplies a strong revenue distribution but no operating expenses or profit measure. The margin comes from a much broader official corporate tax dataset, and the Conservative and Upside margin spreads are analytical sensitivities rather than observed Auntie Anne’s margins.
Rounded estimate before personal income tax and financing principal.
Fiscal year 2025, 489 eligible franchised Shops.
IRS tax year 2022, broad food-services corporate population.
87.2% of enclosed-mall franchises were represented.
7% royalty, 2% Ad Fund, and 1% local marketing for an Other Location.
Annual pre-tax owner-earnings proxy per enclosed-mall Full Shop, rounded to the nearest $1,000.
Interpretation: Revenue and margin move together across the three analytical scenarios; the center is not presented as a probability-weighted “most likely” outcome. Source: 2026 Auntie Anne’s FDD, Item 19, Table 1, p. 84; IRS Statistics of Income, 2022 Table 5.1; independent calculations.
What does the 2026 FDD actually measure?
Item 19 officially measures fiscal 2025 Net Sales for selected eligible franchised Shops; it does not measure owner salary, distributions, operating profit, EBITDA, or cash flow. An eligible franchise reported sales in all 52 weeks of the fiscal year ended December 28, 2025.
The disclosure separates four operating populations. They should not be blended because an airport Full Shop, outlet-center Full Shop, enclosed-mall Full Shop, and Cinnabon co-branded Shop can have materially different traffic, rent, hours, staffing, product mix, and economics.
| FDD population | Median Net Sales | Average Net Sales | Represented |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enclosed-mall franchises | $732,705 | $792,496 | 489 / 561 (87.2%) |
| Outlet-center franchises | $930,135 | $958,966 | 93 / 122 (76.2%) |
| Airport franchises | $1,600,774 | $1,705,205 | 37 / 51 (72.5%) |
| Cinnabon co-branded franchises | $1,214,802 | $1,208,741 | 64 / 69 (92.8%) |
Official FDD facts for fiscal year 2025. Cinnabon co-branded Net Sales include products from both brands. Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 19, Tables 1–4, pp. 84–86.
Why is the earnings model limited to enclosed-mall Full Shops?
The enclosed-mall cohort is the most defensible modeling population because it is the largest disclosed same-format sample—489 eligible franchised Shops—and the official U.S. Auntie Anne’s franchise page also identifies the $792,496 fiscal 2025 average for that cohort. This is an official revenue anchor, not an official profit figure.
The model uses actual FDD median observations across the enclosed-mall distribution: $415,718 bottom-quartile median, $732,705 total median, and $1,226,978 top-quartile median. Those points are scenario anchors, not stated probabilities or promises.
How is Net Sales converted into an owner-earnings estimate?
The independent formula is FDD Net Sales anchor × an all-in industry net-income margin proxy. For the 2025 enclosed-mall format, the model applies a 2.7% Conservative margin, 5.7% Base margin, and 8.7% Upside margin. None of those margins is reported by Auntie Anne’s.
The 5.7% center comes from the IRS Corporation Income Tax Returns Complete Report: tax year 2022 active corporations classified as “Food services and drinking places” reported $35.281 billion of net income less deficit on $617.565 billion of total receipts. The resulting 5.7129% ratio is broad and older than the FDD period. The model uses an explicit minus/plus three-percentage-point sensitivity because the IRS table does not supply an Auntie Anne’s-specific margin distribution.
| Scenario | FDD revenue anchor | Margin assumption | Manager-run earnings |
|---|---|---|---|
| Conservative | $415,718 | 2.7% | $11,000 |
| Base | $732,705 | 5.7% | $42,000 |
| Upside | $1,226,978 | 8.7% | $107,000 |
Full-precision calculations are $11,278, $41,859, and $106,905; published figures are rounded to the nearest $1,000. Revenue anchors are official FDD medians. Margin inputs and all earnings outputs are independent scenario assumptions/calculations.
How are recurring franchise fees treated?
The model does not subtract the Auntie Anne’s fees a second time because the IRS net-income ratio is an all-in residual after reported corporate deductions, not a margin stated before franchise fees. Separately, the 2026 FDD states that an enclosed-mall Shop, an “Other Location,” carries a 7% Royalty Fee, 2% Advertising Contribution, and at least 1% Local Marketing Obligation—10% of Net Sales before POS, payment-processing, online-ordering, loyalty, insurance, occupancy, food, and labor costs. The FDD permits the royalty to increase to 8% and says required Advertising Contribution plus Local Marketing may not collectively exceed 5% of Net Sales.
At the $732,705 enclosed-mall median, the FDD-stated 10% core burden equals approximately $73,271: $51,289 royalty, $14,654 Ad Fund contribution, and $7,327 local marketing. This is a reproducible FDD-derived fee calculation, not an additional deduction from the 5.7% scenario margin. See 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 22–36.
Included or embedded
- Normal operating expenses are represented only through the broad all-in IRS net-income proxy.
- Manager compensation is assumed to be embedded in the manager-run business margin.
- Royalty, required advertising, and other franchise expenses are not double-counted.
- Reported tax-return deductions may include interest and depreciation; no separate adjustment is made.
Excluded from the published result
- Personal federal, state, and local income taxes.
- Financing principal payments and any buyer-specific loan structure.
- Capital expenditures, remodel reserves, and equipment replacement timing.
- Portfolio overhead, development ramp-up, and shared multi-unit management costs.
The U.S. Census Bureau definition of NAICS 722515 specifically lists fixed-location pretzel shops with on-premise baking and carryout service. That makes the classification directionally relevant, but the IRS profitability population remains broader than snack-and-nonalcoholic-beverage bars and includes many corporate structures unlike a single franchised Shop.
How does active owner operation change the result?
An approved owner-operator who replaces one paid food-service manager may create an estimated owner-operator benefit of about $74,000, $105,000, or $170,000 across the same Conservative, Base, and Upside scenarios. This is an independent labor-value adjustment for the 2025 enclosed-mall format, not pure business profit and not an official Item 19 result.
The adjustment adds the Bureau of Labor Statistics May 2024 median wage of $63,040 for food service managers in food services and drinking places. It excludes employer payroll taxes and benefits, so it is a wage-only labor benchmark rather than a complete manager-cost estimate.
The distance between markers is one $63,040 manager-wage assumption; amounts are rounded to the nearest $1,000.
Interpretation: Active operation may increase total economic benefit, but the increment compensates the owner for management work and should not be described as passive income. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 15 and 19, pp. 76–77 and 83–87; BLS May 2024 wage data; independent calculations.
Why could actual owner earnings fall outside this range?
Actual earnings could be materially lower, negative, or higher because the published range is an estimated 2025 enclosed-mall scenario rather than an observed profit distribution. The largest unresolved uncertainty is the absence of same-brand store-level expense data—especially food cost, hourly labor, manager payroll, rent, common-area charges, payment fees, and maintenance.
- Sales dispersion is wide. Enclosed-mall Net Sales ranged from $103,731 to $2,939,851 in the eligible cohort, while closed and partial-year Shops were excluded.
- Occupancy can dominate the residual. High-traffic malls commonly involve base rent, percentage rent, common-area maintenance, utilities, and required hours that are not disclosed in Item 19.
- Labor structure is location-specific. The FDD requires at least two dedicated Managers; wage rates, scheduling, benefits, turnover, and owner coverage vary by market.
- The margin benchmark is broad. IRS “Food services and drinking places” includes business models, scales, corporate forms, and capital structures unlike one Auntie Anne’s Shop.
- Technology and transaction costs vary. POS license or lease, support, loyalty, online ordering, payment processing, delivery, and ordering-support fees may depend on configuration and channel mix.
- Debt changes cash available. The estimate excludes financing principal and does not impose a standard loan amount, interest rate, or term. Personal income taxes are also excluded.
- Format transfer is unsafe. Airport, outlet-center, Cinnabon co-branded, concession, streetside, university, Walmart, and other nontraditional formats should receive their own revenue and expense model.
Item 20 adds context but not a profit conclusion. U.S. franchised Shops increased from 1,182 at the start of 2025 to 1,236 at year-end; during 2025 the table reports 92 openings, 35 terminations, three non-renewals, and 86 transfers. Those system counts describe outlet movement, not whether a particular owner earned an acceptable return. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 20, pp. 87–95.
What should a buyer verify before relying on any earnings estimate?
A buyer should verify the scenario against written Item 19 substantiation and actual franchisee profit-and-loss statements for the same format, maturity, geography, owner role, and lease structure. This verification is essential because the official evidence stops at Net Sales and the independent margin proxy has limited comparability.
- Request Item 19 written substantiation and reconcile the 489 enclosed-mall reporting Shops, quartile calculations, exclusions, and fiscal-year definitions.
- Ask several current and former enclosed-mall franchisees for food and paper cost, hourly labor, two-manager payroll, rent, common-area maintenance, utilities, insurance, repair, delivery, and merchant-fee percentages.
- Separate owner salary or wages from distributions, retained earnings, depreciation, interest, and one-time expenses.
- Compare manager-run and owner-operated Shops, including hours worked by the owner and whether the franchisor approved the owner as a Manager or Primary Contact.
- Model debt service separately using the buyer’s actual financed amount, interest rate, amortization, collateral, and required reserves.
- Confirm current Item 6 fees and vendor invoices rather than assuming every technology, marketing, or transaction charge remains at the disclosed amount.
- Review Item 20 contacts and interview operators whose locations match the proposed mall class, sales band, lease economics, and operating tenure.
The Federal Trade Commission’s guidance on financial performance representations advises prospects to scrutinize Item 19, assess geographic relevance, and compare claims with current and former franchisee experience. The official FDD likewise says written substantiation is available on reasonable request.
What is the most defensible takeaway?
For one mature U.S. enclosed-mall Auntie Anne’s Full Shop, the strongest defensible answer is a scenario-based manager-run pre-tax owner-earnings range of about $11,000–$107,000 per year, with a $42,000 Base scenario. An active owner who is approved to replace one manager may realize an estimated $74,000–$170,000 owner-operator benefit, but approximately $63,040 of that comparison is labor value, not passive residual profit.
The primary earnings driver is the Shop’s Net Sales relative to its fixed occupancy and labor structure. The largest uncertainty is the missing same-brand expense and profit distribution. Before using the range in a purchase decision, a buyer should verify Item 19 substantiation, current Item 6 fees, same-format profit-and-loss statements, owner work hours, manager payroll, lease economics, and debt service through direct franchisee interviews and professional review.