Estimated owner-operator benefit for one established U.S. ARCpoint Labs business spans roughly $11,000 to $109,000 per year before personal income taxes. Under the same scenarios, hiring a manager produces an estimated residual ranging from a $59,000 loss to a $39,000 profit after a deliberately low wage proxy. The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document reports 2025 revenue, not profit or owner compensation.
This range is an independent analytical scenario, not a financial performance representation by ARCpoint Franchise Group, LLC. It combines identified 2026 FDD facts with 2023 IRS medical-and-diagnostic-laboratory data, an explicit margin sensitivity, and a BLS manager-wage proxy. Actual results can differ materially by location, service mix, sales, collections, labor, occupancy, financing, owner involvement, and execution.
- Legal franchisor
- ARCpoint Franchise Group, LLC
- Current disclosure
- 2026 ARCpoint Labs FDD, issued May 8, 2026; no verified public copy on a franchise-controlled domain was located.
- Item 19 evidence
- Gross Sales Minus Clinical Program Sales for 83 franchised businesses open at least 12 months as of December 31, 2025.
- Applicable operation
- One ARCpoint Labs business combining Lab Operations with Onsite/Online Operations; the Item 19 table does not split results by service mix or owner role.
- External benchmarks
- IRS 2023 sole-proprietorship statistics for Medical and Diagnostic Laboratories and BLS May 2024 pay data for Medical and Health Services Managers.
- Research check
- July 15, 2026. The official ARCpoint Labs U.S. franchise website was also reviewed for current offer and operating-model context.
2025 Gross Sales Minus Clinical Program Sales for the middle 60% cohort.
Franchised ARCpoint Labs businesses open at least one year in the Item 19 analysis.
IRS 2023 net income less deficit divided by receipts for sole-proprietor medical laboratories.
Royalty plus current National Marketing Fund contribution, before local advertising and fixed fees.
May 2024 BLS 10th-percentile threshold; payroll taxes and benefits are not added.
Same-brand revenue is current, but owner earnings require a broad external cost-and-margin proxy.
What does the 2026 ARCpoint Labs Item 19 actually measure?
Officially, Item 19 measures 2025 Gross Sales Minus Clinical Program Sales, not owner earnings. The population is 83 franchised ARCpoint Labs businesses open at least 12 months as of December 31, 2025. The disclosure removes all clinical-program sales and divides the mature reporting population into top 20%, middle 60%, and bottom 20% segments.
The franchisor says the figures came from unaudited franchisee reports. Item 19 excludes 13 businesses opened during 2025 and 22 franchised businesses that closed during 2025, even though the closed businesses had operated for at least one year. Those exclusions are material when interpreting the sales distribution.
| 2025 Item 19 segment | Businesses | Median sales minus clinical programs | Average, range, and average attainment |
|---|---|---|---|
| Top 20% | 17 | $553,280 | Average $620,396; range $372,939.61–$1,315,483; 7 of 17 met or exceeded the segment average. |
| Middle 60% | 50 | $200,218 | Average $210,795; range $97,571.91–$368,688.53; 23 of 50 met or exceeded the segment average. |
| Bottom 20% | 16 | $77,529 | Average $65,879; range $1,926–$96,023.58; 15 of 16 met or exceeded the segment average. |
Source: 2026 ARCpoint Labs FDD, Item 19, pp. 37–38. The FTC Franchise Rule Compliance Guide explains the regulatory framework for financial performance representations.
The $200,218 middle-segment median is a sales figure before testing costs, payroll, occupancy, insurance, local operations, royalty, advertising, technology, financing, taxes, and owner compensation. It cannot be read as salary, profit, cash flow, or take-home pay.
How was the annual owner-earnings range estimated?
The estimated range applies an external owner-operated laboratory margin to the three official Item 19 segment medians. It is scenario-based for one established U.S. ARCpoint Labs business and does not represent a forecast, probability distribution, or franchisor-reported profit result.
- Revenue anchors are official: $77,529, $200,218, and $553,280 are the bottom-, middle-, and top-segment medians in the 2026 FDD.
- The 16.6% central margin is a benchmark: 2023 IRS data report $238.946 million of net income less deficit on $1.436451 billion of receipts across 30,550 sole-proprietor Medical and Diagnostic Laboratories.
- The margin spread is editorial: Conservative, Base, and Upside use 13.6%, 16.6%, and 19.6%, respectively—three percentage points below, at, and above the IRS aggregate margin.
- FDD fees are not subtracted twice: IRS net income is an all-in result after business deductions, so royalty, marketing, and other operating expenses are assumed to fit inside the scenario margin. The IRS table does not isolate franchise fees, which materially limits comparability.
- Measure definition: the result is labeled owner-operator benefit because sole-proprietor net income can compensate both owner labor and invested capital. It is before personal income taxes and financing principal. IRS net income can reflect depreciation and interest deductions; cash capital expenditures are not separately modeled.
| Scenario | Item 19 revenue anchor | Applied margin | Owner-operator benefit | Manager-run residual |
|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Conservative Bottom 20% median |
$77,529 | 13.6% | $10,571 | −$59,109 |
|
Base Middle 60% median |
$200,218 | 16.6% | $33,305 | −$36,375 |
|
Upside Top 20% median |
$553,280 | 19.6% | $108,634 | $38,954 |
Independent annual scenarios using official 2025 segment medians and the IRS-based margin sensitivity.
Interpretation: revenue scale drives most of the spread; the chart does not imply that any segment is a probability or guaranteed outcome.
Sources: 2026 ARCpoint Labs FDD, Item 19, pp. 37–38; IRS 2023 nonfarm sole-proprietorship Table 1. Calculations use full precision and display rounded dollars.
How does active owner involvement change the result?
Active operation can change the result by approximately the cost of the manager the owner replaces. Item 15 requires one trained owner or a trained manager to directly supervise and participate in day-to-day operations, so this is not a passive-ownership model under the FDD.
For the manager-run comparison, the model subtracts $69,680 from owner-operator benefit. That figure is the May 2024 BLS threshold below which the lowest-paid 10% of Medical and Health Services Managers earned. It is intentionally lower than the $117,960 national median and excludes employer payroll taxes and benefits, so the manager-run residual may be optimistic.
Owner-operator benefit versus manager-run residual using a $69,680 wage-only replacement cost.
Interpretation: at the middle-segment revenue anchor, the owner’s labor value is larger than the modeled business residual; a paid-manager structure does not become positive until the upside scenario.
Sources: 2026 ARCpoint Labs FDD, Item 15, p. 33; BLS Medical and Health Services Managers pay data. The $69,680 assumption is wage-only and is not ARCpoint-specific.
Owner-operator benefit is not pure passive business profit. It can include compensation for selling, supervising staff, handling compliance, managing accounts, and performing other day-to-day work that would otherwise require paid labor.
Which disclosed fees put the most pressure on annual earnings?
The recurring burden is heaviest at lower revenue because percentage fees are combined with minimum advertising and fixed technology costs. The figures below are official 2026 FDD obligations for a single ARCpoint Labs business; the derived burden calculation uses a post–month-12 operating year and excludes transaction-dependent or currently inactive charges.
| Recurring obligation | 2026 FDD amount | How it affects the earnings model |
|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | 7% of Gross Revenue monthly; $350 monthly minimum | Material percentage cost. At the three revenue anchors, 7% exceeds the minimum. |
| National Marketing Fund | Currently 2% of Gross Revenue; may increase to 3% | The scenarios use the current 2% rate, not the authorized higher rate. |
| Local Advertising Requirement | $15,000 in the first 12 months of Lab Operations; afterward, the greater of 3% of Gross Sales or $9,000 per 12 months | The derived burden uses the post–month-12 rule. The first operating year can be higher at low sales. |
| Technology Fee | $450 per month after Lab Operations; may rise, capped at $600 per month | The derived burden uses $5,400 annually, not the possible $7,200 cap. |
| SOCI service | Current annual fee of $300 | Included in the known recurring-fee calculation. |
| Physician Processing Fee | Up to $2 per requisition and/or injection | Excluded because annual requisition and injection volume is not disclosed. |
| Revenue scenario | Known recurring fees and required marketing | Share of scenario revenue | Excluded from this fee subtotal |
|---|---|---|---|
| Conservative — $77,529 | $21,678 | 28.0% | Physician processing, any cooperative, fee increases, and ordinary operating expenses. |
| Base — $200,218 | $32,720 | 16.3% | Physician processing, any cooperative, fee increases, and ordinary operating expenses. |
| Upside — $553,280 | $72,094 | 13.0% | Physician processing, any cooperative, fee increases, and ordinary operating expenses. |
Source and calculation basis: 2026 ARCpoint Labs FDD, Item 6, pp. 7–10. Subtotal = 7% royalty + current 2% National Marketing Fund + greater of 3% revenue or $9,000 local advertising + $5,400 technology + $300 SOCI. This subtotal is diagnostic and is not subtracted again from the all-in IRS margin scenarios.
The $9,000 post–month-12 local-advertising floor and fixed technology cost consume a larger share of revenue in the bottom and middle segments. This operating leverage is one reason sales scale is the model’s strongest earnings driver.
How much uncertainty is hidden in the Item 19 sample?
The uncertainty is substantial because Item 19 excludes newly opened and closed businesses, and the FDD does not disclose unit-level expenses. The 2025 table covers 83 of 118 franchised businesses operating at year-end, while 22 other franchised businesses closed during 2025 and were omitted from the sales analysis.
| Item 20 year | Franchised outlets at start | Franchised outlets at end | Key movement |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 122 | 134 | 20 openings; 6 ceased for other reasons; 10 transfers to new owners. |
| 2024 | 134 | 124 | 16 openings; 8 terminations; 17 ceased for other reasons; 5 transfers. |
| 2025 | 124 | 118 | 17 openings; 1 termination; 22 ceased for other reasons; 6 transfers. |
Source: 2026 ARCpoint Labs FDD, Item 20, pp. 39–43. The FDD also lists 66 signed franchise agreements without an open outlet and 7 projected new franchised outlets for the next fiscal year as of December 31, 2025.
Because the 22 closed businesses are outside Item 19, the published revenue distribution is not a full-system survivorship-adjusted result. A buyer should not assume the bottom-segment median captures the economics of outlets that ceased operating.
What should a buyer verify before relying on this range?
A buyer should replace the benchmark assumptions with actual ARCpoint Labs unit economics before treating the range as decision-ready. The highest-priority evidence is written Item 19 substantiation and comparable franchisee profit-and-loss statements for mature businesses with similar sales, market, service mix, and owner role.
- Ask for Item 19 written substantiation and reconcile Gross Revenue, Gross Sales Minus Clinical Program Sales, cash collections, refunds, and accounts receivable.
- Interview current franchisees in the bottom, middle, and top revenue segments about testing costs, physician-processing volume, payroll, occupancy, insurance, bad debt, and local advertising.
- Ask former and transferred franchisees why units closed or changed ownership and what their final 12 months of sales and operating cash flow looked like.
- Verify whether the owner works full time, which manager duties the owner performs, and the fully loaded local cost of replacing that labor.
- Separate business operating profit from owner salary, draw, distributions, retained cash, depreciation, interest, capital expenditures, and debt principal.
- Model the first 12 months separately because the $15,000 local-advertising requirement differs from the post–month-12 rule used here.
- Confirm current royalty, marketing, technology, SOCI, physician-processing, required supplier, and any market-specific cooperative charges in the final agreements.
- Test financing independently. Item 10 states that the franchisor offers no direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease, or obligation.
What is the strongest defensible earnings takeaway?
The strongest defensible annual range is an independent owner-operator benefit estimate of roughly $11,000 to $109,000 for one established U.S. ARCpoint Labs business. A manager-run structure is materially weaker in this model, ranging from an estimated $59,000 loss to a $39,000 profit after only a low-end wage proxy and before employer payroll burden.
The most important driver is revenue scale, amplified by the local-advertising floor and fixed technology expense. The largest unresolved uncertainty is the absence of same-brand unit expense, operating-profit, and owner-compensation data—especially for the 22 businesses that closed in 2025. Before making a decision, a buyer should verify Item 19 substantiation, comparable mature-unit profit-and-loss statements, full manager cost, owner hours, clinical-program treatment, and closure economics through franchisee interviews.